Instructions

Who May File. Parents or legal guardians of children 5 years old or younger may apply to the Nebraska Department of
Revenue (DOR) to receive a refundable tax credit. The parent or legal guardian must claim the child as a dependent for
federal income tax purposes and is eligible for the refundable tax credit if:

*  The child is enrolled in a child care program licensed pursuant to the Child Care Licensing Act;

e The child receives care from an aggroved license-exempt provider enrolled in the child care subsidy program
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 68-1202 and 68-1206; or

*  The parent’s or legal guardian’s total household income is less than or equal to 100% of the federal poverty level.
The credit will equal:

*  $2,000 per child, if the total household income is no more than $75,000; or

e $1,000 per child, if the total household income is more than $75,000 but no more than $150,000.

» If the total household income is more than $150,000, the parent or legal guardian is not eligible for the child care
refundable tax credit.

When to File. Application submission for each tax year will open in January following the applicable tax year. The Child
Care Refundable Tax Credit Application, Form 7203, must be certified by DOR prior to claiming the tax credit on your
individual income tax return. Parents and legal guardians submit the Child Care Refundable Tax Credit Application,
Form 7203, using DOR’s Electronic Document & Application Submission Hub (eDASH).

What to File. Parents and legal guardians must submit the Child Care Refundable Tax Credit Application, Form 7203.
If any dependent child received care from a DHHS approved license-exempt provider enrolled in the Child Care Subsidy
Program pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 68-1202 and 68-1206, they must also submit a copy of the DHHS authorization
with their application. The DHHS authorization is available in the parent’s or legal guardian’s ACCESSNebraska or iServe
Nebraska account.

Where to File. Submit the Child Care Refundable Tax Credit Application, Form 7203, electronically through the
e¢DASH portal.

Claiming the Credit. After your Form 7203 has been certified and returned by DOR, you must claim the reserved credit
amount on the applicable line of your Nebraska individual income tax return. You will need the Certification Number and
Reserved Credit Amount from the Estimated Credit Authorization section of your approved Form 7203 when claiming the
credit on your Nebraska individual income tax return.

Nebraska Residency. Parents or legal guardians must be filing as a Nebraska resident to be eligible for the credit. Per
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2714.01, resident individual shall mean an individual who is domiciled in Nebraska or who maintains
a permanent place of abode in this state and spends in the aggregate more than six months of the taxable year in this state.

Dependent and Child Care Program Information. To qualify under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-7203(1) of the Act, the
parent or legal guardian must have a dependent child, who is five years of age or less at the end of the calendar year
and:

*  the dependent child must have been enrolled in a child care program licensed by the Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services (DHHS) pursuant to the Child Care Licensing Act or received care from an approved
license-exempt provider enrolled in the child care subsidy program pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 68-1202 and
68-1206; or

*  the parent or legal guardian’s total household income was less than or equal to the federal poverty level during
the applicable tax year.

A program also qualifies if it is not required to be licensed under the Child Care Licensing Act because the program is
operated or contracted by a public school district and subject to the rules and regulations of the Nebraska Department of
Education pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat § § 71-1910 and 71-1916(4).

A qualified child care program/provider name and all requested information must be entered for each Dependent Child
unless the parent's or legal guardian's total household income was less than or equal to the federal poverty level during the
applicable tax year.

Email. By entering an email address, the applicant acknowledges DOR may contact the applicant by email. The applicant
accepts any risk to confidentiality associated with this method of communication. DOR will send all confidential information
by secure email. A valid email address is required for all applications submitted electronically. All communication and
notices for applications submitted in eDASH will be sent to the email address entered on the application.

Authorization for DOR to Send Notice by Secure Electronic Means. By submitting this application electronically,
you have authorized the DOR to deliver any notice by electronic means in a secure manner to the email address entered, and
you accept any risk to confidentiality associated with this method of communication. The DOR will send all confidential
information by secure email.

Signature. This application must be signed by the parent or legal guardian who is claiming the eligible dependents for
federal income tax purposes.

Annual Limit. The DOR will process completed applications in the order received until the annual limit has been reached.
An application will be considered complete when all the information requested for this application has been submitted.

Appeal. The amount of approved credit is a final action of the Tax Commissioner and may be appealed. Appeals must be filed
with the District Court of Lancaster County within 30 days after the date of the Tax Commissioner’s final determinations.
The amount of approved credit, outside of notification that the total annual limit allocated for all approved credits has been
reached, is a final action of the Tax Commissioner and may be appealed.


https://revenue.nebraska.gov/electronic-document-application-submission-hub-edash
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/electronic-document-application-submission-hub-edash
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2714.01
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-7203
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=68-1202
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=68-1206
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=71-1910
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=71-1916



