

• Attach to Form 1040N.

□ Check this box if you are annualizing your income.

Name and	Address or	1 Form	1040N

Name and Address on Form 1040N Taxable Year				Sc	Social Security Number					
1	Total Nebraska income tax after nonrefundable credits (line 27, Form 1040N)						. 1	I		
		nter the total of the refundable credits (total of lines 30 thru 34, Form 1040N)						2		
	Subtract line 2 from line 1							3		
4	Multiply line 3 by 90% (.90) and enter result he	ere					. 4	l I		
5	Amount of Nebraska income tax withheld for 201	4, if :	any (line 28, Form 1040N). I	Do n	ot include any estimated	payments on this line	5	5		
	Subtract line 5 from line 3. If less than \$500, s							6		
7	Enter your 2013 Nebraska income tax (see ins	truct	tions). If federal AGI was m	ore	than \$150,000 (\$75,000) if married,				
	filing separately), enter 110% of 2013 tax	separately), enter 110% of 2013 tax								
8	Required annual payment. Enter smaller of line 4 or line 7.							3		
	If line 5 is greater than or equal to line 8, do									
			• Farmers and ranchers	sho	ould skip to line 24.					
9	Due date of installments	9	April 15, 2014		June 15, 2014	Sept. 15, 2014		Ja	ın. 15, 2015	5
	Enter 25% of line 8 in each column	10								
11	Amount of estimated payment plus amount withheld for each guarter (see instructions)	11								
			s 12 through 18 of one co	olun	n before going to the	next column.				
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		•		Jene genig te tile					
12	Overpayment of previous installments from line 18 of the previous column		12							
13	Add lines 11 and 12			13						
14	Add amounts on line 16 of the previous column	n an	d line 17 of the previous							
• •	column and enter result			14						
15	Subtract line 14 from line 13. If zero or less,									
	enter -0- (for April 15 column only, enter the									
	amount from line 11)		•	-						
16	Remaining underpayment from previous period. If the amount on line 15 is zero, subtract line 13 from line 14. Otherwise, enter -0 16									
17	Underpayment. If line 10 is greater	, en		10						
	than or equal to line 15, subtract line 15 from									
	line 10, and go to the next column; otherwise, go to line 18	17								
	go to line 18	17								
18	Overpayment. If line 15 is greater than									
	line 10, subtract line 10 from line 15, enter the amount here and on line 12 of the next column	18								
		10	Calculate t	ho l	Banalty					
		-			renally					
19	Amount of underpayment (line 16 plus line 17) For April 15 column only, use -0- for line 16 in									
	your calculation	19								
20	Date of payment or next due date (from							1		
21	line 9), whichever is earlier Number of days from due date of installment	20		-				+		
	to the date shown on line 20	21								
22	Penalty (3% per year on the line 19 amount for the number of days on line 21)	22					_			_
23	Total amounts on line 22. Enter this amount on		36. Form 1040N				23	3		
			nd Ranchers — Un							
2/	Enter line 3 here. If tax is paid and return is f						2/	1		
25 Multiply line 24 by 66 2/3% (.667) and enter here										
 27 Subtract line 26 from line 24. If less than \$500, do not complete the rest of this form. You do not owe penalty										
29 Enter the smaller of line 25 or line 28										
30 Amounts withheld and amounts paid or credited by January 15										
31 Underpayment of estimated tax (line 29 minus line 30). If less than zero, you do not owe penalty										
	32 Number of days from January 15 to date of payment, or April 15, whichever is earlier									
	Penalty (3% per year on the line 31 amount fo							1		
	Enter this amount here and on line 36, Form 1040N						. 33	3		

Mail this form and attachments to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.

You may also fax this form and the required attachments to 402-471-5927.

Instructions

Note: 2015 Individual Estimated Payment Vouchers and Instructions are not mailed to taxpayers by the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). Instead, all taxpayers are encouraged to make their estimated payments <u>electronically</u>. If you are making payments by check or money order, please print and mail this <u>voucher</u> with your payment to ensure the payment is properly credited to your account.

Who Must File. If your 2014 tax due (line 17, Form 1040N) less withholding and allowable credits is \$500 or more, you may owe a penalty for underpayment of estimated tax and must complete this form. You may also owe a penalty if estimated payments have not been filed in a timely manner.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty. An individual who did not pay enough estimated tax by any of the applicable due dates, or did not have enough state income tax withheld, may be charged a penalty. This is true even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return. The penalty is calculated separately for each due date. You may owe the penalty for an earlier payment due, even if you paid enough tax later to make up the underpayment.

You may owe the penalty for 2014 if you did not pay at least the smaller of:

- 1. 90% of your 2014 tax liability; or
- 2. 100% of your 2013 tax liability (if you filed a 2013 return that covered a full 12 months).

Exceptions to the Penalty. You do not have to pay the penalty if:

- 1. You had no tax liability for 2013, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2013 Nebraska tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
- 2. You are a first-time filer for Nebraska tax purposes; or
- 3. The total tax shown on your 2014 return minus the amount of tax you paid through withholding is less than \$500. To determine whether the total tax is less than \$500, complete lines 1-6.

Note: If you file your return and pay the tax due by January 31, 2015, include on line 19, January 15 column, the amount of tax you pay with your tax return. In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the payment due on January 15, 2015.

Nebraska Tax on Annualized Income. No penalty will be imposed if your Nebraska tax payments equal or exceed 90% of your Nebraska tax liability based on annualized income earned through the end of the month preceding the installment date. If you meet this criteria, check the box at the top of this form. Paper filers attach a separate schedule showing your computation similar to the federal Annualized Income Installment Method Schedule.

Waiver of Penalty. Waiver of penalty may be considered under the following circumstances:

- Underpayment due to casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance where it would be inequitable to impose the penalty; or
- In 2013 or 2014, you retired after age 62, or became disabled, and your underpayment was due to reasonable cause.

Paper filers attach a statement to this form outlining why the penalty should not be imposed.

When and Where to File. Form 2210N must be attached and filed with the <u>Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return</u>, Form 1040N.

Specific Line Instructions

Line 7, 2013 Tax. Use your 2013 tax after nonrefundable credits from your 2013 tax return. If the 2013 tax year was for less than 12 months, do not complete this line. Instead, enter the amount from line 4 on line 8 and complete the remainder of the form. If you are not engaged in farming, ranching, or fishing, and your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) in 2013 was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married, filing separately), enter 110% of your 2013 taxes on line 7. Farmers and ranchers should see Special Rules below.

Line 9, Installment Payments. If you filed your Nebraska income tax return and paid the balance of the tax due by January 31, that balance is considered paid as of January 15.

Fiscal Year Taxpayers. The installment due dates for fiscal year taxpayers are the 15th day of the following months:

- 1. The first month of the second quarter;
- 2. The third month of the second quarter;
- 3. The third month of the third quarter; and
- 4. The first month of the following fiscal year.

All dates on Form 2210N should be considered in the corresponding month of the fiscal year.

Line 11, Income Tax Withheld. An equal part of the Nebraska income tax withheld during the year by your employer is considered paid on each required installment date, unless you establish other dates when the withholding actually occurred.

For nonresident individuals, the amount of tax withheld by Scorporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, or fiduciaries is considered paid on the last day of the organization's taxable year, unless you establish other dates when the withholding actually occurred.

Line 18, Overpayment. Your payments are applied first to any underpayment balance on an earlier installment, or an existing balance due on another tax year. It does not matter if you designate a payment for a later period. Any overpayment of an installment on line 18 that is larger than all prior underpayments should be applied as a credit on line 12 against the next installment.

Lines 19-23, Penalty Calculations. Complete lines 19 through 23 to determine the penalty you owe. When determining the payment date on line 20, use: the date the payment was applied against the underpayment on line 19; the due date of the next payment (line 9 of the next column); or April 15, whichever is earliest. If more than one payment is made for any installment, or a partial payment is made, make separate penalty calculations through the payment dates. Then add the results together and enter on line 22. The penalty is calculated at 3% per year.

Note For Electronic Filers: Your software may allow you to calculate multiple payments within a quarter. Refer to the instructions provided with the software. Also, see the instructions for Federal Form 2210 for more information.

Special Rules For Farmers And Ranchers. You do not owe a penalty and are not required to file Form 2210N if:

- Your gross income from farming, ranching, or fishing is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income from all sources for 2013 or 2014;
- A Form 1040N is filed and the Nebraska income tax is paid on or before March 1.

Calculate Your Underpayment. If the gross income test was met, but the date for filing and payment of the tax was not, complete lines 24 through 31. If no underpayment is indicated on line 31, do not complete lines 32 and 33.

Calculate the Penalty. Complete lines 32 and 33 to determine the penalty.