

Good Life. Great Service.

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

# 2017 Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment Vouchers

## **Included in this Booklet:** Form 1040N-ES

#### **DEBRASKA C-PAY Electronic payment options are available. See instructions inside.**

If your Nebraska individual income tax, after allowance of personal exemption credits, is expected to exceed withholding and other credits by \$500 or more, then estimated income tax payments may be required.

Various indexed values for the personal exemption credit, standard deduction, and other elements of the Nebraska tax calculation are included in this year's changes. You should calculate your estimated tax for 2017 in light of these changes.

Taxpayers must ensure that adequate and timely estimated payments are made to avoid underpayment of estimated income tax penalties.

## For more information or to use any of our electronic services, go to revenue.nebraska.gov.

Sign up for a FREE subscription service at the Department's website to get email updates on your topics of interest.

800-742-7474 (NE or IA) or 402-471-5729

#### Instructions

Who Must Make Estimated Income Tax Payments. Every resident and nonresident must make estimated income tax payments if their Nebraska income tax, after personal exemption credits, is expected to exceed their income tax withholding and other credits by \$500 or more. If you are an employee with income tax being withheld from your earnings, you may ask your employer to withhold an additional amount for state income taxes, rather than make these four estimated income tax payments.

**When to Pay Your Estimated Income Tax.** The first payment must be made on or before April 15, 2017, and on later dates as set out below. The estimated tax may be paid in full with the first payment, or in equal installments on or before April 15, 2017, June 15, 2017, September 15, 2017, and January 15, 2018. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, taxpayers have until the next business day to make the payment.

- **Farmers and Ranchers.** If at least two-thirds of your gross income for 2016 or 2017 is derived from farming, ranching, or fishing, you may pay all of your estimated income tax on or before January 15, 2018 and still avoid a penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax. If you file your 2017 Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N, on or before March 1, 2018, and pay the total income tax due at that time, you do not need to make any estimated income tax payments for 2017.
- **Fiscal Year Taxpayers.** Fiscal year taxpayers must pay their estimated income tax by the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the fiscal year, and the first month of the following fiscal year. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, taxpayers have until the next business day to make the payment.

**How to Calculate Your Estimated Income Tax Payment.** Complete the Estimated Income Tax Worksheet (Worksheet) to compute your 2017 estimated income tax. If line 18 is less than \$500, estimated income tax payments are not required, but may still be made. If 2017 federal AGI is expected to be more than \$261,500 (single), \$313,800 (married, filing jointly), \$156,900 (married, filing separately), or \$287,650 (head of household), line 11b of the worksheet must be completed. Subtract the amount of any carryover from the 2016 Form 1040N before making your payment.

Make appropriate entries in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments.

**Changes in Estimated Income Tax.** If your income increases during the year, you may be required to begin making estimated income tax payments, or increase the amount of your estimated income tax payments at the next due date. If you need to increase the amount of an estimated income tax payment and you have previously scheduled an electronic payment, be sure to cancel and reschedule your payment.

You may use the Amended Computation Schedule on page 5 to calculate your amended estimated income tax if your income substantially increases.

#### How to Pay Your Estimated Income Tax.

Make the smart choice – pay electronically using the Department's <u>e-pay</u> program or by credit card. When paying electronically, vouchers are not required.

If you are not making electronic payments of estimated income tax, you can download the payment vouchers from our website. When making payment by paper check, show the amended estimated income tax on line 1 of the next payment voucher filed. If making payments electronically, **do not** file a voucher to show the change.

#### **Electronic Payment Options**

**Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW).** With this payment option, you provide your payment information within your electronically-filed return. Your payment will automatically be withdrawn from your bank account on the date you specify.

**Nebraska e-pay.** Nebraska e-pay is the Department's web-based electronic payment system. You enter your payment and bank account information, and choose a date (up to a year in advance) to have your account debited. You will receive an email confirmation for each payment scheduled.

**Credit Card.** Secure credit card payments can be initiated through Official Payments at <u>officialpayments.com</u>; via phone at 800-272-9829 or by downloading the OPAY app from your smart phone's app store. Eligible credit cards include American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and VISA. A convenience fee (2.35% of the tax payment, \$1 minimum) is charged to the card you use. This fee is paid to the credit card vendor, not the state, and will appear on your credit card statement separately, from the tax payment. At the end of your transaction, you will be given a confirmation number. Keep this number for your records. [If you are making your credit card payment by phone, you will need to provide the Nebraska Jurisdiction Code, which is 3700.]

**Check or Money Order Using the Estimated Income Tax Payment Voucher.** If you are not using one of the electronic payment options described above, include a check or money order payable to the "Nebraska Department of Revenue." Checks written to the Department may be presented for payment electronically.

You must enter your Social Security number (SSN) and your spouse's SSN, if applicable, on the payment vouchers where indicated. List the names and SSNs in the same order on the voucher as you list them on your married, filing jointly return.

**Overpayment Credit From 2016.** If you had an overpayment on your 2016 Form 1040N, and elected to apply it to your 2017 estimated income tax, the amount of that overpayment may be applied in full, or in part, to any installment.

Taxpayers claiming an overpayment from line 40 of last year's individual income tax return, Form 1040N, should be aware that an overpayment will be applied first to offset any existing balance due from another tax year. If the Department transfers all or part of an amount requested to be carried over to next year's estimated income tax payments (current year carryover), a written notice of the offset will be issued. Please contact the Department if you are unsure of your current year carryover amount.

**Joint Payments.** Payments of estimated income tax may be made on a married, filing jointly basis for Nebraska income tax purposes. Married, filing jointly payments may not be made if the spouses are separated under a decree of either divorce or separate maintenance, or if they have different taxable years. If married, filing jointly payments are made, but a married, filing jointly return is not filed for the taxable year, the estimated income tax for the year may be divided between spouses.

**Deceased Taxpayer.** If estimated income tax payments have been made under a spouse's SSN, and this spouse dies during the year, indicate "deceased" on any e-filed return when prompted. On paper returns, write "DECEASED" at the top of the Form 1040N and give the date of death next to the SSN. Verify that the surviving spouse's name and SSN are correct on Form 1040N-ES, and indicate what SSN will be used in filing a Form 1040N-ES for the next year.

**Penalty For Not Paying Enough Estimated Income Tax.** A penalty is imposed for underpayment of estimated income tax installments. The penalty is not due if you qualify for any of the exceptions listed on the <u>Individual</u> <u>Underpayment of Estimated Tax, Form 2210N</u>.

Each individual who has underpaid estimated income tax must file a Form 2210N with the Form 1040N. The estimated tax is underpaid if the payments (including income tax withholding) are not equal to at least:

- 1. 90% (66 <sup>2</sup>/<sub>3</sub>% for those engaged in farming, ranching, and fishing) of the income tax liability for the year, after reduction by credits other than income tax withholding or estimated income tax payments; or
- 2. 100% of the income tax shown on the Nebraska return for the full 12-month preceding tax year, if federal AGI was \$150,000 or less; or
- 3. 110% (the applicable federal percentage) of the preceding year's income tax reported on a Nebraska return, if 2016 federal AGI was above \$150,000. Complete the Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4. You may also owe a penalty if estimated income tax payments are not filed in a timely manner.

Exceptions to the Penalty. You do not have to pay the penalty if:

- 1. You had no income tax liability for 2016, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2016 Nebraska income tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
- 2. You are a first-time filer for Nebraska income tax purposes; or
- 3. The total income tax shown on your 2017 Nebraska income tax return minus the amount of income tax you paid through income tax withholding is less than \$500.

### Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet

NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Service.



