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If your Nebraska individual income tax, after allowance of Nebraska personal exemption 
credits, is expected to exceed withholding and other credits by $500 or more, then estimated 
income tax payments may be required. 
Various indexed values for the Nebraska personal exemption credit, Nebraska standard 
deduction, and other elements of the Nebraska tax calculation are included in this year's 
changes. You should calculate your estimated tax for 2018 in light of these changes.
Taxpayers must ensure that adequate and timely estimated payments are made to 
avoid underpayment of estimated income tax penalties.

2018
Nebraska
Individual Estimated
Income Tax Payment
Vouchers
Included in this Booklet:
Form 1040N-ES

Electronic payment options are available. 
See instructions inside.

For more information or to use any of our 
electronic services, go to revenue.nebraska.gov. 

Sign up for a FREE subscription service at the Department’s 
website to get email updates on your topics of interest.

800-742-7474 (NE or IA) or 402-471-5729

e-pay

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/IIT_e-pay.html
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/NEREV/subscriber/new
marilyn.borchert
Text Box
The tax brackets in the estimated income tax rate schedule for the Married, Filing Jointly and Surviving Spouses calculation were adjusted by $10. This correction results in a difference of $1 or less from the previous computation.




Instructions
Who Must Make Estimated Income Tax Payments. Every resident and nonresident must make estimated income 
tax payments if their Nebraska income tax, after Nebraska personal exemption credits, is expected to exceed their income 
tax withholding and other credits by $500 or more. If you are an employee with income tax being withheld from your 
earnings, you may ask your employer to withhold an additional amount for state income taxes, rather than make 
these four estimated income tax payments.
When to Pay Your Estimated Income Tax. The first payment must be made on or before April 15, 2018, and on 
later dates as set out below. The estimated tax may be paid in full with the first payment, or in equal installments on or 
before April 15, 2018, June  15,  2018, September 15, 2018, and January 15, 2019. If the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday, taxpayers have until the next business day to make the payment.
	 •	 Farmers and Ranchers. If at least two-thirds of your gross income for 2017 or 2018 is derived from farming, 

ranching, or fishing, you may pay all of your estimated income tax on or before January 15, 2019 and still avoid a 
penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax. If you file your 2018 Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return, 
Form 1040N, on or before March 1, 2019, and pay the total income tax due at that time, you do not need to make 
any estimated income tax payments for 2018.

	 •	 Fiscal Year Taxpayers. Fiscal year taxpayers must pay their estimated income tax  by the 15th day of the fourth, 
sixth, and ninth months of the fiscal year, and the first month of the following fiscal year. If the due date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, taxpayers have until the next business day to make the payment.

How to Calculate Your Estimated Income Tax Payment. Complete the Estimated Income Tax Worksheet 
(Worksheet) to compute your 2018 estimated income tax. If line 18 is less than $500, estimated income tax payments 
are not required, but may still be made. Subtract the amount of any carryover from the 2017 Form 1040N before making 
your payment.
Make appropriate entries in your Record of Estimated Tax Payments. 
Changes in Estimated Income Tax. If your income increases during the year, you may be required to begin making 
estimated income tax payments, or increase the amount of your estimated income tax payments at the next due date. If 
you need to increase the amount of an estimated income tax payment and you have previously scheduled an electronic 
payment, be sure to cancel and reschedule your payment.
	You may use the Amended Computation Schedule on page 5 to calculate your amended estimated income tax if your 
income substantially increases. 

How to Pay Your Estimated Income Tax.

The Department encourages you to pay electronically using the Department’s e-pay program or by credit card. 
When paying electronically, vouchers are not required.
If you are not making electronic payments of estimated income tax, you can download the payment vouchers from 
our  website. When making payment by paper check, show the amended estimated income tax on line 1 of the next 
payment voucher filed. If making payments electronically, do not file a voucher to show the change.

Electronic Payment Options
Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW). With this payment option, you provide your payment information within 
your electronically-filed return. Your payment will automatically be withdrawn from your bank account on the date 
you specify. 

