FER COUNTY

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF LANCASTER COUNTY, NEBRASKA

ENTERPRISE RENT-A-CAR COMPANY- Case No. CI1 11-3101

MIDWEST, LLC,
Plaintiff/Appellant,

VS. ORDER

REVENUE, AGENCY OF THE STATE OF
NEBRASKA, and DOUGLAS A. EWALD,
TAX COMMISSIONER

)

)

)

)

)

)

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF )
)

)

)

)

Defendants/Appellees. )
)

This matter was before the court on May 15, 2012, for hearing on the appeal of a final
decision of Douglas A, Ewald, Tax Commissioner, denying a Petition for Redetermination of a
deficiency assessment for Nebraska sales tax issued by the Nebraska Department of Revenue
(“Department”) to Appellant Enterprise Rent-A-Car Company-Midwest, LLC (“Enterprise”).
Attorney Thomas J. Kenny appeared on behalf of Enterprise and Assistant Attorney General L,
Jay Bartel appeared on behalf of the Department and the Tax Commissioner. The certified
Transcript and volumes I and II of the Bill of Exceptions were received. The matter was argued.,
briefed and submitted. The issue on appeal is whether certain charges associated with the
lease of a vehicle (specifically Damage Waiver fees, and refueling service charges) are subject to

sales tax under Nebraska law. The court now finds and orders as follows:
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FACTS

The parties’ stipulated facts are contained in the Stipulation of Facts & Issues & Exhibit
List received in evidence at the administrative hearing (Ex. 1), and the facts are not in dispute.
Enterprise operates a motor vehicle leasing business at several locations in Nebraska. (Ex. 1,
91, 4). The Department conducted an audit of Enterprise’s books and records to determine its
liability for sales, consumer’s use, and other taxes and fees for the period January 1, 2004
through August 31, 2007. (Ex. 1, 6). Following the audit, the Department issued a Notice of
Deficiency Determination (“Notice”) to Enterprise reflecting a sales and consumer’s use tax
liability for the audit period in the amount of $436,068.00, consisting of $339,824.00 tax,
$62,261.00 interest, and $33,983.00 penalty. (Ex. 1, 7). Enterprise timely petitioned for
redetermination of the Notice and, upon further review, the Department reduced the proposed
assessment to $350,609.57. (Ex. 1, 98-13, 15). The remaining sales tax subject to the
deficiency assessment ($250,577) reflects sales tax which Enterprise failed to collect and remit
on two optional charges imposed on certain customers as part of the Lease Agreement: Optional
Damage Waiver charges, and refueling charges. (Ex. 1, 9914, 16).

Optional Damage Waiver

Enterprise’s Standard Form Lease Agreement (Ex. 4) includes provisions requiring
customers to mark and initial a box evidencing whether they “decline” or “accept” the Optional
Damage Waiver when leasing a vehicle.  (Ex. 1918; Ex. 4 p.1) The Lease Agreement
specifically recites that “THE PURCHASE OF DAMAGE WAIVER IS OPTIONAL AND NOT
REQUIRED IN ORDER TO RENT A VEHICLE.” (Ex. 1, {1 8, 19; Ex. 4, 16). If a customer

accepts the Optional Damage Waiver (“Damage Waiver”), Enterprise agrees to contractually



waive the customer’s damage responsibility for all of the costs of damage to, loss, or theft of the
vehicle or any part or accessory and related costs regardless of fault or negligence. (Ex. 1, §20).
If a customer accepts the Damage Waiver and the rented vehicle sustains damage during the
rental period, Enterprise may elect to repair the vehicle depending on the amount of the damage
the vehicle sustained and the applicable salvage laws. (Ex. 1, 921). Ifa repair is done on a
vehicle for which a customer accepts the Damage Waiver when entering into the Lease
Agreement, then Enterprise pays the cost to repair the vehicle. (Ex. 1, §22). Customers who
decline the Damage Waiver agree to accept responsibility for damage to, loss, or theft of the
vehicle. (Ex. 4, p.4, 193.d.(2) and 6.). Enterprise records the amounts associated with the
Damage Waiver in a separate account. (Ex. 1, 923).
Refueling Charges

