1998 Nebraska Individual Income Tax

Thisyear Form 1040N has been expanded to two pages.

Two new lines have also been added, arefundable child care credit online 31 if your federal adjusted grossincomeis $29,000 or less
and the Form 829N credit added to line 24 for those participating empl oyees who have had their wageswithheld by afirm with acontract
that has qualified under the Nebraska Quality Jobs Act.

Y ou may elect to have your refund directly deposited into your checking or savings bank account. Thiswill provide better security
compared to arefund check sent through the mail, and should also serve to expedite receipt of your refund. Seeinstructionsfor line 39.

The personal exemption credit isincreased to $88 per each federal exemption.

This booklet contains the information you will need to make filing your income tax return as easy as possible. We at the Nebraska
Department of Revenue are ready to assist you in filing your return.

Complete and accurate information on the enclosed forms hel ps us process your return as quickly as possible. Please:

Dear Nebraska Taxpayer:

I I I |

Signyour return.

Include your public high school district county name and district number as of December 31, 1998;
Include your county of residence as of December 31, 1998;
Use the address label provided in the center of this booklet (make any corrections on the |abel);
Enclose any schedul esrequired and attach supporting documentation;
Staple your Nebraska copies of Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC; and

There are alternative ways to file without using the paper Nebraska Forms 1040N and 1040NS. See the inside back cover for more

information.

If you have questions about filing your Nebraskaincome tax return, contact Taxpayer’s Assistance at one of our officesin Norfolk,
Scottsbluff, North Platte, Grand Island, Omaha, or Lincoln which are listed on the back of this booklet, or by calling toll
free 1-800-742-7474. Lincoln residents must call locally 471-5729 for Taxpayer’ s Assistance. Hearing-impaired individuals may call
our toll free TDD number, 1-800-382-9309. Our internet addressis: http://www.nol.org/revenue.

Sincerely,

M. Berri Balka, State Tax Commissioner

The Privacy Act of 1974 says that when we ask you for your social security number we must first tell you our legal right to ask for thisinformation,
why we are asking for it, and how it will be used. We must aso tell you what would happen if we do not receive it and whether your response is
voluntary, required to obtain a benefit, or mandatory under the law. Our legal right to ask for the information is Nebraska Revised Statutes section
77-27,119. That law says that you must include your social security number with your return. Y our response is mandatory under this section. We
need the social security number so that we can identify you and process your return and other documents.
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Before you begin, note the following:

0O NEW FOR 1998:
m FORM 1040N HAS EXPANDED TO TWO PAGES.

m TWO NEW LINES HAVE ALSO BEEN ADDED, a
refundable child care credit on line 31 if your federa
adjusted gross income is $29,000 or less and the
Form 829N credit added to line 24 for those participating
employees who have had wages withheld by a firm with
a contract that has qualified under the Nebraska Quality
Jobs Act.

m REFUNDS CAN NOW BE DIRECT DEPOSITED.
A routing number has been added to Forms 1040N and
1040NS. Thiswill allow you to elect to have any refund
directly deposited into your checking or savings account.
See line 39 instructions.

m The personal exemption credit is increased to $88 per
each federal exemption.

m As a reminder, the law continues to require that you
enter your high school district number on your tax
form.

FEDERAL/STATE Most Nebraskafilers have the option to
ELECTRONIC file their 1998 Individual Income Tax
AX FILING Retum electronically either through a
quallfled tax professional, or using home-based filing software.
These methods allow you to file both your federal and state
income taxes in one step. Advantages include computer filing
accuracy and faster refund processing. Y ou can also choose to
have your refund directly deposited into your bank account. Y ou
can file a Nebraska Form 1040NS (short form), or 1040N (long
form) with optional Schedulesl, 11, or 111, along with your federal
return. Refund, balance due, and zero balance returns are
accepted. Contact your tax professional for more information
about preparer-based electronic filing. Software for home-based
filing can be purchased through retail outlets or you can file your
return through the Internet. Vist the department’ sweb site at http:/
ww.nol.org/revenue for more information.

O IF YOU FILED FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ OR USED
THE IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM, be sure to review
Form 1040NS and the instructions on the back of this form to
see if you can file this short form. It follows page 12 in this
booklet.

0O PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA isrequired for
all taxpayers with a permanent place of abode or a domicile in
Nebraska on December 31, 1998. If you reside outside Nebraska
but are still domiciled in Nebraska, this information is still
required. The processing of your return and any refund may
be delayed without this information.

Enter the county name and high school identification number
from the shaded column of public high school districts on
pages 13 through 16 of this booklet. If you reside in an
elementary-only school district, you must report the high school
district you are affiliated or joined with. Do not use any school
identification number not included in the list. If you are unsure
of the district where you reside, you may get the information
from a property tax statement or by contacting the county
assessor or county election officials. If you have property in
more than one high school district, be sure to enter the high
school identification number of the school district where your
home is located.

0O COMPLETE YOUR FEDERAL RETURN OR TELEFILE
WORKSHEET before starting your Nebraska return so you
will have the federa information needed to figure Nebraska
tax. If you do not have to complete a federal return to report a
federal liability, you may have to file a Nebraska return to
claim a state withholding credit, or because you have $5,000 or

Revised 11/24/98

more of adjustments increasing income, such as non-Nebraska
state and local bond interest that must be reported to Nebraska.
In either situation, complete your Nebraska return with the
same information you would have had to use if you did file a
federal return. See more information under line 5 instructions.

THE NAME AND ADDRESS LABEL can befound attached
to the return envelope in the center of this booklet. It has been
provided for your convenience and alows your return to be
handled more efficiently. If any label information is in error,
make the correction on the label and place the label over the
name and address area of the return.

If you have someone else prepare your return, take your
label to the preparer to be placed on the return. If you did
not recelve a name and address label, type or clearly print your
name and current address in the space provided. Include your
spouse's socia security number.

YOUR NEBRASKA INCOME TAX RETURN for calendar
year 1998 must be postmarked by April 15, 1999. Mail your
return to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 94818,
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4818.

TAX ASSISTANCE — See the back cover.

ADDITIONAL FORMS AND SCHEDULES are available at
banks, some public libraries, most federal buildings, including
U.S. Post Offices, the Nebraska Department of Revenue, 301
Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska, and the regional
offices shown on the back cover. Forms are aso available on
the department’s website.

CONFIDENTIAL TAX INFORMATION will be given only
by return telephone call after the caller's identity has been
confirmed. A taxpayer’'s representative requesting confidential
information must have a power of atorney on file with the
department before any information will be released. A signed
income tax return that is also signed by the preparer is
considered to be a limited power of attorney authorizing the
department to release only the information contained on that
return to the preparer.

FARMERS OR RANCHERS deriving at least two-thirds of
their yearly gross income from farming or ranching are to
check the box below the socia security number block. This
allows the return to be properly processed.

COUNTY OF RESIDENCE is the place in Nebraska where
you maintain your home. If you did not have a permanent place
of abode or a domicile in this state on December 31, 1998,
enter “nonresident” instead of the name of the county. If you
areresiding outside Nebraska but still are domiciled in Nebraska,
list the county of your domicile.

ROUND TO WHOLE DOLLARS the amounts on your return
and schedules. Round any amount from 50 cents through 99
cents to the next higher dollar. Round any amount less than 50
cents to the next lower dollar.

SIGN AND DATE YOUR TAX RETURN. Both husband
and wife must sign their joint return. An unsigned return
cannot be processed. If another person signs this return for the
taxpayer, acopy of apower of attorney or court order authorizing
the person to sign the return must be on file with this department
or be attached to the return. Include your daytime phone number
in the space provided in case the department needs to contact
you about your account.

Any person who is paid for preparing a taxpayer’s return must
also sign the return as preparer. If the return is prepared by a
firm or corporation, the return should aso be signed in the
name of the firm or corporation.



Who Must File

You must file a Form 1040N or 1040NS if you are required to file a federal return or use the Federal TeleFile Program and
report a federal liability. You must also file if you have $5,000 or more of Nebraska adjustments to federal adjusted gross
income, including non-Nebraska state and local bond interest income exempt from federal tax.

Residents

FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS are subject to tax on their entire
federal adjusted gross income, even if some of it may have been
earned for services performed outside Nebraska. A credit is allowed
for tax properly paid to another state. Credit for Tax Paid to Another
State, Nebraska Schedule 11, must be completed and attached to the
Form 1040N with a copy of the other state’s return, including all
schedules, to receive the credit.

