
County Name and Mailing Address

FORM

9
Please Do Not Write In This Space

Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return
for County Treasurers and Other Officials

Nebraska ID Number	 Tax Period

This return is due on or before the 15th day of the month following the tax period indicated above.
Mail this return to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98923, Lincoln, NE 68509-8923.

revenue.nebraska.gov, 800-742-7474 (NE & IA), or 402-471-5729

Authorized Signature	 Title	 Phone Number	 Date

Email Address

	11	 Local sales and use tax collected (total of lines 1 through 10). Enter here and on line 2 above....... 	11
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Nebraska Schedule — Local Sales and Use Tax Collected
Local Taxing Jurisdiction	 County Code	 City Code	 Local Sales and Use Tax

Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign
here

1	Nebraska sales and use tax collected during this tax period............................................................. 1

	 2	Total local sales and use tax collected (line 11, Nebraska Schedule)................................................ 2

	 3	Total Nebraska and local sales and use tax collected (line 1 plus line 2)........................................... 3

	 4	Total amount of penalties collected on late-registered motor vehicles during this tax period............. 	 4

	 5	Total amount of interest collected on late-registered motor vehicles during this tax period................ 	 5

	 6	Total amount collected (total of lines 3, 4, and 5)............................................................................... 	 6

7	a 	Collection fee permitted for all retailers (line 6 multiplied by .025;
if the result is $75 or more, enter $75).................................................... 	 7a

		b	 Additional collection fee for county treasurers 
(see specific instructions)........................................................................ 	 7b

	Total collection fee (line 7a plus line 7b)............................................................................................ 7

	 8	Total amount due (line 6 minus line 7)............................................................................................... 8

	 9	Previous balance (see specific instructions)...................................................................................... 9

	10	Balance due (total of lines 8 and 9). Counties are required to make their payment electronically.... 	10

		Complete Nebraska Schedule below if local sales and use tax has been collected.



Instructions
Who Must File. Every county treasurer and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must file this return for each tax 
period. This return must be filed by the due date even if there was no sales or use tax collected for the tax period.

When and Where to File. This return and required electronic payment are due the 15th of the month following the tax 
period covered by the return. The Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payments must be completed by 5:00 p.m. Central Time 
on the due date to be considered timely. Paper returns must be mailed to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 
98923, Lincoln, NE 68509‑8923. Retain a copy of this return for your records.  

Preidentified Return. This return is for use by the official whose name is printed on it. If a preidentified return is not 
received for a tax period, a duplicate return should be requested from the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR). Do not 
file returns which are photocopies, returns for another tax period, or returns which have not been preidentified. If the mailing 
address is incorrect, mark through the incorrect address and plainly print the correct address.

Penalty and Interest. A penalty for failure to file the return and pay the tax by the due date may be assessed. Interest on 
the unpaid tax will be assessed at the statutory rate from the due date until payment is received.

Records. County treasurers and DMV officials who file this return must retain:

•	 The white copies of Form 6 by month of registration and in alphabetical order by registrant; and 

•	 Forms 6XN by month of filing and in alphabetical order by registrant.

This should be done for a minimum of three years to verify the collection of sales and use tax.

Specific Instructions
Line 7a. DMV and county treasurers enter the result of line 6 multiplied by .025 if  $75 or less. If  the result of line 6 
multiplied by .025 is $75 or more, enter $75.

Line 7b. DMV enter $0. For tax periods prior to January 2020, county treasurers enter $0. For tax periods beginning 
January 2020, county treasurers enter the result of .005 multiplied by the excess of line 6 over $6,000.

Line 9. Enter the amount of overpayment or underpayment not reported on a previous return. If you have been advised by 
DOR of either an overpayment or underpayment which was reported on a previous return, this amount should also be entered.

Line 10. Electronic payments must be made using DOR’s free e-pay program (ACH Debit or ACH Credit). Refer to Payment 
Options at revenue.nebraska.gov for additional information. Payment may also be made by phone by calling 800-232-0057. 

Authorized Signature. This return must be signed by the county treasurer or DMV’s authorized representative, or other 
person authorized to sign the return.

Nebraska Schedule
Lines 1 through 10. Enter the amount of local sales and use tax collected for each city or county.
Line 11. Enter the total local sales and use tax collected from lines 1 through 10.

6-030-1967 Rev. 1-2020 Supersedes 6-030-1967 Rev. 7-2018

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/
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