

Good Life. Great Service.

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Revenue Ruling 29-19-1 Nebraska Advantage Tax Incentives

December 3, 2019

Wage and Investment Levels for 2020 Nebraska Advantage Act Applications

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR) until amended. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of DOR and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

This guidance document may change with updated information or added examples. DOR recommends you do not print this document. Instead, <u>sign up for</u> <u>the subscription service</u> at revenue.nebraska.gov to get updates on your topics of interest.

lssue

What are the required wage and investment levels for Nebraska Advantage Act applications filed on or after January 1, 2020?

Conclusion

Beginning with applications filed on or after January 1, 2020, an applicant must meet the following minimum wage and investment requirements to qualify for benefits under the Nebraska Advantage Act:

- **Tier 1** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$1 million, and an average annual wage requirement of \$27,768 for at least 10 new employees;
- **Tier 2** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$3 million, and an average annual wage requirement of \$27,768 for at least 30 new employees;
- **Tier 2 large data center** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$200 million in qualified property at the data center, and an average annual wage requirement of \$27,768 for at least 30 new employees at the data center;
- **Tier 3** applicants must meet an average annual wage requirement of \$27,768 for at least 30 new employees;
- **Tier 4** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$12 million, and an average annual wage requirement of \$27,768 for at least 100 new employees;
- **Tier 5** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$37 million;

- **Tier 5 renewable energy project** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$20 million; and
- **Tier 6** applicants must meet an investment requirement of \$10 million and an employment requirement of at least 75 new employees; or an investment requirement of \$109 million and an employment requirement of at least 50 new employees. **Tier 6** applicants must also meet an average annual wage requirement of at least \$69,420. **Note:** Wage requirements may vary based upon the counties where the project is located. See the <u>attached table</u> for the required annual wages for each county.

| Nebraska Advantage Act | | | | | |
|---|---|---|--|--|--|
| Tier | 2019 Required Investment | 2020 Required Investment | | | |
| Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 2 Large Data Center Tier 4 Tier 5 Tier 5 Renewable Energy Tier 6 | \$ 1 million \$ 3 million \$ 200 million \$ 12 million \$ 36 million \$ 20 million \$ 10 million or \$108 million | \$ 1 million \$ 3 million \$ 200 million \$ 12 million \$ 37 million \$ 20 million \$ 10 million or \$109 million | | | |
| Compensation2019 RequiredCreditAnnual Wage Level | | 2020 Required Annual Wage Level | | | |
| 3% 4% 5% 6% 10% | \$ 26,895 \$ 33,618 \$ 44,824 \$ 56,030 \$ 67,236* | \$ 27,768 \$ 34,710 \$ 46,280 \$ 57,850 \$ 69,420* | | | |

*Tier 6 only, state-wide average. Wage levels for each county are <u>available here</u>.

| Nebraska Advantage Rural Development Act | | | | |
|--|--------------------------|--|--|--|
| 2019 Required Wage Level | 2020 Required Wage Level | | | |
| \$14.00 per hour | \$14.49 per hour | | | |

| Nebraska Advantage Microenterprise Tax Credit Act | | | | |
|---|------------------------|--|--|--|
| 2019 Maximum Wage Paid | 2020 Maximum Wage Paid | | | |
| \$1,293 per week | \$1,335 per week | | | |

APPROVED:

Iony fulto

Tony Fulton Tax Commissioner December 3, 2019

Required Annual Wages by County for Tier 6 Applications Filed in 2014 through 2020

