
 7 Purchase by a person with a disability with funds contributed by the U.S. Department 
of Veterans Affairs or the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
Finance and Support. Enter amount of contribution: $ _________________. See 
instructions for “Purchase of a Motor Vehicle by a Person with a Disability.”

 8 Purchase by a governmental entity not engaged in the business of furnishing 
gas, water, electricity, or heat.

 9 Purchase of a header trailer, head hauler, header transport, or seed tender trailer 
that is depreciable agricultural machinery and equipment for use in commercial 
agriculture. (Refer to the Agricultural Machinery and Equipment Sales Tax 
Exemption Information Guide.)

10 Vehicle is a gift or received by inheritance and tax was previously paid by the 
donor. A gift is a voluntary transfer without any consideration. The donor paid the 
tax on the previous transfer. If the person accepting the motor vehicle or trailer 
as a gift or inheritance assumes a lien, mortgage, or encumbrance, the amount 
owing shall be subject to sales and use tax. (Documentation required.)

11 A transfer of a motor vehicle pursuant to an occasional sale as set out in Nebraska 
Sales and Use Tax Regulation 1-022.02 through 1-022.04. 

12 Purchase of a 30-day plate by a nonresident of Nebraska who does not intend 
to remain in Nebraska more than 30 days from the date of purchase.

FORM

6
Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement

for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales
 Purchaser’s Name and Address Seller’s Name and Address

Purchased Vehicle/Trailer Description

Trade-in Vehicle/Trailer Description

Tax Computation — See Instructions
 1 Total sales price ................................................................................................................................................  1 
 2 Less trade-in allowance ....................................................................................................................................  2
 3 Less manufacturer’s rebate assigned to dealer at time of sale .........................................................................  3
 4 Tax base (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3) (if zero or less, enter -0-) .......................................................................  4 
 5 Nebraska sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) ..............................................  5
 6 Local sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) .....................................................  6
 7 Total Nebraska and local sales or use tax due (line 5 plus line 6)  ...................................................................  7 
 8 Tire fee (Number of new tires ______ multiplied by $1) ...................................................................................  8
 9 Penalty for late payment ...................................................................................................................................  9
 10 Interest for late payment ...................................................................................................................................  10
 11 Balance due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10) ........................................................................................................  11 

$_____________________
Tax Paid

 ______________________
Date Paid

sign
here Signature of Seller Signature of Purchaser or Agent of Purchaser Date 

 Any purchaser or agent who completes this exemption certificate for any purchase which is not exempt under the Nebraska Revenue Act, as amended, will 
in addition to any tax, interest, or penalty otherwise imposed, be subject to a penalty of $100 or ten times the tax, whichever amount is larger. Under penalties 
of law, I declare that I have examined this certificate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign
here Signature of Person Claiming Exemption Date

For County Use Only

Type of Exemption

If exempt category 1 through 7 is claimed, requested information must be entered. Only categories 5 and 12 are exempt from the tire fee.
Type of Exemption

1 Purchase by an exempt organization holding a Certificate of Exemption issued 
by the Nebraska Department of Revenue.

 Number 05 – ______________________

2 Vehicle will be used in a common or contract carrier capacity and the purchaser 
shown on the face of this form holds a current Certificate of Exemption issued by 
the Nebraska Department of Revenue. Number 05 –_____________________

3 Purchase by a lessor of motor vehicles. Sales tax on the fair market lease payments 
to be remitted under Nebraska Sales Tax Permit.

 Lessor’s Sales Tax Number 01 – ______________________

4 Purchase under the Lessor’s Option and the motor vehicle will be leased to a 
common or contract carrier who holds a valid Nebraska Certificate of Exemption 
Number 05-______________________. 

 Lessor must attach a copy of approved Nebraska Application for Election 
of Lessors to Pay Sales and Use Tax on Cost of Motor Vehicles, Form 15.

