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Options for E-Filing Your Return

You have filing options other than using the paper Forms 1040N and 1040NS provided in this booklet. E-file, (electronic tax
return filing through a computer), makes tax filing easier, faster, and more secure. When you e-file your federal return, you have the
option of also e-filing your Nebraska return at the same time, depending on what software you use. Some e-file options involve fees.
Fees vary, and are based on whether your return is prepared by a professional, and on which option you use. Options include:
< Preparer e-file: See your local tax preparer or other electronic tax filing service displaying the e-file logo for more
information. Be sure to ask if they file Nebraska returns electronically.
<« Commercially offered Internet e-file: You can access commercial tax preparation software from the department’s Web site.
Some software offers a discount or free filing based on various criteria. Visit our Web site for more details.
<« Commercial home computer software: You can purchase commercial tax preparation software over the Internet, by direct
mail, or at retail outlets. Be sure the software you purchase or use supports the Nebraska return.
< State provided Internet e-file: The department’s NebFile system provides FREE e-file on the department’s Web site. Some
eligibility restrictions apply. See our Web site for more information and access to NebFile.

FREE AND DISCOUNTED E-FILING OPTIONS

If you have use of a personal computer with Internet access, you may qualify for free e-file. Options

include:

NebFile — If you filed a Nebraska return last year and are filing a resident return this year, you may
qualify to file using the department’s NebFile system.

Commercial Software — Some commercial software companies offer discounted e-filing for
individuals with certain income levels or who meet other qualifications. This option may require you
to file both your federal and state returns at the same time. See our Web site for details.

If you do not have use of a personal computer, you may be able to access the Internet at your public
library or school. For details and to connect to e-filing software, visit our Web site at:

www.revenue.state.ne.us

The Privacy Act of 1974 says that when we ask you for your social security number we must first tell you our legal right to ask for this information, why we are
asking for it, and how it will be used. We must also tell you what would happen if we do not receive it and whether your response is voluntary, required to obtain a
benefit, or mandatory under the law. Our legal right to ask for the information is Nebraska Revised Statutes section 77-27,119. That law says that you must include
your social security number with your return. Your response is mandatory under this section. We need the social security number so that we can identify you and

process your return and other documents.
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Before you begin, note the following:

0 NEW FOR 2003:
m The personal exemption credit is increased to $99 for
each federal exemption.

® The maximum standard deduction for most married-
joint filers is $7,950 for 2003.

m Social security numbers are no longer printed on the
label. You must enter your social security number(s)
on the form where indicated.

m Eight-five percent of any federal bonus depreciation
and 100% of any expensed Section 179 amount in
excess of $25,000 received in 2003 are adjustments
increasing federal AGI. See pages 12 and 13 of this
booklet.

m  As areminder, Nebraska law continues to require that
you enter your high school district code on your tax
form. Enter the high school district code from the codes
on pages 17-20 of the booklet.

m MAILING LABELS are provided for your use. Affix
the appropriate label (depending on whether or not you
are requesting a refund) to the front of the enclosed

envelope before mailing.

Most Nebraska filers have the option to
file their 2003 Individual Income Tax
Return electronically either through a
qualified tax professional, or using
home-based filing software. See inside
cover and page 5 of this booklet or visit the department’s Web
site at www.revenue.state.ne.us for more information.
IF YOU FILED FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ OR USED
THE IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM, be sure to review
Form 1040NS and the instructions on the back of the form to
see if you can file that short form. It follows page 14 in this
booklet.

REFUND INFORMATION. If you calculate a refund on your
income tax return you can check on the status of the refund by
calling the department’s refund inquiry number or checking our
Web site (www.revenue.state.ne.us). Please wait at least two
months (or longer if you filed close to April 15) before calling
1-800-742-7474 (toll free in Nebraska and lowa) or
1-402-471-5729. Be sure to have a copy of your 2003 tax return
available because you will be asked your primary social security
number and anticipated refund amount.

DIRECT DEPOSIT. You can have your refund directly
deposited into your bank account when you file using the
enclosed Forms 1040NS or 1040N, or through one of the
department’s e-file programs. Direct deposit offers conve-
nience and security, but does not necessarily guarantee faster
refunds unless you select direct deposit in conjunction with
e-file, where your refund will be deposited into your account
within 7 to 10 days for an error-free return.

PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA is required for
all taxpayers with a permanent place of abode or a domicile in
Nebraska on December 31, 2003. If you reside outside Nebraska
but are still domiciled in Nebraska, this information is still
required. The processing of your return and any refund may
be delayed without this information. If you are a nonresident
or a partial-year resident who does not reside in Nebraska on
December 31, 2003, do not make any entry for the high school
district code.

Enter the seven-digit high school identification code from the
shaded column of public high school districts on pages 17
through 20 of this booklet. If you reside in an elementary-only
school district, you must report the high school district you are
affiliated or joined with. Do not use any school identification
code not included in the list. If you are unsure of the district
where you reside, you may get the information from a property
tax statement or by contacting the county assessor or county
election officials. If you have property in more than one high
school district, be sure to enter the high school identification
code of the school district where your home is located.

NEBRASKA
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[J COMPLETE YOUR FEDERAL RETURN OR TELEFILE

TAX RECORD before starting your Nebraska return so you
will have the federal information needed to figure Nebraska
tax. If you do not have to complete a federal return to report a
federal liability, you may still have to file a Nebraska return to
claim a state withholding credit, or because you have $5,000 or
more of adjustments increasing income, such as non-Nebraska
state and local bond interest that must be reported to Nebraska.
In either situation, complete your Nebraska return with the
same information you would have had to use if you did file a
federal return. See more information under line 5 instructions
on page 6 in this booklet.

THE NAME AND ADDRESS LABEL can be found attached
to the return envelope in the center of this booklet. It has been
provided for your convenience and allows your return to be
handled more efficiently. If any label information is in error,
make the correction on the label and place the label over the
name and address area of the return. Social security numbers
are no longer printed on the label. You must enter your
social security number(s) on the form where indicated.

If you have someone else prepare your return, take your
label to the preparer to be placed on the return. If you did
not receive a name and address label, type or clearly print your
name, current address, and social security number in the space
provided. Include your spouse’s name and social security number
if filing a joint return.

DUE DATE. Your Nebraska income tax return for calendar
year 2003 must be postmarked by April 15, 2004. Mail your
return to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, using the mailing
labels provided in this booklet. Use P.O. Box 98912 for refund
returns, and P.O. Box 98934 if you are not requesting a
refund.

TAX ASSISTANCE — See the back cover.

ADDITIONAL FORMS AND SCHEDULES are available at
banks, some public libraries, most federal buildings, including
U.S. Post Offices, the Nebraska Department of Revenue, 301
Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska, and the regional
offices shown on the back cover. Forms are also available on
the department’s Web site at www.revenue.state.ne.us.

CONFIDENTIAL TAX INFORMATION will be given only
by return telephone call after the caller’s identity has been
confirmed. A taxpayer’s representative requesting confidential
information must have a power of attorney on file with the
department before any information will be released. A signed
income tax return that is also signed by the preparer is
considered to be a limited power of attorney authorizing the
department to release only the information contained on that
return to the preparer.

FARMERS OR RANCHERS deriving at least two-thirds of
their yearly gross income from farming or ranching are to
check the box below the social security number block. This
allows the return to be properly processed.

ROUND TO WHOLE DOLLARS the amounts on your return
and schedules. Round any amount from 50 cents through 99
cents to the next higher dollar. Round any amount less than 50
cents to the next lower dollar.

SIGN AND DATE YOUR TAX RETURN. An unsigned
return cannot be processed. If you e-file your return, you must
either provide your PIN or sign a Form 8453N. Both husband
and wife must sign their joint return. If another person signs
this return for the taxpayer, a copy of a power of attorney or
court order authorizing the person to sign the return must be on
file with this department or be attached to the return. Include
your daytime phone number in the space provided in case the
department needs to contact you about your account.

Any person who is paid for preparing a taxpayer’s return must
also sign the return as preparer. If the return is prepared by a
firm or corporation, the return should also be signed in the
name of the firm or corporation.



Who Must File

You must file a Form 1040N or 1040NS if you are required to file a federal return or use the Federal TeleFile Program and
report a federal liability. You must also file if you have $5,000 or more of Nebraska adjustments to federal adjusted gross
income, including non-Nebraska state and local bond interest income exempt from federal tax.

Residents

FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS are subject to tax on their entire
federal adjusted gross income, even if some of it may have been
earned for services performed outside Nebraska. A creditis allowed
for tax properly paid to another state. Credit for Tax Paid to Another
State, Nebraska Schedule 11, must be completed and attached to the
Form 1040N with a copy of the other state’s return, including all
schedules, to receive the credit.

A resident individual is a person who is domiciled in Nebraska
or who has maintained a permanent place of abode and spent over
six months in Nebraska.

Permanent place of abode meansadwelling place permanently
maintained by the taxpayer, whether or not it is owned. It does not
include a vacation camp, cottage, or dwelling place kept only for a
temporary purpose.

EXAMPLE: John and Eileen own a drive-in restaurant
in Grand Island, Nebraska. They operate the restaurant
from April through October each year. They also own a
house in Grand Island and live there during the seven
months the restaurant is open. During the months the
restaurant is closed, John and Eileen return to their home
in Texas. They consider Texas to be their domicile

because they own a home there, they register to vote in
Texas, and they hold Texas driver’s licenses. Even though
John and Eileen do not consider Nebraska to be their
domicile, they are full-year Nebraska residents for
Nebraska income tax purposes since they maintain a
permanent place of abode and spend more than six
months in Nebraska.