The Lease Agreement also requires customers to choose one of two refueling options.
(Ex. 1, 124). The first refueling option allows the customer to “pre-pay” a charge based on the
fuel level of the vehicle at the time of the rental (“Fuel Option 1”). (Ex. 1, 925). Under Fuel
Option 1 customers are not charged for fuel upon the return of the vehicle, regardless of the fuel
level at the time the vehicle is returned. (Ex. 1, §25). Under the second refueling option, called
the “post-pay” option, the fuel tank level is assessed at the time of the rental and the customer is
either (1) not charged if the fuel level is the same or higher when the vehicle is returned or (2) is
assessed a fueling service charge if the fuel tank is at a lower level upon return of the vehicle
(“Fuel Option 2”). (Ex. 1, 26). Under Fuel Option 2 customers are free to choose whether to
(1) refuel the vehicle at the customer’s own expense prior to returning the vehicle or (2) not

refuel the vehicle and pay the refueling charge at the time the vehicle is returned. (Ex. 1, 927).



Enterprise records the amounts associated with the refueling charge in a separate account. (Ex. 1,
928).

Enterprise and the Department stipulated that the issue to be resolved by the Tax
Commissioner was “whether under Nebraska law, (1) damage waiver fees and/or (2) fueling
service charges associated with the lease of a vehicle are subject to sales tax.” (Ex. 1, p.7).
Following a hearing before a designated hearing officer on Enterprise’s Petition for
Redetermination, the Tax Commissioner entered an Order denying the Petition and declaring the
deficiency assessment due and payable. (T30-32). The Tax Commissioner found that, because a
customer must choose whether or not to pay the Damage Waiver and refucling charges at the
time the lease transaction takes place, both charges are “necessary parts of the lease and any
receipts attributable to them are subject to the tax.” (T32).

STANDARD OF REVIEW

This is an appeal pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. §§ 77-27,127, 77-27,128 (Reissue 2009),
and 84-917 (Cum. Supp. 2010). When reviewing the final decision of an administrative agency
pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, the district court conducts the review without a jury
de novo on the record of the agency. NEB. REV. STAT. § 84-917(5)(a); Betterman v. State of Neb.
Dep't of Motor Vehicles, 273 Neb. 178, 191, 728 N.W.2d 570, 584 (2007). The meaning and
interpretation of statutes and regulations are questions of law for which a reviewing court has an
obligation to reach an independent conclusion irrespective of the decision made below. Mahnke
v, State, 276 Neb. 57, 61, 751 N.W.2d 635, 640 (2008). The district court may affirm, reverse, or
modify the decision of the agency or remand the case for further proceedings. NEB. REV. STAT. §

84-917(6)(b).



ANALYSIS

Enterprise contends the Tax Commissioner erred as a matter of law by denying
Enterprise’s petition for redetermination of sales tax and by holding that any receipts attributable
to the Damage Waiver and refueling charges are subject to the Nebraska sales tax. Enterprise
argues the Damage Waiver and refueling charges imposed on customers under the Lease
Agreement are not part of the “gross receipts” from the lease of vehicles subject to sales tax
because these are optional charges which are not part of the price of the lease and are separable
from the rental of the vehicle. In contrast, The Department maintains that Damage Waiver
charges and refueling charges are part of the total consideration paid by Enterprise customers to
rent vehicles under the Lease Agreement, and properly are included in the “gross receipts” from
the lease or rental price of the vehicles that are subject to Nebraska sales tax. Upon consideration
of the entire record, the court agrees with the Tax Commissioner’s decision that the Damage
Waiver charges and refueling charges are included in the “gross receipts” from the lease of
vehicles and are, therefore, subject to sales tax.

The Damage Waiver Charges and Refueling Charges are Properly Included in Nebraska’s
Statutory Definition of “Gross Receipts”

Nebraska “impose[s] a tax . . . upon the gross receipts from all sales of tangible personal
property sold at retail in this state.” NEB. REV. STAT. § 77-2703(1) (Supp. 2011)." “Retail sale or
sale at retail means any sale, lease, or rental for any purpose other than for resale, sublease, or
subrent.” NEB. REV. STAT. § 77-2701.31 (Reissue 2009). “Gross receipts means the total amount

of the sale or lease or rental price, as the case may be, of the retail sales of retailers.” NEB. REV.

