
School Readiness Tax Credit Act –
Application for Childcare and Education Provider

8-772-2017 Rev. 9-2018 

Complete this application if you are the person who owns or operates an eligible program.

	 Applicant Name and Address	 Program Name and Address
	 Applicant’s Name			   Program Name

	 Street or Other Mailing Address			   Street or Other Mailing Address	

	 City	 State	 Zip Code	 City	 State	 Zip Code

	 Applicant’s Social Security Number (SSN) or Federal ID Number	 Current Step Up to Quality rating of the program. Check One.  Attach a copy of the rating issued by the Nebraska		
					     Department of Health and Human Services.
				    1	 2	 3	 4	 5
	 Type of Entity

		  Sole Proprietorship	 C Corporation

For the calendar year January 1 through December 31, 20____
 or other tax year beginning ____________________________ and ending ____________________________.

Average Monthly Subsidized Children Calculation
Note: For column (B), enter the total number of hours for which you were paid subsidy reimbursement for each month.

Include six hours in the total for each day you were paid by the day.

(A)
Month

(B)
Number of
Hours Paid

(C)
Number of Child Days

[Column (B) Divided by 6]

(D)
Number of Days

Providing Service

(E)
Average Number of Children this Month

[Divide column (C) by column (D)].

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

Total

	1	Total average number of children you received a subsidy for each month. [Column (E) total divided by 12].
		 Enter the total as a whole number. Round up any result that is .50 or higher to the next higher number. 
		 Round down any result that is .49 or less to the next lower number. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               _______________
	2	Amount of school readiness tax credit requested. Multiply line 1 by the dollar amount shown in the table
		 below for your Nebraska Step Up to Quality rating. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           _ ______________

Nebraska Step Up
to Quality Rating

Amount of 
Credit Per Child

Step 1 $0

Step 2 $0

Step 3 $250

Step 4 $500

Step 5 $750

sign
here Signature of Applicant		  Title	 Date	

Email Address	 Phone Number

Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this application, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

Mail this form and required documentation to:
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94609, Lincoln, NE 68509-4609.



Instructions
Who Must File. The applicant must be a person who owns or operates a childcare or early childhood education program 
that has been assigned a quality scale rating pursuant to the Step Up to Quality Child Care Act. This credit is available 
to qualifying individuals, corporations, and fiduciaries. Note: Providers with a Step Up to Quality rating of 1 or 2 are 
not eligible to receive a credit under this Act. The credit cannot be passed to the shareholders, partners, or members of 
S corporations, partnerships, or limited liability companies. Because these pass-through entities do not have tax liabilities to 
offset, the Department will not approve an application from one of these entities.
When to File. This application for credits must be filed within two months after the close of the tax year for which you are 
claiming the credit.
What to File. Attach and submit a copy of the Step Up to Quality Act rating issued by the Nebraska Department of Health 
and Human Services (NDHHS) along with this application. Also include the Explanation of Benefits received from 
the NDHHS for each month. The Department of Revenue may contact you for additional information to verify your 
application as required.

Specific Instructions
Applicant Information. Enter your current name, mailing address, and SSN. Enter the Federal ID Number only if you are 
claiming the credit on a business tax return. If all information is not completed, the credit will not be allowed
Program Information. Enter the name and address of the qualifying program. Also enter the most recent Step Up to 
Quality Act rating issued by the NDHHS. If all information is not completed, the credit will not be allowed.
Average Monthly Number of Subsidized Children Calculation. The credit is based on a calculated average which 
may not be equal to the actual number of children enrolled in your program:
Column (B) – Number of Hours Paid. For each month, enter the actual number of hours of childcare for which you 
received subsidy reimbursement. Include six hours in the total for each day you were paid by the day.
Column (C) – Number of Child Days. For each month, divide the number of hours in column B by 6. 
Column (D) – Number of Days Providing Service. Enter the number of days you provided service for any children 
for each month. Exclude days your facility was closed, including weekends and holidays, if applicable.
Column (E) – Average Number of Children this Month. For each month, divide the in column (C) by the number in 
column (D) and enter the result.
Line 1. Total average number of children you received a subsidy for each month. Enter the total of column (E) divided by 
12. Enter this result as a whole number. Round up any result that is .50 or higher to the next higher number. Round down 
any result that is .49 or less to the next lower number.
Line 2. Multiply the total average number of children you received a subsidy for each month from line 1 by the credit 
amount that corresponds with your program’s Step Up to Quality Act rating.
Claiming the Credit. Please allow 4 weeks for the Department of Revenue to process and respond to your application. 
The Department of Revenue will process the applications in the order received until March 1 or until the program tax credit 
limitation of $5 million has been met, whichever is earlier.
Claim your tax credit by attaching the tax credit certification form from the Department of Revenue to your Nebraska 
Tax Return. The Department of Revenue will not allow the tax credit if the certification is not attached to your Nebraska 
tax return.
By including your email address, you are agreeing that the Department of Revenue may use it to transmit confidential 
information using secure email.
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