- — Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return Form

Nebraska Department of

« If applicable, complete Schedule I on reverse side.
REVENUE 10

¢ See optional Nebraska Net Taxable Sales and Use Tax Worksheets.
Please Do Not Write In This Space

Tax Category Nebraska ID Number Rpt.Code Tax Period

Due Date:

Name and Location Address Name and Mailing Address

* Name, address, or ownership changes? See instructions.
|:| Check this box if your business has permanently closed, has been sold to someone else, or your permit is no longer needed.

New owners must apply for their own sales tax permit. |
1 Gross sales and Services (SEe INSTIUCTIONS) .........uuiiiiiiiiie e e e e e e e e 1 | 00
2 Net taxable sales (SEE INSITUCHONS).......uuiiiiiiiie e e e e e e e e e e e e eanns 2 | 00
!
3 Nebraska sales tax (line 2 multiplied Dy .055) ......ocueiiiiiiiiie e 3 |
I
4 Nebraska use tax (See INSrUCHIONS) ........eeeeviieeeiiiiiiiieeee e 4 |
Complete Nebraska Schedule I prior to completing lines 5 & 6. |
5 Local use tax from line 1, Nebraska Schedule I..........cccccvvviiiiiieieieieeenenn.. 5 |
|
6 Local sales tax from line 2, Nebraska SChedule L............ouuuviiiiiiiiiiiiiieee e 6 |
7 Total Nebraska and local sales tax (IiN€ 3 PlUS [INE B) .....ueeiiieiiiiiiiie it 7 !
I
8 Sales tax collection fee (line 7 multiplied by .025; if the result is $75.00 or more, enter $75.00)........ 8 |
I
9 Sales tax due (line 7 MINUS INE 8)........eiiiiiiiiiii e e e s nneeee s 9 |
10 Total Nebraska and local use tax (line 4 PlUS INE 5).....c.ueeiiiiiiiiiiie e 10 !
I
11Total Nebraska and local sales and use tax due (line 9 plus liNe 10).......c..eeveiiiiiiiee e 1 |
12 Previous balance with applicable interest at |
% per year and payments received through 12 |

|:| Check this box if your payment is being made electronically. |

13 Balance due (line 11 plus or minus line 12). Pay in full with return ..........cccooiiiiiii e, 13 |

Under penalties of law, | declare that as taxpayer or preparer | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and
statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign
here
id }Authorized Signature Title Daytime Phone Date Email Address
pai
reparer’s
P uge only }Preparer’s Signature Date Preparer’s PTIN

Print Firm’s Name (or yours if self-employed), Address, and Zip Code EIN Daytime Phone

For tax assistance, call 800-742-7474 (NE and |A) or 402-471-5729.
This return is due on or before the 20" day of the month following the tax period indicated above.

Paper filers mail this return and payment to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98923, Lincoln, NE 68509-8923.
6-002-1967 Rev. 10-2014 Supersedes 6-002-1967 Rev. 10-2011



Nebraska Schedule I — Local Sales and Use Tax

City Code Rate Use Tax Sales Tax
I I
| |
| |
| |
I I
| |
| |
i i
I I
I I
| |
| |
: :
i i
I I
I I
| |
| |
| |
I T
| |
[ [
I I
I |
I I
| |
| |
i I
! I
| |
I I
! |
| |
I T
i |
I |
| I
! |
| |
County Code Rate Use Tax Sales Tax
| I
| i
I |
1 Total of amounts entered in the use tax column (enter here and on |
oY= TR o o e 0 ) S 1 |

2 Total of amounts entered in the sales tax column (enter here and on line 6, Form 10)..............

Nebraska Schedule I — MVL, ATV, UTV, and Motorboat Leases or Rentals

To be completed by retailers who are leasing (1) motor vehicles to others for periods of more than 31 days;

(2) ATVs or UTVs; or (3) motorboats or motorized personal watercraft.

1 Enter the amount of state sales tax included on Form 10, line 3, that was reported on long-term
leases (more than 31 days) of motor vehicles (see iNStructions)...........cccoceeveeriiienierieee (Code 600-600)

2 Enter the amount of state sales tax included on Form 10, line 3, that was reported on all leases or
rentals of all-terrain and utility-type vehicles (see instructions) ........ccccoceveeeiiieeinciee e, (Code 626-626)

3 Enter the amount of state sales tax included on Form 10, line 3, that was reported on all leases or
rentals of motorboats and motorized personal watercraft (see instructions)...................... (Code 633-633)




mo—=— Nebraska Net Taxable Sales and Use Tax Worksheets

Nebraska Department of

* To see this information, complete these worksheets online.

Form 10
Worksheets

REVENUE ¢ The online version of these worksheets expands for detailed information.
| Nebraska Net Taxable Sales Worksheet

Gross Sales and Services in Nebraska Regulation 1-007. Enter on line 1, Form 10 .....