A resident individual is a person who is domiciled in Nebraska
or who has maintained a permanent place of abode and spent over
six months in Nebraska.

Permanent place of abode meansadwelling place permanently
maintained by the taxpayer, whether or not it is owned. It does not
include a vacation camp, cottage, or dwelling place kept only for a
temporary purpose.

EXAMPLE: John and Eileen own a drive-in restaurant
in Grand Island, Nebraska. They operate the restaurant
from April through October each year. They also own a
house in Grand Island and live there during the seven
months the restaurant is open. During the months the
restaurant is closed, John and Eileen return to their home
in Texas. They consider Texas to be their domicile

because they own a home there, they register to vote in
Texas, and they hold Texasdriver’slicenses. Even though
John and Eileen do not consider Nebraska to be their
domicile, they are full-year Nebraska residents for
Nebraska income tax purposes since they maintain a
permanent place of abode and spend more than six
months in Nebraska.

Domicile isthe place an individual considers his or her permanent
home, the place to which he or she intends to return after a period
of absence. A domicile, once established, continues until a new,
fixed, and permanent home is acquired. No change in domicile
results from moving to a new location if the individua’s intention
is to remain only for a limited time, even if it is severa years. A
person declaring a change in residence must show an intention to
assume a new domicile while physically present in the new location
for other than a temporary purpose.

EXAMPLE: Don and Deb own a home in Gothenburg,
Nebraska. They also rent a townhouse in Richmond,
Virginia. Every year from May 1 to September 1, they go
to Virginia and stay in the townhouse while Deb teaches
at aloca university. Don and Deb are full-year residents
of Nebraska for income tax purposes because the yearly
trips to Virginia are only temporary. Their domicile isin
Nebraska.

Nonresidents

The calculation of tax for nonresidents and partial-year residents is
not a matter of simply determining Nebraska source income and
calculating tax based on that income. Nonresidents and partial-year
residents must calculate a tax based on al income, and then
determine actual tax liability based on the percentage of Nebraska
source income to all income.

NONRESIDENT INDIVIDUALS who have income derived from
or connected with Nebraska sources must file Form 1040N. They
cannot file Form 1040NS.

A nonresident individual is a person who is domiciled for the
entire year in a state other than Nebraska, and does not reside in
Nebraska for over six months during the year. Nonresident
individuals are subject to Nebraska income tax on al income
included infederal grossincomewhichisobtained from or connected
with Nebraska sources. This includes wages, saaries, and other
compensation earned in Nebraska. It includes the distributive share
of income and deductions from partnerships, limited liability
companies, Scorporations, estates, and trusts. Only deductions
which are related to income received from Nebraska sources are
allowed. Credit for personal exemption is claimed by
nonresidents on line 61, Schedule Ill, and not on line 19,
Form 1040N. For more information, see instructions on
Computation of Nebraska Tax, Nebraska Schedulelll, in this
booklet.

Items of income, gain, loss, and deduction related to sources in this
state include items directly associated with:

1. The ownership or sale of any interest in rea or tangible
personal property in Nebraska

2. A business, trade, profession, or occupation carried on in
this state.

3. The income from intangible personal property. This
includes annuities, dividends, interest, and gains from the
sale of intangible personal property to the extent that such
income is from property used in a business, trade,
profession, or occupation carried on in Nebraska.

4. Capitd gains or losses and net operating losses, determined
solely with respect to income, gains, losses, and deductions
obtained or connected with sources in this state.

5.  The income from fiduciary services performed for a
resident estate or trust.

6. Amountspaid to acorporation controlled by a nonresident
for personal services performed by the nonresident.

Nonresident partners, shareholders, or beneficiaries, whose only
connection with this gtate is the conduct of the business activities of a
partnership, limited ligbility company, S corporation, or trust, are not
required to file a Nebraska income tax return if the organization has
properly withheld from the nonresident’s share of the organization's
income. All of thewithholding will beretained by the statein satisfaction
of the liability. Any nonresident who files an agreement on Form 12N
to avoid withholding must file Form 1040N.

Partial-Year Residents

PARTIAL-YEAR RESIDENTS OF NEBRASKA who have
income derived from or connected with Nebraska sources must file
Form 1040N. They cannot file Form 1040NS.

A partial-year resident is an individua who either establishes or
ends his or her domicile in Nebraska during the tax year or residesin
Nebraska for more than six months during the year. Partia-year
residents are subject to Nebraska income tax on income included in
federa grossincomewhich isderived from or connected with Nebraska
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sources while either a resident or nonresident of Nebraska. A partial-
year resident will make those adjustments which relate to income
subject to Nebraska tax. A partid-year resident may claim a Nebraska
credit for the elderly or disabled and a Nebraska nonrefundable credit
for child and dependent care expenses on line 60, Nebraska Schedule 111
or arefundable child and dependent care credit on line 31, (see page 8).
The credit for personal exemption is claimed on line 61. Do not
claim this credit on line 19, Form 1040N. For moreinformation, refer
to instructions on Schedulelll.



Important Information for All Taxpayers

PROCESSING OF YOUR RETURN MAY BE DELAYED
WITHOUT THE PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA.
Under the law, all taxpayers must enter their high school district
county and number on their returns. Without this information, the
processing of your return and any refund may be delayed. See pages
13 through 16 for alist of high school districts.

FEDERAL FORMS W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, and 1099-MISC,
Nebraska copy, must be sent to you by your employer or payor by
February 15. If you have not received the form by that date, you
should immediately contact your employer or payor. Request that
the form be issued to you. If the Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or
1099-MISC isincorrect, obtain a corrected form from the employer
or payor. Such statements should be clearly marked “ Corrected by
Employer/Payor.” If awage and tax statement is lost or destroyed,
request a substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer.”

THE BALANCE OF THE TAX DUE must be paid in full with
your return. Make your check or money order payable to the
Nebraska Department of Revenue and type or print your socia
security number and the tax year on the face of your payment. An
amount due of less than $2.00 need not be paid unless the amount
isfor penalty or interest. Any overpayment of $2.00 or more will be
refunded. Any overpayment must be reported within three years of
the original due date, as extended, or the overpayment will be
denied.

CONSUMER'’S USE TAX is imposed on the storage, use, or
consumption of any tangible persona property purchased by the
final consumer when the proper sales tax has not been paid, such as
with deliveries into Nebraska from an out-of-state seller. Individua
consumer’ susetax isto be reported on Nebraskaand City Individual
Consumer’s Use Tax Return, Form 3. Contact the Nebraska
Department of Revenue for a copy.

CHANGES IN YOUR FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURN
OR IN A RETURN FILED WITH ANOTHER STATE made by
an IRS Processing Center, district office, or by the other state must
be reported to the department within 90 days of the change.
Report these changes by filing an Amended Nebraska Individua
Income Tax Return, Form 1040XN, for the tax year involved.
When requesting forms, please specify the tax year being amended.
File any amended return separately from any other return. Include
payment for any additional tax. Any taxpayer, on reguest by the
department, must furnish a copy of his or her Federal Form 1040
and supporting schedules.

FORM 1040XN-5 is used to amend the 1998 Nebraska individual
income tax return, 1040N, 1040NS, or Nebraska TeleFile. For years
prior to 1998, contact the taxpayer assistance offices listed on the
back of this booklet for the correct form. An amended return must

be filed if information on a Nebraska income tax return previously
filed is not correct.

PENALTY AND INTEREST may beimposed under thefollowing
conditions:

1. Failure to file a Nebraska income tax return;

2. Faluretofileareturn and pay the tax due on or before the
due date;

3. Failure to file an amended Nebraska tax return to report
changes made to your federal income tax return;

4. Preparing or filing a fraudulent income tax return; or,
5. Understatement of income on an income tax return.

The amounts reported on your Nebraska return, even if taken from
your federa return, will not relieve you from the penalty for an
inaccurate return or for filing a false or fraudulent return. Any
unpaid tax is subject to interest at the statutory rate from the
original due date to the date the tax is paid.

