Monthly Calendar Reminder for County Assessors Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division

Dates/Duties August 2022:

- August 1Last day for county assessors to forward approved Homestead Exemption
Application or Certification of Status, Form 458, with Physician's Certification of
Disability, Form 458B, or Veterans Affairs Letter, and Form 458, Schedule I
Income Statement to the Tax Commissioner. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-3517
- August 1 County assessor reviews the ownership and use of all cemetery real property and reports such review to the county board of equalization. <u>§ 77-202.10</u>
- August 1Last day for political subdivision to submit preliminary request for levy allocation
to the county board or city. $\frac{\$}{77-3443}$
- August 1 City or community redevelopment authority (CRA) files <u>Notice to Divide Tax for</u> <u>Community Redevelopment Project</u> or Tax Increment Financing Project (TIF), with the county assessor. <u>§ 18-2147(3)</u>.
- August 1Property Tax Administrator certifies to the Tax Equalization and Review
Commission the implementation of all issued equalization orders. § 77-5029
- August 1Tax Commissioner certifies exempt personal property for Employment &
Investment Growth Act (Form 775P) and Nebraska Advantage Act (Form 312P)
and notifies taxpayer and affected county assessors. <a href="mailto:system:sy
- August 1 Second half real and personal property taxes for tax year prior assessment year become delinquent, if unpaid, in counties with a population greater than 100,000 (Douglas, Lancaster, and Sarpy Counties). § 77-204
- August 2 County clerk mails notice of county board of equalization decision to protesters. (On or before August 18 for extended counties.) <u>§ 77-1502(4)</u>.
- August 10 Last day for Tax Equalization and Review Commission to hear and act on any filed county board of equalization petitions. <u>§ 77-1504.01</u>
- August 10Last day for the Tax Equalization and Review Commission to set the equalization
rate for the real property of centrally assessed railroads and public service entities.
 $\underline{\$77-5022}$
- August 10Property Tax Administrator certifies distributed taxable value of centrally assessed
property to each county assessor. § 77-5030
- August 15Approved freeholder petitions filed on or before June 1 of the current year become
effective. $\frac{\$79-458(3)}{3}$

- August 15 County assessor approves or denies homestead exemption claimants based on ownership and occupancy from January 1 through this date. <u>§ 77-3502</u>, <u>§ 77-3516</u>.
- August 15 The county board of equalization to hear and certify its decision on late filed permissive exemptions on or before August 15. Approval of late filing waiver by the board is required. <u>§ 77-202.02</u>
- August 15 Deadline for homestead exemption claimants to file an Application for Transfer, or within thirty days after receiving or within thirty days after receiving a notice of rejection on the owner's application for exemption for the original homestead. Form 458T. § 77-3509.01
- August 15 Department of Revenue, on behalf of Rent-Restricted Housing Projects Committee, Distributes income and expense statements as filed by rent-restricted housing projects to county assessors of each county in which a rent-restricted housing project is located. § 77-1333.
- August 15County assessors must electronically file the Real Estate Transfer Statement, Form
521, for all deeds recorded in June, on or before the fifteenth of the second month
following the month the deed was recorded. Regulation 12-003.04

On or before August 15, create a PDF of all Forms 521 and upload to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division's (Division) state sales file at <u>padsalesfile.nebraska.gov</u>.

- August 20 County assessors certify taxable valuations and growth value, if applicable, to political subdivisions. County assessor certifies current valuations for each TIF project to the city or community redevelopment authority (CRA) and to the county treasurer. The certification of taxable valuations may be made to political subdivisions by mail (if requested), email, or notice that the values are posted on the county assessor's website. <u>§ 13-509</u>, <u>§ 13-518</u>, <u>§ 18-2148</u>
- August 20County assessor certifies the School District Taxable Value Report to the Property
Tax Administrator. § 79-1016
- August 20If the Tax Equalization and Review Commission orders changes for county board
of equalization petitions, the county assessor recertifies the County Abstract of
Assessment Report for Real Property with the Property Tax Administrator.

 <u>§ 77-1504.01</u>
- August 24Last day for a taxpayer to file an appeal of the final action of the county board of
equalization with the Tax Equalization and Review Commission.
(On or before September 10 for extended counties.) § 77-1510
- August 31 Annual inventory statement of all county personal property in the custody of the county official's office filed with the county board. $\frac{\$ 23-347}{2}$.

August 31 County assessor may amend the School District Taxable Value Report for corrections or errors. <u>§ 79-1016</u>.

For additional information regarding duties/deadlines, see PAD Main Calendar.

Educational Opportunities:

August 29 – September 1: Nebraska Assessor's Workshop (16 credit hours); The "New Legislation Webinar" will be a part of the Nebraska Assessor's Workshop.

For additional education opportunities, see: Education Calendar and Course Descriptions.

Other Education Providers:

Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board

IAAO Education (International Association of Assessing Officers)

Vanguard Appraisals, Inc.

Moore Appraisal Education

American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers