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Dates/Duties January 2020:   
 
Jan 1 Assessment of real property (list and value) as of January 1, 12:01 a.m.  

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1301 
 
Jan 1 Assessment of personal property (list and value) as of January 1, 12:01 a.m.  

§ 77-1201 
 
Jan 1 Railroads and Public Service Entities are required to report non-operating property 

to the county assessor. §§ 77-606, 77-801  
 
Jan 1 Effective date of filing requirements for homestead exemption applicants.  

§§ 77-3502, 77-3505  
   
Jan 1 Last day for the Tax Commissioner to certify to the Director of Administrative 
 Services the amount of reimbursement due to the counties for the tax revenue lost 

for locally assessed personal property exemption allowed by the Personal Property 
Tax Relief Act. § 77-1239 

 
Jan 15 Mobile home court owner, lessee, or manager files the Mobile Home Report with 

the county assessor. § 77-3706  
 
Jan 15 Property Tax Administrator sets the tax rate for air carriers and car line companies. 

§§ 77-684, 77-1249 
 
Jan 15 County assessors must electronically file the Real Estate Transfer Statement, Form 

521, for all deeds recorded in November, on or before the fifteenth of the second 
month following the month the deed was recorded. Regulation 12-003.04 
 
On or before January 15, create a PDF of all Forms 521 and upload to the 
Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division’s (Division) 
state sales file at padsalesfile.nebraska.gov. 

 
Jan 15  For counties with a population of at least 150,000, county assessors must provide  
  preliminary valuation change notices to real property owners. § 77-1301 
 
Jan 15 to For counties with a population of at least 150,000, owners of real property 
March 1 must be provided the opportunity to meet with the county assessor’s office to 

review the property record card file and assessed value determined for the current 
year. § 77-1311 

 
Jan 30  Last day for the Tax Commissioner to certify to the Director of Administrative 
  Services the amount of reimbursement due to the counties for the tax revenue lost  
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for centrally assessed companies due to the personal property exemption allowed 
by the Personal Property Tax Relief Act. § 77-1239   

 
Jan 31 Governmental subdivisions are to provide county assessors copies of leases or 

descriptions of leased property. § 77-202.11 
 
Jan 31  Deadline for county board of equalization or the Tax Commissioner to petition the 

Tax Equalization and  Review Commission for use of a different approach to value 
rent-restricted housing projects. § 77-1333. 

 
For additional information regarding duties/deadlines, see PAD Main Calendar. 
 
Educational Opportunities: 
 
January 9   Governmental & Permissive Exemptions (1 hour credit) 
   Webcast - Cathy Gusman 
 
January 16  Land Use & Land Capability Groupings (2 hours credit) 
   Webcast - Russ Loontjer & Sarah Scott 
 
January 21  Personal Property Changes 2020 & In Lieu Taxes (1 hour credit) 
   Webcast - Elaine Thompson  
 
Directions for the webcast will be sent via email, prior to presentations.  
 
For education opportunities, see: Education Calendar and Course Descriptions.  
 

Other Education Providers: 

Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board 

IAAO Education (International Association of Assessing Officers)   

Vanguard Appraisals, Inc. 

Moore Appraisal Education 

American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers 
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