Administration of Property Assessment

All property in the State of Nebraska is subject to property tax unless an exemption is mandated by the Nebraska Constitution, Article VIII, or is permitted by the Constitution and enabling legislation is adopted by the Legislature. Federal law may supersede the Nebraska Constitution with regard to taxation of property owned by the federal government or its agencies or instrumentalities. All property in the State of Nebraska subject to taxation shall be valued as of January 1, 12:01 a.m., of each year.

The county assessor is responsible for valuing all real and personal property with the exception of railroads, public service entities, and specific personal property of air carrier and rail car line companies, which are assessed by the Property Tax Administrator.

The valuation of real property is determined according to professionally accepted mass appraisal techniques, including but not limited to the following: (1) comparing sales of properties with known or recognized values, taking into account location, zoning, and current functional use (also known as the sales comparison approach); (2) the income approach; and (3) the cost approach. The valuation of personal property is determined using a statutory method of depreciated values similar to the Federal Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System and 150 percent declining balance depreciation schedules.

All real property is assessed at or near 100 percent of actual value, except agricultural and horticultural land which is assessed at or near 75 percent of actual value. Agricultural and horticultural land receiving special valuation pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1344 is assessed at 75 percent of its special value which is the value of the land for agricultural and horticultural purposes. Personal property is assessed at 100 percent of the net book taxable value as determined by the statutory method.

Permissive exemptions are allowed for certain organizations such as religious, charitable, educational, and agricultural societies, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-202. The organization must file an application for exemption of real and/or personal property. The county assessor will recommend approval or denial to the county board of equalization which will meet to make final decision regarding the application for exemption.

There is an exemption for certain business personal property belonging to qualifying companies under Nebraska's tax incentive programs- the Employment and Investment Growth Act and the Nebraska Advantage Act.

There is an exemption for certain personal property belonging to qualified beginning farmers or livestock producers, pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5209.02 of the Beginning Farmer Act.

For individuals, the homestead exemption program is designed to provide local property tax relief to qualifying elderly individuals, certain disabled veterans, and certain disabled individuals and their widowers who own and live in the home for which an exemption application is made. The exemption applies to all or part of the property taxes levied against the home, with the state reimbursing local governments from general fund revenues for those taxes exempted under the program.

Between January 1 and March 19 of each year, the county assessor updates and revises the real property assessment roll. Each year between early April and May 15 the Tax Equalization and Review Commission has the authority to adjust the valuation of classes or subclasses of real property in any county in order to achieve equalization of property values. Decisions of the Tax Equalization and Review Commission may be appealed to the Nebraska Court of Appeals.

The county assessor revises the real property assessment rolls for any orders issued by the Tax Equalization and Review Commission and notifies property owners of value increases or decreases by June 1. Individual protests of real property valuations may be made to the county board of equalization. The county board of equalization may adjust the protested value of individual properties. Decisions of the county board of equalization may be appealed to the Tax Equalization and Review Commission.

Personal property is self reported by the taxpayer on or before May 1. If the county assessor makes changes to the reported valuation, a notice must be sent to the taxpayer. The action may be appealed to the county board of equalization.

On or before August 10, the Tax Equalization and Review Commission shall equalize the real property of centrally assessed railroad and public service companies with the statewide level of assessment. The Property Tax Administrator certifies centrally assessed values to the counties.

On or before August 20, the county assessor compiles and certifies the total taxable value (real, personal, and centrally assessed) to each local government taxing subdivision for rate setting purposes.

Each year, on or before October 15, the county board of equalization levies the necessary taxes, within the limits of the law, for operation of all functions of county government, school districts, cities, etc. The tax rates for these various local government taxing subdivisions are determined by dividing the subdivision's annual tax request by the current total taxable value within their boundaries. The tax rates are expressed as \$1 per \$100 dollars of taxable value.

Property taxes are determined by multiplying the property's taxable value by the total consolidated tax rate for the tax district in which the property is located. The tax district is comprised of various governing bodies empowered to levy property taxes for services, such as county government, school district, city, etc.

On or before November 22, the county assessor transcribes the real property tax list and delivers it to the county treasurer for collection of property taxes. All real and personal property taxes, including taxes of centrally assessed railroad and public service companies, are due December 31. The first half of the tax becomes delinquent on the following May 1 and the second half becomes delinquent on September 1, except in Douglas, Lancaster, and Sarpy counties, where the first half is delinquent on April 1 and second half becomes delinquent on August 1.