A NEBRASKA EXTENSION OF TIME to file Forms 1040N or
1040NS may only be obtained by:

1. Attaching an approved copy of Application for
Additional Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual
Income Tax Return, Federal Form 2688, to the Nebraska
return when filed;

2. Attaching a copy of a timely filed Application for
Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individua
Income Tax Return, Federal Form 4868, to the Nebraska
return when filed;

3. Filing a Nebraska Application for Extension of Time,
Form 2688N, on or before the due date of the return,
when you need to make a tentative Nebraska payment or
a federal extension is not being requested;

4. Attaching a copy of the statement or letter submitted with
your federal return requesting the automatic extension of
time for a U.S. citizen residing or traveling outside the U.S.
or Puerto Rico, to the Nebraska return when filed; or

5. Attaching information to document acombat zone-related
extension.

Failure to attach the applicable extension document will result in a
late filing penalty. When an extension of time is given, interest is
due on any unpaid tax. An extension of time cannot exceed atotal
of seven months after the due date of the return.

Y ou can make a tentative payment to stop interest from accruing. If
such payment is made, Nebraska Application for Extension of
Time, Form 2688N, must also be filed. When filing your Nebraska
Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N, claim the tentative
payment on line 29, Form 1040N, as an estimated tax payment.

Additional Information for Certain Taxpayers

IF YOU FILED FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ OR USED THE
IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM, carefully review lines 4, 5, and 8,
Form 1040NS instructions, or lines 4, 6, and 19, Form 1040N
instructions. These instructions will tell you how to compute the
number of personal exemptions and the amount of the federal
standard deduction you can claim on your Nebraska return

IF YOU HAVE THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
CALCULATE YOUR FEDERAL INCOME TAX, you may
request that the Nebraska Department of Revenue calculate your
Nebraska income tax. Y our Form 1040N or Form 1040NS must be
filed by April 1 to alow time to calculate and bill you for any tax
due. Interest will be assessed on any amount not paid by
April 15, 1999.
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Follow these instructions:

Form 1040NS

1. Completethetop portion of Form 1040NS through line 5,
persona exemptions (be sure to complete your Public
High School District Data and County of Residence).

2. Enter your withholding amount on line 10 and attach state
copies of Form W-2 from al employers.

3. Completelines 16a, 16b, and 16c if you want your refund
deposited directly into your bank account.

4. Sign and date your return. If married, both husband and
wife must sign.

Form 1040N

1. Be sure to complete your Public High School District
Data and County of Residence.



2. Complete the parts of your return through line 13 that
apply to you. The line-by-line instructions that start on
page 5 explain how to complete your return.

3. Read the instructions for lines 19 through 25, and
lines 28 through 31, filling in the lines that apply to you.
Please be sure to complete line 28 for Nebraska income
tax withheld and attach withholding statements, W-2,
W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC, from al employers or
payors.

4. Complete any forms or schedules asked for on the lines
you completed. Attach them when you file the return.

5. If you are claiming credit for taxes paid to another state,
attach acomplete copy of theincometax return, including
all schedules, for each state for which credit is claimed.
If tax was paid but no return filed for a subdivision of the
other state, attach a W-2 statement supporting the tax
paid.

6. Complete lines 40 and 41, Schedulel, if you have
adjustments increasing Nebraska income such as interest
income from state and local obligations.

7. Complete lines 43 through 48, Schedulel, if you have
U.S. bond interest or other adjustments decreasing
Nebraska income. This includes any Tier | or |l benefits
paid by the Railroad Retirement Board included in federal
adjusted gross income.

8. Credit for child and dependent care expenses. If you
qualify to take this federal credit, and you are a full-year
or partial-year resident, see lines 25 and 31 instructions.

9. Credit for the elderly or the disabled. If you qualify to
take this federal credit, and you are a full-year or partia-
year resident, attach a copy of Federa Schedule R, Form
1040, or Federal Schedule 3, Form 1040A. If you want
the department to calculate your state credit, supply the
same information as required by the IRS when you ask
them to calculate the federal credit. Refer to line21
instructions.

10. Complete lines 39a, 39b, and 39c if you want your
refund deposited directly in your bank account.

11. Sign and date your return. Both husband and wife
must sign if ajoint return is being filed.

ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS must be filed if your Nebraska
income tax can reasonably be expected to exceed allowable
credits by $300 or more. Allowable credits for income tax include,
but are not limited to, those listed on lines 19 through 25 of Form
1040N. Lines 28 through 31 of Form 1040N may also be used to
offset income tax owed.

Payment of estimated tax ordinarily must be made in four equa
installments on or before April 15, June 15, September 15, and
January 15. Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment
Voucher, Form 1040N-ES, is to be used to report this tax.

PENALTY FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX. If
line 27 ismorethan your total paymentson line 32 by $300 or moreand
thisdifferenceis morethan ten percent of your line 27 amount, you may
owe a pendlty. If you have underpaid your estimated tax for any period,
obtain Form 2210N, Individual Underpayment of Estimated Tax, from
the department to calculate any possible penalty. Enter any penalty in
the space provided on line 33, include it in the line 33 total, and
attach Form 2210N to your Form 1040N.

ESTIMATING YOUR 1999 INCOME TAX. If you need to
estimate 1999 taxes, contact the department and request an estimated
tax booklet. If you filed estimated payments in 1998, a booklet will
automatically be mailed to you.
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MILITARY SERVICE PAY is subject to income tax only by the
state where the service member isalegal resident. The place of legal
residence at the time of entry into the service is presumed to be the
state of legal residence. It remains so until legal residence in another
state is established. The Nebraska income tax is imposed on al the
federal adjusted gross income of a resident who is a member of the
armed forces, regardless of where the income is received.

Be sure to check the box for active military on Forms 1040N or
1040NS, if you or your spouse are in the active military.

Military pay received by a nonresident service member stationed in
Nebraska is not subject to Nebraska income tax. Other income
derived from Nebraska sources by a service member, such as
income earned from a separate job not connected with the member’s
military service, is subject to Nebraska income tax.

A service member’'s spouse living in Nebraska more than six
months is a resident. If the nonresident service member and the
spouse who has become a resident file ajoint Nebraska return, the
service member has elected to have the service pay taxed by
Nebraska. More information is contained in the Form 1040N
instructions for line 1 on page 5 and in the Nebraska Department of
Revenue's information guide titled, “Nebraska Income Tax for
Military Service Members.” Contact the department, or any of the
regional offices listed on the back cover of this booklet, for copies.

DEATH OF TAXPAYER. If ataxpayer died before filing areturn
for 1998, the taxpayer’ s spouse or personal representative may have
to file and sign areturn for that taxpayer. A persona representative
can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who isin charge of the
deceased taxpayer’s property. If the taxpayer did not have to file a
return but had tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund.

The person who files the return must write “ DECEASED” across
the top of the return. The taxpayer’s name and the date of death is
to be noted in the filing status area of the return.

If your spouse died in 1998 and you did not remarry in 1998, you
may fileajoint return. Y ou may asofileajoint return if your spouse
died in 1999 before filing a 1998 return. A joint return should show
your spouse’s 1998 income before death and your income for all of
1998. Write “filing as surviving spouse” in the area where you sign
the return. If someone else is the personal representative, he or she
must also sign.

CLAIMING A REFUND FOR A DECEASED TAXPAYER. If
you are a surviving spouse filing a joint return with the deceased,
file only the tax return to claim the refund. If you are a court-
appointed representative, file the return and attach a copy of the
certificate that shows your appointment. All other filers requesting
the deceased taxpayer’'s refund must file the return and attach
Form 1310N and proof of death.

FISCAL YEAR RETURNS. The taxable year used for Nebraska
must be the same as the year used for federal income tax purposes.
For fiscal years beginning after January 1, 1998, the 1998 Nebraska
Tax Table and Additional Tax Rate Schedule, and Personal
Exemption Credit Table are to be used without adjustment.

The due date for a fiscal year return is the 15th day of the fourth
month of the following taxable year. If the due date fals on a
Saturday, Sunday, or lega holiday, you may file your return the first
business day after the 15th day of the fourth month.

Refer to page 8, line 28 instructions for information on claiming
withholding credit by a fiscal year taxpayer with a calendar year
Federal Form W-2.

A FARMER OR RANCHER who files the 1998 Form 1040N and
pays the Nebraska income tax due on or before March 1, 1999, is not
required to make estimated tax payments during 1998; otherwise, the
entire amount of estimated tax must be paid by January 15, 1999.



