

## Individual Underpayment of Estimated Tax •Attach to Form 1040N.

**FORM 2210N** 2021

	$\ egin{array}{l} \Box \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ $	g yo	our income.						
Name and Address on Form 1040N							Social Security Number		
							Щ		
	Total Nebraska income tax after nonrefundable credits (line 29, Form 1040N)						-		
	Enter the total of the refundable credits (total of lines 32 thru 38, Form 1040N)						$\vdash$		
	Subtract line 2 from line 1								
	Multiply line 3 by 90% (.90) and enter result here								
	Amount of Nebraska income tax withheld for 2021, if any (line 30, Form 1040N). <b>Do not</b> include any estimated payments on this line								
	S Subtract line 5 from line 3. If less than \$500, stop here; do not complete this form. You do not owe penalty								
7	7 Enter your 2020 Nebraska income tax (see instructions). If federal AGI was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married,								
	filing separately), enter 110% of 2020 tax								
8							. 8		
If line 5 is greater than or equal to line 8, do not complete this form. You do not owe penalty.  • Farmers and ranchers should skip to line 24.									
_	Due date of installments	9		snou	•	Comt 15 0001		lon 15 2022	
	Enter 25% of line 8 in each column	10	April 15, 2021		June 15, 2021	Sept. 15, 2021		Jan. 15, 2022	
	Amount of estimated payment plus amount	10							
	withheld for each quarter (see instructions)	11							
	Complete	line	s 12 through 18 of one c	olum	n before going to the	e next column.			
12	Overpayment of previous installments from line	18	of the previous column	12					
13	Add lines 11 and 12			13					
14	Add amounts on line 16 of the previous column	n an	d line 17 of the previous						
	column and enter result			14					
15	Subtract line 14 from line 13. If zero or less,								
	enter -0- (for April 15 column only, enter the amount from line 11)	15							
				$\perp$					
16	Remaining underpayment from previous period is zero, subtract line 13 from line 14. Otherwise			16					
17	' Underpayment. If line 10 is greater	, 011		10					
	than or equal to line 15, subtract line 15 from								
	line 10, and go to the next column; otherwise, go to line 18	17							
	go to line 10	17							
18	Overpayment. If line 15 is greater than								
	line 10, subtract line 10 from line 15. Enter the amount here and on line 12 of the next column	18							
	amount here and off line 12 of the flext ooluning		Calculate t	ho D	onalty	I			
_		I	Calculate t	T	enany				
19	Amount of underpayment (line 16 plus line 17) For April 15 column only, use -0- for line 16 in								
	your calculation	19							
20	Date of payment or next due date (from								
21	line 9), whichever is earlier  Number of days from due date of installment	20					$\rightarrow$		
- 1	to the date shown on line 20	21							
22	Penalty (3% per year on the line 19 amount for the number of days on line 21)	22							
22	Tor the number of days on line 21)	-	40. Form 1040N				23		
			nd Ranchers — Un				23		
24	Enter line 3 here. If all Nebraska income tax				•		Т		
24	You do not owe penalty	-	-		•		24		
25							-		
25 Multiply line 24 by 663% (.667) and enter here									
27 Subtract line 26 from line 24. If less than \$500, do not complete the rest of this form. You do not owe penalty									
							1 1		
28 Enter your 2020 Nebraska income tax (see line 7 instructions)									
30 Amounts withheld and amounts paid or credited by January 15									
	Underpayment of estimated tax (line 29 minus	-							
	<ul><li>Number of days from January 15 to date of page 15.</li></ul>		· ·						
					01		02		
00	enalty (3% per year on the line 31 amount for the number of days on line 32).  nter this amount here and on line 40, Form 1040N					33			
							, 55		

## Instructions

**Note:** Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment Vouchers and Instructions are not mailed to taxpayers by the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR). Instead, all taxpayers are encouraged to make their estimated income tax payments <u>electronically</u>.

**Who Must File.** If your 2021 income tax due (line 17, Form 1040N) less income tax withholding and allowable credits is \$500 or more, you may owe a penalty for underpayment of estimated tax and must complete this form.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty. An individual who did not pay enough estimated tax by any of the applicable due dates, or did not have enough state income tax withheld, may be charged a penalty. This is true even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return. The penalty is calculated separately for each due date. You may owe the penalty for an earlier payment due, even if you paid enough income tax later to make up the underpayment.

You may owe the penalty for 2021 if you did not pay at least the smaller of:

- 1. 90% of your 2021 income tax liability; or
- 2. 100% of your 2020 income tax liability (if you filed a 2020 return that covered a full 12 months).

