

• Attach to Form 1040N.

Check	this	box if	vou	are	annualizing	ı vour	income

	у ус	our income.						
Name and Address on Form 1040N	Taxable Year	Social Security Number						
1 Total Nebraska income tax after nonrefundable	crea	dits (line 27, Form 1040N)				. 1		
2 Enter the total of the refundable credits (total of		. 2						
3 Subtract line 2 from line 1	. 3							
4 Multiply line 3 by 90% (.90) and enter result he		. 4						
5 Amount of tax withheld for 2013, if any (line 28,	. 5							
6 Subtract line 5 from line 3. If less than \$500, s	top	here; do not complete th	his fo	orm. You do not owe p	enalty	. 6		
7 Enter your 2012 income tax (see instructions). enter 110% of 2012 tax	. 7							
8 Required annual payment. Enter smaller of line	_							
If line 5 is greater than or equal to line 8, do						. 0		
		Farmers and ranchers						
9 Due date of installments	9	April 15, 2013		June 15, 2013	Sept. 15, 2013		Jan. 15, 2014	
10 Enter 25% of line 8 in each column	10	<b>1</b> - 7					,	
11 Amount of estimated payment plus amount								
withheld for each quarter (see instructions)	11		<u> </u>					
Complete	lines	12 through 18 of one co	olum	n before going to the	next column.			
12 Overpayment of previous installments from line	9 18	of the previous column	12					
	3 Add lines 11 and 12							
14 Add amounts on line 16 of the previous column column and enter result			14					
15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If zero or less, enter -0- (for April 15 column only, enter the amount from line 11)	15							
<ol> <li>Remaining underpayment from previous period is zero, subtract line 13 from line 14. Otherwise</li> <li>Underpayment. If line 10 is greater</li> </ol>	16							
than or equal to line 15, subtract line 15 from line 10, and go to the next column; otherwise, go to line 18								
18 Overpayment. If line 15 is greater than line 10, subtract line 10 from line 15, enter the amount here and on line 12 of the next column	18							
		Calculate t	he F	Penalty				
19 Amount of underpayment (line 16 plus line 17) For April 15 column only, use -0- for line 16 in your calculation	19							
20 Date of payment or next due date (from line 9), whichever is earlier	20							
21 Number of days from due date of installment								
to the date shown on line 20 22 Penalty (3% per year on the line 19 amount	21							
for the number of days on line 21)	22							
23 Total amounts on line 22. Enter this amount on	line	36, Form 1040N				23		
Farmer	's a	nd Ranchers — Un	derp	ayment of Estim	ated Tax			
24 Enter line 3 here. If tax is paid and return is f	iled	by March 1, do not com	plete	this form. You do not	owe penalty	. 24		
25 Multiply line 24 by 66 2/3% (.667) and enter he		. 25						
26 Amount of Nebraska tax withheld for 2013, if ar		. 26						
27 Subtract line 26 from line 24. If less than \$500	. 27							
28 Enter your 2012 Nebraska income tax (see line	7 in	structions)				. 28		
29 Enter the smaller of line 25 or line 28						. 29		
30 Amounts withheld and amounts paid or credite		. 30						
31 Underpayment of estimated tax (line 29 minus line 30). If less than zero, you do not owe penalty								
32 Number of days from January 15 to date of payment, or April 15, whichever is earlier								

Mail this form and attachments to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.

You may also fax this form and the required attachments to 402-471-5927.

Enter this amount here and on line 36, Form 1040N.....

33 Penalty (3% per year on the line 31 amount for the number of days on line 32).

33

## Instructions

**Note:** 2014 Individual Estimated Payment Vouchers and Instructions are not mailed to taxpayers by the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). Instead, all taxpayers are encouraged to make their estimated payments <u>electronically</u>. If you are making payments by check or money order, please print and mail this <u>voucher</u> with your payment to ensure the payment is properly credited to your account.

**Who Must File.** If your 2013 tax due (line 17, Form 1040N) less withholding and allowable credits is \$500 or more, you may owe an underpayment of estimated tax penalty and must complete this form. You may also owe a penalty if estimated payments have not been filed in a timely manner.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty. An individual who did not pay enough estimated tax by any of the applicable due dates, or did not have enough state income tax withheld, may be charged a penalty. This is true even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return. The penalty is calculated separately for each due date. You may owe the penalty for an earlier payment due, even if you paid enough tax later to make up the underpayment.

