Good Life. Great Service.

Individual Underpayment of Estimated Tax • Attach to Form 1040N.

Check this box if you are annualizing your income.

L	Check this box if you are annualizing	g yo	our income.									
Name and Address on Form 1040N								Social Security Number				
1	Total Nebraska income tax after nonrefundable	cre	dits (line 33, Form 1040N)				1					
2	Enter the total of the refundable credits [total of	(PTET) credit										
	reported on line 37, Form 1040N, and the 2023		2									
3	Subtract line 2 from line 1		3									
	Multiply line 3 by 90% (.90) and enter result here									-		
	Amount of Nebraska income tax withheld for 2024, if any (lines 34, 35, and 36, Form 1040N).											
Ũ	Do not include any estimated payments on this line											
6	ubtract line 5 from line 3. If less than \$500, stop here; do not complete this form. You do not owe penalty											
	 7 Enter your 2023 Nebraska income tax (see instructions). If federal AGI was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married, 											
'	filing separately), enter 110% of 2023 tax											
Q	filing separately), enter 110% of 2023 tax											
0	If line 5 is greater than or equal to line 8, do not complete this form. You do not owe penalty.											
			Farmers and ranchers									
9	Due date of installments	9	April 15, 2024		June 15, 2024	Sept. 15, 2024			Jan. 15,	2025		
	Enter 25% of line 8 in each column	10	April 10, 2024		54110 10, 2024	0001110,2024			oun ro,	LULU		
	Amount of estimated payment plus amount	10										
	withheld for each quarter (see instructions)	11										
	Complete	ines	s 12 through 18 of one co	olun	nn before going to the	next column.						
12	Overpayment of previous installments from line											
13	Add lines 11 and 12	13										
14	Add amounts on line 16 of the previous column	Add amounts on line 16 of the previous column and line 17 of the previous										
	column and enter result			14								
15	Subtract line 14 from line 13. If zero or less,											
	enter -0- (for April 15 column only, enter the	45										
	amount from line 11)			-								
16	Remaining underpayment from previous period. If the amount on line 15 s zero, subtract line 13 from line 14. Otherwise, enter -0											
17	Underpayment. If line 10 is greater	, en	ler -0	10								
	than or equal to line 15, subtract line 15 from											
	line 10, and go to the next column; otherwise,											
	go to line 18	17		-								
18	Overpayment. If line 15 is greater than											
	line 10, subtract line 10 from line 15. Enter the											
	amount here and on line 12 of the next column	18			Depalty							
10			Calculate t	ne	Penalty							
19	Amount of underpayment (line 16 plus line 17)											
	For April 15 column only, use -0- for line 16 in your calculation	19										
20	Date of payment or next due date (from			1								
	line 9), whichever is earlier	20		<u> </u>								
21	Number of days from due date of installment to the date shown on line 20	21										
22	a Penalty (5% per year on the line 19 amount	21										
	for the number of days in 2024 on line 21)	22a										
	b Penalty (8% per year on the line 19 amount for the number of days in 2025 on line 21)	004										
••	for the number of days in 2025 on line 21)			1			00					
23	Total amounts on line 22. Enter this amount on						23					
			nd Ranchers — Une									
24	Enter line 3 here. If all Nebraska income tax i						24					
You do not owe penalty												
-0	indupin into 2 + by 00/3/0 (.007) and enter here						25					

26 Amount of Nebraska income tax withheld for 2024, if any	26	
27 Subtract line 26 from line 24. If less than \$500, do not complete the rest of this form. You do not owe penalty	27	
28 Enter your 2023 Nebraska income tax (see line 7 instructions)	28	
29 Enter the smaller of line 25 or line 28	29	
30 Amounts withheld and amounts paid or credited by January 15	30	
31 Underpayment of estimated tax (line 29 minus line 30). If less than zero, you do not owe penalty	31	
32 Number of days from January 15 to date of payment, or April 15, whichever is earlier	32	
33 Penalty (8% per year on the line 31 amount for the number of days on line 32).		
Enter this amount here and on line 50, Form 1040N	33	

Instructions

Note: Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment Vouchers and Instructions are not mailed to taxpayers by the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR). Instead, all taxpayers are encouraged to make their estimated income tax payments <u>electronically</u>.

Who Must File. If your 2024 income tax due (line 17, Form 1040N) less income tax withholding and allowable credits is \$500 or more, you may owe a penalty for underpayment of estimated tax and must complete this form.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty. An individual who did not pay enough estimated tax by any of the applicable due dates, or did not have enough state income tax withheld, may be charged a penalty. This is true even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return. The penalty is calculated separately for each due date. You may owe the penalty for an earlier payment due, even if you paid enough income tax later to make up the underpayment.

You may owe the penalty for 2024 if you did not pay at least the smaller of:

- 1. 90% of your 2024 income tax liability; or
- 2. 100% of your 2023 income tax liability (if you filed a 2023 return that covered a full 12 months).

Exceptions to the Penalty. You do not have to pay the penalty if:

- 1. You had no Nebraska income tax liability for 2023, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2023 Nebraska income tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
- 2. You are a first-time filer for Nebraska income tax purposes; or
- 3. Your total income tax shown on your 2024 return minus applicable credits and the amount of income tax you paid through income tax withholding is less than \$500. To determine whether the exception applies to you, complete lines 1 through 6.

Note: If you file your return and pay the income tax due by January 31, 2025, include on line 19, January 15 column, the amount of income tax you pay with your Nebraska individual income tax return. In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the payment due on January 15, 2025.

