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LB 970 reduced the first three tax rates in the tax rate schedule. See changes on page  6. 
If your Nebraska individual income tax, after allowance of personal exemption credits, 
is expected to exceed withholding and other credits by $500 or more, then estimated 
income tax payments may be required. 
Various indexed values for the personal exemption credit, standard deduction, and 
other elements of the Nebraska tax calculation are included in this year's changes. You 
should calculate your estimated tax for 2013 in light of these changes.
Taxpayers must ensure that adequate and timely estimated payments are 
made in order to avoid underpayment of estimated income tax penalties.

2013
Nebraska
Individual Estimated
Income Tax Payment
Vouchers
Included in this Booklet:
Form 1040N-ES

ELECTRONIC PAYMENT OPTIONS ARE 
AVAILABLE. 
See instructions inside.

Questions?
www.revenue.ne.gov 

Sign up for a FREE subscription service at the Department’s 
website to get email updates on your topics of interest.

800-742-7474 (NE or IA) or 402-471-5729
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http://www.revenue.ne.gov/electron/ind_e-pay.html
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INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS. Every resident and nonresident must make estimated income tax 
payments if their Nebraska income tax, after personal exemption credits, is expected to exceed withholding and other 
credits by $500 or more. If you are an employee with amounts being withheld from your earnings, you may ask 
your employer to withhold an additional amount for state taxes, rather than make these four estimated income 
tax payments.

WHEN TO FILE. The first payment must be filed on or before April 15, 2013, and on later dates as set out below. 
The estimated tax may be paid in full with the first payment, or in equal installments on or before April 15, 2013, 
June 15, 2013, September 15, 2013, and January 15, 2014.

FISCAL YEAR TAXPAYERS. Fiscal year taxpayers must report by the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of 
the fiscal year, and the first month of the following fiscal year.

METHODS OF PAYMENT. Make checks or money orders payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

Make the smart choice – pay electronically using the Department’s e-pay program or by credit card. When paying 
electronically, vouchers are not required.

ELECTRONIC PAYMENT OPTIONS (EFT)

Please pay by using EFT. 

E-PAY (ACH DEBIT): To use e-pay (sometimes called an electronic check), visit the Department’s website. 
This payment option is free to use, and you will receive an email confirmation for each payment. You can schedule your 
estimated payments up to one year in advance of having your bank account debited.

CREDIT CARD: Credit card payments are originated through Official Payments. Eligible credit cards include VISA, 
MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. A convenience fee of 2.49% of the tax payment ($1 minimum) is 
charged to the card you use and is paid to Official Payments. You will be told about this fee during the transaction. 
Secure credit card payments can be initiated at www.officialpayments.com, or at (800) 2PAY-TAX. If you are making 
your credit card payment by telephone, you will need to provide the Nebraska Jurisdiction Code, which is 3700. At the 
end of your transaction, you will be given a confirmation number. Keep this for your records. 

FARMERS AND RANCHERS. If at least two-thirds of your gross income for 2012 or 2013 is derived from farming, 
ranching, or fishing, you may pay all of your estimated tax on or before January 15, 2014. You must then pay the entire 
amount of the estimated tax. If you file your 2013 Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N, on or before 
March 1, 2014, and pay the total tax due at that time, you do not need to file an estimated tax payment for 2013.

OVERPAYMENT CREDIT FROM 2012. If you had an overpayment on your 2012 Form 1040N, and elected to apply it 
to your 2013 estimated income tax, the amount of that overpayment may be applied in full, or in part, to any installment.

JOINT PAYMENTS. Payments of estimated income tax may be made on a married, filing jointly basis for Nebraska tax 
purposes. Married, filing jointly payments may not be made if the spouses are separated under a decree of either divorce or 
separate maintenance, or if they have different taxable years. If joint payments are made, but a joint return is not filed for 
the taxable year, the estimated tax for the year may be divided between spouses. A copy of a signed agreement to divide the 
estimated payments should be attached to each, Form 1040N. When e-filing, a letter is not required. Simply claim the agreed 
upon amounts on each spouse’s return.