Allowable Exemptions and Deductions From Gross Sales

A. Sales of nontaxable services. See taxable services in Regulation 1-007 .........cccoeevvvevenneeens

B. Sales of items or taxable services sold for resale. Requlation 1-013 .........cocoiiiiiiiieiireeeennnnn.

C. Sales to exempt purchasers. Regulation 1-012 .......cccuiiieiiiiiiieeiiiiiee e

D. Sales of exempt items or services. Regulation 1-012.........cceeeviiiiieeiiiiieee e

E. Exempt sellers. Requlation 1-012 ... e e e e

F. Use-based exemptions. Requlation 1-012........cooiiiiiiiiiiiei e

G. Other allowable deductions (see our website for a list of allowable deductions
and the applicable requItIoNS). ........oovviiiiiie e

H. Total allowable exemptions and deductions (Athrough G)........ccccceeiviiiiiiiiiiiiiie e,

Net Taxable Sales (line 1 minus line H). Enter on line 2, Form 10 ........ccccceeviiieneeennen.

Nebraska Use Tax Worksheet

Cost of items and taxable services purchased for use in Nebraska on which
tax was not paid. Requlation 1-002 ..........eeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie et e e

Cost of items withdrawn from inventory for personal or business use. Regulation 1-002..................

Total amount subject to Nebraska use tax (line 1 plus liN€ 2).........cccccviiiiiiiieiei e

Nebraska use tax (line 3 multiplied by the rate identified on line 3, Form 10) ..........ccccovvveeeeeeennnn.

Credit for tax paid to other states on items in line 4. Regulation 1-002 .........c.ccccvveeeiiiiiieeesiiiieennn

Nebraska Use Tax Due (line 4 minus line 5). Enteron line 4, Form 10 ............ccooviiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeen,

6-476-2008 Rev. 10-2014
Supersedes 6-476-2008 Rev. 10-2013


http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#007
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#007
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#013
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#012
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#012
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#012
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#012
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#002
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#002
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#002

Instructions for Form 10

Who Must File. Every person making taxable sales in Nebraska is a retailer and
must hold a Nebraska Sales Tax Permit. Every retailer must file a Nebraska and
Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 10, on or before the due date. Out-of-state
retailers should only report Nebraska sales on this return.

How to Obtain a Permit. You must complete a Nebraska Tax Application.
Form 20, to apply for a sales tax permit. After the application has been processed,
you will receive your Nebraska sales tax ID number printed on the permit.

When and Where to File. This return and payment are due the 20th of the
month following the tax period covered by the return. Payments made by check
or money order must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service on or before the
due date. Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payments must be initiated before
5 p.m. Central Time on the due date. Paper returns must be mailed to the Nebraska
Department of Revenue, PO Box 98923, Lincoln, NE 68509-8923. Retain a copy
of this return and all schedules for your records.

Electronic Filing. The Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department)
encourages all taxpayers to file and pay electronically. Taxpayers who have
been approved to file a combined return must e-file original returns. Taxpayers
required to pay by EFT or credit card are also required to e-file the Form 10. The
Department will not mail Form 10 to anyone required to pay by EFT or to anyone
who has e-filed Form 10 in the past. If you have questions about EFT, Internet
filing, or payment options, visit revenue.nebraska.gov.

Preidentified Return. This return is to be used only by the retailer whose
name is printed on it. Do not file returns that are photocopies, are for another tax
period, or have not been preidentified. If you have not received a return for the
tax period, and will be filing a paper return, visit the Department’s website to print
a Form 10. Complete the ID number, tax period, name, and address information.

Name and Address Changes. If the business name has changed and it is
a name change only (for example, if the ownership or federal ID number has
not changed), mark through the previous name and plainly print the new name
and write “name change only.” If you e-file, name changes should be made on a
Nebraska Change Request, Form 22.

Ifthere is a change or correction in the name or address, mark through the incorrect
information and plainly print the correct information. If this is the result of a
relocation of your business, indicate this by writing “relocated” on the return.
If you are e-filing, you may make an address change during filing; however,
name changes must be done by filing a Form 22. See previous paragraph for
name change information. Reminder: A sales tax permit is required for each
location. If an additional location is opened, you must apply for another sales tax
permit by filing a Form 20.

Ownership Changes. A change in ownership, or type of ownership
(individual to a partnership, partnership to a corporation, etc.) requires you to
cancel your permit and obtain a new permit for the new business. To cancel the
old permit, check the box in the upper left corner of the Form 10 or follow the
online instructions for cancelling your permit. The new owners must complete a
Form 20, to obtain their own sales tax permit. The new owners of the business
should not use the previous owner’s preidentified sales and use tax returns.

Credit Returns. If line 11 is a credit amount, documentation must be sent
with the return to support the credit. This documentation must include a letter
of explanation, invoices, or credit memos issued to customers. When e-filing,
complete the explanation box with information on the credit. You will be
contacted if additional documentation is required. If a credit is shown on
line 11, it may be applied to a balance shown on line 12, if any, or used on future
returns. If the credit cannot be used in a reasonable amount of time, a Claim for
Overpayment of Sales and Use Tax. Form 7, may be filed. The statute of limitations
for filing the Form 7 is three years from the due date following the end of the
period for which the credit was created.