Domicile is the place an individual considers his or her permanent
home, the place to which he or she intends to return after a period
of absence. A domicile, once established, continues until a new,
fixed, and permanent home is acquired. No change in domicile
results from moving to a new location if the individual’s intention
is to remain only for a limited time, even if it is several years. A
person declaring a change in residence must show an intention to
assume anew domicile while physically present in the new location
for other than a temporary purpose.

EXAMPLE: Don and Deb own a home in Gothenburg,

Nebraska. They also rent a townhouse in Richmond,

Virginia. Every year from May 1 to September 1, they go

to Virginia and stay in the townhouse while Deb teaches

at a local university. Don and Deb are full-year residents

of Nebraska for income tax purposes because the yearly

trips to Virginia are only temporary. Their domicile isin

Nebraska.

Nonresidents

The calculation of tax for nonresidents and partial-year residents is
not a matter of simply determining Nebraska source income and
calculating tax based on that income. Nonresidents and partial-year
residents must calculate a tax based on all income, and then
determine actual tax liability based on the percentage of Nebraska
source income to all income.

NONRESIDENT INDIVIDUALS who have income derived from
or connected with Nebraska sources must file Form 1040N. They
cannot file Form 1040NS.

A nonresident individual is a person who is domiciled for the
entire year in a state other than Nebraska, and does not reside in
Nebraska for over six months during the year. Nonresident
individuals are subject to Nebraska income tax on all income
included in federal grossincome which is obtained from or connected
with Nebraska sources. This includes wages, salaries, and other
compensation earned in Nebraska. It includes the distributive share
of income and deductions from partnerships, limited liability
companies, S corporations, estates, and trusts. Only deductions
which are related to income received from Nebraska sources are
allowed. Credit for personal exemption is claimed by
nonresidents on line 65, Schedule Ill, and not on line 19,
Form 1040N. For more information, see instructions on
Computation of Nebraska Tax, Nebraska Schedule 111, on page 15.

Items of income, gain, loss, and deduction related to sources in this
state include items directly associated with:

1. The ownership or sale of any interest in real or tangible
personal property in Nebraska.

2. Abusiness, trade, profession, or occupation carried on in
this state.

3. The income from intangible personal property. This
includes annuities, dividends, interest, and gains from the
sale of intangible personal property to the extent that such
income is from property used in a business, trade,
profession, or occupation carried on in Nebraska.

4. Capital gains or losses and net operating losses, determined
solely with respect to income, gains, losses, and deductions
obtained or connected with sources in this state.

5. The income from fiduciary services performed for a
resident estate or trust.

6. Amounts paidtoacorporation controlled by anonresident
for personal services performed by the nonresident.

Nonresident partners, shareholders, or beneficiaries, whose only
connection with this state is the conduct of the business activities of a
partnership, limited liability company, S corporation, or trust, are not
required to file a Nebraska income tax return if the organization has
properly withheld and remitted tax from the nonresident’s share of the
organization’s income. All of the withholding will be retained by the
state in satisfaction of the liability. Any nonresident who files an
agreement on Form 12N to avoid withholding must file Form 1040N.

Partial-Year Residents

PARTIAL-YEAR RESIDENTS OF NEBRASKA who have
income derived from or connected with Nebraska sources must file
Form 1040N. They cannot file Form 1040NS.

A partial-year resident is an individual who either establishes or
ends his or her domicile in Nebraska during the tax year or resides in
Nebraska for more than six months during the year. Partial-year
residents are subject to Nebraska income tax on income included in
federal grossincome whichisderived from or connected with Nebraska

sources while either a resident or nonresident of Nebraska. A partial-
year resident will make those adjustments which relate to income
subject to Nebraska tax. A partial-year resident may claim a Nebraska
credit for the elderly or disabled and a Nebraska nonrefundable credit
forchild and dependent care expenses on line 64, Nebraska Schedule 111,
orarefundable child and dependent care credit on line 31, (see page 9).
The credit for personal exemption is claimed on line 65. Do not
claimthiscreditonline 19, Form 1040N. For more information, refer
to Schedule 11 instructions on page 15.



Important Information for All Taxpayers

PROCESSING OF YOUR RETURN MAY BE DELAYED
WITHOUT THE PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT CODE.
Under the law, resident taxpayers must enter their high school
district code on their returns. Without this information, the processing
of your return and any refund may be delayed. See pages 17 through
20 for instructions and a list of high school districts.

FEDERAL FORMS W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, and 1099-MISC,
Nebraska copy, must be sent to you by your employer or payor by
February 15. If you have not received the form by that date, you
should immediately contact your employer or payor. Request that
the form beissuedtoyou. Ifthe Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-
MISC is incorrect, obtain a corrected form from the employer or
payor. Such statements should be clearly marked “Corrected by
Employer/Payor.” If a wage and tax statement is lost or destroyed,
request a substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer.”
THE BALANCE OF THE TAX DUE must be paid in full with
your return. Make your check or money order payable to the
Nebraska Department of Revenue and type or print your social
security number and the tax year on the face of your payment. See
page 5 for details about electronic funds withdrawal and credit card
payment options. An amount due of less than $2.00 need not be paid
unless the amount is for penalty or interest. Any overpayment of
$2.00 or more will be refunded. Any overpayment must be reported
within three years of the original due date or extended filing date, or
the overpayment will be denied.

CONSUMER’S USE TAX is imposed on the storage, use, or
consumption of any tangible personal property purchased by the
final consumer when the proper sales tax has not been paid, such as
with deliveries into Nebraska from an out-of-state or mail order
seller. Individual consumer’s use tax is to be reported on Nebraska
and Local Individual Consumer’s Use Tax Return, Form 3. Contact
the Nebraska Department of Revenue or check our Web site for a
copy of Form 3.

CHANGES IN YOUR FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURN
OR IN A RETURN FILED WITH ANOTHER STATE made by
an IRS Processing Center, district office, or by the other state must
be reported to the department within 90 days of the change.
Report these changes by filing an Amended Nebraska Individual
Income Tax Return, Form 1040XN, for the tax year involved.
When requesting forms, please specify the tax year being amended.
File any amended return separately from any other return. Include
payment for any additional tax. Any taxpayer, upon request by the
department, must furnish a copy of his or her Federal Form 1040
and supporting schedules.

FORM 1040XN 2003 is used to amend the 2003 Nebraska
individual income tax return, Forms 1040N, 1040NS, or Nebraska
TeleFile. For years prior to 2003, contact the taxpayer assistance
offices listed on the back of this booklet for the correct form. An
amended return must be filed if information on a Nebraska income
tax return previously filed is not correct.

PENALTY AND INTEREST may be imposed under the following
conditions:

1. Failure to file a Nebraska income tax return;

2. Failuretofileareturnand pay the tax due on or before the
due date;

3. Failure to file an amended Nebraska income tax return to
report changes made to your federal income tax return;

4. Preparing or filing a fraudulent income tax return; or
5. Understatement of income on an income tax return.

The amounts reported on your Nebraska return, even if taken from
your federal return, will not relieve you from the penalty for an
inaccurate return or for filing a false or fraudulent return. Any
unpaid tax is subject to interest at the statutory rate from the
original due date to the date the tax is paid.
A NEBRASKA EXTENSION OF TIME to file Forms 1040N or
1040NS may only be obtained by:
1. Attaching an approved copy of Application for
Additional Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual
Income Tax Return, Federal Form 2688, to the Nebraska
return when filed,
2. Attaching a copy of a timely filed Application for
Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual
Income Tax Return, Federal Form 4868, to the Nebraska
return when filed;

3. Attachingaschedule to your Nebraska return listing your
federal confirmation number and providing anexplanation
that you received an automatic federal extension by
making a payment of your federal estimate of tax due
using a credit card;

4. Filing a Nebraska Application for Extension of Time,
Form 2688N, on or before the due date of the return, when
you need to make a tentative Nebraska payment or a
federal extension is not being requested;

5. Attaching a copy of the statement or letter submitted with
your federal return requesting the automatic extension of
time for a U.S. citizen residing outside the U.S. or Puerto
Rico, to the Nebraska return when filed; or

6. Attachinginformationtodocumentacombatzone-related
extension.

Failure to attach the applicable extension document will result in a
late filing penalty. When an extension of time is given, interest is
still due on any unpaid tax. An extension of time cannot exceed a
total of seven months after the due date of the return.

You can make a tentative payment to stop interest from accruing. If
such payment is made, Nebraska Application for Extension of
Time, Form 2688N, must also be filed. When filing your Nebraska
Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N, claim the tentative
payment on line 29, Form 1040N, as an estimated tax payment.

Additional Information for Certain Taxpayers

IF YOU FILED FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ OR USED THE
IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM, carefully review lines 4, 5, and 8,
Form 1040NS instructions, or lines 4, 6, and 19, Form 1040N
instructions. These instructions will tell you how to compute the
number of personal exemptions you can claim on your Nebraska
return.

IF YOU HAVE THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
CALCULATE YOUR FEDERAL INCOME TAX, you may
request that the Nebraska Department of Revenue calculate your
Nebraska income tax. Your Form 1040N or Form 1040NS must be
filed by April 1 to allow time to calculate and bill you for any tax
due. Interest will be assessed on any amount not paid by
April 15, 2004.

Follow these instructions:

Form 1040NS

1. Complete the top portion of Form 1040NS through
line 5, personal exemptions (be sure to complete your
Public High School District Code).

2. Enteryourwithholdingamount on line 10 and attach state
copy of Forms W-2 from all employers.

3. Completelines 17a, 17b, and 17c¢ if you want your refund
deposited directly into your bank account.

4. Sign and date your return. If married, both husband and
wife must sign.

Form 1040N
1. Be sure to complete your Public High School District
Code.