Form 1040N Line Instructions
(for Form 1040NS instructions, see back of Form 1040NS)

LINE 1, FEDERAL FILING STATUS. Your Nebraska filing
status must be the same asyour federal filing status, unlessa
joint federal return was filed and the residency status of the
two spouses is different. Check the box for the filing status
actually used to calculate your Nebraska tax. Different
residencies arise when one spouse is a resident while the
other spouseisanonresident at the sametime. A couplewith
different residenciesmay file either ajoint or separate returns
with Nebraska after filing ajoint federal return.

The separate return must be calculated as if a federal
separate return had been filed. The married filing separate
income, deductions, and exemptions must be used. The
spouse’ s social security number and name must be entered
on the married filing separate line of the Nebraska separate
return.

When a joint return for Nebraska is filed, the couple with
different residencies has made an election for both to be
treated as Nebraska residents while either is aresident. As
residents, the income of both spousesis subject to Nebraska
income tax. Follow the appropriate instructions for either
full-year or partial-year residents. To change this el ection of
ajoint return to separate returns on an amended return, see
the instructions on the amended return.

LINE 2a. Check the following if, during 1998:
Box 1. You were 65 or older.
Box 2. You were blind.
Boxes 1 and 2. You were 65 or older and blind.
Box 3. Your spouse was 65 or older.
Box 4. Y our spouse was blind.
Boxes 3 and 4. Y our spouse was 65 or older and blind.

LINE 2b. Check box 5 if someone (such as a parent) can
claim you or your spouse as a dependent.

LINE 3, TYPE OF RETURN BEING FILED. Resident
taxpayers check box 1. Nonresident and partial-year resident
taxpayers check box 2. Nonresident and partial-year resident
taxpayers must complete and attach Nebraska Schedule 111,
evenif all incomeisearned in Nebraska. Partial-year residents
must enter the dates of their Nebraska residency. If one
spouse is afull-year resident and the other is a nonresident
or partial-year resident and they elect to fileajoint return, a
resident return must be filed and Schedulelll cannot be
used.

LINE 4, FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS, will be the same number
of exemptions claimed on your federal return unlessadiffer-
ent filing status is used for Nebraska. This includes the
number of exemptions claimed on line 6d, Form 1040 or
Form 1040A. If you filed a Federal Form 1040EZ or used
the Federal TeleFile Program, and you checked the “no”
box on line 5 of the 1040EZ or line B of the TeleFile
Worksheet, enter “1” exemption if you are single, and enter
“2" if married. If you checked the “yes’ box online 5 of the
1040EZ or if you checked either “yes’ box on line B of the
TeleFileWorksheet, enter “0” exemptionsif you aresingleand
enter “0” if you are married and both spouses can be claimed as
dependents on another person’s return. Enter “1” if you are
married and only one of you can be claimed as adependent on
another person’s return. See the instructions for line 19,
personal exemption credit, for information on claiming
the credit for each personal exemption.
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If one spouseisaresident and the other isanonresident, and
a separate Nebraska return is being filed, enter the number
of federal exemptions allowable in computing the separate
federal return for Nebraska purposes.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS
CHECK THE BOX AFTER FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS
only to show that you had no federal liability, had
adjustments increasing Nebraska income of less than
$5,000, and are not reporting a 1998 net operating
loss. If you checked this box, do not complete lines 5
through 16 and 19 through 26. Enter “0” on lines 17 and
27. Completelines 28 through 38 asthey apply. Generally,
taxpayers checking this box are those filing to receive a
refund of Nebraskaincome tax withholding, not to report
astatetax liability.
EXAMPLE: Chris and Morgan are married, have
three children, and have adjusted gross income for
1998 of $19,000. Chris' employer withheld $108 for
Nebraska income tax. Chris and Morgan filed a fed-
eral return, subtracted their federal standard deduction
($7,100) and five federal exemptions ($13,500), and
found they had no federal taxable income. Chris and
Morgan have no federal liability. Therefore, they
have no Nebraska liability. They will want to file a
Nebraska return to claim a refund of the income tax
withheld by Chris' employer.
If you did not have afederal liability, but have adjustments
such as non-Nebraska tax-exempt state and local bond
interest, seetheline 5 instructionswhich follow.
LINE 5, FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) is
the amount reported on the federal return as adjusted gross
income. Enter the amount from the following forms:

Form 1040A ......oooooveeeeeiee, Line 18
Form 1040EZ .........ccoovveeennnn. Line 4

TeleFile Worksheet ................. LineH
Form 1040 ........cooovvvveeeeeee, Line 33

If you were not required to file afederal return but must file
a Nebraska return to report state and local bond interest,
enter on line 5 all income which would have been included
in federal adjusted grossincome.

EXAMPLE: George is retired and receives a pension
and interest from a savings account which total $5,650in
1998. He a so receivesincome from federal ly tax-exempt
state and local bonds from sources outside Nebraska,
totalling $7,200. His 1998 income for federal purposesis
$5,650. Heisnot required tofileafedera return; however,
since hisincome from non-Nebraska state and local bonds
exceeds $5,000, George is required to file a Nebraska
return.
He must include the $5,650 of income on line 5 as if he
had completed a federal return. He must include the
$7,200 of non-Nebraska, tax-exempt state and local bond
interest income on line 12, Form 1040N, and lines 40 and
42 of Nebraska Schedule 1. George completes the
remainder of thereturn asit applies.

Nonresident and partial-year resident taxpayers are

reminded to include their total federal adjusted gross

income on line 5, not merely Nebraska source income.

If you have a Nebraska net operating loss, include any

negative Federal AGI on line 5, and complete the rest of



the form. Use Form NOL to compute thelossto carry back. A
net operating loss carryback from a 1998 loss is not alowed
unless the loss has been reported on a 1998 Form 1040N.

Any taxpayers who include as income on Federal Form 1040
their children’s interest and dividends (elected on Federal
Form 8814) must includethat income on line 5, Form 1040N.

LINE 6, FEDERAL STANDARD DEDUCTION. Enter the
allowable amount of your federal standard deduction. Do
not enter the amount of your federal itemized deductions.

If you filed —
FEDERAL FORM 1040A. Enter theline 21 amount.

FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ. If you checked “no” on
Federal Form 1040EZ, line 5, enter $4,250 if single;
or enter $7,100if married.

If you checked “yes’ on line 5, enter the amount from
line E on the worksheet on the back of the Federal
Form 1040EZ.

IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM. Enter the standard
deduction from line | of the TeleFile Worksheet.

FEDERAL FORM 1040. If you claimed the federa
standard deduction, enter the line 36 federal standard
deduction amount. If you claimed itemized deductions
on line 36 of Federal Form 1040, enter the federal
standard deduction for your filing status:

O Single—$4,250

O Head of household — $6,250

O Marriedfilingjointly or qualifying widow —$7,100
O Married filing separately — $3,550

O 65 or over, and/or blind — see federal instructions

O Claimed as a dependent on another return — see
federal instructions.

HIGHER INCOME TAXPAYERS with federal adjusted
gross income in excess of $124,500 ($62,250 if
married filing separate) must complete the Nebraska
Standard Deduction Worksheet on page 9 of these
instructions to determine their allowable standard
deduction.

LINE 7, FEDERAL ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS. If you
itemized, enter the line 36 amount from Federal Form 1040.
If your federal adjusted grossincome is more than $124,500
($62,250 married filing separate), complete the Nebraska
Itemized Deduction Worksheet on page 10 to determine
your line 7 entry. If you did not claim itemized deductions
onyour federal return, skip lines 7 through 9.

LINE 8, STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAXES. Enter your
state and local income taxes included on line 5 of Schedule
A, Federal Form 1040 (even if your itemized deductions
have been limited).

LINE 10. Enter line 6 or 9, whichever is greater.

EXAMPLE: Ellen and Ray claim itemized deductions of
$7,350 on their federa return which included $850 of
stateincometax. After completing lines 6 through 9, they
find that when they filetheir Nebraskaincometax return,
they will claim the standard deduction becauseit islarger
than their Nebraskaitemized deductions:
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Line 6, Federal standard deduction .................... $7,100

Line 7, Federal itemized deductions................... $7,350
Line 8, State and local incometaxes ..........ccu...... $ 850
Line9, Subtract line8fromline7......ccccccenn. $6,500

Line 10, Line6 or line 9, whichever isgreater .... $7,100

ADJUSTMENTS TO FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS
INCOME. Adjustmentsto your federal adjusted grossincome
are made for income that may be taxable on your federa
return, but not taxable on the Nebraskareturn. They arealso
made for income that is taxable in Nebraska, but not at the
federal level. Attach Nebraska Schedule | to the return to
report Nebraska adjustments unlessyou are only reporting a
stateincometax refund.