Nebraska e-pay. Nebraska e-pay is the Department’s web-based electronic payment system. You enter your 
payment and bank account information, and choose a date (up to a year in advance) to have your account debited. You 
will receive an email confirmation for each payment scheduled.

Credit Card. Secure credit card payments can be initiated through Official Payments at officialpayments.com; via 
phone at 800-272-9829 or by downloading the OPAY app from your smart phone’s app store. Eligible credit cards 
include American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and VISA. A convenience fee (2.35% of the tax payment, $1 
minimum) is charged to the card you use. This fee is paid to the credit card vendor, not the state, and will appear 
on your credit card statement separately, from the tax payment. At the end of your transaction, you will be given a 
confirmation number. Keep this number for your records. [If you are making your credit card payment by phone, you 
will need to provide the Nebraska Jurisdiction Code, which is 3700.]

Check or Money Order Using the Estimated Income Tax Payment Voucher. If you are not using one of the 
electronic payment options described above, include a check or money order payable to the “Nebraska Department of 
Revenue.” Checks written to the Department may be presented for payment electronically. 
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http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/est_IIT_e-pay.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/IIT_e-pay.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/credit_card.html
https://www.officialpayments.com/pc_template_standard.jsp?body=pc_step2_body.jsp


You must enter your Social Security number (SSN) and your spouse’s SSN, if applicable, on the payment vouchers 
where indicated. List the names and SSNs in the same order on the voucher as you list them on your married, filing 
jointly return.
Overpayment Credit From 2017. If you had an overpayment on your 2017 Form 1040N, and elected to apply it to 
your 2018 estimated income tax, the amount of that overpayment may be applied in full, or in part, to any installment.

Taxpayers claiming an overpayment from line 43 of last year’s individual income tax return, Form 1040N, should be 
aware that an overpayment will be applied first to offset any existing balance due from another tax year. If the Department 
transfers all or part of an amount requested to be carried over to next year’s estimated income tax payments (current year 
carryover), a written notice of the offset will be issued. Please contact the Department if you are unsure of your current 
year carryover amount.

Joint Payments. Payments of estimated income tax may be made on a married, filing jointly basis for Nebraska income 
tax purposes. Married, filing jointly payments may not be made if the spouses are separated under a decree of either 
divorce or separate maintenance, or if they have different taxable years. If married, filing jointly payments are made, 
but a married, filing jointly return is not filed for the taxable year, the estimated income tax for the year may be divided 
between spouses.

Deceased Taxpayer. If estimated income tax payments have been made under a spouse’s SSN, and this spouse dies 
during the year, indicate “deceased” on any e-filed return when prompted. On paper returns, write “DECEASED” at the 
top of the Form 1040N and give the date of death next to the SSN. Verify that the surviving spouse’s name and SSN are 
correct on Form 1040N‑ES, and indicate what SSN will be used in filing a Form 1040N-ES for the next year.

Penalty For Not Paying Enough Estimated Income Tax. A penalty is imposed for underpayment of estimated 
income tax installments. The penalty is not due if you qualify for any of the exceptions listed on the Individual 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax, Form 2210N.

Each individual who has underpaid estimated income tax must file a Form 2210N with the Form 1040N. The estimated tax 
is underpaid if the payments (including income tax withholding) are not equal to at least: 
	 1.	 90% (66 ⅔% for those engaged in farming, ranching, and fishing) of the income tax liability for the year, after 

reduction by credits other than income tax withholding or estimated income tax payments; or
	 2.	 100% of the income tax shown on the Nebraska return for the full 12‑month preceding tax year, if federal AGI was 

$150,000 or less; or
	 3.	 110% (the applicable federal percentage) of the preceding year’s income tax reported on a Nebraska return, if 2017 

federal AGI was above $150,000. Complete the Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4. 
You may also owe a penalty if estimated income tax payments are not filed in a timely manner.