2. Complete the parts of your return through line 13 that
apply to you. The line-by-line instructions that start on
page 6 explain how to complete your return.

3. Readtheinstructionsforlines 19 through 25, and lines 28
through 32, filling in the lines that apply to you. Please be
sureto complete line 28 for Nebraska income tax withheld
and attach withholding statements, W-2, W-2G, 1099-R,
or 1099-MISC, from all employers or payors.

4. Complete any forms or schedules asked for on the lines
you completed. Attach them when you file the return.

5. Ifyouare claiming credit for taxes paid to another state,
attach a complete copy of the income tax return,
including all schedules, for each state for which credit is
claimed. If tax was paid but no return filed for a
subdivision of the other state, attach a W-2 statement
supporting the tax paid.

6. Complete lines 42 through 46, Schedule I, if you have
adjustments increasing Nebraska income such as interest
income from state and local obligations or bonus
depreciation add-back.

7. Complete lines 47 through 53, Schedule I, if you have
U.S. bond interest or other adjustments decreasing
Nebraska income. This includes any Tier | or 1l benefits
paid by the Railroad Retirement Board included in federal
adjusted gross income.

8. Credit for child and dependent care expenses. If you
qualify to take this federal credit, and you are a full-year
or partial-year resident, see lines 25 and 31 instructions
on pages 8 and 9 of this booklet.

9. Credit for the elderly or the disabled. If you qualify to
take this federal credit, and you are a full-year or partial-
year resident, attach a copy of Federal Schedule R, Form
1040, or Federal Schedule 3, Form 1040A. If you want
the department to calculate your state credit, supply the
same information as required by the IRS when you ask
them to calculate the federal credit. Refer to line 21
instructions on page 8 of this booklet.

10. Complete line 41 if you want your refund deposited
directly into your bank account.

11. Sign and date your return. Both husband and wife
must sign if a joint return is being filed.

ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS must be filed if your Nebraska
income tax can reasonably be expected to exceed allowable
credits by $300 or more. Allowable credits forincome tax include,
but are not limited to, those listed on lines 19 through 25 of Form
1040N. Lines 28 through 32 of Form 1040N may also be used to
offset income tax owed.

Payments of estimated tax ordinarily must be made in four equal
installments on or before April 15, June 15, September 15, and
January 15. Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment
Voucher, Form 1040N-ES, is to be used to report this tax.
PENALTY FORUNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX. If
line 27 exceeds your total payments on line 33 by $300 or more and
this difference is more than ten percent of your line 27 amount, you
may owe a penalty. If you have underpaid your estimated tax for any
period, obtain Form 2210N, Individual Underpayment of Estimated
Tax, from the department to calculate any possible penalty. Enter
any penalty in the space provided on line 34, include itin the line 34
total, and attach Form 2210N to your Form 1040N.

You do not owe Form 2210N penalty if you had no income tax
liability for 2002, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for all of 2002,
and your 2002 return was for 12 full months. Also, if the total of
Nebraska tax withheld, line 28, and your estimated payments, line
29, isat least as much as your 2002 income tax liability, you will not
owe a penalty. See Form 2210N for special instructions.

ESTIMATING YOUR 2004 INCOME TAX. If you need to
estimate 2004 taxes, contact the departmentand request an estimated

tax booklet. If you made estimated payments in 2003, a booklet will
automatically be mailed to you.

MILITARY SERVICE PAY is subject to income tax only by the
state where the service member is a legal resident. The place of legal
residence at the time of entry into the service is presumed to be the
state of legal residence. Itremains so until legal residence in another
state is established. The Nebraska income tax is imposed on all the
federal adjusted gross income of a resident who is a member of the
armed forces, regardless of where the income is received.

Be sure to check the box for active military on Forms 1040N or
1040NS, if you or your spouse are in the active military.
Military pay received by a nonresident service member stationed in
Nebraska is not subject to Nebraska income tax. Other income
derived from Nebraska sources by a service member, such as
income earned from a separate job not connected with the member’s
military service, is subject to Nebraska income tax.

A service member’s spouse living in Nebraska more than six
months is a resident. If the nonresident service member and the
spouse who has become a resident file a joint Nebraska return, the
service member has elected to have the service pay taxed by
Nebraska. More information is contained in the Form 1040N
instructions for line 1 on page 6 and in the Nebraska Department of
Revenue’s information guide titled, “Nebraska Income Tax for
Military Service Members.” Visit our Web site or contact the
department, or any of the regional offices listed on the back cover
of this booklet, for copies.

DEATH OF TAXPAYER. If a taxpayer died before filing a return
for 2003, the taxpayer’s spouse or personal representative may have
to file and sign a return for that taxpayer. A personal representative
can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge of the
deceased taxpayer’s property. If the taxpayer did not have to file a
return but had tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund.
The person who files the return must write “DECEASED” across
the top of the return. The taxpayer’s name and the date of death are
to be noted in the filing status area of the return.

If your spouse died in 2003 and you did not remarry in 2003, you
may file ajointreturn. You may also file ajoint return if your spouse
died in 2004 before filing a 2003 return. A joint return should show
your spouse’s 2003 income before death and your income for all of
2003. Write “filing as surviving spouse” in the area where you sign
the return. If someone else is the personal representative, he or she
must also sign.

CLAIMING A REFUND FOR A DECEASED TAXPAYER. If
you are a surviving spouse filing a joint return with the deceased,
file only the tax return to claim the refund. If you are a court-
appointed representative, file the return and attach a copy of the
certificate that shows your appointment. All other filers requesting
a deceased taxpayer’s refund must file the return and attach
Form 1310N and proof of death.

FISCAL YEAR RETURNS. The taxable year used for Nebraska
must be the same as the year used for federal income tax purposes.
For fiscal years beginning after January 1,2003, the 2003 Nebraska
Tax Table and Additional Tax Rate Schedule, and Personal
Exemption Credit Table are to be used without adjustment.

The due date for a fiscal year return is the 15th day of the fourth
month of the following taxable year. If the due date falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file your return the
first business day after the 15th day of the fourth month.

Refer to page 9, line 28 instructions for information on claiming
withholding credit by a fiscal year taxpayer with a calendar year
Federal Form W-2.

A FARMER OR RANCHER who files the 2003 Form 1040N and
pays the Nebraska income tax due on or before March 1, 2004, is not
required to make estimated tax payments during 2003; otherwise, the
entire amount of estimated tax must be paid by January 15, 2004.



General Instructions for Electronic Filers

v IFYOU E-FILE THROUGH A PAID TAX PREPARER, be
sure that the preparer can e-file both federal and Nebraska
returns.

v YOU CAN E-FILE USING COMMERCIALLY DEVEL-
OPED SOFTWARE, OR YOU MAY QUALIFY FOR THE
STATE-OFFERED NEBFILE PROGRAM. NebFile allows
state-only filing over the Internet. Since this software is
provided by the state, it is free to use. Some eligibility
restrictions apply. Visit our Internet home page for more
information.

v COMMERCIAL SOFTWARE FOR FILING THROUGH
THE INTERNET OR FROM YOUR HOME COMPUTER
can be purchased at retail outlets, downloaded from the
Internet, accessed through the software company’s Web site, or
linked to from the department’s Web site. Be sure that the
software you are purchasing or accessing supports Nebraska
income tax e-file. All approved software that supports
Nebraska e-file is listed on our Web site. This software, along
with the department’s NebFile system, can be accessed at
WWW.revenue.state.ne.us.

v IF YOU E-FILE THROUGH THE NEBFILE PROGRAM
OVER THE INTERNET, you must provide your 5 digit
Personal Identification Number (PIN), to access this system.
You will be provided instructions on how to get your PIN when
accessing the NebFile system. This number can only be used by
you, and can be used only with this year’s filing. Your PIN,
with your Social Security Number, serves as your access key,

and must be kept confidential. If you are a first time filer in
Nebraska, you will not have a PIN. In this case, you cannot use
NebFile.

v SOME E-FILE OPTIONS REQUIRE YOU TO FILE
YOUR FEDERAL AND STATE RETURNS AT THE
SAME TIME, WHILE OTHERS ALLOW STATE-ONLY
FILING. See our Web site for specific details about these
options.

v REFUNDS CAN BE DIRECT DEPOSITED. If you are due
a refund and have e-filed, you can have your refund directly
deposited into your bank account. Your refund will be
processed within days rather than weeks. Direct deposit is an
additional, optional convenience for you, if you so choose.

v PAYMENTS CAN BE MADE USING ELECTRONIC
FUNDS WITHDRAWAL OR BY CREDIT CARD. If you
choose to e-file, and you have a balance due, you can have the
amount you owe automatically debited from your bank
account. Using electronic funds withdrawal with e-file makes
your filing with the department completely paperless. E-filers
and paper filers both can use the credit card payment option.
See additional instructions below.

v/ SOME FORM 1040N LINES ARE PROHIBITED IN E-
FILE. Although 1040N Lines 22, 23, 24, and 32 and Schedule
I Line 50 cannot be e-filed, over 98% of Nebraska returns are
eligible.

v IF YOU E-FILE YOUR RETURN, do not mail your tax
return to the department.

