

Individual Underpayment of Estimated Tax •Attach to Form 1040N.

2019

FORM 2210N

L	□ Check this box if you are annualizing	g yo	our income.							
Name and Address on Form 1040N							Socia	I Security Number		
1 Total Nebraska income tax after nonrefundable credits (line 28, Form 1040N)							1			
2 Enter the total of the refundable credits (total of lines 31 thru 37, Form 1040N)							-			
3 Subtract line 2 from line 1										
4 Multiply line 3 by 90% (.90) and enter result here							4			
5 Amount of Nebraska income tax withheld for 2019, if any (line 29, Form 1040N). Do not include any estimated payments on this line							5		1	
6 Subtract line 5 from line 3. If less than \$500, stop here; do not complete this form. You do not owe penalty							6			
	7 Enter your 2018 Nebraska income tax (see instructions). If federal AGI was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married,									
	filing separately), enter 110% of 2018 tax									
8 Required annual payment. Enter smaller of line 4 or line 7							8			
If line 5 is greater than or equal to line 8, do not complete this form. You do not owe penalty.										
Farmers and ranchers should skip to line 24.										
9	Due date of installments	9	April 15, 2019		June 15, 2019	Sept. 15, 2019		Jan. 15, 202	20	
10	Enter 25% of line 8 in each column	10			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
11	Amount of estimated payment plus amount									
	withheld for each quarter (see instructions)	11								
Complete lines 12 through 18 of one column before going to the next column.										
	Overpayment of previous installments from line 18 of the previous column Add lines 11 and 12									
13	Add lines 11 and 12									
14	Add amounts on line 16 of the previous column and line 17 of the previous									
	column and enter result			14						
15	Subtract line 14 from line 13. If zero or less,									
	enter -0- (for April 15 column only, enter the amount from line 11)	15								
16	lemaining underpayment from previous period. If the amount on line 15									
10	is zero, subtract line 13 from line 14. Otherwise, enter -0									
17	Underpayment. If line 10 is greater									
	than or equal to line 15, subtract line 15 from									
	line 10, and go to the next column; otherwise, go to line 18	17								
	go to mio 10									
18	Overpayment. If line 15 is greater than									
	line 10, subtract line 10 from line 15. Enter the amount here and on line 12 of the next column	18								
Calculate the Penalty										
19	Amount of underpayment (line 16 plus line 17) For April 15 column only, use -0- for line 16 in									
	your calculation	19								
20	Date of payment or next due date (from									
21	line 9), whichever is earlier Number of days from due date of installment	20								
ا 2	to the date shown on line 20	21								
22	Penalty (5% per year on the line 19 amount									
	for the number of days on line 21)	22								
23	23 Total amounts on line 22. Enter this amount on line 39, Form 1040N									
	Farmers and Ranchers — Underpayment of Estimated Tax									
24	24 Enter line 3 here. If all Nebraska income tax is paid and return is filed by March 1, do not complete this form.									
You do not owe penalty.							24			
25 Multiply line 24 by $66\frac{2}{3}\%$ (.667) and enter here							25			
26 Amount of Nebraska income tax withheld for 2019, if any							26			
27 Subtract line 26 from line 24. If less than \$500, do not complete the rest of this form. You do not owe penalty							27			
28 Enter your 2018 Nebraska income tax (see line 7 instructions)							28			
29 Enter the smaller of line 25 or line 28							29			
30	30 Amounts withheld and amounts paid or credited by January 15						30			
31	1 Underpayment of estimated tax (line 29 minus line 30). If less than zero, you do not owe penalty						31		1	
	2 Number of days from January 15 to date of payment, or April 15, whichever is earlier						32			
	Penalty (5% per year on the line 31 amount for the number of days on line 32).								1	
	Enter this amount here and on line 39, Form 1040N						33			

Instructions

Note: Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment Vouchers and Instructions are not mailed to taxpayers by the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR). Instead, all taxpayers are encouraged to make their estimated income tax payments <u>electronically.</u> If you are making payments by check or money order, please print and mail this <u>voucher</u> with your payment to ensure the payment is properly credited to your account.

Who Must File. If your 2019 income tax due (line 17, Form 1040N) less income tax withholding and allowable credits is \$500 or more, you may owe a penalty for underpayment of estimated tax and must complete this form.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty. An individual who did not pay enough estimated tax by any of the applicable due dates, or did not have enough state income tax withheld, may be charged a penalty. This is true even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return. The penalty is calculated separately for each due date. You may owe the penalty for an earlier payment due, even if you paid enough income tax later to make up the underpayment.

You may owe the penalty for 2019 if you did not pay at least the smaller of:

- 1. 90% of your 2019 income tax liability; or
- 2. 100% of your 2018 income tax liability (if you filed a 2018 return that covered a full 12 months).