Nebraska Income Tax on Annualized Income. No penalty will be imposed if your Nebraska income tax payments equal or exceed 90% of your Nebraska income tax liability based on annualized income earned through the end of the month preceding the installment date. If you meet this criteria, check the box at the top of this form. Paper filers attach a separate schedule showing your computation similar to the federal Annualized Income Installment Method Schedule.

Waiver of Penalty. DOR may consider waiving the penalty under the following circumstances:

- Underpayment due to casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance where it would be inequitable to impose the penalty; or
- In 2023 or 2024, you retired after reaching age 62, or became disabled, and your underpayment was due to reasonable cause.

Paper filers attach a statement to this form outlining why the penalty should not be imposed.

When and Where to File. Form 2210N must be attached and filed with the <u>Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return</u>, <u>Form 1040N</u>.

Specific Line Instructions

Line 2. Enter the total of the refundable credits. Include in line 2 the school district property tax credit allowed on your 2023 tax return. If you did not have a school district property tax credit in 2023 and now own property on which you paid property taxes on, you may include the 2023 school district property tax credit for that property. Use the <u>Nebraska Property</u> <u>Tax Look-Up Tool</u> to determine the proper credit amount. Select 2023 in the box "Year Property Taxes were Paid", enter the Parcel ID Number, and select 2022 in the box "Property Tax Year". Once you have determined the Allowable Nebraska School District Property Tax Paid in 2023 amount, multiply that by 30% (.30). This is the amount you can add to Form 2210N Line 2.

New legislation (LB 34) enacted in the 2024 special session for 2024 income tax returns removed the school district property tax credit effective January 1, 2024, and placed the credit on the property tax statements. If the school district property tax credit was factored into the calculation for the 2024 estimated payments, this adjustment takes this into consideration in the calculation of underpayment of estimated tax. If you are including the school district property tax credit allowed on your 2023 tax return in line 2, do not file a Request for Abatement of Penalty, Form 21.

Line 7, 2023 Tax. Enter your 2023 income tax less all nonrefundable credits, and refundable credits on lines 30d (PTET credit), and 32 through 39, from your 2023 Form 1040N. If the 2023 income tax year was for less than 12 months, do not complete this line. Instead, enter the amount from line 4 on line 8 and complete the remainder of the form. If you are not engaged in farming, ranching, or fishing, and your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) in 2023 was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married, filing separately), enter 110% of your 2023 income taxes on line 7. Farmers and ranchers should see Special Rules below.

Line 9, Installment Payments. If you filed your Nebraska income tax return and paid the balance of the income tax due by January 31, that balance is considered paid as of January 15.

Fiscal Year Taxpayers. The installment due dates for fiscal year taxpayers are the 15th day of the following months:

- 1. The first month of the second quarter;
- 2. The third month of the second quarter;
- 3. The third month of the third quarter; and
- 4. The first month of the following fiscal year.

All dates on Form 2210N should be adjusted to reflect the corresponding month of the fiscal year.

Line 11, Income Tax Withheld. One-fourth of the Nebraska income tax withheld during the year by your employer is considered paid on each required installment date, unless you establish other dates when the income tax withholding actually occurred.

For nonresident individuals, the amount of Nebraska income tax paid on your behalf by S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, or fiduciaries is considered paid on the last day of the organization's taxable year, unless you establish other dates when it actually occurred.

Taxpayers claiming an overpayment from line 46 of last year's individual income tax return, Form 1040N, should be aware that an overpayment will be applied first to offset any existing balance due from another tax year. If DOR transfers part or all of an amount requested to be carried over to next year's estimated income tax payments (current year carryover), a written notice of the offset will be issued. Please contact DOR if you are unsure of your current year carryover amount.

Line 18, Overpayment. Your payments are applied first to any underpayment balance on an earlier installment. It does not matter if you designate a payment for a later period. Any overpayment of an installment on line 18 that is larger than all prior underpayments should be applied as a credit on line 12 against the next installment.

Lines 19-23, Penalty Calculations. Complete lines 19 through 23 to determine the penalty you owe. When determining the payment date on line 20, use: the date the payment was applied against the underpayment on line 19; the due date of the next payment (line 9 of the next column); or April 15, whichever is earliest. If more than one payment is made for any installment, or a partial payment is made, make separate penalty calculations through the payment dates. Then add the results together and enter on line 22. The penalty is calculated at 5% per year for all installments due during 2024, and at 8% for installments due on January 1, 2025 and after. For the September 15 column, line 22a is used to report at the 5% rate through December 31, 2024. Line 22b is then used to report at the 8% rate for the period from January 1 through January 15 or later.

Note For Electronic Filers: Your software may allow you to calculate multiple payments within a quarter. Refer to the instructions provided with the software. Also, see the instructions for Federal Form 2210 for more information.

Special Rules For Farmers And Ranchers. You do not owe a penalty and are not required to file Form 2210N if:

- Your gross income from farming, ranching, or fishing is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income from all sources for 2023 or 2024; and
 - A Form 1040N is filed and the Nebraska income tax due is paid on or before March 1.

Calculate Your Underpayment. If the gross income test was met, but the date for filing and payment of the income tax was not, complete lines 24 through 31. If no underpayment is indicated on line 31, do not complete lines 32 and 33.

Calculate the Penalty. Complete lines 32 and 33 to determine the penalty.