Additional Instructions on Electronic Payment Options

CREDIT CARD is an option for making either final or estimated
tax payments. Payments are originated through Official Payments
Corporation (OPC), which also provides this service to the IRS for
federal payments. This option is available for both electronic
filers and for paper filers. Eligible credit cards include VISA
and MasterCard. A convenience fee of 2.5% of the tax
payment ($1 minimum) is charged to the card you use. This fee
is paid to OPC and will appear on your credit card statement
separately from the tax payment. You will be told what the fee is
during the transaction, and you have the option of cancelling it.
Secure credit card payments can be initiated over the Internet at
www.officialpayments.com or via telephone at 1-800-2PAY-TAX.
If you initiate your credit card payment by telephone, you will
need to provide the Nebraska Jurisdiction Code, which is 3700.
Follow instructions when asked to provide further information. At
the completion of your transaction, you will be given a
confirmation number for your records. (This confirmation number
is different than any other confirmation number received for e-
filing your return). Your transaction must be made on or before the
due date to avoid penalty and interest.

ELECTRONIC FUNDS WITHDRAWAL (EFW) is a payment
option for remitting your balance due that is available only with
the Federal/State e-file program, and is only for final payments,
(not for making estimated payments). To make your tax payment
by EFW, you will be asked to provide information about your
financial institution, the amount you want to pay, and the date you
want the payment made. The information you will need to provide
includes:

1. Routing Number identifies your financial institution. If a
checking account, the Routing Number along with the Account
Number, is found at the bottom of the checks used with the
account. The Routing Number is listed first and must be 9-
digits. If you are unsure about what number to use, contact your
financial institution.

2. Account Number identifies your account at your financial
institution. If a checking account, it is listed on your checks to
the right of the Routing Number, and can be up to seventeen
(17) characters. If you are unsure about what number to use,
contact your financial institution.

3. Type of Account identifies whether your account is a
checking account or a savings account.

4. Debit Date is the date you request to have your funds
withdrawn from your financial institution. This can be any date
from the date the return is filed up to the due date. Penalty and
interest will be assessed for late payments, so allow adequate
time to have your payment debited. If you request an EFW and
the requested debit date has already passed, your account will
be debited on the next business day following receipt of your
return by the department. Accounts will not be debited prior to
the date you request.

5. Debit Amount is the amount that will be withdrawn from
your financial institution and applied as payment towards your
tax liability, including any applicable underpayment of
estimated tax penalty. Your Debit Amount can be less than the
amount you owe; however, if less, you will be billed for the
difference, and if it is paid after the due date, penalty and
interest will be applied.

If any portion of this information is missing or inaccurate, it
will be automatically canceled, and a notice will be mailed to
you with an explanation. If you electronically file through a tax
preparer, you will be asked to complete a Nebraska Form 8453N.
This form authorizes your preparer to request an EFW on your
behalf, and specifies the Routing Number, Account Number, Type
of Account, Debit Date and Debit Amount. Carefully review this
form with your preparer for accuracy and completeness before
signing it. If your federal return has been rejected by the IRS, you
may need to adjust your Debit Date to a later date to allow
additional time to complete the transaction.

You may cancel your EFW any time up to two (2) days prior to
the Debit Date. To cancel, call the department’s Taxpayer
Assistance at 1-800-742-7474 (toll free in Nebraska and lowa) or
1-402-471-5729.

If the amount you owe is $300 or more, review the “Penalty for
Underpayment of Estimated Tax” on page 4 to determine if
you need to file Form 2210N. A tax due amount of less than $2
need not be paid.



Form 1040N Line Instructions
(for Form 1040NS instructions, see back of Form 1040NS)

LINE 1, FEDERAL FILING STATUS. Your Nebraska filing
status must be the same as your federal filing status, unless
a joint federal return was filed and the residency status of
the two spouses is different. Check the box for the filing
status actually used to calculate your Nebraska tax. Different
residencies arise when one spouse is a resident while the
other spouse is a nonresident at the same time. A couple
with different residencies may file either a joint return or
separate returns with Nebraska after filing a joint federal
return.

The separate return must be calculated as if a federal
separate return had been filed. The married filing separate
income, deductions, and exemptions must be used. The
spouse’s social security number and name must be entered
on the married filing separate line of the Nebraska separate
return.

When a joint return for Nebraska is filed, the couple with
different residencies has made an election for both to be
treated as Nebraska residents while either is a resident. As
residents, the income of both spouses is subject to Nebraska
income tax. Follow the appropriate instructions for either
full-year or partial-year residents. To change this election of
a joint return to separate returns on an amended return, see
the instructions on the amended return.

LINE 2a. Check the following if, during 2003:
Box 1. You were 65 or older.
Box 2. You were blind.
Boxes 1 and 2. You were 65 or older and blind.
Box 3. Your spouse was 65 or older.
Box 4. Your spouse was blind.
Boxes 3 and 4. Your spouse was 65 or older and blind.

LINE 2b. Check box 5 if someone (such as a parent) can
claim you or your spouse as a dependent.

LINE 3, TYPE OF RETURN BEING FILED. Resident
taxpayers check box 1. Partial-year resident taxpayers check
box 2 and enter dates of their Nebraska residency.
Nonresidents check box 3. Nonresident and partial-year
resident taxpayers must complete and attach Nebraska
Schedule 111, even if all income is earned in Nebraska. If
one spouse is a full-year resident and the other is a nonresident
or partial-year resident and they elect to file a joint return, a
resident return must be filed and Schedule I1l cannot be
used.

LINE 4, FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS, will be the same number
of exemptions claimed on your federal return unless a dif-
ferent filing status is used for Nebraska. This includes the
number of exemptions claimed on line 6d, Form 1040 or
Form 1040A. If you filed a Federal Form 1040EZ or
used the Federal TeleFile Program, and you checked the
“no” box on line 5 of the 1040EZ or line B of the TeleFile
Tax Record, enter “1” exemption if you are single, and enter
“2” if married. If you checked the “yes” box on line 5 of the
1040EZ or if you checked either “yes” box on line B of the
TeleFile Tax Record, enter “0” exemptions if you are single
and enter “0” if you are married and both spouses can be
claimed as dependents on another person’s return. Enter “1” if
you are married and only one of you can be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s return. See the instructions for

line 19, personal exemption credit, for information on
claiming the credit for each personal exemption.

If one spouse is a resident and the other is a nonresident, and
a separate Nebraska return is being filed, enter the number
of federal exemptions allowable in computing the separate
federal return for Nebraska purposes.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS

CHECK THE BOX AFTER FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS
only to show that you had no federal liability, had
adjustments increasing Nebraska income of less than
$5,000, and are not reporting a 2003 net operating
loss. If you checked this box, do not complete lines 5
through 16 and 19 through 26. Enter “0” on lines 17 and
27. Complete lines 28 through 41 as they apply. Generally,
taxpayers checking this box are those filing to receive a
refund of Nebraska income tax withholding, not to report
a state tax liability.

EXAMPLE: Bob and Vickie are married, have three
children, and have adjusted gross income for 2003 of
$23,000. Bob’s employer withheld $240 for Nebraska
income tax. Bob and Vickie filed a federal return,
subtracted their federal standard deduction ($9,500)
and five federal exemptions ($15,250), and found
they had no federal taxable income. Bob and Vickie
have no federal liability. Therefore, they have no
Nebraska liability. They will want to file a Nebraska
return to claim a refund of the income tax withheld by
Bob’s employer.

If you did not have a federal liability, but have adjustments
such as non-Nebraska tax-exempt state and local bond
interest, see the line 5 instructions which follow.

LINE 5, FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) is
the amount reported on the federal return as adjusted gross
income. Enter the amount from the following forms:

TeleFile Tax Record ................. Line |
Form 1040EZ .......cocovvveeveennnns Line 4
Form 1040A......cocovveeiieeeeeene. Line 21
Form 1040 .....ccccooveveivieiecriene, Line 34

If you were not required to file a federal return but must file
a Nebraska return to report state and local bond interest,
enter on line 5 all income which would have been included
in federal adjusted gross income.

EXAMPLE: George is retired and receives a pension
and interest from a savings account which total $5,650 in
2003. He also receives income from federally tax-exempt
state and local bonds from sources outside Nebraska,
totalling $7,950. His 2003 income for federal purposes is
$5,650. He is not required to file a federal return; however,
since his income from non-Nebraska state and local bonds
exceeds $5,000, George is required to file a Nebraska
return.

He must include the $5,650 of income on line 5 as if he
had completed a federal return. He must include the
$7,950 of non-Nebraska, tax-exempt state and local bond
interest income on line 12, Form 1040N, and lines 42 and
46 of Nebraska Schedule I. George completes the
remainder of the return as it applies.



Nonresident and partial-year resident taxpayers are
reminded to include their total federal adjusted gross
income on line 5, not merely Nebraska source income.

If you have a Nebraska net operating loss, include any
negative Federal AGI on line 5, and complete the rest of the
form. Use Form NOL to compute the loss to carry back. A net
operating loss carryback from a 2003 loss is not allowed unless
the loss has been reported on a 2003 Form 1040N.

Any taxpayers who include as income on Federal Form 1040
their children’s interest and dividends (elected on Federal
Form 8814) must include that income on line 5, Form 1040N.
LINE 6, NEBRASKA STANDARD DEDUCTION. Do not
enter the amount of your federal itemized deductions.

Ifyou are claimed as a dependent on another’s return,

O Ifsingle, enter the standard deduction from line J of the
Federal TeleFile Tax Record; line E of the worksheet
on the back of Federal Form 1040EZ; or line 5¢ of the
Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents in the
Federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A instructions.

O If married, you must complete the worksheet below to
determine the amount to enter.

If you filed —

IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM. Singles must enter the

standard deduction from line J of the Federal TeleFile Tax

Record; married couples must complete the worksheet

below to determine the amount to enter.

FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ. If you checked “no” on

Federal Form 1040EZ, line 5, enter $4,750 if single; or

enter $7,950 if married. If you checked “yes” on line 5,

see “If you are claimed as a dependent on another’s

return” above.