Exceptions to the Penalty. You do not have to pay the penalty if:

- 1. You had no Nebraska income tax liability for 2018, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2018 Nebraska income tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
- 2. You are a first-time filer for Nebraska income tax purposes; or
- 3. The total income tax shown on your 2019 return minus the amount of income tax you paid through income tax withholding is less than \$500. To determine whether the total income tax is less than \$500, complete lines 1-6.

Note: If you file your return and pay the income tax due by January 31, 2020, include on line 19, January 15 column, the amount of income tax you pay with your Nebraska individual income tax return. In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the payment due on January 15, 2020.

Nebraska Income Tax on Annualized Income. No penalty will be imposed if your Nebraska income tax payments equal or exceed 90% of your Nebraska income tax liability based on annualized income earned through the end of the month preceding the installment date. If you meet this criteria, check the box at the top of this form. Paper filers attach a separate schedule showing your computation similar to the federal Annualized Income Installment Method Schedule.

Waiver of Penalty. DOR may consider waiving the penalty under the following circumstances:

- Underpayment due to casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance where it would be inequitable to impose the penalty; or
- In 2018 or 2019, you retired after age 62, or became disabled, and your underpayment was due to reasonable cause.

Paper filers attach a statement to this form outlining why the penalty should not be imposed.

When and Where to File. Form 2210N must be attached and filed with the <u>Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return</u>, <u>Form 1040N</u>.

Specific Line Instructions

Line 7, 2018 Tax. Enter your 2018 income tax less all nonrefundable credits, and refundable credits on lines 31 through 37, from your 2018 Form 1040N. If the 2018 income tax year was for less than 12 months, do not complete this line. Instead, enter the amount from line 4 on line 8 and complete the remainder of the form. If you are not engaged in farming, ranching, or fishing, and your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) in 2018 was more than \$150,000 (\$75,000 if married, filing separately), enter 110% of your 2018 income taxes on line 7. Farmers and ranchers should see Special Rules below.

Line 9, Installment Payments. If you filed your Nebraska income tax return and paid the balance of the income tax due by January 31, that balance is considered paid as of January 15.

Fiscal Year Taxpayers. The installment due dates for fiscal year taxpayers are the 15th day of the following months:

- 1. The first month of the second quarter;
- 2. The third month of the second quarter;
- 3. The third month of the third quarter; and
- 4. The first month of the following fiscal year.

All dates on Form 2210N should be considered in the corresponding month of the fiscal year.

Line 11, Income Tax Withheld. One-fourth of the Nebraska income tax withheld during the year by your employer is considered paid on each required installment date, unless you establish other dates when the income tax withholding actually occurred.

For nonresident individuals, the amount of Nebraska income tax withheld by S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, or fiduciaries is considered paid on the last day of the organization's taxable year, unless you establish other dates when the income tax withholding actually occurred.

Taxpayers claiming an overpayment from line 43 of last year's individual income tax return, Form 1040N, should be aware that an overpayment will be applied first to offset any existing balance due from another tax year. If DOR transfers part or all of an amount requested to be carried over to next year's estimated income tax payments (current year carryover), a written notice of the offset will be issued. Please contact DOR if you are unsure of your current year carryover amount.

Line 18, Overpayment. Your payments are applied first to any underpayment balance on an earlier installment. It does not matter if you designate a payment for a later period. Any overpayment of an installment on line 18 that is larger than all prior underpayments should be applied as a credit on line 12 against the next installment.

Lines 19-23, Penalty Calculations. Complete lines 19 through 23 to determine the penalty you owe. When determining the payment date on line 20, use: the date the payment was applied against the underpayment on line 19; the due date of the next payment (line 9 of the next column); or April 15, whichever is earliest. If more than one payment is made for any installment, or a partial payment is made, make separate penalty calculations through the payment dates. Then add the results together and enter on line 22. The penalty is calculated at 5% per year.

Note For Electronic Filers: Your software may allow you to calculate multiple payments within a quarter. Refer to the instructions provided with the software. Also, see the instructions for Federal Form 2210 for more information.

Special Rules For Farmers And Ranchers. You do not owe a penalty and are not required to file Form 2210N if:

- Your gross income from farming, ranching, or fishing is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income from all sources for 2018 or 2019;
- A Form 1040N is filed and the Nebraska income tax due is paid on or before March 1.

Calculate Your Underpayment. If the gross income test was met, but the date for filing and payment of the income tax was not, complete lines 24 through 31. If no underpayment is indicated on line 31, do not complete lines 32 and 33.

Calculate the Penalty. Complete lines 32 and 33 to determine the penalty.

revenue.nebraska.gov, 800-742-7474 (NE and IA), 402-471-5729