LINE 12, ADJUSTMENTS INCREASING FEDERAL AGI.
You must include all federally exempt state and local
government interest except that issued by Nebraska state
and local subdivisions. See more instructions on page 10.

LINE 13, ADJUSTMENTS DECREASING FEDERAL AGI.
If you have a state income tax refund or had interest from
U.S. obligations, you may have a deduction from federal
adjusted gross income to include on line 13. You should
read the instructions on pages 11 and 12 to see what other
adjustments are allowed.

If line 12 is -0-, and your only adjustment is a state
income tax refund, enter the amount of the refund on
line 13 and check the box below line 13. You do not need
to complete Schedule I.

LINE 14, NEBRASKA TAX TABLE INCOME. If you do not
have adjustmentsto federal adjusted grossincome, enter the
line 11 amount on line 14. If you have adjustments, complete
Schedule I, add lines 11 and 12, and subtract any line 13
amount. Enter theresult online 14.

Thisisyour Nebraskatax table income. Thisis the amount
used to determine your Nebraska income tax. Go to the
1998 Nebraska Tax Table located on pages 17 through
22 of this booklet to determine your tax liability.

LINE 15, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX is taken from the
Nebraska Tax Table on pages 17 through 22. All taxpayers
must use the Nebraska Tax Tableto calculate their Nebraska
income tax liability. If federa adjusted gross income is more
than $124,500 ($62,250 if married filing separate), include the
total tax calculated on the Nebraska Tax Worksheet on
page 23 which includes the additional tax calculated using
the Nebraska Additional Tax Rate Schedule on page 23.

Nonresidents and partial-year residents will enter their tax
calculation taken from line 63, Nebraska Schedule 111.

LINE 16, NEBRASKA MINIMUM OR OTHER TAX is the
sum of (1) federal alternative minimum tax, (2) federal tax
on lump-sum distributions of qualified retirement plans,
and (3) federal tax on early distributions of qualified
retirement plans; multiplied by 29.6 percent.

Use the following worksheet to calculate line 16.
Nonresidents and partial-year residents enter worksheet
resultson line 64, Nebraska Schedule l11.



NEBRASKA MINIMUM OR OTHER TAX WORKSHEET

1. Alternative minimum tax, from Federal Form

6251 recalculated for Nebraska using

Nebraska Revenue Ruling 22-98-1............... $
2. Tax on lump-sum distributions (enter federal

tax amount from Federal Form 4972) ...........
3. Tax on early distributions (enter lesser of

federal tax amount from Part |, Federal

Form 5329 or line 53 of Federal Form 1040)

4. SUBTOTAL (Add lines 1 through 3) .............
X .296
5. TOTAL (line 4 multiplied by 29.6%) ............. $

ENTER THIS TOTAL ON LINE 16, FORM 1040N
Attach a copy of your Federal Form 4972, 5329 (1040 if 5329
not required) or recalculated Form 6251 to your return.

A credit for prior year minimum tax must be calculated
according to Revenue Ruling 22-98-2, and isentered on line
20, together with a notation, “AMT Credit.” Nonresidents
and partial-year residents claim this credit on line 60,

Nebraska Schedulelll.

LINE 17. All taxpayers enter the total of lines 15 and 16.

If you had no tax to report on your federal return, and
adjustmentsincreasing incomeon Schedulel, line42, of less
than $5,000, enter “0” onlines 17 and 27. Completelines 28
through 38 of Form 1040N.

LINE 18. Enter the amount from line 17.

LINE 19, NEBRASKA PERSONAL EXEMPTION CREDIT.
Residents claim a $88 credit for each federal exemption
reported on line 4, Form 1040N. Nonresidents and partial-
year residents claim the credit on line 61 of Nebraska
Schedule11, not on line 19.

EXAMPLE: Mr. and Mrs. Bourg, who are Nebraska
residents, have AGI of $25,000 and claim three exemp-
tionsonline4. Their personal exemption credit online 19
isasfollows: $88 x 3 = $264. They enter $264 on line 19
and includeitintheline 26 total.

If your federal adjusted grossincome is more than $104,000
(married-joint), $62,000 (single), $87,000 (head of
household), or $52,000 (married-separate), use the chart on
page 9 to determine the credit you are to claim.

LINE 20, CREDIT FOR TAX PAID TO ANOTHER STATE,
is calculated on line 54 of Nebraska Schedule |1. Nebraska
residents claiming credit for incometax paid to another state
or its political subdivisions, or the District of Columbia are
to complete and attach Schedule I1. Attach acomplete copy
of thereturn, including schedules and attachmentsfiled with
the other state, or attach aletter or statement from the other
state showing the income reported and tax paid to support
the credit claimed. A separate Schedule Il must be
completed for each state in which you paid income tax.

Nebraska law does not allow credit for taxes paid to a
foreign country or its political subdivisions.

If the other state's return is amended or changed by that
state, file an Amended Nebraska Individual Income Tax
Return, Form 1040XN, to report the changein the credit for
tax paid to the other state.

LINE 21, CREDIT FOR THE ELDERLY OR THE DISABLED,
is equal to the amount shown on line 42 of Federal
Form 1040 or line 27 of Form 1040A. If the federal
credit has been limited by your federal tax liability, use
the lesser amount. This credit may be claimed only by
Nebraska full-year or partial-year residents. Full-year
residents should enter the amount of the federal credit on
line 21. Partial-year residents must enter “0” on line 21;
and enter the lesser of thefederal credit or thetotal Nebraska
tax on line 60, Nebraska Schedule I11. Attach a copy of
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Federal Schedule R, pages 1 and 2, or Federal Schedule3to
your Form 1040N.

If you had the IRS calculate your federal credit for the
elderly or disabled, attach a copy of the ScheduleR or
Schedule 3 mailed with your federal return to Form 1040N,
and the department will figure this credit.

LINE 22, COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
ACT CREDIT (CDAA), is the credit allowable for
contributionsto approved projects of community betterment
organizations recognized by the Nebraska Department of
Economic Development. See the instructions on the 1998
Nebraska Community Development Assistance Act Credit
Computation, Form CDN, for more information. Form CDN
and the green copy of Form 1099NTC must be attached to
the Form 1040N.

LINE 23, FORM 3800N CREDIT, is the credit allowed to
qualified businesses that expand their economic investment
or employment base in Nebraska. Request Form 3800N, or
contact the department for more information.

LINE 24, FORM 829N CREDIT, is the credit allowed to
participating empl oyees who have had wages withheld by an
employer who has a contract that has qualified under the
Nebraska Quality Jobs Act. Employees qualifying for this
credit will receive Forms 829N and W-829 from their
employer. Complete Form 829N and enter the amount from
line 12 of Form 829N on line 24 of Form 1040N. Attach
Forms 829N and W-829.

LINE 25, NONREFUNDABLE CREDIT FOR CHILD AND
DEPENDENT CARE EXPENSES (if federal AGI is more
than $29,000), is 25 percent of either the amount on line 41
of Federal Form 1040, or line 26, Form 1040A, if this
amount is less than your federal tax. This credit may be
claimed only by Nebraskafull-year or partial-year residents.
If you filed a federal joint return but are filing a married
separate state return, you cannot claim this Nebraska credit.
If the federal credit has been limited by your federal tax
liability, use the worksheet below. Full-year residents enter
their credit on line 25, Form 1040N. Partial-year residents
enter their credit on line 60, Nebraska Schedule III,
Form 1040N and enter “0” on line 25.

Use the worksheet below: (if AGI is more than $29,000)

CHILD CARE CREDIT WORKSHEET
. Enter line 26, Fed. Form 1040A or line 41,
Fed. Form 1040, whichever applies to you ......... $
. Enter federal tax liability (Form 1040A, line 25, or
Form 1040, lines 40, 51, and 53
.Lesseroflinesland 2 ........c.coeveene
. Line 3 muiltiplied by 25% ........ccccooiriiiiiiiiiiiee.
Residents enter line 4 result on line 25, Form 1040N;

AW N P

Partial-year residents use line 4 in line 60 calculation.