1 Citations to the Nebraska Revised Statutes refer to the current iteration of each statute. The operative
language for purposes of this appeal are unaffccted by any amendments during the relevant time period.
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STAT. § 77-2701.16(1) (Reissue 2009). “Lease or rental means any transfer of possession or
control of tangible personal property for a fixed or indeterminate term for consideration.” NEB.
REV. STAT. § 77-2701.18(1) (Reissue 2009). “In the rental or lease of automobiles, . . . the tax
shall be collected by the lessor on the rental or lease price . . . > NEB. REV. STAT. §
77-2703(1)(g). “Sales price applies to the measure subject to sales tax and means the total amount
of consideration, including cash, credit, property, and services, for which personal property or
services are sold, leased, or rented, valued in money, whether received in money or otherwise . . .
» NEB. REV. STAT. § 77-2701.35(1) (Reissue 2009). “Sales price” is determined “without any
deduction for . . . (c) Charges by the seller for any services necessary to complete the sale.” NEB.
REV. STAT. § 77-2701.35(1)(¢c).

“In the absence of anything to the contrary, statutory language is to be given its plain and
ordinary meaning,” and a “court will not resort t0 interpretation to ascertain the meaning of
statutory words that are plain, direct, and unambiguous.” Japp v. Papio-Missouri River Natural
Res. Dist., 271 Neb. 968, 973, 716 N.W.2d 707, 711 (2006). The plain language of the relevant
statutes provides that “gross receipts” subject to sales tax includes “the total amount of
consideration . . . for which personal property . . . [is] leased, or rented,” which, in the case of the
lease or rental of automobiles involving the “transfer of possession or control” of a vehicle “for a
fixed or indeterminate term for consideration,” is “collected by the lessor on the rental or lease
price.” NEB. REV. STAT. §§ 77-2701.35(1); 77-2701.18; and 77-2703(1)(g).

Enterprise contends “gross receipts” only includes that consideration which causes transfer
of possession of the vehicle, and because a customer can opt not to pay the Damage Waiver and

refueling charges and still rent the vehicle, Enterprise argues those charges are not part of the sales



or lease price of the vehicle and should not be included in “gross receipts” subject to the sales tax.
The court finds Enterprise’s reading of the plain language of the sales tax statutes too narrow.
“Sales price” is defined broadly as:
the total amount of consideration, including cash, credit, property, and services. for
which personal property or services are sold, leased, or rented, valued in money,
whether received in money or otherwise, without any deduction for the following:
() The seller's cost of the property sold;
(b) The cost of materials used, the cost of labor or service, interest, losses,
all costs of transportation to the seller, all taxes imposed on the seller, and
any other expense of the seller;
(¢c) Charges by the seller for any services necessary to complete the sale;

(d) Delivery charges; and
(e) Installation charges.

NEB. REV. STAT. 77-2701.35(1). The inclusion of charges for delivery, installation, and “any
other expense of the seller” when computing the sales price subject to sales tax indicates the
Legislature intended to include all consideration paid for the sale or rental of tangible personal
property, including those items incidental to the actual transfer of possession of the property.

This reading of the sales tax statutes finds support in the Nebraska Supreme Court’s
decision in Omaha Public Power Dist. v. Nebraska State Tax Commr, 210 Neb. 309, 314 N.W.2d
246 (1982). In that case, Omaha Public Power District (OPPD) was assessed a sales and use tax
deficiency on management fees and loss reimbursement payments paid by OPPD to a food service
provider, Saga, with whom OPPD contracted to provide food service on OPPD’s premises to its
employees. The district court found the management fees and loss reimbursement payments by
OPPD to Saga constituted part of the gross receipts of Saga’s food sales and that such payments
were subject to sales tax, affirming the Tax Commissioner’s order assessing a deficiency. The

Supreme Court reversed, finding instead that the management fees and subsidies were paid for



services rendered (not for the sale of tangible personal property) and as such were not subject to
sales tax. In so finding the Court adopted the rationale of an Illinois court finding that such
payments were not taxable because “the paymenis by the employer could not be traced to any
specific sale . . . . [and] the evidence showed no basis for relating any portion of the fixed fee or
guaranty payment to any individual sale as part of the selling price.” Id. at 315,314 N.W.2d at
249 (citing Chet's Vending Serv. v. Department of Rev., 374 N.E.2d 468 (lll. 1978)).

Unlike the management fees and loss reimbursement payments in Omaha Public Power
District, supra, the Damage Waiver and refueling charges paid by Enterprise customers selecting
those options can be traced readily to individual lease transactions. The Court’s reasoning in
Omaha Public Power District indicates that--where charges or fees can be linked to individual
sales or lease transactions--those charges should be included in the “gross receipts” from such
transactions and subject to sales tax.