5 Purchase by a Native American Indian residing in Indian country and the vehicle 
is registered at a location within Indian country in Nebraska.

 Tax Exemption ID Card Number: ________________________

6 Vehicle was purchased, licensed, and operated in a state other than Nebraska.

 Identify state: _____________________________  (Documentation required.)

 Name   Name

 Street or Other Address   Street or Other Address

 City State Zip Code City State Zip Code

 Make Body Type Year Vehicle ID Number (VIN) Date of Purchase

 Make Body Type Year Vehicle ID Number (VIN) License Plate Number Was the trade-in vehicle being leased?
       Yes No
      If Yes, enter -0- on line 2. 

 Any dealer or seller who willfully prepares a false or fraudulent Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement may be found guilty of a Class IV felony 
and will, upon conviction, be fined not more than $10,000, or be imprisoned not more than five years or both. Under penalties of law, I declare that I have 
examined this statement and it is correct and complete.

6-004-1967 Rev. 10-2021
Supersedes 6-004-1967 Rev.  4-2021

The County, Purchaser, and Seller must keep a copy of the signed Form 6.

Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales

Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509-4818
revenue.nebraska.gov, 800-742-7474 (NE and IA), 402-471-5729



Instructions for Purchaser

Collecting Taxes and Tire Fees. The county treasurer, DMV, or 
other designated county official must collect the state and applicable 
local sales and use taxes, and the tire fee, prior to registering the 
motor vehicle or trailer.
A signed  copy of this form  must be receipted in the space provided 
for validation. A copy must be returned to the purchaser. Counties 
are required to retain a copy of this form and provide copies to DOR 
upon request.

Collection of Penalty and Interest. If the appropriate sales or 
use taxes and fees are not paid within 30 days after the purchase date, 
penalty and interest must be collected at the statutory rate from the due 
date through the date of payment. If the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or a holiday, the purchaser may still pay the amount due on 
the next business day without incurring penalty and interest.

Instructions for County Treasurers, DMV, and Other Designated County Officials

Line 4. No refund will be made if the tax base results in a negative amount.
Exemptions. If the transfer of title to the motor vehicle or trailer 
described on this statement is exempt from sales and use taxes, the 
Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, located on the front of 
this statement, must be completed prior to registration.

The purchaser must present documentation that supports the sales tax 
exemption. If the documentation is not sufficient, the county treasurer, 
DMV, or other designated county official is authorized to collect the 
sales tax. The purchaser may submit a claim to DOR requesting a 
refund of the sales taxes paid.

Purchase of a Motor Vehicle by a Person with a Disability. 
If the amount contributed by the U.S. Department of Veterans 
Administration (VA) or the Nebraska Department of Health and 
Human Services Finance and Support (DHHS) is the maximum 
amount allowed by law, the entire purchase price of the motor vehicle 
is exempt from sales tax. The entire purchase price is exempt, even if 
the purchase price is greater than the maximum amount contributed. 
If the contributed amount is less than the maximum amount allowed 
by law, only the amount contributed is exempt from sales tax. If 
there is a question as to whether the maximum amount was received, 
Form 21-4502, “Application for Automobile or Other Conveyance 
and Adaptive Equipment” issued by the VA, or the award letter issued 
by the DHHS, should be reviewed. A motor vehicle purchased with 
disability compensation is not exempt from sales tax.

Mobility Enhancing Equipment. Any person with a disability who 
is required to use durable medical equipment or prosthetics for moving 
from one place to another place, may purchase mobility enhancing 
equipment with a motor vehicle exempt from sales tax. Please refer 
to the Nebraska Certificate of Exemption for Mobility Enhancing 
Equipment on a Motor Vehicle, Form 13ME.

Underpayment of Tax. Underpayment of sales or use tax or tire 
fee on this statement must be reported on an Amended Nebraska 
Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer 
Sales, Form 6XN. Form 6XN is available at each county treasurer’s 
office and DOR.