If estimated payments have been made under a spouse’s Social Security number (SSN), and this spouse dies during the 
year, please indicate “deceased” on any e-filed return when prompted. On paper returns, write “DECEASED” at the top of 
the Form 1040N and give the date of death next to the SSN. Verify that the surviving spouse’s name and SSN are correct 
on Form 1040N-ES, and indicate what SSN will be used in filing a Form 1040N-ES for the next year.

CALCULATING AND MAKING YOUR PAYMENT.

List the names and SSNs in the same order on the joint voucher as you will list them on your joint return.

Complete the Estimated Income Tax Worksheet (Worksheet) to compute your 2013 estimated tax. If line 18 is less 
than $500, estimated tax payments are not required, but may still be made. If 2013 federal AGI is expected to be more 
than $250,000 (single), $300,000 (married, filing jointly), $150,000 (married, filing separately), or $275,000 (head of 
household), then complete Worksheet A included in this booklet. Subtract the amount of any carryover from the 2012 
Form 1040N before making your payment.
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Pay by EFT or attach a check or money order to the payment voucher and mail it by the due date to:

 Nebraska Department of Revenue
 PO Box 98911
 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8911

You can download the payment vouchers from our website, or include an information sheet with the following:

 1. The primary SSN;

 2. A notation identifying the payment as an estimated payment; and

 3.  The tax year to which the payment should be applied. 

Make appropriate entries in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments. 

You must enter your SSN (and your spouse’s SSN, if applicable) on the payment vouchers where indicated. List the 
names and SSNs in the same order on the voucher as you will list them on your married, filing jointly return.

CHANGES IN ESTIMATED TAX. If your income increases during the year, you may be required to begin filing, or 
increase, estimated tax payments at the next due date.

 You may use the Amended Computation Schedule below to calculate your amended estimated tax if your estimated tax 
substantially changes, or if your income substantially increases. When making payment by paper check, show the amended 
estimated tax on line 1 of the next payment voucher filed. If making payments using EFT, DO NOT file a voucher to show 
the change.

PENALTY FOR NOT PAYING ENOUGH ESTIMATED INCOME TAX. A penalty is imposed for underpayment 
of estimated tax installments. The penalty is not due if you qualify for any of the exceptions listed on the Individual 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax, Form 2210N.

Each individual who has underpaid estimated tax must file a Form 2210N with the Nebraska Individual Income Tax 
Return, Form 1040N. The estimated tax is underpaid if the payments (including withholding) are not equal to at least: 

 1. 90% (66 2/3% for those engaged in farming, ranching, and fishing) of the tax liability for the year, after reduction by 
credits other than withholding or estimated payments;

 2. 100% of the tax shown on the Nebraska return for the full 12-month preceding tax year, if federal AGI was $150,000 
or less; or

 3. 110% (the applicable federal percentage) of the preceding year’s tax reported on a Nebraska return, if 2012 federal 
AGI was above $150,000. Complete the Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet below. You may also 
owe a penalty if estimated payments are not filed in a timely manner.

The penalty does not apply if: 

	 •	 You	had	zero	tax	liability	for	the	full	12-month	preceding	tax	year;	

	 •	 You	were	a	U.S.	citizen	or	resident	during	that	year;	and	

	 •	 Your	Nebraska	return	for	that	year	reported	zero	tax	liability.
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 1 Estimated federal adjusted gross income (AGI) ...............................................................................................  1
 2 Estimated federal itemized deductions (line 29, Form 1040, Schedule A) ..............   2
 3 State and local income taxes (line 5, Schedule A) ...................................................  3
 4 Nebraska itemized deductions (line 2 minus line 3) .................................................  4
 5 Standard deduction (enter Nebraska standard deduction amount):
   Single $6,100;
   Married, Filing Jointly $12,200;
   Head of Household $8,950; 
   Married, Filing Separately $6,100; or
   65 or older and/or blind (see reverse side). ..........................................................  5