The Damage Waiver and Refueling Charges are Part of the Total Consideration Received by
Enterprise for Vehicle Rentals and are Not Wholly Separate Transactions

Additionally, the terms of the Lease Agreement under which Enterprise leases or rents
vehicles to its customers establish that Damage Waiver charges and refueling charges are part of
the total consideration received by Enterprise comprising the lease or rental price of the vehicles
and thus are part of the “gross receipts” from the lease or rental price subject to sales tax.
Paragraph 3 of the Lease Agreement, titled “Payment by Renter,” in subsection (c), states:

“Renter shall pay Owner . . . (3) [t]he optional equipment, services, and/or product

charges . . . . [and] (5) [t]he fuel charge at the rate shown on Page 1. 1f based on

consumption and Vehicle is returned with less fuel than when rented, the charge

shall be for the Owner’s estimated difference in fuel level shown on the fuel gauge
from the time Vehicle is rented to the time it is returned.”



(Ex. 4, p.4). The Damage Waiver and refueling charges are listed as part of the Lease Agreement
along with other charges that constitute the lease or rental price, such as the daily or weekly
charges. “Ifit is a charge contained in the lease, by clear meaning that is a ‘lease charge.””
Revenue Cabinet v. Budget-Rent-A-Car of Cincinnati, Inc., 704 S.W.2d 199, 202 (Ky. 1986)
(holding usage tax on the “gross rental or lease charges paid by a customer or lessee renting or
leasing a motor vehicle” applied to “all charges, including ‘total time and mileage,’ “full collision
insurance,” ‘personal accident insurance,” and ‘drop-off charges,” as set out in the lease agreement
with Budget as lessor and the customer as lessee.”). As such, Damage Waiver and refueling
charges included as part of the Lease Agreement are part of the total consideration received by
Enterprise for the lease or rental of a vehicle and are included in “gross receipts™ as part of the
lease or rental price.

Enterprise argues the Damage Waiver and refueling charges should be viewed as
completely separate transactions from the lease of the motor vehicle. In response to this argument
the Department points to cases from other jurisdictions which have recognized that Damage
Waiver and refueling charges imposed by car rental companies are taxable as part of the “gross
income,” “gross receipts,” or “gross proceeds” resulting from the lease or rental of vehicles. For
example the court in City of Phoenix v. Arizona Rent-A-Car Systems, Inc., 893 P.2d 75 (Ariz. Ct,
App. 1995), found the “refueling charge” assessed when a customer returned a leased vehicle to a
car rental company (Budget) without a full gas tank should be included in Budget’s taxable “gross
income.” “Gross income” was defined to include “[t]he total amount of the sale, lease, license for
use, or rental price at the time of such sale, rental, lease, or license.” /d. at 78 n.1. The court

rejected Budget’s argument that the “refueling charge” was “a separate transaction from the car



rental and not an integral part of it.” Id. at 78. Rather, the court found that because “[t]he
refueling charge is a built-in condition of every Budget car rental contract,” “the charge is an
integral part of Budget's car rental business,” and the “refueling charges paid to Budget are [thus]
taxable as gross income from the car rental business.” Id. at 79-80.

While City of Phoenix deals with a privilege tax based on “gross income” as opposed to a
sales tax on gross receipts from the lease or rental of tangible personal property, the court finds
City of Phoenix instructive because the definition of gross income under the Arizona tax statute
included the “total amount” of the lease or rental price, and “‘sale” was defined as “any transfer of
title or possession.” Id. at 78 n.1. These definitions are similar to Nebraska’s broad definition of
“gross receipts” as the “total amount of the . . . lease or rental price” and the definition of “lease or
rental” as “any transfer of possession or control of tangible personal property.” NEB. REV. STAT.
§§ 77-2701.16(1) and 77-2791.18(1). These definitions, coupled with the definition of “sales
price” as “the total amount of consideration . . . for which personal property . . . [is] leased, or
rented,” demonstrate the similarity between the measure of taxation under Arizona’s privilege tax
and Nebraska’s sales tax. NEB. REV. STAT. § 77-2701.35(1).

In the case of Enterprise’s Lease Agreement, refueling charges are part of every contract,
although a customer can choose to avoid the refueling charge if the car is returned with a fuel
level the same or higher than the fuel level at the time of rental. (Ex. 1, 26). The fact that a
customer could similarly avoid the refueling charge at issue in City of Phoenix did not dissuade
the court in that case from finding the refueling charge was an integral part of the lease contract.
The same is true under the Leasc Agreement between Enterprise and its customers—while the

customer may avoid the refueling charge if the car is returned with a fuel level the same or higher

10



than the fuel level at the time of rental, the refueling charge is still a part of the Lease Agreement
and, if assessed, becomes part of the total consideration paid for leasing or renting the vehicle and
is included in the lease or rental price. As such, the refueling charges are not a “separate
transaction” from the Lease Agreement.