| | Required Annual Wages* | | | | | | |
|-----------|------------------------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|
| County | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 |
| Adams | \$67,350 | \$67,672 | \$69,964 | \$71,722 | \$73,232 | \$76,032 | \$78,854 |
| Antelope | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$62,792 | \$64,966 | \$66,194 | \$70,264 | \$73,434 |
| Arthur | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Banner | \$65,266 | \$70,028 | \$71,884 | \$74,210 | \$69,138 | \$72,330 | \$73,812 |
| Blaine | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$69,684 | \$64,272 | \$65,884 | \$70,542 | \$69,914 |
| Boone | \$61,138 | \$63,504 | \$65,330 | \$66,680 | \$68,994 | \$71,806 | \$74,992 |
| Box Butte | \$63,920 | \$66,004 | \$67,648 | \$69,012 | \$68,870 | \$72,306 | \$73,406 |
| Boyd | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Brown | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,362 | \$66,178 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Buffalo | \$69,690 | \$69,572 | \$71,250 | \$75,036 | \$75,464 | \$78,126 | \$79,750 |
| Burt | \$59,070 | \$60,462 | \$64,632 | \$66,886 | \$67,460 | \$69,968 | \$72,592 |
| Butler | \$66,996 | \$66,202 | \$73,758 | \$76,332 | \$76,156 | \$76,006 | \$79,772 |
| Cass | \$65,426 | \$66,850 | \$66,270 | \$70,000 | \$71,984 | \$74,316 | \$75,502 |
| Cedar | \$62,438 | \$62,340 | \$64,186 | \$66,100 | \$67,422 | \$69,664 | \$71,356 |
| Chase | \$63,888 | \$65,502 | \$67,676 | \$68,022 | \$69,308 | \$71,148 | \$73,496 |
| Cherry | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Cheyenne | \$99,376 | \$103,758 | \$105,188 | \$100,482 | \$101,286 | \$124,894 | \$96,612 |
| Clay | \$70,964 | \$72,590 | \$73,016 | \$74,882 | \$80,594 | \$81,712 | \$84,214 |
| Colfax | \$66,738 | \$70,162 | \$69,722 | \$73,156 | \$83,116 | \$82,152 | \$86,782 |
| Cuming | \$65,598 | \$67,680 | \$69,302 | \$72,836 | \$74,640 | \$76,004 | \$79,882 |
| Custer | \$63,234 | \$66,646 | \$69,506 | \$71,806 | \$71,322 | \$73,392 | \$74,968 |
| Dakota | \$70,344 | \$72,854 | \$77,464 | \$77,698 | \$82,726 | \$87,438 | \$92,614 |
| Dawes | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Dawson | \$64,222 | \$65,010 | \$66,706 | \$69,056 | \$71,554 | \$75,214 | \$78,940 |
| Deuel | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Dixon | \$58,902 | \$61,064 | \$69,004 | \$64,918 | \$68,030 | \$69,146 | \$72,820 |
| Dodge | \$64,444 | \$66,522 | \$68,790 | \$71,144 | \$72,976 | \$75,118 | \$79,636 |
| Douglas | \$90,104 | \$91,490 | \$93,580 | \$98,184 | \$99,444 | \$101,666 | \$104,484 |
| Dundy | \$63,624 | \$71,572 | \$65,952 | \$72,512 | \$71,278 | \$73,352 | \$77,102 |
| Fillmore | \$64,596 | \$67,066 | \$69,874 | \$72,872 | \$75,264 | \$77,952 | \$79,538 |
| Franklin | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Frontier | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$62,820 | \$65,816 | \$65,698 | \$68,178 | \$69,758 |
| Furnas | \$61,712 | \$62,406 | \$65,388 | \$66,310 | \$68,488 | \$69,174 | \$70,978 |
| Gage | \$61,668 | \$63,326 | \$66,004 | \$67,982 | \$69,426 | \$71,296 | \$73,598 |
| Garden | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,460 | \$69,420 |
| Garfield | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Gosper | \$61,044 | \$60,882 | \$64,238 | \$66,016 | \$67,378 | \$69,656 | \$71,626 |
| Grant | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Greeley | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Hall | \$68,362 | \$69,572 | \$72,424 | \$74,662 | \$75,720 | \$78,096 | \$80,096 |
| Hamilton | \$69,592 | \$72,338 | \$73,934 | \$78,276 | \$84,914 | \$86,118 | \$86,588 |
| Harlan | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Hayes | \$58,902 | \$60,308 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Hitchcock | \$66,306 | \$68,512 | \$72,716 | \$76,464 | \$76,376 | \$69,254 | \$72,572 |
| Holt | \$60.260 | \$62,268 | \$66,296 | \$66,456 | \$68,136 | \$70,890 | \$72,716 |
| Hooker | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Howard | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Jefferson | \$59,218 | \$59,948 | \$62,890 | \$66,570 | \$67,398 | \$69,712 | \$70,496 |
| Johnson | \$63,952 | \$63,850 | \$66,132 | \$70,790 | \$73,126 | \$76,070 | \$79,192 |
| Kearney | \$61,860 | \$64,496 | \$67,600 | \$69,234 | \$70,480 | \$73,022 | \$76,366 |
| Keith | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,912 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Keya Paha | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Kimball | \$73,464 | \$76,626 | \$81,136 | \$80,864 | \$71,326 | \$72,660 | \$74,584 |
| Knox | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Lancaster | \$78,310 | \$79,102 | \$81,218 | \$83,826 | \$85,426 | \$88,090 | \$90,650 |
| Lincoln | \$67,492 | \$67,772 | \$70,494 | \$73,486 | \$75,082 | \$76,888 | \$79,420 |
| Logan | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |

| County | Required Annual Wages* (continued) | | | | | | |
|--------------|------------------------------------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|
| | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 |
| Loup | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Madison | \$67,314 | \$69,016 | \$71,732 | \$74,566 | \$75,966 | \$78,784 | \$82,046 |
| Mcpherson | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Merrick | \$62,250 | \$65,662 | \$67,802 | \$71,558 | \$72,760 | \$74,886 | \$78,924 |
| Morrill | \$63,492 | \$68,020 | \$67,196 | \$71,724 | \$71,838 | \$71,306 | \$73,892 |
| Nance | \$60,962 | \$62,232 | \$64,126 | \$64,448 | \$65,968 | \$68,804 | \$69,420 |
| Nemaha | \$93,728 | \$94,232 | \$94,484 | \$94,334 | \$100,240 | \$101,046 | \$103,632 |
| Nuckolls | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Otoe | \$64,278 | \$65,664 | \$68,316 | \$71,276 | \$72,208 | \$74,784 | \$77,424 |
| Pawnee | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$68,618 | \$70,416 |
| Perkins | \$70,394 | \$73,638 | \$74,530 | \$78,466 | \$79,568 | \$80,892 | \$83,332 |
| Phelps | \$70,546 | \$72,180 | \$75,664 | \$78,092 | \$79,482 | \$81,900 | \$84,420 |
| Pierce | \$60,504 | \$61,630 | \$65,292 | \$67,864 | \$68,172 | \$68,550 | \$71,836 |
| Platte | \$70,622 | \$72,490 | \$75,730 | \$79,218 | \$80,946 | \$83,364 | \$86,148 |
| Polk | \$60,672 | \$61,528 | \$63,276 | \$66,346 | \$67,616 | \$69,944 | \$71,714 |
| Red Willow | \$63,054 | \$63,564 | \$65,568 | \$67,474 | \$68,482 | \$71,642 | \$73,904 |
| Richardson | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Rock | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$66,188 | \$66,474 | \$69,458 | \$69,526 |
| Saline | \$72,164 | \$73,076 | \$74,458 | \$78,256 | \$80,036 | \$81,994 | \$84,936 |
| Sarpy | \$78,160 | \$79,470 | \$81,632 | \$84,852 | \$87,138 | \$89,854 | \$93,910 |
| Saunders | \$60,570 | \$62,110 | \$64,544 | \$67,370 | \$69,058 | \$71,472 | \$73,248 |
| Scotts Bluff | \$69,494 | \$69,208 | \$71,882 | \$73,186 | \$75,338 | \$75,994 | \$78,136 |
| Seward | \$70,746 | \$71,112 | \$74,004 | \$74,962 | \$76,782 | \$79,470 | \$83,434 |
| Sheridan | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Sherman | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Sioux | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Stanton | \$97,378 | \$97,394 | \$111,000 | \$105,676 | \$111,366 | \$119,894 | \$132,816 |
| Thayer | \$69,754 | \$72,300 | \$71,382 | \$70,612 | \$70,574 | \$72,522 | \$74,756 |
| Thomas | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$62,668 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Thurston | \$76,636 | \$76,728 | \$79,784 | \$86,742 | \$81,904 | \$82,652 | \$84,146 |
| Valley | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,880 | \$64,436 | \$66,002 | \$67,536 | \$71,352 |
| Washington | \$96,098 | \$101,238 | \$97,684 | \$104,856 | \$101,756 | \$101,564 | \$107,154 |
| Wayne | \$58,902 | \$60,272 | \$63,636 | \$67,880 | \$69,588 | \$71,354 | \$72,610 |
| Webster | \$58,902 | \$59,948 | \$61,776 | \$64,272 | \$65,364 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| Wheeler | \$70,714 | \$64,876 | \$68,460 | \$66,762 | \$67,532 | \$67,236 | \$69,420 |
| York | \$66,476 | \$68,822 | \$70,738 | \$72,544 | \$73,074 | \$74,454 | \$78,128 |

*The required compensation for a county is equal to the greater of: (a) 200% of the county average weekly wage; or (b) 150% of the state average weekly wage. If the project is located in more than one county, the higher county average weekly wage is used to determine the required compensation. See <u>Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5719.01</u>.

Source: Historical Employment and Wages in Nebraska, Nebraska Department of Labor. See <u>Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5712</u>.