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Wage and Investment Levels for 
2015 Nebraska Advantage Act Applications

Issue
What are the required wage and investment levels for Nebraska Advantage Act applications filed on or after 
January 1, 2015? 

Conclusion
Beginning with applications filed on or after January 1, 2015, an applicant must meet the following minimum 
wage and investment requirements to qualify for benefits under the Nebraska Advantage Act: 

•	 Tier 1 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $1 million, and an average annual wage 
requirement of $23,979 for at least 10 new employees;

•	 Tier 2 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $3 million, and an average annual wage 
requirement of $23,979 for 30 new employees;

•	 Tier 2 large data center applicants must meet an investment requirement of $203 million in qualified 
property at the data center, and an average annual wage requirement of $23,979 for 30 new employees 
at the data center;

•	 Tier 3 applicants must meet an average annual wage requirement of $23,979 for 30 new employees;
•	 Tier 4 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $12 million, and an average annual wage 

requirement of $23,979 for 100 new employees;
•	 Tier 5 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $37 million; 
•	 Tier 5 renewable energy project applicants must meet an investment requirement of $20 million; and 
•	 Tier 6 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $11 million and an employment requirement 

of 75 new employees; or an investment requirement of $111 million and an employment requirement 
of 50 new employees. Tier 6 applicants must also meet an average annual wage requirement of at least 
$58,948. Note: Wage requirements may vary based upon the county or counties where the project is 
located.

Analysis 
The Nebraska Advantage Act requires investment thresholds for all projects, except for Tier 5 renewable energy 
projects, to be indexed for inflation on October 1 of each year. These new investment thresholds apply to all 
applications filed on or after January 1 of the following year. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77‑5725(9). 
The index is calculated as the result of the 12 most recent Producer Price Indexes (PPI) (published monthly by the 
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics), divided by the PPI for the first quarter of 2006 for Tier 1, 
Tier 2, Tier 4, and Tier 5 applicants, the first quarter of 2008 for Tier 6 applicants, or the first quarter of 2012 
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for Tier 2 large data center applicants, multiplied by the applicable investment threshold for each respective 
tier. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5725(1). The result is rounded to the next lowest $1 million. Adjustments do not 
apply to projects after the year of application.
Under the Nebraska Advantage Act, Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 2 large data center, Tier 3, and Tier 4 applicants may 
be entitled to a credit of 3% to 6% of the average wage paid to new employees, if the wage equals at least 60% 
of the Nebraska average annual wage for the year of application. Tier 6 applicants may be entitled to a credit 
of 10% of the average wage paid to all employees employed at the project (excluding base-year employees) if 
the wage exceeds the greater of 200% of the county average weekly wage, or 150% of the state average weekly 
wage for the year of application. Wages are defined as compensation subject to the federal Medicare tax. Also, 
the wage credit is not available for compensation in excess of $1 million paid in a year to any employee for a 
project in any tier. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5725(3) and (4).
Wage levels for the Nebraska Advantage Rural Development Act are set by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77‑27,188(1)
(b), based on the growth in the rural Nebraska average wage. The wage limit for the Nebraska Advantage 
Microenterprise Tax Credit Act is established in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77‑5903 at 150% of the Nebraska average 
weekly wage.

Nebraska Advantage Act
	 Tier	 2014 Required Investment 	 2015 Required Investment

	 Tier 1	 $	 1 million	 $	 1 million
	 Tier 2	 $	 3 million	 $	 3 million
	 Tier 2 Large Data Center	 $	201 million	 $	203 million
	 Tier 4	 $	 12 million	 $	 12 million
	 Tier 5	 $	 37 million	 $	 37 million
	 Tier 5 Renewable Energy	 $	 20 million	 $	 20 million
	 Tier 6	 $	 11 million or	 $110 million	 $	 11 million or	 $111 million
	 Compensation	 2014 Required	 2015 Required
	 Credit	 Annual Wage Level	 Annual Wage Level
	 3%	 $ 23,561	 $ 23,979
	 4%	 $ 29,451	 $ 29,974
	 5%	 $ 39,268	 $ 39,965
	 6%	 $ 49,085	 $ 49,956
	 10%	 $ 58,902*	 $ 58,948*

*Tier 6 only, state-wide average. Wage levels for each county are available here. 

Nebraska Advantage Rural Development Act
	 2014 Required Wage Level 	 2015 Required Wage Level
	 $11.96 per hour	 $12.33 per hour

Nebraska Advantage Microenterprise Tax Credit Act
	 2014 Maximum Wage Paid	 2015 Maximum Wage Paid
	 $1,133 per week	 $1,154 per week	

APPROVED: 

Kim Conroy 
Tax Commissioner 
October 24, 2014
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Required Annual Wages by County
for Tier 6 Applications Filed in 2011 through 2015

	 Adams	 $61,396	 $63,960	 $65,248	 $67,350	 $67,672 
	 Antelope	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Arthur	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Banner	 $61,156 	 $66,408	 $67,464	 $65,266	 $70,028
	 Blaine	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $58,186	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Boone	 $54,966 	 $56,960	 $59,258	 $61,138	 $63,504

	 Box Butte	  $58,198 	 $60,490	 $63,942	 $63,920	 $66,004
	 Boyd	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Brown	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Buffalo	 $62,984 	 $66,826	 $67,334	 $69,690	 $69,572
	 Burt	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,552	 $59,070	 $60,462
	 Butler	 $59,922 	 $62,600	 $64,650	 $66,996	 $66,202