Likewise, the Damage Waiver charges are not separate transactions from the motor vehicle
rental transaction, but properly are included in the “gross receipts” subject to sales tax. In
Enterprise Leasing Co. v. Curtis, 977 So. 2d 975 (La. Ct. App. 2007), the court considered
whether “gross proceeds” from the lease or rental of automobiles included any amounts collected
by a car rental company (Enterprise) for Damage Waiver payments. Louisiana levies a sales and
use tax “upon the lease or rental . . . of tangible personal property” based on “the gross
proceeds derived from the lease or rental of tangible personal property.” Id. at 979. Enterprise
claimed Damage Waiver payments were “not part of the ‘gross proceeds derived from the lease or
rental of tangible personal property’” because they were “a purely optional purchase, separately
stated on the face of the rental contract, and thus is a separate purchase and not an integral part of
the motor vehicle rental transaction.” /d.

The court in Curtis disagreed with Enterprise’s characterization, and held the statute
“levying a tax on the ‘gross proceeds derived from the lease or rental of tangible personal
property’ clearly and unambiguously includes [Damage Waiver] péyments and shall be applied as
written.” Id. at 981, In reaching its decision, the court looked to the “essence of” or the “real
object” of the transaction to determine whether it was taxable. /d. at 980. Explaining its
conclusion, the court stated:

[T]he real object of the transaction is the lease of tangible personal property, a
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motor vehicle. Cleatly, the [Damage Waiver| can only be made available with the

lease or rental of a motor vehicle. Enterprise cannot separate the [Damage Waiver)

from the principal lease as the [Damage Waiver] does not exist without the

automobile lease. Nor can [Damage Waiver| be purchased from another lessor.

[Damage Waiver] payments are merely incidental to the lease of the tangible

personal property.
1d.

As recognized by the court in Curtis, the Damage Waiver charge would not exist without a
lease transaction. The Damage Waiver, if elected by the customer, is part of the total
consideration paid to lease or rent a vehicle from Enterprise. As the Tax Commissioner in the
present case noted, to lease a vehicle from Enterprise the customer must opt to either accept the
Damage Waiver and pay a charge, or decline the Damage Waiver and agree to pay for any vehicle
damage which occurs during the lease. Similarly, to lease a vehicle from Enterprise the customer
must opt either to return the vehicle with the fuel tank filled to the fuel level at the time the
vehicle was rented (in which case the customer is obligated to fill the tank prior to returning the
vehicle) or opt to pay a refueling charge. In either case, absent the customer’s election, no transfer
of possession of the vehicle under the lease will occur and, if a customer elects the Damage
Waiver and/or refueling charge, those charges are a necessary part of the total consideration paid
to lease the vehicle.

An Enterprise customer—while they have options—assumes an obligation regardless of the
option chosen. If a customer chooses the Damage Waiver a fee is charged, and if the Damage
Waiver is not accepted the customer agrees to pay for damages to the vehicle while it is being

leased. Likewise, if the customer agrees to bring the vehicle back with a full tank of gas they will

pay for the fuel directly, but if the customer doesn’t want to bother filling the tank they agree to pay
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a refueling charge to Enterprise. So in either case the “option” a customer has is to pay now or pay
later—it is not a choice to be free from the obligation to pay. When an Enterprise customer elects
the Damage Waiver or the refueling charge, those charges are part of the total consideration paid to
lease the vehicle and properly are considered part of the “gross receipts” from the lease transaction
subject to sales tax.
CONCLUSION

After examining the entire record and considering the arguments of the parties, the court
finds the Damage Waiver and refueling charges are part of the lease or rental price paid by
Enterprise’s customers when renting a motor vehicle and properly are included in the “gross
receipts” from the lease or rental of motor vehicles subject to Nebraska sales tax.

IT THEREFORE IS ORDERED: The Tax Commissioner’s final decision upholding the
Department’s sales tax deficiency assessment is affirmed in its entirety.

A copy of this order is sent to counsel of record.

“h )
DATED this é day of f\_b\% 2012,

BY THE COURT:
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