Exceptions to the Penalty. You do not have to pay the penalty if:
	 1.	 You had no income tax liability for 2017, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for the entire year, and your 2017 

Nebraska income tax return was (or would have been had you been required to file) for a full 12 months;
	 2.	 You are a first-time filer for Nebraska income tax purposes; or
	 3.	 The total income tax shown on your 2018 Nebraska income tax return minus the amount of income tax you paid 

through income tax withholding is less than $500.
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	 1	 Estimated federal adjusted gross income (AGI)................................................................................................ 	 1
	 2	 Estimated federal itemized deductions (line 29, Federal Form 1040, Schedule A)... 	 2
	 3	 State and local income taxes (line 5, Schedule A).................................................... 	 3
	 4	 Nebraska itemized deductions (line 2 minus line 3).................................................. 	 4
	 5	 Nebraska standard deduction:
			   Single $6,750;
			   Married, Filing Jointly $13,500;
			   Head of Household $9,900; 
			   Married, Filing Separately $6,750; or
			   65 or older and/or blind (see page 5).................................................................... 	 5
	 6	 Enter the greater of line 4 or line 5.....................................................................................................................	 6		
	 7	 Estimated Nebraska income before adjustments (line 1 minus line 6).............................................................. 	 7
	 8	 Estimated Nebraska adjustments increasing federal AGI (including non-Nebraska state and municipal
		  bond interest).................................................................................................................................................... 	 8
	 9	 Estimated Nebraska adjustments decreasing federal AGI (including federal bond interest)............................ 	 9
	10	 Estimated Nebraska taxable income (line 7 plus line 8, minus line 9).............................................................. 	 10
11  Estimated Nebraska income tax. Using the 2018 Nebraska Estimated Income Tax Rate Schedule on 
		  page 6, calculate Nebraska tax on the line 10 amount......................................................................................	 11
	12	 Estimated Nebraska other taxes (total of taxes from Federal Form 4972 and tax on early distributions;
		  multiplied by .296)............................................................................................................................................. 	 12
	13	 Total Nebraska estimated income tax (total of lines 11 and 12) ....................................................................... 	 13
	14	 Estimated Nebraska credits including:
		  For full year residents – 
			   Credit for tax paid to another state and credit for qualified emergency responders.
		  For residents and partial-year residents – 
			   Refundable and nonrefundable credits for child and dependent care expense; earned income credit; credit
			   for the elderly or the disabled; Angel Investment tax credit; TANF credit; and School Readiness credit.
		  For all taxpayers –
			   Nebraska personal exemption credit; Community Development Assistance Act credit; Beginning
			   Farmer credit; Form 3800N credit; and Financial Institution Tax credit...........................................................	 14
	15	 Nebraska 2018 estimated income tax (line 13 minus line 14). If zero or less, enter -0-..................................... 	 15
	16	 a	 Multiply line 15 by 90% (66 ⅔% if engaged in farming or fishing) .........................	16a
		  b	 Enter the tax shown on your 2017 tax return (110% of that amount if you are
			   not engaged in farming or fishing and the AGI shown on that return is more
			   than $150,000 ($75,000 if your filing status for 2018 is married, filing separately)  	16b
		  c	 Required annual payment to avoid a penalty. Enter the smaller of line 16a or 16b...............................	16c
			   Caution: If you do not prepay (through income tax withholding and estimated income tax payments) at
			   least the amount on line 16c, you may owe a penalty for not paying enough estimated income tax. To 
			   avoid a penalty, make sure your estimate on line 15 is as accurate as possible. Even if you pay the required 
			   annual payment, you may still owe tax when you file your return. You must also make timely estimated
			   payments to avoid underpayment penalties. If you prefer, you can pay the amount shown on line 15.
	17	 Income tax withheld and estimated income tax to be withheld during 2018 (including income tax withholding 
		  on pensions, annuities, certain deferred income, etc.).......................................................................................	 17
	18	 Subtract line 17 from line 16c. (Note: If the result is zero or less, or line 15 minus line 17 is less than $500,
		  stop here. You are not required to make estimated income tax payments.).......................................................	 18
	19	 Computation of installments
		  If the first installment you are required to make is due on:
			   •	 April 15, 2018, enter ¼ of the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment Vouchers 1, 2, 3, and 4;
			   •	 June 15, 2018, enter ½ of the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment Voucher 2
 				    (Also, enter ¼ of the amount on line 18 and on Vouchers 3 and 4)
			   •	 September 15, 2018, enter ¾ of the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment Voucher 3
 			    	 (Also, enter ¼ of the amount on line 18 and on line 2 of Payment Voucher 4)
			   •	 January 15, 2019, enter the amount on line 18 here and on line 2 of Payment Voucher 4.	 	 19	

Worksheet

Nebraska Individual Estimated
Income Tax Worksheet

Retain a copy for your records. Do not file the amended computation schedule on the reverse side.