## **Exceptions to the Penalty.** You do not have to pay the penalty if:

- 1. You had no Nebraska income tax liability for 2020, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2020 Nebraska income tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
- 2. You are a first-time filer for Nebraska income tax purposes; or
- 3. Your total income tax shown on your 2021 return minus applicable credits and the amount of income tax you paid through income tax withholding is less than \$500. To determine whether the exception applies to you,, complete lines 1-6.

**Note:** If you file your return and pay the income tax due by January 31, 2022, include on line 19, January 15 column, the amount of income tax you pay with your Nebraska individual income tax return. In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the payment due on January 15, 2022.

**Nebraska Income Tax on Annualized Income.** No penalty will be imposed if your Nebraska income tax payments equal or exceed 90% of your Nebraska income tax liability based on annualized income earned through the end of the month preceding the installment date. If you meet this criteria, check the box at the top of this form. Paper filers attach a separate schedule showing your computation similar to the federal Annualized Income Installment Method Schedule.

Waiver of Penalty. DOR may consider waiving the penalty under the following circumstances:

- Underpayment due to casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance where it would be inequitable to impose the penalty; or
- In 2020 or 2021, you retired after reaching age 62, or became disabled, and your underpayment was due to reasonable cause.

Paper filers attach a statement to this form outlining why the penalty should not be imposed.

When and Where to File. Form 2210N must be attached and filed with the <u>Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return</u>, Form 1040N.

## **Specific Line Instructions**

**Line 7, 2020 Tax.** Enter your 2020 income tax less all nonrefundable credits, and refundable credits on lines 32 through 38, from your 2020 Form 1040N. If the 2020 income tax year was for less than 12 months, do not complete this line. Instead, enter the amount from line 4 on line 8 and complete the remainder of the form. If you are not engaged in farming, ranching, or fishing, and your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) in 2020 was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married, filing separately), enter 110% of your 2020 income taxes on line 7. Farmers and ranchers should see Special Rules below.

**Line 9, Installment Payments.** If you filed your Nebraska income tax return and paid the balance of the income tax due by January 31, that balance is considered paid as of January 15.

Fiscal Year Taxpayers. The installment due dates for fiscal year taxpayers are the 15th day of the following months:

- 1. The first month of the second quarter;
- 2. The third month of the second quarter;
- 3. The third month of the third quarter; and
- 4. The first month of the following fiscal year.

All dates on Form 2210N should be adjusted to reflect the corresponding month of the fiscal year.

**Line 11, Income Tax Withheld.** One-fourth of the Nebraska income tax withheld during the year by your employer is considered paid on each required installment date, unless you establish other dates when the income tax withholding actually occurred.

For nonresident individuals, the amount of Nebraska income tax paid on your behalf by S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, or fiduciaries is considered paid on the last day of the organization's taxable year, unless you establish other dates when it actually occurred.

Taxpayers claiming an overpayment from line 44 of last year's individual income tax return, Form 1040N, should be aware that an overpayment will be applied first to offset any existing balance due from another tax year. If DOR transfers part or all of an amount requested to be carried over to next year's estimated income tax payments (current year carryover), a written notice of the offset will be issued. Please contact DOR if you are unsure of your current year carryover amount.

**Line 18, Overpayment.** Your payments are applied first to any underpayment balance on an earlier installment. It does not matter if you designate a payment for a later period. Any overpayment of an installment on line 18 that is larger than all prior underpayments should be applied as a credit on line 12 against the next installment.

**Lines 19-23, Penalty Calculations.** Complete lines 19 through 23 to determine the penalty you owe. When determining the payment date on line 20, use: the date the payment was applied against the underpayment on line 19; the due date of the next payment (line 9 of the next column); or April 15, whichever is earliest. If more than one payment is made for any installment, or a partial payment is made, make separate penalty calculations through the payment dates. Then add the results together and enter on line 22. The penalty is calculated at 3% per year.

**Note For Electronic Filers:** Your software may allow you to calculate multiple payments within a quarter. Refer to the instructions provided with the software. Also, see the instructions for Federal Form 2210 for more information.

Special Rules For Farmers And Ranchers. You do not owe a penalty and are not required to file Form 2210N if:

- Your gross income from farming, ranching, or fishing is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income from all sources for 2020 or 2021;
- A Form 1040N is filed and the Nebraska income tax due is paid on or before March 1.

**Calculate Your Underpayment.** If the gross income test was met, but the date for filing and payment of the income tax was not, complete lines 24 through 31. If no underpayment is indicated on line 31, do not complete lines 32 and 33.

Calculate the Penalty. Complete lines 32 and 33 to determine the penalty.

revenue.nebraska.gov, 800-742-7474 (NE and IA), 402-471-5729