	 Cass	 $58,334 	 $60,250	 $63,158	 $65,426	 $66,850
	 Cedar	 $54,966 	 $56,522	 $60,758	 $62,438	 $62,340
	 Chase	 $56,562 	 $59,234	 $62,440	 $63,888	 $65,502

	 Cherry	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Cheyenne	 $71,646 	 $81,652	 $85,890	 $99,376	 $103,758
	 Clay	 $63,560 	 $66,244	 $68,362	 $70,964	 $72,590

	 Colfax	 $62,128 	 $63,774	 $64,930	 $66,738	 $70,162
	 Cuming	 $58,220 	 $59,364	 $64,306	 $65,598	 $67,680
	 Custer	 $57,346 	 $58,786	 $60,514	 $63,234	 $66,646

	 Dakota	 $65,612 	 $70,126	 $69,882	 $70,344	 $72,854
	 Dawes	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Dawson	 $58,948 	 $61,390	 $63,166	 $64,222	 $65,010

	 Deuel	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Dixon	 $55,788 	 $58,482	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $61,064
	 Dodge	 $60,528 	 $64,924	 $63,766	 $64,444	 $66,522

	 Douglas	 $85,972 	 $86,416	 $88,082	 $90,104	 $91,490
	 Dundy	 $61,054 	 $60,044	 $62,936	 $63,624	 $71,572
	 Fillmore	 $57,658 	 $58,114	 $60,520	 $64,596	 $67,066

	 Franklin	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Frontier	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Furnas	 $55,996 	 $57,240	 $59,412	 $61,712	 $62,406

	 Gage	 $57,494 	 $58,488	 $60,510	 $61,668	 $63,326
	 Garden	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Garfield	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Gosper	 $54,966 	 $58,048	 $57,906	 $61,044	 $60,882
	 Grant	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Greeley	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Hall	 $63,666 	 $66,188	 $67,368	 $68,362	 $69,572
	 Hamilton	 $63,662 	 $65,626	 $66,490	 $69,592	 $72,338
	 Harlan	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Hayes	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $60,308
	 Hitchcock	 $60,194 	 $68,042	 $67,314	 $66,306	 $68,512
	 Holt	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $58,162	 $60.260	 $62,268

	 Hooker	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Howard	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Jefferson	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $58,884	 $59,218	 $59,948

	 Johnson	 $62,740 	 $63,692	 $61,108	 $63,952	 $63,850
	 Kearney	 $56,426 	 $57,288	 $57,604	 $61,860	 $64,496
	 Keith	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Keya Paha	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Kimball	 $55,336 	 $57,774	 $60,450	 $73,464	 $76,626
	 Knox	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Lancaster	 $72,954 	 $74,470	 $76,500	 $78,310	 $79,102
	 Lincoln	 $62,012 	 $63,226	 $65,560	 $67,492	 $67,772
	 Logan	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

Required Annual Wages*

2011 2012 2013 2014
County

2015



	 Loup	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Madison	 $62,826 	 $63,788	 $65,872	 $67,314	 $69,016
	 Mcpherson	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Merrick	 $54,966 	 $56,246	 $59,558	 $62,250	 $65,662
	 Morrill	 $58,760 	 $59,854	 $62,818	 $63,492	 $68,020
	 Nance	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $59,224	 $60,962	 $62,232

	 Nemaha	 $89,162 	 $87,626	 $93,370	 $93,728	 $94,232
	 Nuckolls	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Otoe	 $59,778 	 $61,678	 $63,210	 $64,278	 $65,664

	 Pawnee	 $57,316 	 $56,852	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Perkins	 $61,612 	 $65,930	 $68,210	 $70,394	 $73,638
	 Phelps	 $64,914 	 $66,902	 $68,636	 $70,546	 $72,180

	 Pierce	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,868	 $60,504	 $61,630
	 Platte	 $65,614 	 $67,612	 $69,810	 $70,622	 $72,490
	 Polk	 $55,400 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $60,672	 $61,528

	 Red Willow	 $55,178 	 $58,504	 $61,312	 $63,054	 $63,564
	 Richardson	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Rock	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Saline	 $68,336 	 $68,406	 $69,746	 $72,164	 $73,076
	 Sarpy	 $71,020 	 $73,356	 $75,308	 $78,160	 $79,470
	 Saunders	 $55,292 	 $55,992	 $57,810	 $60,570	 $62,110

	 Scotts Bluff	 $62,564 	 $64,460	 $67,638	 $69,494	 $69,208
	 Seward	 $61,966 	 $65,534	 $68,722	 $70,746	 $71,112
	 Sheridan	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948

	 Sherman	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Sioux	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Stanton	 $87,104 	 $89,634	 $93,610	 $97,378	 $97,394

	 Thayer	 $60,148 	 $61,056	 $64,966	 $69,754	 $72,300
	 Thomas	 $56,278 	 $60,160	 $57,868	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Thurston	 $69,642 	 $71,042	 $74,770	 $76,636	 $76,728

	 Valley	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Washington	 $87,366 	 $88,244	 $93,524	 $96,098	 $101,238
	 Wayne	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $60,272

	 Webster	 $54,966 	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948
	 Wheeler	 $56,308 	 $57,330	 $61,054	 $70,714	 $64,876
	 York	 $59,818 	 $61,702	 $65,402	 $66,476	 $68,822

*The required compensation for a county is equal to the greater of: (a) 200% of the county average 
weekly wage; or (b) 150% of the state average weekly wage. If the project is located in more than 
one county, the higher county average weekly wage is used to determine the required compensation.
See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5719.01. 

Source: Historical Employment and Wages in Nebraska, Nebraska Department of Labor 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77‑5712).
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