

## Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return for County Treasurers and Other Officials

FORM 9

Nebraska ID Number

Tax Period

Please Do Not Write In This Space

**County Name and Mailing Address** 

| Nebraska sales and use tax collected during this tax period  Complete Nebraska Schedule below if local sales and use tax has been collected. |   | 1                          |                            |
|--|---|----------------------------|----------------------------|
| 2 Total local sales and use tax collected (line 11, Nebraska Schedule)   |   | 2                          |                            |
| 3 Total Nebraska and local sales and use tax collected (line 1 plus line 2)  |   | 3                          |                            |
| 4 Total amount of penalties collected on late-registered motor vehicles during this tax period   |   | 4                          |                            |
| 5 Total amount of interest collected on late-registered motor vehicles during this tax period  |   | 5                          |                            |
| 6 Total amount collected (total of lines 3, 4, and 5)  |   |                            | 6                          |
| <ul> <li>7 a Collection fee permitted for all retailers (line 6 multiplier if the result is \$150 or more, enter \$150)</li></ul>            |   |                            |                            |
| Total collection fee (line 7a plus line 7b)  |   |                            | 7                          |
| 8 Total amount due (line 6 minus line 7)   |   |                            | 8                          |
| 9 Previous balance (see specific instructions)   |   |                            | 9                          |
|  |   |                            |                            |
| 10 Balance due (total of lines 8 and 9). Counties are require  Nebraska Schedule—Loc   |   | •                          | 10                         |
| 10 Balance due (total of lines 8 and 9). Counties are require  Nebraska Schedule—Loc  Local Taxing Jurisdiction                              |   | •                          | 10 Local Sales and Use Tax |
| Nebraska Schedule — Local Taxing Jurisdiction  | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule — Local Taxing Jurisdiction  | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule—Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4   | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule—Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4 5   | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule—Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4   | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule—Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8   | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule—Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   | cal Sales and Use Ta                            | x Collected                |                            |
| Nebraska Schedule—Loc Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  11 Local sales and use tax collected (total of lines 1 throug         | County Code  County Code  h 10). Enter here and | City Code  On line 2 above | Local Sales and Use Tax    |
| Nebraska Schedule—Local Taxing Jurisdiction  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  | County Code  County Code  h 10). Enter here and | City Code  On line 2 above | Local Sales and Use Tax    |

## Instructions

**Who Must File.** Every county treasurer and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must file this return for each tax period. This return must be filed by the due date even if there was no sales or use tax collected for the tax period.

When and Where to File. This return and payment are due the 15th of the month following the tax period covered by the return. Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payments must be completed by 5:00 p.m. Central Time on the due date to be considered timely. Paper returns must be mailed to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98923, Lincoln, NE 68509-8923. Retain a copy of this return for your records.

**Preidentified Return.** This return is to be used by the official whose name is printed on it. If a preidentified return is not received for a tax period, a duplicate return should be requested from the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR). Do not file returns which are photocopies, returns for another tax period, or returns which have not been preidentified. If the mailing address is incorrect, mark through the incorrect address and plainly print the correct address.

**Penalty and Interest.** A penalty for failure to file the return and pay the tax by the due date may be assessed. Interest on the unpaid tax will be assessed at the statutory rate from the due date until payment is received.

**Email**. By entering an email address, the county treasurer acknowledges that the DOR may contact the county treasurer by email. The county treasurer accepts any risk to confidentiality associated with this method of communication. The DOR will send all confidential information by secure mail or the State of Nebraska's file share system. If you do not wish to be contacted by email, write "Opt Out" on the line labeled "email address."

## **Specific Instructions**

**Line 1.** Enter the state sales and use tax collected. If there are any Forms 6 with purchaser's address located within a Good Life District (GLD), complete the <u>9GLD County Schedule</u> prior to completing Line 1. Enter total from Column C on Line 1. Attach the 9GLD County Schedule to the Form 9 when filing.

Maps of the Good Life Districts can be found on the Sales Tax Rate Finder.

**Line 7a.** DMV and county treasurers enter the result of line 6 multiplied by .03. If the result of line 6 multiplied by .03 is \$150 or more, enter \$150.

**Line 7b.** DMV enter \$0. County treasurers should enter the result of .005 multiplied by the excess of line 6 over \$6,000.

**Line 9.** Enter the amount of overpayment or underpayment not reported on a previous return. If you have been advised by the DOR of either an overpayment or underpayment which was reported on a previous return, this amount should also be entered.

**Line 10.** Electronic payments must be made using DOR's free e-pay program (ACH Debit or ACH Credit). Refer to Payment Options at <u>revenue.nebraska.gov</u> for additional information. Payment may also be made by phone by calling 800-232-0057.

**Authorized Signature.** This return must be signed by the county treasurer or DMV's authorized representative, or other person authorized to sign the return.

## Nebraska Schedule

**Lines 1 through 10.** Enter the amount of local sales and use tax collected for each city or county.

**Line 11.** Enter the total local sales and use tax collected from lines 1 through 10.