1	Estimated federal adjusted gross income (AGI)			1	
2	Estimated federal itemized deductions (line 29, Federal Form 1040, Schedule A)	2			
	State and local income taxes (line 5, Schedule A)				
	Nebraska itemized deductions (line 2 minus line 3)	4			
	Standard deduction (enter the Nebraska standard deduction amount):				
	Single \$6,350;				
	Married, Filing Jointly \$12,700;				
	Head of Household \$9,350; Married, Filing Separately \$6,350; or				
	65 or older and/or blind (see page 5)	5			
6	Enter the greater of line 4 or line 5			6	
	Estimated Nebraska income before adjustments (line 1 minus line 6)				
	Estimated Nebraska adjustments increasing federal AGI (including non-Nebraska				
Ŭ	bond interest)			. 8	
9	Estimated Nebraska adjustments <b>decreasing</b> federal AGI (including federal bond in				
	Estimated Nebraska taxable income (line 7 plus line 8, minus line 9)				
	Estimated Nebraska income tax:				
	a Using the 2017 Nebraska Estimated Income Tax Rate Schedule on page 6,				
	calculate Nebraska tax on the line 10 amount	11a	1		
	<b>b</b> If estimated federal AGI from line 1 is greater than \$261,500 (single), \$313,800				
	(married, filing jointly), \$156,900 (married, filing separately), or \$287,650 (head				
	of household), use the Additional Tax Rate Schedule on page 6 to calculate				
	the additional tax. If estimated federal AGI is less than the amounts shown enter				
	zero on line 11b	11b			
	Enter on line 11 the total of line 11a plus line 11b			11	
12	Estimated Nebraska other taxes (total of taxes from Federal Form 4972 and tax on	earl	y distributions;		
	multiplied by .296)			12	
	Total Nebraska estimated income tax (total of lines 11 and 12)			13	
14	Estimated Nebraska credits including:				
	For full year residents –				
	Credit for tax paid to another state. For residents and partial-year residents –				
	Refundable and nonrefundable credits for child and dependent care expense; ear	ned	income credit; cred	it	
	for the elderly or the disabled; Angel Investment tax credit; TANF credit; and Sch	nool	Readiness credit.		
	For all taxpayers – Personal exemption credit; Community Development Assistance Act credit; Begir	nin	a Farmar aradit:		
	Form 3800N credit; and Financial Institution Tax credit.	í	y Farmer credit,	14	
15	Nebraska 2017 estimated income tax (line 13 minus line 14). If zero or less, enter -0	D		15	
16	a Multiply line 15 by 90% (66 <sup>2</sup> / <sub>3</sub> % if engaged in farming or fishing)	16a	1		
	<b>b</b> Enter the tax shown on your 2016 tax return (110% of that amount if you are				
	not engaged in farming or fishing and the AGI shown on that return is more				
	than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if your filing status for 2017 is married, filing separately)	16k	b line line line line line line line line		
	c Required annual payment to avoid a penalty. Enter the smaller of line 16a o			<b>16c</b>	
	Caution: If you do not prepay (through income tax withholding and estimated inc				
	at least the amount on line 16c, you may owe a penalty for not paying enough espenalty, make sure your estimate on line 15 is as accurate as possible. Even if you				
	annual payment, you may still owe tax when you file your return. You must also n				
	payments to avoid underpayment penalties. If you prefer, you can pay the amour				
17	Income tax withheld and estimated income tax to be withheld during 2017 (includin	a ind	come tax withholdir	a	
	on pensions, annuities, certain deferred income, etc.)	-		-	
18	Subtract line 17 from line 16c. (Note: If the result is zero or less, or line 15 minus lin				
	stop here. You are not required to make estimated tax payments.)				
19	Computation of installments				
	If the <b>first</b> installment you are required to make is due on:				
	• April 15, 2017, enter ¼ of the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment V				
	• June 15, 2017, enter ½ of the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment \	/ouc	mer 2		
	<ul> <li>(Also, enter ¼ of the amount on line 18 and on Vouchers 3 and 4)</li> <li>September 15, 2017, enter ¾ of the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Pay.</li> </ul>	mon	nt Voucher 3		
	(Also, enter ¼ of the amount on line 18 and on line 2 of Payment Voucher 4)				
	<ul> <li>January 15, 2018, enter the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment Volume Volu</li></ul>	19			

Retain a copy for your records. Do not file the amended computation schedule on the reverse side.

Additional Standard Deduction for Elderly and/or B	lind							
Your Nebraska standard deduction is increased by this amount if, at the end of 2017, you are:								
<ul> <li>An unmarried individual (single or head of household), and</li> <li>65 or older, or blind</li></ul>								
• A married individual (filing jointly or separately) or a qualifying widow(er), and 65 or older, or blind	\$1,250							
65 or older <b>and</b> blind	<i>,</i>							
<ul><li>Both spouses are 65 or older</li><li>And one spouse is also blind</li></ul>								
Both spouses are blind								
And one spouse is also 65 or older								
Both spouses are 65 or older, and both are blind								
If married, filing separately, these amounts apply only if you can claim an exemption for your s	spouse.							