 6 Enter the greater of line 4 or line 5 .................................................................................................................... 6  
 7 Estimated Nebraska income before adjustments (line 1 minus line 6) ............................................................  7
 8 Estimated Nebraska adjustments increasing federal AGI (including non-Nebraska state and municipal
  bond interest) ...................................................................................................................................................  8
 9 Estimated Nebraska adjustments decreasing federal AGI (including federal bond interest) ..........................  9
 10 Estimated Nebraska taxable income (line 7 plus line 8, minus line 9) .............................................................  10
 11 Estimated Nebraska income tax amount on line 10 (See 2013 Nebr. Estimated Tax Rate Schedule included
  in this booklet.) If AGI is above $250,000 (single), $300,000 (married, filing jointly), $150,000 (married,
  filing separately), or $275,000 (head of household), enter the amount from line 3 of Worksheet A ................  11
 12 Estimated Nebraska minimum or other taxes (total of taxes from Federal Forms 6251, 4972, and 5329; 
  multiplied by .296) ............................................................................................................................................  12
 13 Total estimated Nebraska tax (total of lines 11 and 12)  ..................................................................................  13
 14 Estimated Nebraska credits including:
  For full year residents –
   Credit for tax paid to another state.
  For residents and partial-year residents –
   Refundable and nonrefundable credits for child and dependent care expense,
   Earned income credit,
   Credit for the elderly or the disabled, and
   Angel Investment Tax Credit.
  For all taxpayers –
   Personal exemption credit,
   CDAA credit,
   Beginning Farmer Tax Credit,
   Form 3800N credit, and
   Financial institution tax credit. ....................................................................................................................... 14
 15 Nebraska 2013 estimated income tax (line 13 minus line 14). If zero or less, enter -0- ...................................  15
 16 a Multiply line 15 by 90% (66 2/3% if engaged in farming or fishing)  ......................... 16a
  b Enter the tax shown on your 2012 tax return (110% of that amount if you are
   not engaged in farming or fishing and the AGI shown on that return is more
   than $150,000; ($75,000 if your filing status for 2013 is married, filing separately) . 16b
  c Required annual payment to avoid a penalty. Enter the smaller of line 16a or 16b .............................. 16c
   Caution: If you do not prepay (through income tax withholding and estimated tax payments) 
   at least the amount on line 16c, you may owe a penalty for not paying enough estimated tax. To avoid a 
   penalty, make sure your estimate on line 15 is as accurate as possible. Even if you pay the required 
   annual payment, you may still owe tax when you file your return. You must also make timely estimated 
   payments to avoid underpayment penalties. If you prefer, you can pay the amount shown on line 15.

 17 Income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 2013 (including income tax withholding on 
  pensions, annuities, certain deferred income, etc.)........................................................................................... 17
 18 Subtract line 17 from line 16c. (Note: If the result is zero or less, or line 15 minus line 17 is less than $500,
  stop here. You are not required to make estimated tax payments.)................................................................... 18
 19 COMPUTATION OF INSTALLMENTS
  If the first payment you are required to make is due to be filed on:
   •	 April	15,	2013,	enter	¼	of	the	amount	on	line	18	here	and	on	line	2	of	Payment	Vouchers	1,	2,	3,	and	4;
	 	 	 •	 June	15,	2013,	enter	½	of	the	amount	on	line	18	here	and	on	line	2	of	Payment	Voucher	2.	
		 	 	 	 Also,	enter	¼	of	the	amount	on	line	18	and	on	Vouchers	3	and	4;
	 	 	 •	 September	15,	2013,	enter	¾	of	the	amount	on	line	18	here	and	on	line	2	of	Payment	Voucher	3.
		 	 	 		 Also,	enter	¼	of	the	amount	on	line	18	and	on	line	2	of	Payment	Voucher	4;
	 	 	 •	 January	15,	2014,	enter	the	amount	on	line	18	here	and	on	line	2	of	Payment	Voucher	4.  19 

Worksheet

Nebraska Individual Estimated
Income Tax Worksheet

KEEP FOR YOUR RECORDS — DO NOT FILE AMENDED COMPUTATION SCHEDULE ON REVERSE SIDE.