You may owe the penalty for 2013 if you did not pay at least the smaller of:

- 1. 90% of your 2013 tax liability; or
- 2. 100% of your 2012 tax liability (if you filed a 2012 return that covered a full 12 months).

Exceptions to the Penalty. You do not have to pay the penalty if:

- 1. You had no tax liability for 2012, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2012 Nebraska tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
- 2. You are a first-time filer for Nebraska tax purposes; or
- 3. The total tax shown on your 2013 return minus the amount of tax you paid through withholding is less than \$500. To determine whether the total tax is less than \$500, complete lines 1-6.

**Note:** If you file your return and pay the tax due by January 31, 2014, include on line 19, January 15 column, the amount of tax you pay with your tax return. In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the payment due on January 15, 2014.

**Nebraska Tax on Annualized Income.** No penalty will be imposed if your Nebraska tax payments equal or exceed 90% of your Nebraska tax liability based on annualized income earned through the end of the month preceding the installment date. If you meet this criteria, check the box at the top of this form. Paper filers attach a separate schedule showing your computation similar to the federal Annualized Income Installment Method Schedule.

Waiver of Penalty. Waiver of penalty may be considered under the following circumstances:

- Underpayment due to casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance where it would be inequitable to impose the penalty; or
- In 2012 or 2013, you retired after age 62, or became disabled, and your underpayment was due to reasonable cause.

Paper filers attach a statement to this form outlining why the penalty should not be imposed. E-filers attach a statement to Form 8453N and mail or fax to the Department.

When and Where to File. Form 2210N must be attached and filed with the <u>Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return</u>, <u>Form 1040N</u>.

## **Specific Line Instructions**

**Line 7, 2012 Tax.** Use your 2012 tax after nonrefundable credits from your 2012 tax return. If the 2012 tax year was for less than 12 months, do not complete this line. Instead, enter the amount from line 4 on line 8 and complete the remainder of the form. If you are not engaged in farming, ranching, or fishing, and your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) in 2012 was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married, filing separately), enter 110% of your 2012 taxes on line 7.

**Line 9, Installment Payments.** If you filed your Nebraska income tax return and paid the balance of the tax due by January 31, that balance is considered paid as of January 15.

Fiscal Year Taxpayers. The installment due dates for fiscal year taxpayers are the 15th day of the following months:

- 1. The first month of the second quarter;
- 2. The third month of the second quarter;
- 3. The third month of the third quarter; and
- 4. The first month of the following fiscal year.

All dates on Form 2210N should be considered in the corresponding month of the fiscal year.

**Line 11, Tax Withheld.** An equal part of the Nebraska income tax withheld during the year by your employer is considered paid on each required installment date, unless you establish other dates when the withholding actually occurred.

For nonresident individuals, the amount of tax withheld by Scorporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, or fiduciaries is considered paid on the last day of the organization's taxable year, unless you establish other dates when the withholding actually occurred.

**Line 18, Overpayment.** Your payments are applied first to any underpayment balance on an earlier installment, or an existing balance due on another tax year. It does not matter if you designate a payment for a later period. Any overpayment of an installment on line 18 that is larger than all prior underpayments should be applied as a credit on line 12 against the next installment.

**Lines 19-23, Penalty Calculations.** Complete lines 19 through 23 to determine the penalty you owe. When determining the payment date on line 20, use: the date the payment was applied against the underpayment on line 19; the due date of the next payment (line 9 of the next column); or April 15, whichever is earliest. If more than one payment is made for any installment, or a partial payment is made, make separate penalty calculations through the payment dates. Then add the results together and enter on line 22. The penalty is calculated at 3% per year.

**Note For Electronic Filers:** Your software may allow you to calculate multiple payments within a quarter. Refer to the instructions provided with the software. Also, see the instructions for Federal Form 2210 for more information.

Special Rules For Farmers And Ranchers. You do not owe a penalty and are not required to file Form 2210N if:

- Your gross income from farming, ranching, or fishing is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income from all sources for 2012 or 2013;
- A Form 1040N is filed and the Nebraska income tax is paid on or before March 1.

**Calculate Your Underpayment.** If the gross income test was met, but the date for filing and payment of the tax was not, complete lines 24 through 31. If no underpayment is indicated on line 31, do not complete lines 32 and 33.

Calculate the Penalty. Complete lines 32 and 33 to determine the 3% penalty.