
	 Name and Mailing Address

FORM

54

	 Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA)			   Name

	 Street Address (Do Not Use PO Box)			   Street or Other Mailing Address

	 City	 State	 Zip Code	 City	 State	 Zip Code

Signature of Owner, Member, Partner, Corporate Officer, 
or Person Authorized by Attached Power of Attorney

Date Daytime Phone Number

sign
here Title

	 Nebraska Tax Application and Return
for Mechanical Amusement Device (MAD) Decals

for Devices that DO NOT Award Cash Prizes

	 6	 Are you a resident of the State of Nebraska?

			  c Yes	 c No	

	 3	 County of Business Location in Nebraska

	 9	 Identify Owners, Members, Partners, or Corporation Officers (One of the listed individuals must sign as applicant.)

	 Occupation Tax

Social Security Number Name, Address, City, State, Zip Code	 Title

	 Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this application and return, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

	 1	 Do you hold, or have you previously held, a Nebraska ID Number?

			   Yes	 No   If Yes, provide the number

5-103-1975 Rev. 11-2019 Supersedes 5-103-1975 Rev. 5-2018

	 4	 Reason for Filing Application

	 (1)	c Original Application	 (2)	c Renewal	 (3)	c Acquired Additional Devices	 (4)	c Other

	 11	Enter the total number of devices from line 10............................................................................................................................ 	 11

	 12	Occupation tax ($35 multiplied by the number of devices on line 11, for one year, January 1 through December 31; 
		 or $20 multiplied by the number of devices on line 11, for one-half year, July 1 through December 31).................................... 	 12
	 13	Total occupation tax and penalty amount (total of lines 12 and 15). Pay in full with return............................................................. 	 13	

	 2	 Federal Employer ID or Social Security Number

	 7	 Type of Ownership	 (1)	c Sole Proprietorship	 (4)	c Domestic Corporation	 (7)	c Governmental	 (10)	c Cooperative

			   (2)	c Partnership	 (5)	c Foreign Corporation	 (8)	c Fiduciary (Estate or Trust)	 (11)	c Limited Liability Company

			   (3)	c Nonprofit Corporation	 (6)	c Domesticated Corporation	 (9)	c Nonprofit Organization

	Please Do Not Write In This Space

	 8	 Provide a general description of your business operations:

	 14	Number of mechanical amusement devices not properly registered......................................................................................... 	 14	

	 15	Penalty (line 14 multiplied by $75) (include on line 13).............................................................................................................. 	 15	

Penalties

Mail this form to:  Nebraska Department of Revenue, Charitable Gaming Division, PO Box 94855, Lincoln, NE 68509-4855.
Walk-in at: 137 NW 17th Street, Lincoln, NE 68528.

Retain a copy for your records.

If no, and you are a noncorporate applicant, you must designate a Nebraska resident agent for service of process purposes.

Serial Numbers of Decals Issued	 Issued by	 Date

Signature of Department of Revenue Representative Date

sign
here Title

	 Business Name and Address

	 5	 Application is made for:	 (1)	c Distributor’s License – No Fee	 (2)	c Operator’s License – No Fee	 (3)	c Distributor/Operator’s License – No Fee

Name of Resident Agent	 Address

Email Address

	 Mechanical Amusement Devices
	 10	 Check the box next to each type of device for which you are purchasing a decal. Then, put the total number of that type of device in the space provided.

	 c	Arcade Video Games*	 Number _____	 c	Pinball Machines	 Number _____	 c	Table Games*	 Number _____ 

	 c	Crane Games	 Number _____	 c	Pool/Billiards Tables	 Number _____	 c	Other Mechanical Amusement Devices*	 Number _____

	 c	Musical Devices	 Number _____					     Total Number of Devices __________

*See definitions provided on this form for further details.

*If any device awards or is capable of awarding: a cash prize; credits redeemable for a cash prize, or tickets, tokens, or other items redeemable for a cash prize; this 
form may not be used. 

Field 29 =	 For Department of Revenue Use Only



 Instructions
Who Must File. All operators and distributors of mechanical 
amusement devices covered by the Mechanical Amusement Device 
Tax Act must file an application.
When and Where to File. This application, properly signed and 
accompanied by check or money order payable to the Nebraska 
Department of Revenue, must be filed prior to the date of the first 
transaction involving the use or sale of a mechanical amusement 
device. Licenses and occupation tax decals expire on December 31 
each year, regardless of the date of issuance, and must be renewed 
on or before January 1.
Business Name and Address. If you have mechanical  
amusement devices at multiple locations, you must indicate your 
primary business address in this block.

Definitions
Mechanical Amusement Device (Device). A device is any 
machine which, upon insertion of a coin, currency, credit card, or 
substitute into the machine, operates or may be operated or used for 
a game, contest, or amusement of any description. This includes but 
is not limited to:

•	 Arcade Video Games – flight simulators, video racing 
games, video trivia and IQ games, and other video and  
electronic games;

•	 Crane Games;
•	 Musical Devices;
•	 Pinball Machines;
•	 Pool/Billiards Tables;
•	 Table Games – foosball, air hockey, shuffleboard, light tennis 

and ping pong, bowling games, and other table games. This 
does not include pool/billiards tables; and

•	 Other Mechanical Amusement Devices – whac-a-mole, 
skee‑ball, darts, rifles, and other non-table sports-related games.