FEDERAL FORM 1040A or 1040. If you claimed the

federal standard deduction or you claimed itemized

deductions on line 37 of Federal Form 1040, enter the

state standard deduction for your filing status as

indicated below:

Single — $4,750

Head of household — $7,000

Married filing jointly or qualifying widow — $7,950

Married filing separately — $3,975

65 or over, and/or blind — married, add $950 to the

preceding values for each box checked on line 2a of

Form 1040N; single or head of household, add $1,150

for each box checked

0 Married and you or your spouse claimed as a dependent
on another’s return — complete following worksheet:

1. Enter amount from line 3 of the federal
standard deduction worksheet for
dependents (Form 1040 or 1040A) or from
line C (Form 1040EZ); or enter standard
deduction amount from line J of Federal
TeleFile Tax Record ........cccccvevvvveviivesiennnns 1.

2. State standard deduction for married-joint,
enter $7,950 (married-separate,
enter $3,975) ..o 2.

3. a. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2

here. If under 65 and not blind, stop

here and enter this amount on line 6,

Form 1040N. Otherwise go to line 3b 3a.
b. If age 65 or older or blind, multiply the

number of boxes checked on line 2a,

Form 1040N, by $950.00.........c.ccceueenee. 3b.
c. Add lines 3a and 3b. Enter the total

here and on line 6 of Form 1040N ....... 3c.

ooooo

HIGHER INCOME TAXPAYERS with federal adjusted gross
income in excess of $139,500 ($69,750 if married filing
separate) must complete the Nebraska Standard Deduction

Worksheet on page 11 of these instructions to determine
their allowable standard deduction.

LINE 7, FEDERAL ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS. If you
itemized deductions, enter the line 37 amount from Federal
Form 1040. If your federal adjusted gross income is more
than $139,500 ($69,750 if married filing separate), complete
the Nebraska Itemized Deduction Worksheet on page 12 to
determine your line 7 entry. If you did not itemize deductions
on your federal return, skip lines 7 through 9.

LINE 8, STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAXES. Enter your
state and local income taxes included on line 5 of Schedule
A, Federal Form 1040 (even if your itemized deductions
have been limited).

LINE 10. Enter line 6 or line 9, whichever is greater.
EXAMPLE: Ellen and Ray claim itemized deductions
of $9,800 on their federal return which included $2,000
of state income tax. After completing lines 6 through 9,
they find that when they file their Nebraska income tax
return, they will claim the state standard deduction because
it is larger than their Nebraska itemized deductions:

Line 6. Nebraska standard deduction................... $7,950
Line 7. Federal itemized deductions ..........c......... $9,800
Line 8. State and local income taxes.........cco........ $2,000
Line 9. Subtract line 8 from line 7 ...........ccoeuee. $7,800

Line 10. Line 6 or line 9, whichever is greater .... $7,950

ADJUSTMENTS TO FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS
INCOME. Adjustments to your federal adjusted gross income
are made for income that may be taxable on your federal
return, but not taxable on the Nebraska return. They are also
made for income that is taxable in Nebraska, but not at the
federal level. Attach Nebraska Schedule I to the return to
report Nebraska adjustments unless you are only reporting a
state income tax refund.

LINE 12, ADJUSTMENTS INCREASING FEDERAL AGI.
You must include all federally exempt state and local
government interest except that issued by Nebraska state
and local subdivisions. See more instructions on page 12.

LINE 13, ADJUSTMENTS DECREASING FEDERAL AGI.
If you have a state income tax refund or had interest from
U.S. obligations, you may have a deduction from federal
adjusted gross income to include on line 13. You should
read the instructions on pages 13 and 14 to see what other
adjustments are allowed.

If line 12 is -0-, and your only adjustment is a state
income tax refund, enter the amount of the refund on
line 13 and check the box below line 13. You do not need
to complete Schedule I.

LINE 14, NEBRASKA TAX TABLE INCOME. If you do not
have adjustments to federal adjusted gross income, enter the
line 11 amount on line 14. If you have adjustments, complete
Schedule I, add lines 11 and 12, and subtract any line 13
amount. Enter the result on line 14.

This is your Nebraska tax table income. This is the amount
used to determine your Nebraska income tax. Go to the
2003 Nebraska Tax Table located on pages 21 through
28 of this booklet to determine your tax liability.

LINE 15, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX is taken from the
Nebraska Tax Table on pages 21 through 28. All taxpayers
must use the Nebraska Tax Table to calculate their Nebraska
income tax liability. If federal adjusted gross income is more
than $139,500 ($69,750 if married filing separate), include the
total tax calculated on the Nebraska Tax Worksheet on



page 29 which includes the additional tax calculated using
the Nebraska Additional Tax Rate Schedule on page 29.

Nonresidents and partial-year residents will enter their tax
calculation taken from line 67, Nebraska Schedule I11.

LINE 16, NEBRASKA MINIMUM OR OTHER TAX is the
sum of (1) federal alternative minimum tax, (2) federal
tax on lump-sum distributions of qualified retirement
plans, and (3) federal tax on early distributions of qualified
retirement plans; multiplied by 29.6 percent.

Use the worksheet that follows to calculate line 16.
Nonresidents and partial-year residents use the worksheet
results while completing the calculation for line 68, Nebraska
Schedule I11.

NEBRASKA MINIMUM OR OTHER TAX WORKSHEET

1. Alternative minimum tax, from Federal Form

6251 recalculated for Nebraska using

Nebraska Revenue Ruling 22-03-1 ............... $
2. Tax on lump-sum distributions (enter federal

tax amount from Federal Form 4972) ...........
3. Tax on early distributions (enter lesser of

federal tax amount from Part |, Federal

Form 5329 or line 57 of Federal Form 1040)
4. SUBTOTAL (Add lines 1 through 3) .............

X .296

5. TOTAL (line 4 multiplied by 29.6%) .............. $

ENTER THIS TOTAL ON LINE 16, FORM 1040N

Attach a copy of your Federal Form 4972, 5329 (1040 if 5329
not required) or recalculated Form 6251 to your return.

A credit for prior year minimum tax must be calculated
according to Revenue Ruling 22-03-2, and is entered on line
20. Also check the box on line 20 to indicate you are
reporting an “AMT Credit.” Nonresidents and partial-year
residents claim this credit on line 64, Nebraska Schedule I11.

LINE 17. All taxpayers enter the total of lines 15 and 16.

If you had no tax to report on your federal return, and
adjustments increasing income on Schedule I, line 46, of
less than $5,000, enter “0” on lines 17 and 27. Complete
lines 28 through 41 of Form 1040N as they apply.

LINE 18. Enter the amount from line 17.

LINE 19, NEBRASKA PERSONAL EXEMPTION CREDIT.
Residents claim a $99 credit for each federal exemption
reported on line 4, Form 1040N. Nonresidents and partial-
year residents claim the credit on line 65 of Nebraska
Schedule I11, not on line 19.

EXAMPLE: Mr. and Mrs. Bourg, who are Nebraska
residents, have AGI of $25,000 and claim three exemp-
tionson line 4. Their personal exemption credit on line 19
is as follows: $99 x 3 = $297. They enter $297 on line 19
and include it in the line 26 total.

If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $116,000
(married-joint), $70,000 (single), $97,000 (head of
household), or $58,000 (married-separate), use the chart on
page 11 to determine the credit you are to claim.

LINE 20, CREDIT FOR TAX PAID TO ANOTHER STATE,
is calculated on line 58 of Nebraska Schedule Il. Nebraska
residents claiming credit for income tax paid to another
state or its political subdivisions, or the District of Columbia
are to complete and attach Schedule Il. Attach a complete
copy of the return, including schedules and attachments
filed with the other state, or attach a letter or statement from

the other state showing the income reported and tax paid to
support the credit claimed. A separate Schedule Il must
be completed for each state in which you paid income
tax.

Nebraska law does not allow credit for taxes paid to a
foreign country or its political subdivisions.

If the other state’s return is amended or changed by that
state, file an Amended Nebraska Individual Income Tax
Return, Form 1040XN, to report the change in the credit for
tax paid to the other state.

LINE 21, CREDIT FOR THE ELDERLY OR THE DISABLED,
is equal to the amount shown on line 30 of Federal
Form 1040A or line 46 of Form 1040. If the federal
credit has been limited by your federal tax liability, use
the lesser amount. This credit may be claimed only by
Nebraska full-year or partial-year residents. Full-year
residents should enter the amount of the federal credit on
line 21. Partial-year residents must enter “0” on line 21, and
enter the lesser of the federal credit or the total Nebraska tax
on line 64, Nebraska Schedule I11. Attach a copy of Federal
Schedule R, pages 1 and 2, or Federal Schedule 3 to your
Form 1040N.

If you had the IRS calculate your federal credit for the
elderly or disabled, attach a copy of the Schedule R or
Schedule 3 mailed with your federal return to Form 1040N,
and the department will figure this credit.

LINE 22, COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
ACT (CDAA) CREDIT, is the credit allowable for
contributions to approved projects of community betterment
organizations recognized by the Nebraska Department of
Economic Development. See the instructions on the 2003
Nebraska Community Development Assistance Act Credit
Computation, Form CDN, for more information. Form CDN
and a copy of Form 1099NTC must be attached to the
Form 1040N.

LINE 23, FORM 3800N CREDIT, is the credit allowed to
qualified businesses that expand their economic investment
or employment base in Nebraska. Request Form 3800N, or
contact the department for more information.

LINE 24, FORM 829N CREDIT, is the credit allowed to
participating employees who have had wages withheld by
an employer who has a contract that has qualified under the
Nebraska Quality Jobs Act. Employees qualifying for this
credit will receive Forms 829N and W-829 from their
employer. Complete Form 829N and enter the amount from
line 12 of Form 829N on line 24 of Form 1040N. Attach
Forms 829N and W-829.

