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	 Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules, and to the best of my 
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	 Nebraska ID Number	 Tax Period

Nebraska Tobacco Products Tax Return
for Products Other than Cigarettes

Please Do Not Write In This Space

	Check this box if you have discontinued importing or manufacturing tobacco products.

Attach Nebraska Schedule I, Form 56, and Nebraska Schedule II, Form 56.

sign
here

Check revenue.nebraska.gov for the Directory of Certified Tobacco Product Manufacturers and Brands approved for sale in Nebraska.

800-742-7474 (NE and IA), or 402-471-5729

This return is due on or before the 10th day of the month following the tax period indicated above.

Mail this return and payment to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509-4818

Retain a copy for your records.

Section I — Tobacco Products Other Than Snuff

Section II — Snuff

	 1	 Total amount of tobacco imported products subject to tax (Nebraska Schedule I)...............................	 1
	 2	 Total amount of tobacco products exported (Nebraska Schedule I)..............	 2
	 3	 Total amount of tobacco products sold to the U.S. government....................	 3
	 4	 Total amount subject to tax (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3)........................................................................	 4
	 5	 Total tobacco products tax (line 4 multiplied by                  )....................................................................	 5

	 6	 Total ounces of snuff imported subject to tax (Nebraska Schedule II, line 1)........................................	 6
	 7	 Total ounces of snuff exported (Nebraska Schedule II, line 2)...................... 	 7
	 8	 Total ounces of snuff sold to the U.S. government......................................... 	 8
	 9	 Total ounces of snuff subject to tax (line 6 minus lines 7 and 8)............................................................	 9
	10	 Total snuff tax (line 9 multiplied by       )............................................................................................	10

	11	 Total tax due (line 5 plus line 10)...........................................................................................................	11
	12	 Collection fee (line 11 multiplied by .025; if the result is $75.00 or more, enter $75.00)........................	12
	13	 Tobacco products tax due (line 11 minus line 12)..................................................................................	13
	14	 Credit (credit memorandum must be attached, refer to instructions).....................................................	14
	15	 Total tobacco products tax due (line 13 minus line 14)..........................................................................	15
	16	 Previous balance with applicable interest at
		                % per year and payments received through	 	16

	17	 Balance due (line 15 plus line 16). Pay in full with return......................................................................	17

Section III — Tax Computation

c Check this box if your payment is being made electronically.



Instructions
Who Must File. The first owner of tobacco products (other than cigarettes) 
in Nebraska must file a Nebraska Tobacco Products Tax Return, Form 56, 
for each tax period. 
The first owner is any:

•	 person who sells tobacco products in this state and imports or causes 
to be imported into this state tobacco products to be sold in this state;

•	 retailer in this state who purchases tobacco products directly from sup-
pliers outside this state who do not have a tobacco products license; 

•	 person who makes, manufactures, or fabricates tobacco products in this 
state for sale in this state; or 

•	 person who is in business outside this state who ships or transports tobacco 
products to retailers in this state and becomes licensed.

The first owner of tobacco products in Nebraska cannot transfer the tax 
liability to any other person who holds a tobacco products license (i.e., 
tobacco products cannot be sold tax-free between persons who hold tobacco 
products licenses). 
The first owner of the following tobacco products must report on 
Form  56, Nebraska Schedule  I its purchase of: cigars; roll-your-own 
(RYO) tobacco; cheroots; stogies; periques; granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, 
ready rubbed, and other smoking tobacco; cavendish; plug and twist tobacco; 
fine cut and other chewing tobacco; shorts, refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings, 
and sweepings of tobacco; and other kinds and forms of tobacco, prepared 
for chewing or smoking in a pipe or otherwise; except snuff and snuff flour. 
The first owner of snuff and snuff flour must report its purchases on 
Form 56, Nebraska Schedule II. Snuff is any finely cut, ground, or powdered 
tobacco that is not intended to be smoked, and includes both “moist snuff” 
that is intended to be placed in the mouth and “dry snuff” that is intended to 
be inhaled or sniffed through the nose.  
When and Where to File. This return, properly signed and accompanied 
by check or money order payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, 
will be considered filed in a timely manner if postmarked on or before the 
tenth day of the month following the month covered by the return. A return 
is required even if no tobacco products tax is due.
Mail this return and payment to the Nebraska Department of Revenue,  
PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509‑4818.
Preidentified Return. This return is to be used only by the tobacco 
products licensee whose name is printed on it. If you have not received 
a preidentified return for a reporting period, request a duplicate from the 
Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). Do not file returns which 
have not been preidentified. If the business name, location, or mailing address 
is not correct, mark through the incorrect information and plainly print the 
correct information.
Penalty and Interest. If the return is not filed by the due date, a penalty will 
be assessed in the amount of 25% of the tax due. Interest on the unpaid tax 
will be assessed at the rate printed on line 16 from the due date until payment 
is received.