LINE 27. Use the worksheet below to determine if you can
enter your federal liability. Do not complete if you have
adjustments increasing income of $5,000 or more
(Form 1040N, Schedulel, line42).

FEDERAL LIABILITY WORKSHEET
Complete the following worksheet to determine whether
Nebraska tax after nonrefundable credits is larger than your

federal tax liability and should be reduced to the federal tax
liability amount.

1. Enter federal tax before credits:

a. Form 1040EZ, line 10......cccccccvveviiveenns la$
b. IRS TeleFile Worksheet, line J,

COlUMN 2 .o 1b
c. Form 1040A, line 25 .......ccceevivveeviiieecnns 1c

d. Form 1040, line 40 ............
Form 1040, line 51 .............
Form 1040, line 53 .............

Total tax—Form 1040 ..........cccceevevveeennnen. 1d
Total federal tax
(enter tax from 1a, 1b, 1c, or 1d)............... 1

2. Nebraska Form 1040N, line 17 minusline26 . 2 $
Enter the smaller of lines 1 and 2 on line 27, Form 1040N,
and check federal liability box if line 1 is used.




LINE 28, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX WITHHELD. Add the
amounts shown as Nebraskaincometax on the state copy of the
Federa Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-M1SC sent to you
by your employer or payor. If you had more than one employer
or payor, attach the state copy from each employer or payor.
Enter thetota statewithholding online 28.

A fiscal year taxpayer who has W-2’sissued on a calendar-
year basis must attach the 1998 W-2's to the 1998
Form 1040N for the fiscal year beginning in 1998. If you
receive your 1999 W-2 beforefiling your 1998 Form 1040N,
save it to attach to your 1999 Form 1040N.

Nonresidents who had Nebraska income tax withheld from
payments for personal services provided should attach a
copy of the 1099-MISC issued to them by the payor.
Nonresidents claiming credit for Nebraskatax withheld by a
partnership, limited liability company, S corporation, estate,
or trust are to obtain from their organization two copies of
the Statement of Nebraska Income Tax Withheld for
Nonresident Individual, Form 14N. Enter theamount withheld
and paid to Nebraskaon line 28, and attach the pink copy of
Form 14N to Form 1040N in the space provided for Form W-
2. A nonresident who has a tax year different from the tax
year shown on the Form 14N for hisor her organizationisto
attach the Form 14N with a tax year ending during the
individual’ s tax year. A calendar-year taxpayer isto attach
the Form 14N for tax years ending in 1998 to the 1998
Form 1040N.

LINE 29, ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS, is the sum of the
installment payments made for 1998 plus any 1997
overpayment that you applied to your 1998 estimated tax. If
you made a tentative Nebraska income tax payment on or
before the original due date of your return to stop the
accumul ation of interest, also claim thisamount on line 29.
LINE 30, NONHIGHWAY USE MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS
CREDIT, isthe credit for a portion of the Nebraskatax paid
in this program. See the instructions on Form 4136N for
information. Attach Form 4136N to Form 1040N if this
credit isclaimed. For moreinformation, contact Motor Fuels
Taxpayer’s Assistance toll free at 1-800-554-3835.

LINE 31. REFUNDABLE CHILD CARE EXPENSES CREDIT
(AGI $29,000 or less). This credit may be claimed only by
Nebraskafull-year residents or partial-year residents. It cannot
be claimed if you filed a federal joint return but a married
separate return for Nebraska. If you did not file Federa
Form 2441 (Form 1040) or Schedule 2 (Form 1040A), you
must complete such form and attach it to your Nebraska
return. Refer to the following chart and enter on line 3 of the
worksheet the applicabl e percentage for your adjusted gross
income (AGI) level:

AGI over/but not over Percent
$0 orless - 22,000 .......cccvvereercrennns 100%
22,000 - 23,000......cccccmererririirenenns 90%
23,000 - 24,000......ccccoeerirrrriirernns 80%
24,000 - 25,000 ......ccccceerirririirenenns 70%
25,000 - 26,000 ......cccccerrrrereirennns 60%
26,000 - 27,000 ......ccccceererrireirennns 50%
27,000 - 28,000 .......ccccccererririirennns 40%
28,000 - 29,000......ccccmeririiiiiinnnns 30%

REFUNDABLE CHILD CARE CREDIT WORKSHEET
1. Enter line 9 amount from 1998 Federal
Form 2441, (Form 1040), or from Schedule 2
(Form 1040A) (Enter the amount calculated on

line 9 prior to the federal credit limitation) ...... 1.3
2. Enter federal adjusted gross income from
line 5, Form 1040N ........ccccooiniiiiiiiniiieeen 2
3. Enter percentage from chart if AGI is
$29,000 OF 1€SS ..ovveiiiiiiiiciiiiie e 3. %

(Note: If AGI is more than $29,000, STOP; you can not claim a|
credit on line 31, refer to line 25 instructions instead)

4. Multiply line 1 by line 3 percentage; residents,
enter result on line 31, partial-year residents,
complete lines 5 and 6 .........coecveveiiiinienneene 4.

5. Enter line 58 ratio from Schedule Il .................. 5.

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5, enter result on line 31 6.
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LINE 33, AMOUNT YOU OWE, is the amount owed to the
State of Nebraska, including the applicabl e underpayment of
estimated tax penalty. Attach acheck or money order payable
to the Nebraska Department of Revenue for the amount on
line 33. Please type or print your social security number on
theface of your check or money order. A tax due amount of
less than $2.00 need not be paid.

If the amount you owe is $300 or more, review “Penalty for
Underpayment of Estimated Tax” on page 4, and determine
if you need to file Form 2210N.

LINE 35, 1999 ESTIMATED TAX. Enter on line 35 the
amount of overpayment you want applied to your 1999
estimated tax.

_(\/ A CHECK FOR

LINE 36, NONGAME AND ENDANGERED SPECIES FUND.
You can contribute $1.00 or more of your refund to this
fund. Y our contributionsare used by the Nebraska Game and
Parks Commission to protect and manage nearly 500 kinds
of nongame and endangered birds, mammals, amphibians,
fish, and reptiles. The fund will help prevent species from
becoming endangered by protecting their habitat.

If youarenot entitled toarefund, youmay send acontribution
directly to the Nongame and Endangered Species Conserva-
tion Fund at the following address. For more information on
the Nongame and Endangered Species Program, contact the
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, Wildlife Division,
2200 North 33rd Street, Lincoln, NE 68503-0370, or call
(402) 471-0641.

LINE 37, NEBRASKA CAMPAIGN FINANCE
CONTRIBUTION. You may voluntarily contribute $2.00 of
your refund (and either $2.00 or $4.00 if married filing
jointly) to the Campaign Finance Limitation Cash Fund. The
purpose of the Campaign Finance Limitation Actistolessen
the reliance of candidates on contributions from specia
interest organizations by providing contributed fundsto assist
in financing election campaigns of candidates seeking
statewide offices. For moreinformation, contact the Nebraska
Accountability and Disclosure Commission, 11th Floor, State
Capitol, P.O. Box 95086, Lincoln, NE 68509-5086, or call
(402) 471-2522.

LINE 38, AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED. Enter the amount
of overpayment you want refunded to you on line 38 after
subtracting lines 35, 36, and 37 from line 34. No amount
less than $2.00 will be refunded.

If ataxpayer has an existing tax liability of any kind with the
Nebraska Department of Revenue, an overpayment reflected
on thisreturn may be applied to suchliability. The department
will then notify the taxpayer.

LINE 39. In order to have your refund deposited directly into
your checking or savings account, it is necessary to enter the
routing number and account number found on the bottom of
the checks used with the account. The routing number is
listed first and must be nine (9) digits. The account number
islisted to the right of the routing number and can be up to
seventeen (17) digits. Enter these numbers in the boxes
found on lines 39a and 39c. Also complete line 39b.



Nebraska Personal Exemption Credit, Line 19, Form 1040N (Residents)

Nonresidents and partial-year residents use to complete Schedule 111, line 61.

Usethistableto determinethe allowable personal credit for your adjusted grossincome category. Find your filing statusin the
columns; thenfindthelinecorrespondingtoyour federal adjusted grossincomereportedonline5, Form 1040N. Taketheamount
you find and multiply by the number of federal exemptions reported on line 4, Form 1040N.