Paying Taxes and Tire Fees. The purchaser of a motor vehicle or 
trailer must present two copies of this statement to the county treasurer, 
the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), or other designated county 
official within 30 days after the date of purchase, and pay the Nebraska 
and local sales or use tax, and the tire fee. The date of purchase is 
the earlier of two dates: the date on the motor vehicle title; or the 
date of possession, as evidenced by the date of purchase shown on 
the Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement, Form 6. The 
purchaser should retain a copy of this statement for a period of at 
least six years.
Penalty and Interest. If the total sales or use tax and tire fee are 
not paid within 30 days of the purchase date, the county treasurer, 
DMV, or designated county official will assess and collect penalty 
and interest at the statutory rate. If you have any questions regarding 
the purchase date, or penalty and interest rates, please contact your 
local county treasurer’s office or the Nebraska Department of Revenue 
(DOR) at 800-742-7474 (NE and IA) or revenue.nebraska.gov.
Sales Tax Paid to Another State. A motor vehicle purchased 
in another state, with sales tax properly paid to the other state, but 
registered for the first time in Nebraska, is subject to use tax at the 
time of registration. If the state the vehicle was purchased in has 
reciprocity with Nebraska, the total sales tax paid in that state will 
be credited toward the total state and local use tax due in Nebraska. 
No refund will be made if the other state’s tax rate exceeds the total 
Nebraska and local use tax rate.
Line 2. A vehicle that is used as a trade-in must be titled in the name of 
the purchaser, except for vehicles titled in the name of the purchaser’s 
parent, guardian, or child. The trade in allowance includes the value 
of any motor vehicle, motorboat, all-terrain vehicle, or utility-type 
vehicle traded in for a motor vehicle. The trade-in vehicle must be 
described on the form and must be taken in trade at the time of the sale.
The lessee of a motor vehicle who purchases or leases a different  motor 
vehicle cannot receive a trade-in allowance on the leased  motor vehicle 
returned to the lessor. A trade-in allowance is not allowed because 
the leased motor vehicle was not owned by the lessee. In addition, if 
the dealer purchases the leased motor vehicle,  a trade-in allowance 
is not allowed on the purchase or lease of  another motor vehicle.

Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer or Licensed Permitholder. 
A motor vehicle dealer, or sales tax permitholder, must complete this 
statement for every sale of a motor vehicle or trailer. Signed copies 
should be distributed in the following manner:
 1. A signed copy must be retained with your business records;
 2. A signed copy must be mailed to DOR at the address at the 

bottom of the Form 6 if e-filing Nebraska and Local Sales 
and Use Tax Return, Form 10, or with Form 10 if filing on 
paper; and

 3. Two signed copies must be given to the purchaser.
The sales price on line 1 must include amounts for destination charges, 
import custom fees, surcharges, service and maintenance agreements, 
document processing charges, charges for warranty transfers, and 
dealer-installed options. 
Individual Without a Sales Tax Permit. An individual, who is 
not licensed to collect sales tax, must complete this statement for every 

sale of a motor vehicle or trailer. The copies should be distributed in 
the following manner:
 1. Retain a signed copy with your records; and
 2. Provide two copies of the signed form to the purchaser.
An individual can accept another motor vehicle, motorboat, all-terain 
vehicle, or utility-type vehicle as a trade-in at the time of the sale to 
reduce the total sales price of the purchased motor vehicle.
Leased Vehicles. A lessee cannot use the previously-leased vehicle 
as a trade-in on the purchase of a new or used vehicle, unless the lessee 
has registered and paid sales tax on the buy-out amount.
Tire Fee. Motor vehicle dealers selling new motor vehicles, trailers, 
or semi-trailers are required to indicate the number of new tires, 
including the spare, on line 8. Dealers must also indicate the number 
of new tires on a previously-owned vehicle.
Individuals selling used motor vehicles are not required to indicate 
the number of tires.

Instructions for Seller 

Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509-4818
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