LINE 25, NONREFUNDABLE CREDIT FOR CHILD AND
DEPENDENT CARE EXPENSES. Resident taxpayers whose
income on line 5 is more than $29,000, can claim a
nonrefundable child care credit on line 25. Partial-year
residents whose line 5 income is more than $29,000 claim
this credit on line 64, Nebraska Schedule I11, Form 1040N,
and enter “0” on line 25. If line 5 income is $29,000, or less,
both residents and partial-year residents claim the child care
credit on line 31 and enter “0” on line 25. Taxpayers who
file a joint federal return but are filing a married-separate
Nebraska return cannot claim this Nebraska credit.



Calculate the credit on line 25 or line 64 by multiplying the
amount on line 29 of Federal Form 1040A, or line 45,
Federal Form 1040, by 25% (.25).

LINE 27. Use the worksheet below to determine if you can
enter your federal liability. Do not complete if you have
adjustments increasing income of $5,000 or more
(Form 1040N, Schedule 1, line 46).

FEDERAL LIABILITY WORKSHEET
Complete the following worksheet to determine whether Nebraska
tax after nonrefundable credits is larger than your federal tax liability
and should be reduced to the federal tax liability amount.
1. Enter federal tax before credits:
a. IRS TeleFile Tax Record, line K,

COIUMN 2 e la$
b. Form 1040EZ, line 10 ......cccceevvvveecrneenns 1b
c. Form 1040A,1lin€ 28 ....cc.ccccvvevviveeiinens 1c
d. Form 1040, line 41 ............

Form 1040, line 42 .............
Form 1040, line 57 .............

Total tax—Form 1040 .....c..ccccvvvvveerneenne 1d
Total federal tax
(enter tax from 1a, 1b, 1c, or 1d) ............... 1

2. Nebraska Form 1040N, line 18 minus line 26. 2 $
Enter the smaller of lines 1 and 2 on line 27, Form 1040N,
and check federal liability box if line 1 is used.

LINE 28, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX WITHHELD. Add the
amounts shown as Nebraska income tax on the state copy of
the Federal Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC sent to
you by your employer or payor. If you had more than one
employer or payor, attach the state copy from each employer
or payor. Enter the total state withholding on line 28.

If you received Form W-829 from your employer, do not
include the amount shown as Nebraska income tax withheld
on the W-2 received from that employer. Complete
Form 829N and claim the appropriate credit on line 24. See
the line 24 instructions above.

A fiscal year taxpayer who has W-2’s issued on a calendar-
year basis must attach the 2003 W-2’s to the 2003
Form 1040N for the fiscal year beginning in 2003. If you
receive your 2004 W-2 before filing your 2003 Form 1040N,
save it to attach to your 2004 Form 1040N.

Nonresidents who had Nebraska income tax withheld from
payments for personal services provided should attach a
copy of the 1099-MISC issued to them by the payor.

Nonresidents claiming credit for Nebraska tax withheld by a
partnership, limited liability company, S corporation, estate,
or trust are to obtain from their organization a copy of the
Statement of Nebraska Income Tax Withheld for Nonresident
Individual, Form 14N. Enter the amount withheld and paid
to Nebraska on line 28, and attach the canary copy of
Form 14N to Form 1040N in the space provided for
Form W-2. A nonresident who has a tax year different from
the tax year shown on the Form 14N for his or her
organization is to attach the Form 14N with the tax year
ending during the individual’s tax year. A calendar-year
taxpayer is to attach the Form 14N for tax years ending in
2003 to the 2003 Form 1040N.

LINE 29, ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS, is the sum of the
installment payments made for 2003 plus any 2002
overpayment that you applied to your 2003 estimated tax. If
you made a tentative Nebraska income tax payment on or
before the original due date of your return to stop the
accumulation of interest, also claim this amount on line 29.

If you made estimated tax payments for tax year 2003 in a
joint status with your spouse, or if you had a carryover of

estimated credit from a married filing joint 2002
overpayment, and you are not filing a married filing joint
2003 tax return, please provide an allocation schedule
showing the proper distribution of the estimated carryover
and the estimated payments for each individual.

LINE 30, NONHIGHWAY USE MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS
CREDIT, is the credit for a portion of the Nebraska tax paid
in this program. See the instructions on Form 4136N for
information. Attach Form 4136N to Form 1040N if this
credit is claimed. For more information, contact Taxpayer’s
Assistance 1-800-742-7474 (toll free in Nebraska and lowa)
or 1-402-471-5729.

LINE 31. REFUNDABLE CHILD CARE EXPENSES CREDIT
(AGI $29,000 or less). This credit may be claimed only by
Nebraska full-year residents or partial-year residents. It
cannot be claimed if you filed a joint federal return but a
married-separate return for Nebraska. If you did not file
Schedule 2 (Form 1040A) or Federal Form 2441 (Form
1040), you must complete such form and attach it to your
Nebraska return. Refer to the following chart and enter on
line 3 of the worksheet below the applicable percentage for
your adjusted gross income (AGI) level:

AGI But AGI But

Over notover Percent Over notover Percent

$0 or less-22,000 ......... 100%  $25,000-26,000 ................. 60%
22,000-23,000 ........... 90% 26,000-27,000 ................. 50%
23,000-24,000 ........... 80% 27,000-28,000 ................. 40%
24,000-25,000 ........... 70% 28,000-29,000 ................. 30%

REFUNDABLE CHILD CARE CREDIT WORKSHEET
1. Enter line 9 amount from 2003 Schedule 2
(Form 1040A) or Federal Form 2441,
(Form 1040), (Enter the amount calculated on

line 9 prior to the federal credit limitation) ...... 1. %
2. Enter federal adjusted gross income
(line 5, FOrm 1040N) .....oovvvveriieesieesceeesieeees 2.
3. Enter percentage from chart if AGI is
$29,000 OF IESS .cvvevvereeiesieciesie e 3 %

(Note: If AGI is more than $29,000, STOP; you cannot claim
a credit on line 31; refer to line 25 instructions instead)
4. Multiply line 1 by line 3 percentage; residents,
enter result on line 31, partial-year residents,
complete lines5and 6 ........cccocceeeieeiiieeninenne 4.
5. Enter line 62 ratio from Schedule III ................. 5.
6. Multiply line 4 by line 5, enter result on line 31 6.

LINE 32. BEGINNING FARMER CREDIT, is the credit
granted to eligible claimants who receive a certificate from
the Nebraska Department of Agriculture. For further
information on this credit, contact the Department of
Agriculture at 1-402-471-6890 or 1-800-446-4071.

LINE 34, AMOUNT YOU OWE, is the amount owed to the
State of Nebraska, including the applicable underpayment of
estimated tax penalty. A tax due amount of less than $2.00
need not be paid. If the amount you owe is $300 or more,
review “Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax” on
page 5, and determine if you need to file Form 2210N.
Payment options for the amount on line 34 include:

0 CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. Attach your check or
money order payable to the Nebraska Department of

Revenue. Please type or print your social security number
on the face of your check or money order. If you file
electronically, attach your check or money order to Form
1040N-V. Checks written to the Department of Revenue
may be presented for payment electronically.



[ CREDIT CARD. You can pay your tax
due amount by credit card. Your

payment will be effective on the date
you complete the charge transaction.
See Additional Instructions On
Electronic Payment Options on
page 5.

S

VISA

O ELECTRONIC FUNDS WITHDRAWAL. Your payment
can be automatically withdrawn from your bank account

on the date you specify. This payment option is available
only if you file your tax return electronically through
the Federal/State e-file program, and if the preparer
or software you use supports this option. See
instructions on page 5.

LINE 36, 2004 ESTIMATED TAX. Enter on line 36 the
amount of overpayment you want applied to your 2004
estimated tax.

A CHECK FOR
WILDLIFE

LINE 37, NONGAME AND ENDANGERED SPECIES FUND.
You can contribute $1.00 or more of your refund to this
fund. Your contributionsare used by the Nebraska Game and
Parks Commission to protect and manage nearly 500 kinds
of nongame and endangered birds, mammals, amphibians,
fish, and reptiles. The fund will help prevent species from
becoming endangered by protecting their habitat.

If you are not entitled to a refund, you may send a contribu-
tion directly to the Nongame and Endangered Species
Conservation Fund at the following address. For more infor-
mation on the Nongame and Endangered Species Program,
contact the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, Wildlife
Division, 2200 North 33rd Street, Lincoln, NE 68503-0370,
or call 1-402-471-0641.

LINE 38, NEBRASKA CAMPAIGN FINANCE
CONTRIBUTION. You may voluntarily contribute $1.00 or
more of your refund to the Campaign Finance Limitation
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Cash Fund. The purpose of the Campaign Finance Limitation
Act is to lessen the reliance of candidates on contributions
from special interest organizations by providing contributed
funds to assist in financing election campaigns of candidates
seeking statewide offices. For more information, contact the
Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission, 11th
Floor, State Capitol, P.O. Box 95086, Lincoln, NE 68509-
5086, or call 1-402-471-2522.

v}

LINE 39, STATE FAIR IMPROVEMENT
FUND. You may contribute $1.00 or more of your
refund to help the Nebraska State Fair. Your
contribution will improve the facilities and
programs at State Fair Park, home of the 134 year-
old Nebraska State Fair. Nebraska State Fair Park
needs your help to continue the great tradition of competition,
education, entertainment, and a celebration of Nebraska.