Nebraska Schedule I and Nebraska Schedule II
Nebraska Schedule I and Nebraska Schedule II are supplied with each 
preidentified tax return, Form 56. Each schedule provides space to record 
pertinent information on tobacco products imported, or caused to be imported 
into Nebraska, tobacco products manufactured and sold in this state, and 
tobacco products exported. The schedules must be completed and attached 
to the return.

Specific Instructions
Line 1. Enter the total net invoice amount of tobacco products imported into 
Nebraska as shown on Form 56, Schedule I, line 1.
Line 2. Enter the total net invoice amount of tobacco products exported 
from Nebraska as shown on Form 56, Schedule I, line 2. Tobacco products 
claimed as an export must be shown at the same net invoice price as included 
on line 1 of this return or on a prior return.
Line 3. Enter the total net invoice amount of tobacco products sold to the 
federal government or its agencies. Retain evidence of each sale made to 
the federal government with your records.

Line 6. Enter the total exact number of ounces of snuff as shown on Form 56, 
Schedule II, line 1.
Line 7. Enter the total exact number of ounces of snuff exported from 
Nebraska, as shown on Form 56, Schedule II, line 2.
Line 8. Enter the total number of ounces of snuff sold to the federal 
government or its agencies. Retain evidence of each sale made to the federal 
government with your records.
Line 14. Credit is allowed for the tax paid on tobacco and snuff that are 
returned to the manufacturer as unsaleable. Credit memoranda for returned 
tobacco and snuff are issued by the Department and must be attached to 
Form 56 on which credit is claimed. Do not attach the manufacturer’s affidavit 
or claim credit before the credit memorandum has been issued.
Credit for the tax paid by the retailer will also be given for tobacco and snuff 
sold tax-free to Native American Indians where transfer of title and possession 
occur within the boundaries of a Native American Indian reservation in 
Nebraska. Retailers must complete a Nebraska Refund Claim for Cigarettes 
and Tobacco Products Sold to Native American Indians, Form 68. Form 68 
must be attached to Form 56.
Line 16. A balance due resulting from a partial payment, mathematical or 
clerical errors, penalty, or interest relating to prior returns will be entered in 
this space by the Department. Any interest included in this balance due is 
calculated on unpaid tax through the due date of this return. If the amount 
due is paid before the due date, the interest will be recomputed and a credit 
will be given on your next return. If the amount entered has been paid by a 
previous remittance, it should be disregarded when computing the amount 
to remit on line 17. A credit will be indicated by the word “subtract” and can 
be subtracted from the amount due on line 15. If line 16 shows an amount 
due, add that amount to line 15.
Line 17. Electronic payments may be made using any of the  
following options:

•	 Department’s e-pay program (the State withdraws funds from your bank 
account based on the information you provide);

•	 ACH Credit (you work with your bank to deposit funds into the State’s 
bank account);

•	 Nebraska Tele-pay (pay by calling 800-232-0057); or
•	 Credit card payments.

For more information about these electronic payment options, see the 
“Payment Options” page on the Department’s website. Those not mandated 
to pay electronically may attach a check or money order for the amount on 
line 17, made payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.
Nebraska Manufactured and Imported RYO Report, Form 56A. 
Form 56A is supplied with each Form 56. This form must be completed 
to report any RYO tobacco reported on Form  56 and sold to customers 
in Nebraska. RYO is any tobacco which, because of its appearance, type, 
packaging, or labeling is suitable for use and likely to be offered to, or 
purchased by, consumers as tobacco for making cigarettes.
Verification and Audit. Records to substantiate this return, Schedule  I, 
Schedule II, and Form 56A must be retained and be available for a period of at 
least three years after the due date of the return.
Nebraska Cigarette Directory. Check revenue.nebraska.gov for the 
“Nebraska Directory of Certified Tobacco Product Manufacturers and Brands” 
that are approved for sale in Nebraska. Any cigarettes or RYO tobacco not 
included on the Directory that have been sold, offered for sale, or possessed 
for sale in this state, shall be deemed contraband and subject to seizure and 
forfeiture. It is necessary that you review our website on a continuing basis 
to be aware of changes made to this Directory.
Signatures. This return must be signed by the owner, partner, or corporate 
officer. If the taxpayer authorizes another person to sign this return, there 
must be a power of attorney on file with the Department.
Any person who is paid for preparing a taxpayer’s return must also sign the 
return as preparer.

5-175-1987 Rev. 12-2014 Supersedes 5-175-1987 Rev. 9-2014

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_68.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/bus_e-pay.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_56a.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_56s1.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_56s2.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/cig/manufacturer.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_33.pdf
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