2013
FORM 1040N-ES
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AMENDED COMPUTATION SCHEDULE
• Use this schedule if your estimated tax changes during the year.

 1 Amended estimated tax (enter here and on line 1 of the payment voucher) .....................................  1
 2 Amount of the 2012 overpayment previously applied as a credit to 2013 estimated
  tax installments .................................................................................................................................  2

 3 Total amount previously paid for 2013 estimated tax installments ....................................................  3

 4 Line 2 plus line 3 ...............................................................................................................................  4

 5 Unpaid balance (line 1 minus line 4) .................................................................................................  5
 6 Amount to be paid (line 5 divided by number of remaining payments).
  Enter here and on line 2 of the payment voucher .............................................................................  6

ADDITIONAL STANDARD DEDUCTION FOR ELDERLY AND/OR BLIND 
Your Nebraska standard deduction is increased by this amount if, at the end of 2013, you are:

	 •	 An	unmarried	individual	(single	or	head	of	household),	and
   65 or older, or blind .............................................................................................................. $1,500

   65 or older and blind ............................................................................................................. 3,000

	 •	 A	married	individual	(filing	jointly	or	separately)	or	a	qualifying	widow(er),	and
   65 or older, or blind .............................................................................................................. $1,200

   65 or older and blind ............................................................................................................. 2,400

   Both spouses are 65 or older .................................................................................................. 2,400
	 	 	 		 •	And	one	spouse	is	also	blind ........................................................................................... 3,600

   Both spouses are blind ........................................................................................................... 2,400
	 	 	 	 •	And	one	spouse	is	also	65	or	older ................................................................................. 3,600

   Both spouses are 65 or older, and both are blind ................................................................... 4,800

If married, filing separately, these amounts apply only if you can claim an exemption for your spouse. 
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1 Nebraska Tax Table tax on line 10 estimated taxable income – Form 1040N-ES Worksheet ............. 1
2 Additional tax calculated from the Additional Tax Rate Schedule on next page [if AGI is
 greater than $250,000 (single), $300,000 (married, filing jointly), $150,000 (married, filing 
 separately), or $275,000 (head of household)] ................................................................................... 2

3 Total tax (line 1 plus line 2). Enter here and on line 11, Form 1040N-ES Worksheet ......................... 3

Use this worksheet if your estimated 2013 federal AGI is more than $250,000 (single),
$300,000 (married, filing jointly), $150,000 (married, filing separately), or $275,000 (head of household).

WORKSHEET A — Nebraska Estimated Tax

Record of Estimated Tax Payments
(C)

2012 Overpayment

(D)
Total Amount Paid

and Credited
(Column B plus Column C)

(B)
Amount Paid

(A)
Date Filed

Installment
Date

Payment
Number

CLAIM THIS AMOUNT ON YOUR 2013 NEBRASKA
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN, FORM 1040N.

TOTAL

NOTE: If you are not required to make an estimated tax payment on the first installment date, you may
 still have to make a payment at a later date. See instruction titled “Changes in Estimated Tax.”

 1 April

 2 June

 3 September

 4 January



Single Taxpayer Head of Household

Married, Filing SeparatelyMarried, Filing Jointly and Surviving Spouses

If line 10,   The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over — but not over
$ 0 $ 2,400    2.46% of the income
 2,400  17,500 $ 59.04 + 3.51% of the excess over $  2,400
 17,500  27,000  589.05 + 5.01% of the excess over $17,500
 27,000  ——  1,065.00 + 6.84% of the excess over $27,000