Amended Returns. To file an amended return, use a Form 10, clearly print
“Amended Return” at the top of the form, and provide an explanation of the
changes. Also, complete the ID number, tax period, name, and address information.
All amended returns, including those for combined filers, must be filed by using
a paper form. If you e-file, you can make changes to your filed return any time
before the return’s due date. This feature is for current tax period returns only.
After a return’s due date, an amended Form 10 must be filed on a paper form.

Penalty and Interest. If the return is not filed and paid by the due date, a
penalty will be assessed in the amount of 10% of the tax due or $25, whichever
is greater. Interest on the unpaid tax will be assessed at the rate printed on
line 12 from the due date until payment is received.

Retention of Records. Records to substantiate this return must be kept and
be available to the Department for a period of at least three years following the
date of filing the return.

Additional information regarding sales and use taxes may be found in the
“Information Guides” section of the Department’s website.

Specific Instructions

Retailers must report the tax due for each type of tax. If no sales or use tax is due,
the retailer must indicate that by entering a zero, N/A, line, word, or statement on
the appropriate line for each tax. Failure to do so extends the statute of limitations
to five years for audit and collection purposes.

Refer to the optional Nebraska Net Taxable Sales Worksheets for assistance
in completing Form 10. The paper version is attached; however, the online
version has many links that provide additional detail.

Line 1. Enter the total dollar amount of ALL sales, leases, rentals, and services
made by your business. Enter both taxable and exempt sales rounded to the
nearest dollar. Out-of-state retailers, enter only Nebraska sales. Line 1 does not
include the amount of sales tax collected.

Line 2. Enter the net taxable sales rounded to the nearest whole dollar. Refer
to the online version of the Nebraska Net Taxable Sales Worksheets for
allowable deductions.

Lines 4 and 5. Transactions Subject to Use Tax. Use tax is due on
all taxable purchases when Nebraska and any applicable local sales tax is not
paid. Use tax is due on your cost of these items or taxable services. Some
examples include:

1 Purchase of property (for example, uniforms, magazines, computers,
software) from a retailer;

2 Purchase of taxable services (for example, repair or installation labor
on tangible personal property, pest control, building cleaning, motor
vehicle towing) from a retailer;

3 Purchase of property from outside Nebraska, brought to Nebraska for
use or storage; and

4  Items withdrawn from inventory for use or donation.
Line 6. Enter the total local sales tax, line 2, Schedule I.

Line 8. The retailer is allowed to retain a fee for collecting the Nebraska and
local sales tax.

Line 12. A balance due resulting from a partial payment, mathematical or
clerical errors, penalty, or interest relating to prior returns is entered on this line.
The amount of interest includes interest on unpaid tax through the due date of this
return. If the amount due is paid before the due date, interest will be recomputed
and a credit will be on your next return. If you have already paid the amount
on this line with a previous remittance, please disregard it. A credit is indicated
by the word “subtract” and can be subtracted from the amount due on line 11.
However, if your records do not support this credit, please contact the Department.

Line 13. All taxpayers are encouraged to make payments electronically. Do not
send a paper check if you are mandated to pay electronically. Electronic payments
may be made using the Department’s free e-pay program (EFT Debit), by ACH
Credit, Credit Card, or by phone. Refer to the Payment Options for additional
information, or call 800-232-0057 to make a payment. Those not mandated may
attach a check or money order for the amount on line 13, made payable to the
Nebraska Department of Revenue.

Signatures. Paper returns must be signed by the taxpayer, partner, officer, or
member. If the taxpayer authorizes another person to sign this return, there must
be a power of attorney on file with the Department. Any person who is paid for
preparing a taxpayer’s return must also sign the return as preparer. E-filers are
required to identify the person completing the return during the filing process.

Nebraska Schedule I

Line 1, Local Use Tax. Total the amounts reported in the use tax column and
enter on line 1, Nebraska Schedule I, and on line 5, Form 10.

Line 2, Local Sales Tax. Total the amounts reported in the sales tax column,
enter on line 2, Nebraska Schedule I, and on line 6, Form 10.

The Schedule I displays any city or county that has been reported in the
last 12 months. A city or county may be added by writing the information
in the blank boxes on Schedule I. E-filers may add a city or county when
completing Schedule I during filing. E-filers reporting to multiple localities
may upload a CSV file to ease this process. Any city or county that you write
in or add during e-filing will be printed on your next return. You can find
listings of the local city or county taxing jurisdictions and the sales tax rates at
revenue.nebraska.gov.

Nebraska Schedule I - MVL, ATV, UTV, and Motorboat
Leases or Rentals

Enter the portion of the state sales tax (reported on Form 10, line 3) that is from
all leases or rentals of: (1) automobiles, trucks, trailers, semitrailers, and truck
tractors for periods of more than 31 days that are not classified as transportation
equipment, see the Nebraska Sales Tax on Leased Motor Vehicles Information
Guide; (2) all-terrain and utility-type vehicles; or (3) motorboats and motorized
personal watercraft (for example, jet skis or wave runners).



http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_20.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_20.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_20.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_20.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_22.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_7.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_7.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_33.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/info/info_list.html#sales
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/info/6-373.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/payment_options.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/Upload_Feature.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/salestax.html



