
School Readiness Tax Credit Act –
Staff Member Application

8-770-2019

Applicant Name and Address	 Eligible Program Name and Address
	 Applicant’s Name			 Eligible Program Name

	 Street or Other Mailing Address			 Street or Other Mailing Address	

	 City	 State	 Zip Code	 City	 State	 Zip Code

	 Applicant’s Social Security Number (SSN)		 Dates of employment with the above eligible program. (If employed by more than one eligible program, attach additional documentation.)

From:	 To:

Below, please check the box that applies to your Nebraska Early Childhood Professional Records System classification 
level as shown on the Attestation of Staff Member Classification Level form. You must attach the Attestation of Staff 
Member Classification Level form to this application.

Level Tax Credit
Check the 
Level that 
Applies 

One $522

Two $783

Three $1,306

Four $1,567

sign
here Signature of Applicant		 Date	 Phone Number

Email Address	

Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this application, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

Instructions
Who May File. An individual who is employed with an eligible program for at least six months of the taxable year, and 
who has been assigned a classification level pursuant to the Nebraska Early Childhood Professional Record System, may 
apply for the income tax credit available under this program. An eligible program is one that has been assigned a quality 
scale rating under the Step Up to Quality Child Care Act. Certified teaching and administrative staff employed by before-
and-after-school or pre-kindergarten programs established by school boards or educational service units are not eligible to 
receive credits under this program. 
When to File. This application for credits must be filed after you have been employed with an eligible program for more 
than six months of the taxable year and prior to March 1 of the year following the taxable year for which you plan to claim 
the credit. To claim the credit on your 2019 Nebraska Individual Income Tax return, you must file this application by 
March 1, 2020.
What to File. Attach and submit a signed School Readiness Tax Credit Act—Attestation of Staff Member Classification 
Level along with this application. 

Specific Instructions
Applicant Information. Enter current name, mailing address, and SSN. If all information is not completed, the application 
is not complete and will not be processed.
Eligible Program Information. Enter the name, address, and dates of employment. If you were employed by more than 
one eligible program, attach a list of additional employers. Be sure to include the name, address, and dates of employment 
for each additional employer. If all information is not completed, the application is not complete and will not be processed.
Identify Classification. Place an “X” next to the most recent level you have been assigned on the Nebraska Early 
Childhood Professional Record System. 

Mail this Application and your Attestation form to:
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94609, Lincoln, NE 68509-4609.

2019



Additional Instructions
Application and Approval Steps.

	 1. 	 Request the School Readiness Tax Credit Act — Attestation of Staff Member Classification Level form from 
the Nebraska Department of Education. Please allow six weeks for your request to be processed by the Nebraska 
Department of Education.

	 2. 	 Attach your School Readiness Tax Credit Act — Attestation of Staff Member Classification Level form to this 
application  and file it with the Nebraska Department of Revenue by March 1 of the year following the taxable year 
for which you plan to claim this credit. Please allow four weeks for the Nebraska Department of Revenue to process 
and respond to your application. 

		  The Nebraska Department of Revenue will process the applications in the order received until March 1 or until the 
program tax credit limitation of $5 million has been met, whichever is earlier.

	 3.	 Claim your tax credit by attaching the tax credit certification from the Nebraska Department of Revenue to your 
Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N. The Nebraska Department of Revenue will not allow the tax credit if 
the certification is not attached to the Form 1040N.
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