A device does not include vending machines which dispense tangible 
personal property, devices located in private homes for private use, 
pickle card dispensing devices which are required to be registered  
with the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department) pursuant 
to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 9-345.03, or devices which are mechanically 
constructed in a manner that would render their operation illegal  
under Chapter 28, article 11 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. The 
presence of a MAD decal on any device only indicates that the  
device is in compliance with the applicable provisions of the 
Mechanical Amusement Device Tax Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-3001 
to 77-3011. A MAD decal is not evidence that the device is legal  
under Chapter 28, article 11 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.
Distributor. A distributor is any person who sells, leases, or  
delivers possession or custody of a device to operators for a 
consideration either directly or indirectly received.
Operator. An operator is any person who operates a place of  
business in which a device owned by the operator is physically 

located, or any person who places and either directly or indirectly 
manages or controls any device.
Distributor-operator. A distributor who leases or rents a device to 
business owners, but retains control of the device, is also considered 
an operator and subject to the same licensing requirements and 
payment of the occupation tax on each device. 
Payment of Additional Occupation Taxes. This application 
must be used for paying occupation taxes on any device put into 
operation after the original application has been filed.
Display Decal. Every operator must conspicuously and  
permanently affix to each device the occupation tax decal. The  
decal must not be affixed by tape or any other means. The backing 
on each decal must be removed in order to permanently affix the 
decal to the device. Any person who has placed a device in operation 
in the State of Nebraska without the necessary decal conspicuously 
and permanently affixed to it is subject to an administrative penalty 
of $75 for each violation and the device is subject to being sealed 
by the Department. If the seal is broken prior to payment of the 
occupation tax for the device, the device is subject to forfeiture and 
sale by the Department.

Specific Instructions
Line 6. If you are a foreign (non-Nebraska) corporation and do 
not have a certificate of authority to transact business in Nebraska,  
please contact the Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office at  
402-471-4079 to obtain an application.
Line 12. An occupation tax of $35 is assessed for each device 
placed in operation on or after January 1, but before July 1, of each 
year. If the device is placed in operation on or after July 1, but before 
January 1 of the following year, an occupation tax of $20 is assessed 
on each device placed into operation. Checks written to the Nebraska 
Department of Revenue may be presented electronically.
The occupation tax can only be paid by the operator who has actual 
ownership of the device being taxed. The tax must be paid at the 
time the device is purchased and prior to the device being placed into 
operation. An occupation tax decal is issued denoting the payment 
of the tax for each device.
Penalty Abatement. An operator who has been assessed a  
penalty may request an abatement of the penalty. A Request for 
Abatement of Penalty, Form 21, must be completed and filed with 
the Department. The request for abatement of penalty will not be 
considered until the penalty has been paid.
Authorized Signature. This application must be signed by 
the owner, member, partner, or corporate officer listed on line 9. 
Individuals who are not listed on line 9 but are signing the  
application, must attach a completed power of attorney.
If you need additional assistance, contact the Charitable Gaming 
Division, Nebraska Department of Revenue, 137 NW 17th Street, 
PO Box 94855, Lincoln, NE 68509-4855, or call 877-564-1315 or 
402-471-5949.

http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=9-345.03
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=77-3001&end_section=77-3011
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=77-3001&end_section=77-3011
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_21.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_21.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_33.pdf

	1 Do you hold or have you previously held a Nebraska ID Number: Off
	If Yes provide the number: 
	2 Federal Employer ID or Social Security Number: 
	reset: 
	Business Name or Doing Business As DBA: 
	Street Address Do Not Use PO Box: 
	City State Zip Code: 
	Name: 
	Street or Other Mailing Address: 
	City State Zip Code_2: 
	3 County of Business Location in Nebraska: 
	Original application: Off
	Renewal: Off
	Additional devices: Off
	Other: Off
	Distributor's license: Off
	Operator's license: Off
	Distributor-Operator's license: Off
	6 Are you a resident of the State of Nebraska?: Off
	Resident Agent's Name and Address: 
	Sole Proprietorship: Off
	Partnership: Off
	Nonprofit Corp: Off
	Domestic Corp: Off
	Foreign Corp: Off
	Domesticated Corp: Off
	Governmental: Off
	Fiduciary - estate or trust: Off
	Nonprofit Organization: Off
	Cooperative: Off
	Limited Liability Company: Off
	Provide general description of business ops: 
	Social Security NumberRow1: 
	Name Address City State Zip CodeRow1: 
	TitleRow1: 
	Social Security NumberRow2: 
	Name Address City State Zip CodeRow2: 
	TitleRow2: 
	Social Security NumberRow3: 
	Name Address City State Zip CodeRow3: 
	TitleRow3: 
	Social Security NumberRow4: 
	Name Address City State Zip CodeRow4: 
	TitleRow4: 
	Arcade Video Games: Off
	Number: 
	Crane Games: Off
	Number_2: 
	Musical Devices: Off
	Number_3: 
	Pinball Machines: Off
	Number_4: 
	Pool-Billiards Tables: Off
	Number_5: 
	Number_7: 
	Number_8: 
	Total Number of Devices: 
	11 Total number of devices: 
	12: 
	13: 
	Title: 
	Date: 
	Daytime Phone No: 
	Email Address: 
	Table Games: Off
	Other MAD: Off