Amended Computation Schedule • Use this schedule if your estimated income tax changes during the year.		
1 Amended estimated income tax (enter here and on line 1 of the payment voucher)	1	
2 Amount of the 2016 overpayment previously applied as a credit to 2017 estimated income tax installments	2	
3 Total amount previously paid for 2017 estimated income tax installments	3	
4 Line 2 plus line 3	4	
5 Unpaid balance (line 1 minus line 4)	5	
6 Amount to be paid (line 5 divided by number of remaining payments). Enter here and on line 2 of the payment voucher	6	

## **Record of Estimated Income Tax Payments**

Payment Number	Installment Date	(A) Date Filed	(B) Amount Paid	(C) 2016 Overpayment	(D) Total Amount Paid and Credited (Column B plus Column C)
1	April 15, 2017				
2	June 15, 2017				
3	September 15, 2017				
4	January 15, 2018				

**Note:** If you are not required to make an estimated income tax payment on the first installment date, you may still have to make a payment at a later date. See instruction titled "Changes in Estimated Tax."

## 2017 Nebraska Estimated Income Tax Rate Schedule

Use this rate schedule only for computing 2017 estimated income tax.

Do not use it to compute an amount for any tax returns.

Enter the tax calculated from this schedule on line 11a of the

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4 of this booklet.

	Include \$132 for each federal personal exemption allowed on line 14 of the Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4 of this booklet.											
		Single Taxpayer	Head of Household									
If line 10, Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:		The Nebraska estimated tax is:	If line 10, Form 1040N-l	ES Worksheet is:	The Nebraska estimated tax is:							
over —	but not over		over —	but not over								
\$ 0	\$ 3,090	2.46% of the income	\$ 0	\$ 5,760	2.46% of the income							
3,090	18,510	76.01 + 3.51%  of the excess over $ 3,090$	5,760	29,620	\$ 141.70 + 3.51% of the excess over \$ 5,760							
18,510	29,830	617.25 + 5.01% of the excess over \$18,510	29,620	44,230	979.19 + 5.01% of the excess over \$29,620							
29,830		1,184.38 + 6.84% of the excess over \$29,830	44,230		1,711.15 + 6.84% of the excess over \$44,230							
	Married, Filing	Jointly and Surviving Spouses	Married, Filing Separately									
If line 10, Form 1040N-1	ES Worksheet is:	The Nebraska estimated tax is:	If line 10, Form 1040N-l	The Nebraska estimated tax is:								
over —	but not over		over—	but not over								
\$ 0	\$ 6,170	2.46% of the income	\$ 0	\$ 3,090	2.46% of the income							
6,170	37,030	\$ 151.78 + 3.51% of the excess over \$ 6,170	3,090	18,510	16.01 + 3.51% of the excess over $3,090$							
37,030	59,660	1,234.97 + 5.01% of the excess over \$37,030	18,510	29,830	617.25 + 5.01% of the excess over \$18,510							
59,660 ——		2,368.73 + 6.84% of the excess over \$59,660	29,830		1,184.38 + 6.84% of the excess over \$29,830							

## 2017 Nebraska Additional Tax Rate Schedule

Enter the additional tax calculated from this schedule on line 11b of the Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4 of this booklet.

		Single Taxpayer	
If AGI is:		The tax to add is:	
over –	but not over		
\$261,500	\$292,400	0.438% (.00438) of AGI above \$261,500	
292,400	446,600	135.34 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $292,400$	
446,600	559,800	648.83 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over \$446,600	
559,800	—	855.99	
	Ма	rried, Filing Jointly and Surviving Spouses	
If AGI is:		The tax to add is:	
over –	but not over		
\$313,800	\$375,500	0.438% (.00438) of AGI above \$313,800	
375,500	684,100	270.25 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $375,500$	
684,100	910,400	1,297.89 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over \$684,100	
910,400	—	1,712.02	
		Married, Filing Separately	
If AGI is:		The tax to add is:	
over –	but not over		
\$156,900	\$187,800	0.438% (.00438) of AGI above \$156,900	
187,800	342,000	135.34 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $187,800$	
342,000	455,200	648.83 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over \$342,000	
455,200	—	855.99	
		Head of Household	
If AGI is:		The tax to add is:	
over –	but not over		
\$287,650	\$345,250	0.438% (.00438) of AGI above \$287,650	
345,250	583,850	252.29 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over \$345,250	
583,850	729,950	1,046.83 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over \$583,850	
729,950		1,314.19	

#### **Special Instructions**

If Estimated Nebraska Taxable Income, line 10, Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet, is less than \$59,660, then perform the following steps:

Step 1. Subtract the AGI threshold amount for the appropriate filing status from Federal AGI.