EXAMPLE: Earlene and Robert file a married-joint return. Their federal adjusted grossincome is $118,850. They look
down the married filing joint column to the line where $114,000-119,000 appears. They look across and seethey havea$73
personal exemption credit. Since they have atotal of three federal exemptions, they multiply $73 x 3 = $219. The $219
amount isthen entered on line 19 of Form 1040N.

FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME PERSONAL

Single Married Filing Joint Married Filing Separate Head of Household EXEMPTION
Over  But not over (indu%r\}%ﬁua”f lﬂ’{%‘g{"g’vﬁ[ﬁ”) Over  But not over Over  But not over CREDIT
$ 0 - 62,000 $ 0 -104,000 $ 0 - 52,000 $ 0 - 87,000 $88
62,000 - 67,000 104,000 - 109,000 52,000 - 54,500 87,000 - 92,000 83
67,000 - 72,000 109,000 - 114,000 54,500 - 57,000 92,000 - 97,000 78
72,000 - 77,000 114,000 - 119,000 57,000 - 59,500 97,000 - 102,000 73
77,000 - 82,000 119,000 - 124,000 59,500 - 62,000 102,000 - 107,000 68
82,000 - 87,000 124,000 - 129,000 62,000 - 64,500 107,000 - 112,000 63
87,000 - 92,000 129,000 - 134,000 64,500 - 67,000 112,000 - 117,000 58
92,000 - 97,000 134,000 - 139,000 67,000 - 69,500 117,000 - 122,000 53
97,000 - 102,000 139,000 - 144,000 69,500 - 72,000 122,000 - 127,000 48
102,000 - 107,000 144,000 - 149,000 72,000 - 74,500 127,000 - 132,000 43
107,000 - 112,000 149,000 - 154,000 74,500 - 77,000 132,000 - 137,000 38
112,000 - 117,000 154,000 - 159,000 77,000 - 79,500 137,000 - 142,000 33
117,000 - 122,000 159,000 - 164,000 79,500 - 82,000 142,000 - 147,000 28
122,000 - 127,000 164,000 - 169,000 82,000 - 84,500 147,000 - 152,000 23
127,000 - 132,000 169,000 - 174,000 84,500 - 87,000 152,000 - 157,000 18
132,000 - 137,000 174,000 - 179,000 87,000 - 89,500 157,000 - 162,000 13
137,000 - 142,000 179,000 - 184,000 89,500 - 92,000 162,000 - 167,000 8
142,000 - 147,000 184,000 - 189,000 92,000 - 94,500 167,000 - 172,000 3
over 147,000 over 189,000 over 94,500 over 172,000 0

Nebraska Standard Deduction Worksheet — Line 6, Form 1040N

Use if federal adjusted gross income is more than $124,500 ($62,250 if married filing separate)

STANDARD DEDUCTION WORKSHEET

1 Enter your Federal Adjusted Gross Income for 1998 (line 5, Form 1040N) ................... 1
2 Enter $124,500 (enter $62,250 if married filing separate) ...........cccccevvivereeiiiireeniiieeeene 2
3 Difference (subtract line 2 from line 1). If less than zero, STOP; you do not have a

limitation on your standard dedUCHiON. ............oouuiiiiii e 3
4 Enter your 1998 Federal Standard Deduction (Single $4,250, Married-Joint $7,100,

Head of Household $6,250, Married-Separate $3,550). Consult federal instructions

if you have a different standard deduction for your filing status than that listed ............. 4
5 ENEr 1096 OF IN@ 3 ..o 5
6 1998 Nebraska Standard Deduction (subtract line 5 from line 4; if zero or less,

enter 0 on this line). Enter result here and on line 6, Form 1040N. ......cooovviiiiiiiinnienneen. 6
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Nebraska Itemized Deduction Worksheet — Lines 7 and 8, Form 1040N

Use if your federal adjusted gross income is more than $124,500
($62,250 if married filing separate)

| ITEMIZED DEDUCTION WORKSHEET

1 Enter itemized deductions from Federal Schedule A. Include totals from lines 4, 9,

14, 18, 19, 26, QNA 27 .eeeeeiiieeeieeeee ettt a e e e r e e e e s 1
2 Add from Federal Schedule A, the amounts on lines 4,13,18,19, plus any gambling

[0SSes INCIUAEd ON lINE 27 ... 2
3 Enter state and local income taxes from line 5, Federal Schedule A (enter on line 8,

Lo 0 K072 0 |\ ) TSP 3
4 A lINES 2 ANA 3 ..oiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie et 4
5 Difference (subtract line 4 from line 1). If the result is zero, STOP; enter the amount

from line 1 above on line 7, FOrmM 1040N ........cccvvviiiiiiiiiiiiiii 5
6 MUItiply liN€ 5 DY 80Y%0 (:80) .eeiiieiiiiiiiiiii ettt 6
7 Enter your federal adjusted gross income (line 5, Form 1040N) ..........ccouvviiiiiiiiiieeiinnnnn. 7
8 Enter $124,500, or $62,250 if Married-Separate ............occuveeriieeeiiiiiiiiiiee e 8
9 Difference (subtract line 8 from line 7). If the result is zero or less, STOP; enter the

amount from line 1 above on line 7, FOrm 1040N ..o 9
10 Multiply IN€ 9 BY L1096 (110) ...vvrreeeieeeiiiiiiieie e e e e ettt e e et e e e e e e ibb b e e e e e e e e e anneeees 10
11 Compare line 6 and line 10 and enter the smaller of the two amounts here.................... 11
12 Subtract INe 1L from lINE 5 ... 12
13 Add line 12 and line 4 (enter on line 7, Form 1040N, total itemized deductions) ............ 13

Note: If your Nebraskaitemized deductions on line 9, Form 1040N, are less than the federal standard deduction for your
filing status, compl ete the Nebraska standard deduction worksheet on page 9 to determine the larger of line 6 and line

9, Form 1040N (seeinstructions).

Nebraska Adjustments to Income
Nebraska Schedule |

Adjustments Increasing Federal AGI (line 12, Form 1040N)

Interest Income Received from State and Local Bonds
Regulated Investment Company
Federal Net Operating Loss Deduction
S Corporation and LLC Non-Nebraska Loss
INTEREST INCOME RECEIVED FROM STATE

AND LOCAL BONDS
Include on line 40a all of your interest received from state
and local bonds. Whilethisincomeisexempt for federal tax
purposes, itisan additiontoincomefor Nebraskaincometax
purposes.

Theinterest incometo bereported on line 40aincludes, but
isnot limited to, that which isreported on line 8b of Federal
Form 1040 or 1040A. This amount can be reduced by
expenses not previously deducted which relate to the
production of thisincomeonly if you claim federal itemized
deductions.

On line 40b, include interest from those bonds issued by
Nebraska state and local government subdivisions. This
includes bonds such as Nebraska municipal water bonds,
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NPPD bonds, NIFA bonds, or local school district bond
obligations.

REGULATED INVESTMENT COMPANY
Y ou must include on line 40a any income from aregulated
investment company (including certain mutual funds) which
invests in state and local obligations. Any part of the fund
dividend attributable to Nebraska source bonds may be
used to reduce the total income amount. Enter such part on
line 40b.

FEDERAL NET OPERATING LOSS DEDUCTION
If you deducted afederal net operating loss carryforward in
computing your federal AGI, you must include this amount
as apositive number on line 41 of Schedulel.

S CORPORATION AND LIMITED LIABILITY
COMPANY (LLC) NON-NEBRASKA LOSS
A loss from an S corporation or LLC that is not from
Nebraska sources increases an individual’ s adjusted gross
income. Thelossshould beenteredonline4l, Schedulel, as
apositive number.



Adjustments Decreasing Federal AGI (line 13, Form 1040N)

State Income Tax Refund Deduction
= U.S. Government Obligations Exempt for State Purposes

Obligations Which Cannot be Deducted for Nebraska Tax
Purposes

Government Money Market or Mutual Funds (page 12)
Repurchase Agreements (page 12)

Railroad Retirement Board Pension Payments (page 12)
Special Capital Gains Deduction (page 12)
Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction (page 12)

S Corporation and Limited Liability Company
Non-Nebraska Income (page 12)

Native American Indian Reservation Income (page 12)
= Claim of Right Repayment (page 12)
= Nebraska Net Operating Loss Carryforward (page 12)

STATE INCOME TAX REFUND DEDUCTION
If you received a refund, credit, or offset of state
or local individual income tax in 1998 that is
included as taxable income on line 10 of your
Federal Form 1040, you may deduct this amount
on line 43 of Nebraska Schedule 1.
If this is your only adjustment decreasing or
increasing income, do not file Schedule I. Instead,
check the box on line 13 of Form 1040N and
enter the state income tax refund on line 13.