If line 10,   The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over — but not over
$ 0 $ 4,500   2.46% of the income
 4,500  28,000 $ 110.70 + 3.51% of the excess over $  4,500
 28,000  40,000  935.55 + 5.01% of the excess over $28,000
 40,000  ——  1,536.75 + 6.84% of the excess over $40,000

If line 10,   The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over — but not over
$ 0 $ 4,800   2.46% of the income
 4,800  35,000 $ 118.08 + 3.51% of the excess over $  4,800
 35,000  54,000  1,178.10 + 5.01% of the excess over $35,000
 54,000  ——  2,130.00 + 6.84% of the excess over $54,000

If line 10,   The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over — but not over
$ 0 $ 2,400   2.46% of the income
 2,400  17,500 $ 59.04 + 3.51% of the excess over $ 2,400
 17,500  27,000  589.05 + 5.01% of the excess over $17,500
 27,000  ——  1,065.00 + 6.84% of the excess over $27,000

2013 Nebraska Estimated Tax Rate Schedule
USE THIS RATE SCHEDULE ONLY FOR COMPUTING 2013 ESTIMATED TAX. 

DO NOT USE IT TO COMPUTE AN AMOUNT FOR ANY TAX RETURNS. 

Subtract $126 from the table calculation for each federal personal exemption allowed.
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SINGLE TAXPAYER

If AGI is:  The tax to add is:
over – but not over 

 $250,000 $274,000    0.438% (.00438) of AGI above $250,000
  274,000  425,000 $ 105.12 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $274,000
  425,000  520,000  607.95 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over $425,000
  520,000  ––  781.80

MARRIED, FILING JOINTLY AND SURVIVING SPOUSES

If AGI is:  The tax to add is:
over – but not over 

 $ 300,000  $348,000    0.438% (.00438) of AGI above $300,000     
  348,000  650,000 $ 210.24 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $348,000
  650,000  840,000  1,215.90 + 0.183% (.00183)  of the excess over $650,000
  840,000  ––  1,563.60

MARRIED, FILING SEPARATELY
  If AGI is:  The tax to add is:
 over – but not over 
 $ 150,000 $174,000    0.438% (.00438) of AGI above $150,000     
  174,000  325,000 $ 105.12 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $174,000
  325,000  420,000  607.95 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over $325,000
  420,000  ––  781.80

HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD
If AGI is:  The tax to add is:
over – but not over 

 $ 275,000  $320,000    0.438% (.00438) of AGI above $275,000     
  320,000  555,000  197.10 + 0.333% (.00333) of the excess over $320,000
  555,000  675,000  979.65 + 0.183% (.00183) of the excess over $555,000 
  675,000  ––   1,199.25

2013 Nebraska Additional Tax Rate Schedule
Enter the additional tax calculated from this schedule on line 2 of Worksheet A.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS

If your estimated Nebraska taxable income is less than $54,000, perform the following calculation: 

	Subtract	$250,000	(single),	$300,000	(married,	filing	jointly),	$150,000	(married,	filing	separately),	or	$275,000	(head	
of		household)	from	your	federal	AGI;	and
Multiply this difference by 10% (.10). 

If your line 10 estimated taxable income is less than the 10% difference calculated, enter 6.84% (.0684) of line 10 
income on line 3, Nebraska Estimated Tax Worksheet; otherwise, complete the additional tax calculation above. 



Consider paying by EFT. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, PO BOX 98911, LINCOLN, NE 68509-8911

8-014-2012

2013
FORM 1040N-ES

 1 Estimated tax (or amended estimated tax) (line 18 of 
  estimated tax worksheet) for the year ending                    .
  Complete if an original or amended computation .............   1

 2 Amount of this installment (line 19 of Estimated Tax 
  Worksheet, or line 6 of Amended Computation Schedule)   2

 3 Amount of overpayment from last year applied to this
  installment (and not applied to previous installments) ......   3

 4 Amount of this payment (line 2 minus line 3). Enter here
  and in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments ................   4

2

1

  
 1 Estimated tax for the year ending
  (line 18 of estimated tax worksheet) .................................   1

 2 Amount of this installment (line 19 of Estimated Tax 
  Worksheet) ........................................................................   2

 3 Amount of overpayment from last year (all or part)
  applied to this installment ..................................................   3
  
 4 Amount of this payment (line 2 minus line 3). Enter here
  and in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments ................   4

THIS INSTALLMENT IS DUE ON
OR BEFORE JUNE 15, 2013.