Step 2. Multiply this amount by 10% (.10).

Step 3. Compare the Step 2 result to Estimated Nebraska Taxable Income, line 10, Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet. • If line 10 is less than the Step 2 result, go to Step 4.

• If line 10 is more than the Step 2 result, then use the Additional Tax Rate Schedule above to compute the Nebraska income tax, line 11b, Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet. (Do not proceed to Step 4.)

Step 4. Multiply the line 14 amount by 6.84% (.0684) and enter the result on line 11 of the Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet.

NEBRASKA Good Life, Great Service, DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE	Indiv		ual Estimat	ed Income Tax	FORM 1040N-ES
<ol> <li>Amount of this payment (net of the calculated pay any 2016 overpayment applied to 2017's estimate tax installments)</li> </ol>	ed income	1	-		
Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return			I	-	
If a Joint Return, Spouse's First Name and Initial	Last Name	9		This installment is due	on or before
Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)				April 15, 2017.	must be entered below
City	State		Zip Code	Important: Social Security numbers First Social Security Number on your Ir	
<ul> <li>File only if you are making a payment of estimate</li> <li>Fiscal year taxpayers—see instructions.</li> </ul>	d income t	ax by	check or money order.	Spouse's Social Security Number	
NEBRASKA       Nebraska         Good Life, Great Service,       Nebraska         DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE       Nebraska         1 Amount of this payment (net of the calculated pay any 2016 overpayment applied to 2017's estimate tax installments)       Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return	/ment and d income	P 1	ual Estimat	ed Income Tax	FORM 1040N-ES <b>2017</b>
If a Joint Return, Spouse's First Name and Initial	Last Name	9		This installment is due	e on or before
Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)				<b>L</b> June 15, 2017.	
City	State		Zip Code	Important: Social Security numbers First Social Security Number on your In	
	Amended Co ically. Oth	ompu h <b>erw</b>	tation Schedule. ise, mail this voucher	Spouse's Social Security Number and your check or money order 1, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.	to: 8-014-201
NEBRASKA Nebraska	Indiv	vid	ual Estimat	ed Income Tax	FORM 1040N-ES

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE			I	Pay	ment Vouch	er			2017
any 2016 overpaym	ment (net of the calculated pay nent applied to 2017's estimate	ed income							
Name that will be Shown	n First on your Income Tax Return	Last Name	,						
If a Joint Return, Spouse	e's First Name and Initial	Last Name	а				L		
						2	This installment is due of	on or before	
Current Mailing Address	s (Number and Street or PO Box)							September 15, 2017.	
						!	Imp	ortant: Social Security numbers n	nust be entered below.
City		State			Zip	o Code	First	Social Security Number on your Inco	ome Tax Return
	making a payment of estimate	d income t	ax b	y ch	eck or money or	der.	Spou	use's Social Security Number	

• If your estimated tax needs to be amended, use the Amended Computation Schedule.

Consider paying electronically. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911. 7

DEBRASKA Good Life. Great Service. DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE	Nebraska	FORM 1040N-ES <b>2017</b>			
any 2016 overpayme	ent (net of the calculated pay ent applied to 2017's estimate	d income			
Name that will be Shown F	First on your Income Tax Return	Last Name			
If a Joint Return, Spouse's		Last Name		<b>4</b> This installment is du <b>January 15, 2018.</b>	e on or before
Current Maning Address (r	Number and Street or PO Box)			Important: Social Security number	a must be entered below
City		State	Zip Code	First Social Security Number on your	
<ul> <li>Fiscal year taxpayers</li> </ul>	aking a payment of estimate s—see instructions. leeds to be amended, use the A	-	•	Spouse's Social Security Number	
. (	Consider paving electron	ically Otherwise m	ail this voucher	and your check or money orde	r to

ider paying electronically. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.

\_

\_

\_

\_

-

\_\_\_\_