U.S. GOVERNMENT OBLIGATIONS

EXEMPT FOR STATE PURPOSES
Interest or dividend income included in federal adjusted
gross income from the following sources is deductible
for Nebraskatax purposes. If you have income from one
of these obligations, include the type of bond and the
amount received from each on line 44a of Schedule .
Attach a schedule, if necessary, listing all the bonds for
which a deduction is claimed. Note: capital gains from
the sale of U.S. obligations are not deductible. Exempt
U.S. government obligations include:

1. U.S. government bonds, such as seriesHH and EE
(interest is deductible only if the bond has been
issued after March 1, 1942),

2. U.S. Treasury bills(interestisdeductibleonly if the
bill has been issued after March 1, 1942),

. U.S. government notes,

. U.S. government certificates,

. Commodity Credit Corporation,
. Federal Home Loan Banks,

. Federal Reserve Banks (dividends are deductible
only if from stock issued after March 1, 1942),

. Federal Savingsand L oan Insurance Corporation,
. Tennessee Valley Authority securities,

10. Interest on debentures issued to mortgagees of
mortgages foreclosed under the National Housing
Actif insured after February 3, 1938,

Postal Service bonds,

Retirement bond as provided by 1.R.C. section 409
(noneissued after April 30, 1982),

Farm Credit Bank Consolidated System Wide bonds,

Farm Credit Systemincludingthefollowing members
unless noted elsewhere:

~N O oA W

© 00

11.
12.

13.
14.
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a Federal Land Banks and Federal Land Bank
Associations (dividends are deductible only if
from stock issued after March 28, 1942),

b. Federal Intermediate Credit Banks, and

Any other institution chartered by and subject
to the supervision of the Farm Credit
Administration unlessnoted el sewhere,

15. General Service Administration Participation
Certificates,

16. Financing Corporation established by Federal
Housing Finance Board, and

17. Resolution Funding Corporation.

Interest, but not dividendincome, includedinfederal adjusted
gross income from the following sources is deductible for
Nebraskaindividual incometax purposes:

1. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (F.D.I.C.),
2. Student Loan Marketing Association,

3. Production Credit Association, or

4. Banksfor Cooperatives.

OBLIGATIONS WHICH CANNOT BE DEDUCTED
FOR NEBRASKA TAX PURPOSES
Several quasi-governmental organizationsissuebondswhich
are not considered to be backed by thefull faith and credit of
theU.S. government or whoselicensing act did not specifically
exempt themfromstatetaxation. Theseare NOT deductible
for Nebraska purposes:

1. Federal or State Banks,

. Federal or State Savings and L oan Associations,
. Building and L oan Associations,

. Postal Savings Accounts (discontinued in 1966),
. Export Import Bank bonds,

. Federal or State Credit Unions,

. Interest on debentures issued to mortgagees of
mortgages foreclosed under the National Housing
Act if insured before February 3, 1938,

. Interest on federal income tax refunds,
9. FarmersHomeAdministration,
10. New Community debentures,
11. Merchant Marinebond,
12. Ship Financing bond,
13. U.S. Merchant Marine Ship notes,
14. U.S. Merchant MarineOffshore Ship Servicesnotes,
15. Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation,
16. World Bank,

17. International Bank for Reconstruction and
Devel opment bonds,

Asian Devel opment Bank notes and bonds,
Inter-American Devel opment Bank bonds,

Interest fromU.S. Government Lifelnsurance(unless
exempted by 1.R.C. section 101[d][1][B]),

Bankers' Acceptance,

~N o 0o WD

[e0]

18.
19.
20.

21



22
23.
24,
25,
26.

Certificates of Deposit,

Penn Central Transportation certificates,

Federal FinancingBank,

Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA'’s),

Government National Mortgage Association
(GNMA'’s),

Chrysler Corporation secured notes,
L ockheed convertible bonds, and

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
bonds.

27.
28.
29.

GOVERNMENT MONEY MARKET
OR MUTUAL FUNDS
Certaingovernment money market or mutual fundsissued by
regulatedinvestment companiesclaimto beabligationsof the
U.S. government.

Nebraska law provides that dividends from a regulated
investment company investing directly in exempt U.S.
government obligations are deductible to the extent they
represent exempt U.S. government obligations. To claim
adeduction on line 44b, the fund must issue to the holder a
statement showing the percent of the dividend which
represents exempt U.S. obligations. If you have received a
dividend from such a fund, you must list on line 44b of
Part B, Schedule I, the name of the fund and the portion of
the dividend representing exempt U.S. government
obligations.

Refer to the list on page 11 on what constitutes a deductible
U.S. government obligation.

REPURCHASE AGREEMENTS
Interest income from repurchase agreements involving U.S.
government obligations is not deductible as U.S. government
interest, and cannot be taken as an adjustment decreasing
federal adjusted grossincome on line 13 of Form 1040N.

RAILROAD RETIREMENT BOARD
PENSION PAYMENTS
These payments are deductible on line45 of Nebraska
Schedule I. They includeTier | and |1 payments, vested dual
benefits, and supplemental annuities, including sick pay and
unemployment paid by the Railroad Retirement Board that
areincludedinfederal adjusted grossincome. Attach acopy
of Forms RRB-1099 and RRB-1099-R to your return.

SPECIAL CAPITAL GAINS DEDUCTION
Nebraskaresident individualsmay elect to deduct fromtheir
adjusted gross income the gain received from the sale or
exchangeof capital stock of a“ qualified” corporationacquired
either because of employment by the corporation or while
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employed by the “qualified” corporation. Individuals are
entitled to one election during their lifetime for the capital
stock of one “qualified” corporation.

Special Capital Gains Election Computation, Form 4797N,
and a copy of Federal Schedule D must be attached to your
Form 1040N to report your election. The amount of the
deductible capital gainisentered on line 46, Schedulel.

NEBRASKA SELF-EMPLOYED
HEALTH INSURANCE DEDUCTION WORKSHEET
A deductionisallowedfor healthinsurancecoveragefor self-
employed taxpayersto the extent not allowed as adeduction
or an adjustment on their federal return. Complete the
worksheet below to determine the amount that you can
deduct. Enter the result on line 47 of Nebraska Schedule .

1. Enter line 1 of Federal Self-Employed

Health Insurance Deduction Worksheet ........ 1.
2. Enter line 3 of Federal Self-Employed

Health Insurance Deduction Worksheet ........ 2.
3. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2 ................ 3.

4., Enter amount from line 4 of Federal Self-
Employed Health Insurance Deduction
WOIKShEEL ... 4,

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3........ccccovveviiviiinnene 5.

6. If you itemized deductions, enter line 3 of
Schedule A, Form 1040. If you did not
itemize deductions, enter line 5 from above 6.

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. This is
your Nebr. self-employed health insurance
deduction. Enter here and on line 47 of
Schedule | .. 7.

S CORPORATION AND LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY

NON-NEBRASKA INCOME
Income from an S corporation or limited liability company
that is not from Nebraska sources is deductible on line 48,
Schedule I. Attach the Schedule K-1 received from the S
corporationor limited liability company together with acopy
of the Nebraska apportionment factor of the S corporation or
limited liability company.

NATIVE AMERICAN INDIAN RESERVATION INCOME
Native American Indians residing on a Nebraska Native
American|ndianreservationwithincomederived fromsources
within the boundaries of the reservation may deduct such
incomeon line 48, Schedule 1.

CLAIM OF RIGHT REPAYMENT
A taxpayer whoisrequired onafederal returntotakeacredit
for aclaim of right repayment may deduct the amount of the
repayment on line 48, Schedulel.

NEBRASKA NET OPERATING LOSS
CARRYFORWARD
A Nebraska net operating loss from an earlier year whichis
availablefor carryforward to 1998 is deducted on line 48 of
Schedule| as an adjustment decreasing Federal AGI.