2018
FORM 1040N-ES
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Amended Computation Schedule
• Use this schedule if your estimated income tax changes during the year.

	 1	 Amended estimated income tax......................................................................................................... 	 1
	 2	 Amount of the 2017 overpayment previously applied as a credit to 2018 estimated
		  income tax installments...................................................................................................................... 	 2

	 3	 Total amount previously paid for 2018 estimated income tax installments......................................... 	 3

	 4	 Line 2 plus line 3................................................................................................................................ 	 4

	 5	 Unpaid balance (line 1 minus line 4).................................................................................................. 	 5
	 6	 Amount to be paid (line 5 divided by number of remaining payments).
		  Enter here and on line 1 of the payment voucher.............................................................................. 	 6

Additional Standard Deduction for Elderly and/or Blind 
Your Nebraska standard deduction is increased by this amount if, at the end of 2018, you will be:

	 •	 An unmarried individual (single or head of household), and
			   65 or older, or blind............................................................................................................... $1,600
			   65 or older and blind............................................................................................................... 3,200

	 •	 A married individual (filing jointly or separately) or a qualifying widow(er), and
			   65 or older, or blind............................................................................................................... $1,300
			   65 or older and blind............................................................................................................... 2,600
			   Both spouses are 65 or older................................................................................................... 2,600
			    	 • And one spouse is also blind............................................................................................ 3,900
			   Both spouses are blind............................................................................................................ 2,600
				    • And one spouse is also 65 or older.................................................................................. 3,900
			   Both spouses are 65 or older, and both are blind.................................................................... 5,200
If married, filing separately, these amounts apply only if you can claim a Nebraska personal exemption for your spouse. 
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Record of Estimated Income Tax Payments
(C)

2017 Overpayment

(D)
Total Amount Paid

and Credited
(Column B plus Column C)

(B)
Amount Paid

(A)
Date Filed

Installment
Date

Payment
Number

Claim this amount on your 2018 Nebraska
Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N.

TOTAL

Note:	 If you are not required to make an estimated income tax payment on the first installment date, you 	
	 may still have to make a payment at a later date. See instruction titled “Changes in Estimated Tax.”

	 1	 April 15, 2018

	 2	 June 15, 2018

	 3	 September 15, 2018

	 4	 January 15, 2019



Single Taxpayer Head of Household

Married, Filing SeparatelyMarried, Filing Jointly and Surviving Spouses

If line 10, 		  The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over —	 but not over
$	 0	 $	 3,150			    2.46%	 of the income
	 3,150		  18,880	 $	 77.49	 + 3.51%	 of the excess over $  3,150
	 18,880		  30,420		  629.61	 + 5.01%	 of the excess over $18,880
	 30,420		  ——		  1,207.76	 + 6.84%	 of the excess over $30,420

If line 10, 		  The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over —	 but not over
$	 0	 $	 5,870			   2.46%	 of the income
	 5,870		  30,210	 $	 144.40	 + 3.51%	 of the excess over $  5,870
	 30,210		  45,110		  998.73	 + 5.01%	 of the excess over $30,210
	 45,110		  ——		  1,745.22	 + 6.84%	 of the excess over $45,110

If line 10, 		  The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over —	 but not over
$	 0	 $	 6,290			   2.46%	 of the income
	 6,290		  37,770	 $	 154.73	 + 3.51%	 of the excess over $  6,290
	 37,770		  60,840		  1,259.68	 + 5.01%	 of the excess over $37,770
	 60,840		  ——		  2,415.49	 + 6.84%	 of the excess over $60,840

If line 10, 		  The Nebraska estimated tax is:
Form 1040N-ES Worksheet is:

over —	 but not over
$	 0	 $	 3,150			   2.46%	 of the income
	 3,150		  18,880	 $	 77.49	 + 3.51%	 of the excess over $  3,150
	 18,880		  30,420		  629.61	 + 5.01%	 of the excess over $18,880
	 30,420		  ——		  1,207.76	 + 6.84%	 of the excess over $30,420

2018 Nebraska Estimated Income Tax Rate Schedule
Use this rate schedule only for computing 2018 estimated income tax. 

Do not use it to compute an amount for any tax returns. 
Enter the tax calculated from this schedule on line 11 of the

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4 of this booklet.

Include $134 for each Nebraska personal exemption allowed on line 14 of the
Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 4 of this booklet.

6



		  		
	 1	 Amount of this payment (net of the calculated payment and
		  any 2017 overpayment applied to 2018’s estimated income
		  tax installments).................................................................  		 1

		  		
	 1	 Amount of this payment (net of the calculated payment and
		  any 2017 overpayment applied to 2018’s estimated income
		  tax installments).................................................................  		 1

		  		
	 1	 Amount of this payment (net of the calculated payment and
		  any 2017 overpayment applied to 2018’s estimated income
		  tax installments).................................................................  		 1

•		File only if you are making a payment of estimated income 	tax by check or money order.
•		Fiscal year taxpayers — see instructions.

•	File only if you are making a payment of estimated income 	tax by check or money order.
•	Fiscal year taxpayers — see instructions.
•	If your estimated tax needs to be amended, use the Amended Computation Schedule.

•	File only if you are making a payment of estimated income 	tax by check or money order.
•	Fiscal year taxpayers — see instructions.
•	If your estimated tax needs to be amended, use the Amended Computation Schedule.

FORM 1040N-ES

FORM 1040N-ES

FORM 1040N-ES

2018

2018

2018

Consider paying electronically. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.

Consider paying electronically. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.

Consider paying electronically. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911.

8-014-2017

8-014-2017

8-014-2017

Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return	 Last Name

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial	 Last Name

Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

City	 State	 Zip Code

Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return	 Last Name

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial	 Last Name

Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

City	 State	 Zip Code

Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return	 Last Name

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial	 Last Name

Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

City	 State	 Zip Code

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax

Payment Voucher

Payment Voucher

Payment Voucher
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1

2

3

This installment is due on or before
April 15, 2018.

This installment is due on or before
June 15, 2018.

This installment is due on or before 
September 15, 2018.

Important: Social Security numbers must be entered below.
	 First Social Security Number on your Income Tax Return

	Spouse’s Social Security Number

Important: Social Security numbers must be entered below.
	 First Social Security Number on your Income Tax Return

	Spouse’s Social Security Number

Important: Social Security numbers must be entered below.
	 First Social Security Number on your Income Tax Return

	Spouse’s Social Security Number

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/est_IIT_e-pay.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/est_IIT_e-pay.html
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/est_IIT_e-pay.html
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	 1	 Amount of this payment (net of the calculated payment and
		  any 2017 overpayment applied to 2018’s estimated income
		  tax installments).................................................................  		 1

•	File only if you are making a payment of estimated income 	tax by check or money order.
•	Fiscal year taxpayers — see instructions.
•	If your estimated tax needs to be amended, use the Amended Computation Schedule.

FORM 1040N-ES

2018

Consider paying electronically. Otherwise, mail this voucher and your check or money order to:
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98911, Lincoln, NE 68509-8911. 8-014-2017

Name that will be Shown First on your Income Tax Return	 Last Name

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name and Initial	 Last Name

Current Mailing Address (Number and Street or PO Box)

City	 State	 Zip Code

Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax
Payment Voucher

4 This installment is due on or before
January 15, 2019.

Important: Social Security numbers must be entered below.
	 First Social Security Number on your Income Tax Return

	Spouse’s Social Security Number

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/electron/est_IIT_e-pay.html