If you are not entitled to a refund, you may send a
contribution directly to the State Fair Improvement Fund at
the following address. For more information, contact State
Fair Improvement Fund, P.O. Box 81223, Lincoln, NE
68501, or call 1-402-473-4136.

LINE 40, AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED. Enter the amount
of overpayment you want refunded to you on line 40 after
subtracting lines 36, 37, 38, and 39 from line 35. No amount
less than $2.00 will be refunded.

If a taxpayer has an existing tax liability of any kind with the
Nebraska Department of Revenue, an overpayment reflected
on this return may be applied to such liability. The department
will then notify the taxpayer.

LINE 41, DIRECT DEPOSIT. In order to have your refund
deposited directly into your checking or savings account, it
is necessary to enter the routing number and account number
found on the bottom of the checks used with the account.
The routing number is listed first and must be nine (9)
digits. The account number is listed to the right of the
routing number and can be up to seventeen (17) digits. Enter
these numbers in the boxes found on lines 41a and 41c. Also
complete line 41b, Type of Account.



Nebraska Personal Exemption Credit, Line 19, Form 1040N (Residents)
Nonresidents and partial-year residents, use to complete Schedule 111, line 65.
Use this table to determine the allowable personal exemption credit for your adjusted gross income category. Find your filing
status in the columns; then find the line corresponding to your federal adjusted gross income reported on line 5, Form 1040N.
Take the personal exemption credit amount you find and multiply by the number of federal exemptions reported on line 4, Form

1040N.

EXAMPLE: Earlene and Robert file a married-joint return. Their federal adjusted gross income is $120,850. They look
down the married filing joint column to the line where $116,000-121,000 appears. They look across and see they have a
$94 personal exemption credit. Since they have a total of three federal exemptions, they multiply $94 x 3 = $282. The $282

amount is then entered on line 19 of Form 1040N.

FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME PERSONAL
Single Married Filing Joint Married Filing Separate Head of Household EXEMPTION
Over  But not over (indu%rc,ge?ua“f &?%&idg\,"é{fr]) Over  But not over Over  But not over CREDIT
$ 0 - 70000 |$ 0 - 116,000 $ 0 - 58,000 0 - 97,000 $99
70,000 - 75,000 116,000 - 121,000 58,000 - 60,500 97,000 - 102,000 94
75,000 - 80,000 121,000 - 126,000 60,500 - 63,000 102,000 - 107,000 89
80,000 - 85,000 126,000 - 131,000 63,000 - 65,500 107,000 - 112,000 84
85,000 - 90,000 131,000 - 136,000 65,500 - 68,000 112,000 - 117,000 79
90,000 - 95,000 136,000 - 141,000 68,000 - 70,500 117,000 - 122,000 74
95,000 - 100,000 141,000 - 146,000 70,500 - 73,000 122,000 - 127,000 69
100,000 - 105,000 146,000 - 151,000 73,000 - 75,500 127,000 - 132,000 64
105,000 - 110,000 151,000 - 156,000 75,500 - 78,000 132,000 - 137,000 59
110,000 - 115,000 156,000 - 161,000 78,000 - 80,500 137,000 - 142,000 54
115,000 - 120,000 161,000 - 166,000 80,500 - 83,000 142,000 - 147,000 49
120,000 - 125,000 166,000 - 171,000 83,000 - 85,500 147,000 - 152,000 44
125,000 - 130,000 171,000 - 176,000 85,500 - 88,000 152,000 - 157,000 39
130,000 - 135,000 176,000 - 181,000 88,000 - 90,500 157,000 - 162,000 34
135,000 - 140,000 181,000 - 186,000 90,500 - 93,000 162,000 - 167,000 29
140,000 - 145,000 186,000 - 191,000 93,000 - 95,500 167,000 - 172,000 24
145,000 - 150,000 191,000 - 196,000 95,500 - 98,000 172,000 - 177,000 19
150,000 - 155,000 196,000 - 201,000 98,000 - 100,500 177,000 - 182,000 14
155,000 - 160,000 201,000 - 206,000 100,500 - 103,000 182,000 - 187,000
160,000 - 165,000 206,000 - 211,000 103,000 - 105,500 187,000 - 192,000 4
over 165,000 over 211,000 over 105,500 over 192,000 0

Nebraska Standard Deduction Worksheet — Line 6, Form 1040N

Use if federal adjusted gross income is more than $139,500 ($69,750 if married filing separate)

| STANDARD DEDUCTION WORKSHEET

1 Enter your Federal Adjusted Gross Income for 2003 (line 5, Form 1040N) ....................

2 Enter $139,500 (enter $69,750 if married filing separate) ...........ccccevvvveeiiiieeeiiiie e

3 Difference (subtract line 2 from line 1). If less than zero, STOP; you do not have a
limitation on your standard dedUCLiON. ............ooii i

4 Enter your 2003 Nebraska Standard Deduction (Single $4,750, Married-Joint $7,950,
Head of Household $7,000, Married-Separate $3,975). If you have an additional
standard deduction for being 65 or over and/or blind; married add $950 to the
preceding values for each box checked on line 2a of Form 1040N; single or head of
household, add $1,150 for each box checked ..o,

B ENIEr 1090 OF INE 3 ..oeiiiei et e e et e e e e et e e et e e e e e e st e s eaneseaneenanss

6 2003 Nebraska Standard Deduction (subtract line 5 from line 4; if zero or less,

enter -0- on this line). Enter result here and on line 6, Form 1040N. .....cceviieeiiieieiiennnes
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Nebraska Itemized Deduction Worksheet — Lines 7 and 8, Form 1040N

Use if your federal adjusted gross income is more than $139,500 ($69,750 if married filing separate)

| ITEMIZED DEDUCTION WORKSHEET |

1 Enter itemized deductions from Federal Schedule A. Include totals from lines 4, 9,

14, 18, 19, 26, QNG 27 .ttt aeeas 1
2 Add from Federal Schedule A, the amounts on lines 4,13,18,19, plus any gambling

[0SSES INCIUAE ON [INE 27 ..o 2
3 Enter state and local income taxes from line 5, Federal Schedule A (enter on line 8,

[0 0 0T 72 0 |\ ) S U P TP U PP UPUR 3
4 A INES 2 BN 3 ... 4
5 Difference (subtract line 4 from line 1). If the result is zero, STOP; enter the amount

from line 1 above on line 7, FOrmM L040N .......cuviiiiiiiiiiiieee e 5
6 Multiply IN€ 5 DY 8090 (180) ...ceeiieiiei ittt e e e e eaeeaaeas 6
7 Enter your federal adjusted gross income (line 5, FOrm 1040N) .........ccccvvvviiiiiieieeeeeeenenn. 7
8 Enter $139,500 (enter $69,750 if married filing separate) ..........ccccceviieeeiiiieeiniiee e 8
9 Difference (subtract line 8 from line 7). If the result is zero or less, STOP; enter the

amount from line 1 above on line 7, FOrm 1040N ... 9
10 MUltiply liN€ 9 BY 106 (10) ...uuiieiiiiiiieeiee ettt ettt e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e 10
11 Compare line 6 and line 10 and enter the smaller of the two amounts here .................. 11
12 Subtract INe 1L from lINE 5 ...eiiiii e 12
13 Add line 12 and line 4 (enter on line 7, Form 1040N, total itemized deductions) ............ 13

Note: If your Nebraska itemized deductions on line 9, Form 1040N, are less than the Nebraska standard deduction for
your filing status, complete the Nebraska standard deduction worksheet on page 11 to determine the larger of line 6

and line 9, Form 1040N (see instructions).

Nebraska Schedules I, Il, and Il Instructions
Nebraska Schedule |

PART A — ADJUSTMENTS
INCREASING FEDERAL AGI

LINE 42. INTEREST INCOME RECEIVED FROM
STATE AND LOCAL BONDS. You must report the
income reported on line 8b of Federal Form 1040A, or
line 8b of Federal Form 1040. List on line 42a all state and
local government interest that is federally exempt. While
this income is exempt for federal tax purposes, it is an
addition to income for Nebraska income tax purposes. This
amount can be reduced by expenses not previously deducted
which relate to the production of this income only if you
claim federal itemized deductions.

LINE 42b. List bonds issued by Nebraska state and local
government subdivisions. This includes bonds such as
Nebraska municipal water bonds, NPPD bonds, federally
exempt NIFA bonds, local city, or school district bond
obligations.

Regulated investment company. You must include on
line 42a any income from a regulated investment company
(including certain mutual funds) which invests in state and
local obligations. Any part of the fund dividend attributable
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to Nebraska source bonds may be used to reduce the total
income amount. Enter such part on line 42b.

Line 43. BONUS DEPRECIATION ADD-BACK.
Individual sole proprietors and other taxpayers must
increase federal adjusted gross income by eighty-five
percent of any amount of bonus depreciation received
under either the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation
Act of 2003 for assets placed in service after May 5, 2003
and before January 1, 2005, or the Job Creation and Worker
Assistance Act of 2002 for assets placed in service after
September 10, 2001, and before September 11, 2004
(sections 168(k) or 1400L of the Internal Revenue Code of
1986, as amended). This would include any such assets
placed in service during the 2003 tax year and claimed on
Federal Form 4562, Part Il, line 14 and Part V, line 25
and/or Federal Form 2106, Section D, line 31 (not including
any IRC section 179 deduction. See line 44 instructions that
follow).

The amount of bonus depreciation added back for Nebraska
purposes can be reclaimed in later taxable years. Twenty
percent of the total amount of bonus depreciation added
back for tax year 2003 may be subtracted in the individual’s



first taxable year beginning or deemed to begin on or after
January 1, 2006, as determined under the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986, as amended; and twenty percent in each of
the next four following taxable years. Twenty percent of
any tax year 2001 or 2002 bonus depreciation added back
may be subtracted in the first taxable year beginning on or
after January 1, 2005, and 20 percent in each of the next
four taxable years.

