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Corporation Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax
  • Read the instructions on the reverse side.

FORM 2220N

2015

	 Name on Form 1120N	 Taxable Year	 Nebraska ID  Number

Part I — Calculate the Underpayment

8-238-2015

Part II — Calculate the Penalty

  • Complete lines 14 through 21 for one column before completing the next column.

(A) (B) (C) (D)

Attach this form to Form 1120N.

Check the appropriate boxes:

	 Adjusted Seasonal Installment Method       	  Annualized Income Installment Method      	 Large Corporation



Instructions
Who Must File. A Corporation Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax, Form 2220N, must be filed by the corporate 
taxpayer when line 8 is $400 or greater.

A corporate taxpayer includes all entities taxed as corporations under the Internal Revenue Code, except S corporations and 
financial institutions defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3801. 

When and Where to File. This form must be attached to the Nebraska Corporation Income Tax Return, Form 1120N, 
and filed with that return.

Part I — Calculate the Underpayment
Check the appropriate boxes. Check one or more boxes if the corporation uses the adjusted seasonal installment method, 
the annualized income installment method, or if the corporation is a large corporation. 

Line 1. Enter the tax amount from line 11 of the 2015 Form 1120N on line 1 of this form.

Line 6. The amount entered on this line should only include the Beginning Farmer credit. Any amount claimed for Nebraska 
income tax withheld on line 21 of Form 1120N must be included on line 14 of Form 2220N.

Line 10. The entry on this line allows corporations to use the income tax reported on their prior year’s return less the prior 
year’s allowable credits to determine whether an underpayment exists. Enter line 16 minus lines 17 and 20 from the 2014 
Form 1120N. “Large corporations,” except as noted, cannot use this calculation. The prior year’s Nebraska return must cover 
a period of 12 months and show an income tax liability. If this calculation does not apply, enter the line 9 amount on line 11.

Large Corporations. A “large corporation” is one which had, or its predecessor had, federal taxable income of at least 
$1 million for any of the three taxable years immediately preceding the tax year involved. In applying the “$1 million test,” 
taxable income is computed without regard to net operating loss and capital loss carrybacks and carryovers.

A large corporation is prohibited from using its prior year’s tax liability, except in determining the first installment of its 
tax year. Any reduction in a large corporation’s first installment as a result of using the prior year’s tax must be recaptured 
in the corporation’s second installment.

Large corporations compute line 13 amounts by using the same procedures that result in the comparable entry on the Federal 
Form 2220.

Methods to Reduce or Avoid Penalty. A corporation may reduce or eliminate the penalty by using the annualized income 
or adjusted seasonal installment method. To use one or both of these methods to compute one or more required installments, 
recalculate (and attach) the Adjusted Seasonal Installment Method and Annualized Income Installment Method, Federal 
Schedule A, using Nebraska income and other Nebraska amounts. Also, check the appropriate boxes at the top of this form.

Enter the corresponding amount from the recalculated Federal Schedule A in each column of line 13 on this form.

Line 12. Enter the installment due dates in a MMDDCCYY format. For example,  April 15, 2015 should be entered as 04152015. 

Line 14. Enter the income tax payments made by the corporation and any credit for Nebraska income tax withheld from 
the corporation as indicated below.  

In Column (A), enter the total of:

	 1. 	The corporation’s 2014 income tax overpayment that was credited to its 2015 estimated income tax payments;

	 2. 	Any estimated income tax payments made for the 2015 tax year by the date on line 12, Column (A); and 

	 3. 	Any Nebraska income tax withheld from the corporation by the date on line 12, Column (A).

In Columns (B), (C), and (D), enter the total of:

	 1. 	Any estimated income tax payments made for the 2015 tax year by the date on line 12 for that column and after the 
date on line 12 of the preceding column; and

	 2. 	Any Nebraska income tax withheld from the corporation by the date on line 12 for that column and after the date on 
line 12 of the preceding column.  

Line 20. Underpayment. When an underpayment is reported on this line, complete Part II, lines 22 through 26, to determine 
the penalty amount for each underpayment of an installment. 

Line 21. Overpayment. Any overpayment of an installment on line 21 in excess of all prior underpayments should be 
applied as a credit on line 15 against the next installment.

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/15forms/f_1220n.pdf
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-3801


Part II — Calculate the Penalty
Line 23. A payment of estimated income tax is applied against underpayments of required installments in the order that 
installments are required to be paid, regardless of the installment to which the payment pertains.

In determining the date of payment on line 23, use the date of the payment which was applied against the underpayment 
of income tax on line 22, the due date of the next payment (line 12 of the next column), or the 15th day of the 3rd month 
following the close of the taxable year, whichever is earliest. Enter the payment date or next due date in a MMDDCCYY 
format. For example,  April 15, 2015 should be entered as 04152015.

Example. A corporation has an underpayment for the April 15 installment of $1,000. The June 15 installment requires 
a payment of $2,000. On June 15, the corporation deposits $2,500 for its June 15 installment. However, $1,000 of this 
payment is considered to be for the April 15 installment. The penalty for the April 15 installment is calculated on $1,000 
to June 15 (61 days). The remaining amount of the June 15 payment ($1,500) must be applied to the June 15 installment.

Line 25. The penalty is calculated at three percent per year for any days in 2015 and 2016. Multiply line 22 by the applicable 
interest rate for the number of days on line 24 divided by 365. 

If the corporation has made more than one payment for a required installment, make separate penalty calculations through 
the date of payment and for the remaining underpayment through the date it is paid, then add the results together and enter 
on line 25.
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