THIS INSTALLMENT IS DUE ON
OR BEFORE APRIL 15, 2013.

•	File	only	if	you	are	making	a	payment	of	estimated	tax.

•	Fiscal	year	taxpayers	—	see	instructions.

FORM 1040N-ES

2013

Consider paying by EFT. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, PO BOX 98911, LINCOLN, NE 68509-8911

8-014-2012

 Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return Last Name

 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial Last Name

 Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

 City State Zip Code

•	File	only	if	you	are	making	a	payment	of	estimated	tax.
•	Fiscal	year	taxpayers	—	see	instructions.
•	If	your	estimated	tax	needs	to	be	amended,	use	the	Amended	
 Computation Schedule.

IMPORTANT: SSNs MUST BE ENTERED BELOW.
 SSN that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return

  

 Spouse’s Social Security Number

 Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return Last Name

 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial Last Name

 Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

 City State Zip Code

IMPORTANT: SSNs MUST BE ENTERED BELOW.
 SSN that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return

  

 Spouse’s Social Security Number

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax
Payment Voucher

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax
Payment Voucher
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2013
FORM 1040N-ES

Consider paying by EFT. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, PO BOX 98911, LINCOLN, NE 68509-8911

Consider paying by EFT. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, PO BOX 98911, LINCOLN, NE 68509-8911

4 THIS INSTALLMENT IS DUE ON
OR BEFORE JANUARY 15, 2014.

 Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return Last Name

 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial Last Name

 Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

 City State Zip Code

3 THIS INSTALLMENT IS DUE ON
OR BEFORE SEPTEMBER 15, 2013.

•	File	only	if	you	are	making	a	payment	of	estimated	tax.
•	Fiscal	year	taxpayers	—	see	instructions.
•	If	your	estimated	tax	needs	to	be	amended,	use	the	Amended	
 Computation Schedule.

IMPORTANT: SSNs MUST BE ENTERED BELOW.
 SSN that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return

  

 Spouse’s Social Security Number

2013
FORM 1040N-ES

8-014-2012

8-014-2012

 Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return Last Name

 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial Last Name

 Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

 City State Zip Code

•	File	only	if	you	are	making	a	payment	of	estimated	tax.
•	Fiscal	year	taxpayers	—	see	instructions.
•	If	your	estimated	tax	needs	to	be	amended,	use	the	Amended	
 Computation Schedule.

IMPORTANT: SSNs MUST BE ENTERED BELOW.
 SSN that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return

  

 Spouse’s Social Security Number

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax
Payment Voucher

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax
Payment Voucher

 1 Estimated tax (or amended estimated tax) (line 18 of 
  estimated tax worksheet) for the year ending                     .
  Complete if an original or amended computation .............   1

 2 Amount of this installment (line 19 of Estimated Tax 
  Worksheet, or line 6 of Amended Computation Schedule)   2

 3 Amount of overpayment from last year applied to this
  installment (and not applied to previous installments) ......   3

 4 Amount of this payment (line 2 minus line 3). Enter here
  and in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments ................   4

 1 Estimated tax (or amended estimated tax) (line 18 of 
  estimated tax worksheet) for the year ending                     .
  Complete if an original or amended computation .............   1

 2 Amount of this installment (line 19 of Estimated Tax 
  Worksheet, or line 6 of Amended Computation Schedule)   2

 3 Amount of overpayment from last year applied to this
  installment (and not applied to previous installments) ......   3

 4 Amount of this payment (line 2 minus line 3). Enter here
  and in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments ................   4
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