About Us

James R. Kamm

James R. Kamm, Tax Commissioner
PO Box 94818
Lincoln NE 68509-4818

Jim Kamm became Nebraska’s Tax Commissioner on September 5, 2023, after being appointed by Governor Pillen.  Prior to this appointment, Kamm was with the University of Nebraska at Omaha where he most recently served as UNO’s Assistant Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance.  Before that, Kamm held leadership roles at several Nebraska based financial institutions.  He received his Bachelor’s degree in Finance from the University of Nebraska – Lincoln, and his Master of Business Administration degree from UNO. 

Glen A. White

Glen A. White, Deputy Tax Commissioner
PO Box 94818
Lincoln NE 68509-4818

Glen White was appointed Deputy Tax Commissioner and Director of Administrative Services on January 1, 2017. Prior to this appointment he served as Director of Compliance since October 2008.  He started with the Department in April 2001 as an attorney in the Legal Section.  While an attorney with the Department, Glen was primarily responsible for representing the Department in administrative hearings and working with taxpayers to resolve tax issues. Glen was in private practice in Grand Island, Nebraska prior to joining the Department. He earned his bachelors and masters degrees in accounting and law degree from the University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA.

Ruth A. Sorensen

Ruth A. Sorensen, Property Tax Administrator
PO Box 98919
Lincoln NE 68509-8919

Ruth Sorensen has been appointed to be the Property Tax Administrator by Governor Ricketts. In 2007, Governor Heineman appointed Ruth to the Property Tax Administrator position. Ruth is a graduate of Franklin Pierce College, in New Hampshire, receiving her B.S. in Accounting, and is a graduate of the University of Nebraska College of Law (1994). Since law school, she has worked in the corporate and private civil practice areas. She was also employed as an attorney for the Department of Revenue for a few years, and in 2003, became an attorney for the Department of Property Assessment and Taxation. In early 2007, Governor Heineman appointed Ruth to the Tax Equalization and Review Commission, as the Commissioner member from the First District. Ruth’s tenure as a Commissioner lasted four months, at which time she was appointed as the Property Tax Administrator.

Brian Rockey

Brian Rockey, Director of Lottery and Charitable Gaming
PO Box 98901
Lincoln NE 68509-8901

Brian Rockey was appointed Director of Lottery and Charitable Gaming on July 1, 2016. He has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Creighton University, a Master of Arts from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and a Master of Public Administration from the University of Nebraska-Omaha. Brian previously served the Lottery Division in various capacities, including Marketing Manager, from startup in 1993 through 2011. He then worked for International Game Technology (IGT, formerly known as GTECH), the primary contractor for the Nebraska Lottery. 

Chris Ayotte

Chris Ayotte, Director of Operations and Information Technology
PO Box 94818
Lincoln NE 68509-4818

Chris Ayotte was selected Director of Operations and Information Technology on August 22, 2016. He earned his Associates of Applied Science degree in accounting from Southeast Community College in Beatrice, NE. Chris previously served as a Revenue Section Manager of Revenue Operations. He started his career with the Department as a temporary tax worker in 1986, and has worked in Revenue Operations and Information Technology during his 30+ years of service to the Department. 

Nebraska Taxpayer Bill of Rights

Back to Top