
Biodiesel Producers Licensing Standards 
This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on the Nebraska Department of Revenue 
(Department) until amended. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that 
only affect the internal operations of the Department and does not impose additional requirements or 
penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes 
additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

This guidance document may change with updated information or added examples. The Department 
recommends you do not print this document. Instead, sign up for the subscription service at 
revenue.nebraska.gov to get updates on your topics of interest.

The following are the licensing standards followed by the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Motor 
Fuels Division for full-scale, micro-scale, and producer/consumers of Biodiesel. These standards are 
intended to provide a general guideline of the current licensing requirements in effect as of September, 
2006.  

Potential licensees must contact the Nebraska Department Revenue, Motor Fuels Division at (402) 
471-5730 or (800) 554-3835. You will speak with an Account Representative who will guide you 
through the licensing process. At the same time, they will advise you of responsibilities you may have 
concerning federal fuel taxes and Nebraska environmental requirements.  
_______________________________________________________________________ 

Full-scale Producer – Is defined as a Biodiesel producer who produces in excess of 100,000 gallons per 
year and sells this production at wholesale or retail. They are required to file a monthly production return 
(Form 83) electronically and obtain a surety bond in the minimum amount of three times their monthly 
motor fuel tax liability or 
$20,000, whichever is greater. If they also make retail sales of Biodiesel, they will be required to obtain a 
retailer’s license for each physical location making retail sales. They will also be required to pay the 
appropriate tax on any Biodiesel products sold. 

Micro-scale Producer – Is defined as a Biodiesel producer who produces 100,000 gallons or less per year 
and sells less than half of this production at wholesale or retail. The remaining Biodiesel is retained for 
the producer’s own use. They are required to file a monthly production return (Form 83) electronically 
and obtain a surety bond in the amount of $5,000. If they make retail sales of Biodiesel, they will be 
required to obtain a retailer’s license for each physical location making retail sales. They will also be 
required to pay the appropriate tax on all Biodiesel products sold or consumed by them. Taxes paid on 
any fuel consumed by them in an exempt manner (e.g. farm tractor, irrigation engine) will be subject to 
refund. 

Producer/Consumer – Is defined as a Biodiesel producer who produces Biodiesel exclusively for their 
own use and not for resale. As such, they will not be required to file a Form 83 or obtain a surety bond. 
They are responsible for remitting the Nebraska motor fuel tax on each gallon of Biodiesel produced. In 
order to remit the appropriate tax, they will become licensed as a motor fuel consumer and report the tax 
by filing a quarterly 
“on-line” return. Remittance of the tax will be made separately from this filing. Taxes paid on any fuel 
consumed in an exempt manner (e.g. farm tractor, irrigation engine) will be subject to refund.  
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