
SYLVIA COREN,
Petitioner,

IN THE DISTRICT COURT oF LANCASTER COUNTY,

) Docket 478
)

) oRDER
)

)

)

)

)

NEBRASKA

Page 31

vs.

THE NEBRASKA DEPARTI\,IENT
OF REVENUE,

Respondent.

This is an appeal from an order of the State Tax

commissioner, which accepted a recommended decision and

order of a hearing officer, which sustained a deficiency
as sessment.

In mid-April of 1985, petitioner, Sy1via Coren, bought

a fur coat in Kansas for $2,695.00. She did. not take
possession of the coat at the time of purchasé; instead, the

vendor shipped it to her home in omaha. Had. l"Irs. coren

bought the same coat for the same price in omaha at that
time, she wourd have owed state and city sares taxes

totaling $134.76. rn fact, l"Irs. coren paid no sares or use

tax in Kansas, Nebraska, or in any other state with respect

to this fur.
In 1990, the Department learned. of this untaxed

purchase and use of tangible personal property. The

Department requested l4rs. coren to report and pay a use tax
obligation with respect to the coat. on ad.vice of counser,

Mrs. coren decrined.. on october 19, 1990, the Department

issued a notice of deficiency determinationr âssessing

fiI34.76 tax, $25.00 penalty, and int,erest. tvlrs. Coren

petitioned for redetermination on grounds that the attempt

to assess came too late and so was barred by the statute of

\



limitations on assessment.

The sole question is whether or not the Department's

consumerrs tax deficiency assessment issued to Mrs. Coren on

October 19, L990 , for the fur coat purchased in Kansas on

April L2, 1985, is barred by the statute of limitations.

The applicable statute of limitations governing the

issuance of deficiency assessments in the sales and use tax

program is found in section 77-2709 (5) (c) , (Reissue L9431 ,

which provides:

Every notice of a deficiency determination
shall be personally served or mailed within
three years after the Iast day of the calendar
month following the period for which the amount
is proposed to be determined or within three
years after the return is filed, whichever period
exp ires the later. In t,he case of failure to make
a return, every notice of determj-nation shall be
mailed. or personally served within five years
after the last day of the calendar month followinqt
the period for which the amount is proposed to be
determined.

As Mrs. Coren did not file a use tax return, there is
no disagreement between the parties that the above

underscored portion of the law, or the five-year assessment

Iimitation is applicable to the coat purchase. The area of

disagreement is from what target date the five-year clock

starts ticking.

The pet,itioner argues that the "triggering event" is

the date of purchase of the coat, April L2, 1985, and. that

the statute of limitations began to run on the 25th d.ay of

the month following the month of purchase (May 25, 1985) in

accord.ance with the general due dates for sales and use

taxes established in section 77-2708 (1) (a), (Reissue 1943lz
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The sales and use taxes imposed by the
Revenue-Act of L967, shall be due and
to the Tax Commissioner monthly on or
the twenty-fifth day of the month next
succeeding each monthly period, unless
wise provided pursuant to the Nebraska
Act of L967.

Nebraska
payable
before

other-
Revenue

Therefore, it is reasoned by the petitioner, the

limitation tolled in llay of L990,

to the Departmentrs issuance of the

77-2708 (1) (a),

the sales and use

77-27 08 (1) (b) (i),

the associated tax

five-year assessment

several months prior

deficiency assessment.

, Although petitioner cites section

suprar âs the "rule" for the due date of
tax, the first sentence of section

(Reissue 1943), sets out the due date of

return:

On or before the twenty-fifth day of the month
following each monthly period. or such other
period. as the Tax Commissioner may require,
a return for such period, along with aI1 taxes
due, shall be filed with the Tax Commissioner
in such form and content as the Tax Commissioner
may prescribe and containing such information
as the Tax Commissioner deems necessary for the
proper administration of the Nebraska Revenue-
Act of 1967.

There is no question that both subsections specifically
recognize and authorize other than monthly sales and use tax

due dates.

The third and last sentence of section 77-2708

(1) (b) (i), supra, also authorizes the Tax Commissioner to
permit or require departure from monthry returns and tax

remittances for taxpayers with small tax liabilities. At the

time lvlrs . Coren purchased the f ur coat (April 12 , 19 B 5 ) ,

such sentence provided:
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The Tax Commissioner may by rule and
regulation, permit or require quarterly,
semiannual, or annual reports and tax
payments from sellers, retailers, or
purchasers as t,he case may be, who have
small tax liabilities, but no such reports
or Payments may be permitted or required
when the tax liability exceeds sixty d.ollars
in any quarter, one hundred twenty d.ollars
in any semj-annual- period t ot two hund.red forty
dollars ín any year.

Pursuant to the authority granted ín the

sentence,

requiring

taxpayers,

The plain language of the

enactment, required annual returns

Commissioner promulgated

above-quoted

a regulation
reporting and tax remittance period. for

the Tax

an annual

who have small tax liabilities:
Persons not required to hold either a
sales tax permit or a retailers use tax permit
but who are liab1e for consumer's use tax,
shall obtain a consumerrs use tax return and
report and pay the tax directly to the Nebraska
Department of Revenue. Unless otherwise required
by the Nebraska Depàrtment of Revenue, such
consumers shall file returns annually or, if the
tax for any annual period may reasonably be
expected to exceed fi240, returns shall be filed
monthly. Reg.1-002.09.

regulation

and payment

since its
taxpayers

the last

has,

for

bywith small tax liabilities as authorized

of section 77-2708sentence

The

on

that

purchase of any

(1) (b) (i), supra.

item, not otherwise exempt, is a

Iiability for the tax. The datekey event. It establishes

and the manner which this liability j-s satis f ied is
(1) (b) (i), supra, and depends

of. the taxpayer. It is clear

prescribed in section 77-2708

the specific circumstances

the payment of the tax and the filing of the return are

to be accomprished concurrently on the appricabre prescribed
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date. The tax is due when the return is due, regardless of

the actual date or dates of the transaction(s) that gave

rise to the tax liability. Likewise, the statute of

limitations begins to run on the applicable prescribed due

date of the tax and accompanying return
THE COURT FINDS:

(1) The Tax Commissioner through a duly promulgated

regulation, has required an annual use tax payment and.

reporting period for taxpayers with small tax liabilities.
(21 The due date of the use tax and associated return

at,tributable to Mrs. Corenrs fur coat purchase, was January

25, 1986

(3) In accord.ance with section 77-270g irl t") (Reissue

L9431 , the statute of limitations on the Departmentrs

October !9, 1990 issuance of the deficiency assessment to

Mrs. Coren, did not begin to run until February L,1986, and

is therefore timely.

fT IS ORDERED that the order of the State Tax

Commissioner, dated January 24, L992, accepting the

Recommended Decision and Order of the hearing officer dated

January 23, 1992, is affirmed.

Costs taxed to petitioner/appellant.

Dated this Jda y of July, L992.

DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

(s)