Nonresident individuals. A nonresident filing a
Nebraska return who operates a business in Nebraska must
also add back any bonus depreciation received for assets
acquired and placed into service in their business operations
after the periods noted above. They must report on line 43,
85 percent of the bonus depreciation received which is then
included on line 12, Adjustments Increasing Federal AGI.
They must also include the depreciation add-back on
Nebraska Schedule 111, line 59, together with their other
income derived from Nebraska sources. A nonresident with
businesses in more than one state needs to see the following
additional information for special instructions.

Nonresident individuals with activities in more than one
state must add back on line 43, 85 percent of all special
bonus depreciation claimed by the nonresident on his or her
federal tax return. The nonresident would also include a
portion of this depreciation in the numerator using the same
ratio of their income from Nebraska sources to total income
included in the line 62 computation for the business
activity. A separate calculation is required for each separate
business activity.

Line 44. ENHANCED SECTION 179 EXPENSE ADD-
BACK. Resident and nonresident individual sole propri-
etors and other taxpayers must increase federal adjusted
gross income for tax year 2003 by adding back 100 percent
of the amount of any capital investment that is expensed
under section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as
amended, that is in excess of $25,000 that is allowed under
the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003.

Twenty percent of the total amount of expense added back
by this subsection for tax years beginning or deemed to
begin on or after January 1, 2003, may be subtracted in the
first taxable year beginning or deemed to begin on or after
January 1, 2006, under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986,
as amended, and twenty percent in each of the next four
following tax years.

Nonresident individuals with activities in more than one
state are to apportion income in a manner similar to that
noted above for the Line 43 add-back.

LINE 45. OTHER ADJUSTMENTS INCREASING
FEDERAL AGI.

Federal net operating loss deduction. If you deducted
a federal net operating loss carryforward in computing your
federal AGI, you must include this amount as a positive
number on line 45, Schedule 1.

S corporation and Limited Liability Company (LLC)
non-Nebraska loss. Aloss from an S corporation or LLC
that is not from Nebraska sources increases an individual’s
adjusted gross income. The loss should be entered on line
45, Schedule 1, as a positive number.

Nebraska College Savings Plan. Include on line 45
any distribution from the Nebraska College Saving Plan
resulting from the cancellation of a participation agreement
refunded to the taxpayer to the extent previously deducted.
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This includes contributions previously claimed as exempt
on the Nebraska income tax return.

Report any other allowable adjustments increasing federal
adjusted gross income.

PART B — ADJUSTMENTS
DECREASING FEDERAL AGI

LINE 47. STATE INCOME TAX REFUND
DEDUCTION. If you received an individual income tax
refund, credit, or offset of state or local individual income
tax in 2003 that is included as taxable income on line 10
of your Federal Form 1040, you may deduct this amount
on line 47 of Nebraska Schedule 1.

If this is your only adjustment decreasing or increasing
income, do not file Schedule I. Instead, check the box on
line 13 of Form 1040N and enter the state income tax
refund on line 13.

LINE 48. U.S. GOVERNMENT OBLIGATIONS

EXEMPT FOR STATE PURPOSES. Interest or dividend

income included in federal adjusted gross income from the

following sources is deductible for Nebraska tax purposes.

If you have income from one of these obligations, include

the type of bond and the amount received from each on

line 48a of Schedule I. Attach a schedule, if necessary,

listing all the bonds for which a deduction is claimed. Note:

capital gains from the sale of U.S. obligations are not

deductible. Exempt U.S. government obligations include:
1. U.S. government bonds, such as series EE and HH

savings bonds,

U.S. Treasury bills,

U.S. government notes,

U.S. government certificates,

Commaodity Credit Corporation,

Federal Home Loan Banks,

Federal Reserve Banks,

Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation,

Tennessee Valley Authority bonds,

Interest on debentures issued to mortgagees of

mortgages foreclosed under the National Housing Act

if insured after February 3, 1938,

. Postal Service bonds,

12. Retirement bond as provided by I.R.C. section 409,

13. Farm Credit Bank Consolidated System-wide bonds,

14. Farm Credit System including the following members

unless noted elsewhere:

a. Federal Land Banks and Federal
Associations,

b. Federal Intermediate Credit Banks,

c. Federal Farm Mortgage Corporation, and

d. Any other institution chartered by and subject to
the supervision of the Farm Credit Administration
unless noted elsewhere,

General Service Administration

Certificates,

16. Federal Housing Finance Board,

17. Resolution Trust Corporation,

18. Reconstruction Finance Corporation,
Interest, but not dividend income, included in federal
adjusted gross income from the following sources is
deductible for Nebraska individual income tax purposes:

1. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (F.D.1.C.),
2. Student Loan Marketing Association,

3. Production Credit Association, or

4. Central Bank for Cooperatives.

CoONORWN

[y

Land Bank

15. Participation



Obligations which cannot be deducted for Nebraska
tax purposes. Several quasi-governmental organizations
issue bonds which are not considered to be backed by the
full faith and credit of the U.S. government or whose licensing
act did not specifically exempt them from state taxation.
These are NOT deductible for Nebraska purposes:

Federal or State Banks,

Federal or State Savings and Loan Associations,
Building and Loan Associations,

Postal Savings Accounts (discontinued in 1966),
Export Import Bank bonds,

Federal or State Credit Unions,

Interest on debentures issued to mortgagees of
mortgages foreclosed under the National Housing Act
if insured before February 3, 1938,

8. Interest on federal income tax refunds,

9. Farmers Home Administration,

NookwhpE

10. New Community debentures,

11. Merchant Marine bonds,

12. Ship Financing bonds,

13. U.S. Merchant Marine Ship notes,

14. U.S. Merchant Marine Offshore Ship Services notes,

15. Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation,

16. World Bank,

17. International Bank for Reconstruction and
Development bonds,

18. Asian Development Bank notes and bonds,

19. Inter-American Development Bank bonds,

20. Interest from U.S. Government Life Insurance (unless
exempted by I.R.C. section 101[d][1][B]),

21. Bankers’ Acceptance,

22. Certificates of Deposit,

23. Penn Central Transportation certificates,

24. Federal Financing Bank,

25. Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA’s),

26. Federal Mortgage Corporation (FMC’s)

27. Government National Mortgage Association
(GNMA’s),

28. Chrysler Corporation secured notes,

29. Lockheed convertible bonds, and

30. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

bonds.

LINE 48b. GOVERNMENT MONEY MARKET OR
MUTUAL FUNDS. Certain government money market or
mutual funds issued by regulated investment companies
claim to be obligations of the U.S. government.

Nebraska law provides that dividends from a regulated
investment company investing directly in exempt U.S.
government obligations are deductible to the extent they
represent exempt U.S. government obligations. To claim
a deduction on line 48b, the fund must issue to the holder a
statement showing the percent of the dividend which
represents exempt U.S. government obligations. If you have
received a dividend from such a fund, you must list on line
48b the name of the fund and the portion of the dividend
representing exempt U.S. government obligations.

Repurchase agreements. Interest income from
repurchase agreements involving U.S. government
obligations is not deductible as U.S. government interest,
and cannot be taken as an adjustment decreasing federal
adjusted gross income on line 48. Capital gains from the
sale of U.S. government obligations are not deductible.

LINE 49. RAILROAD RETIREMENT BOARD
PENSION PAYMENTS. List any federally taxed Tier | or
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Il retirement benefits paid by the Railroad Retirement Board
(RRB). This includes any dual vested benefits or
supplemental annuities. Also report any unemployment or
sickness insurance payments made by the RRB. Attach a
copy of Forms RRB-1099 and RRB-1099-R from the RRB.

LINE 50. SPECIAL CAPITAL GAINS DEDUCTION.
Nebraska resident individuals may elect to deduct from
their adjusted gross income the gain received from the sale
or exchange of capital stock of a “qualified” corporation
acquired either because of employment by the corporation
or while employed by the “qualified” corporation. Individuals
are entitled to one election during their lifetime for the
capital stock of one “qualified” corporation.

Special Capital Gains Election Computation, Form 4797N,
and a copy of Federal Schedule D must be attached to your
Form 1040N to report your election. The amount of the
deductible capital gain is entered on line 50.

LINE 51. NEBRASKA COLLEGE SAVINGS PLAN.
Nebraska allows a subtraction from a participant’s federal
adjusted gross income for the amount of annual
contributions made to the Nebraska College Savings Plan
administered by the State Treasurer who has contracted
with Union Bank of Lincoln. The maximum annual exempt
contribution per return is $1,000 ($500 married filing
separately). You cannot deduct contributions made to other
states’ plans on line 51.

Donations, gifts, and grants to the Nebraska
educational savings plan trust for deposit to the endowment
fund are, to the extent not deducted for federal income tax
purposes, allowed as a subtraction from the donor’s federal
adjusted gross income on Line 51. You must enclose a copy
of the letter of receipt from the State Treasurer’s office
acknowledging the gift received.

LINE 52. Enter any other allowable adjustments decreasing
federal adjusted gross income. E-filers are limited to claiming
only those deductions listed below. Allowable deductions
for paper filers may include, but are not limited to:

S corporation and Limited Liability Company non-
Nebraska income. Income from an S corporation or
limited liability company that is not from Nebraska sources
is deductible on line 52. Attach Schedule K-1 received from
the S corporation or limited liability company together with
a copy of the Nebraska apportionment factor of the S
corporation or limited liability company. Partnerships, LLP’s,
and other similar entities are not allowed a deduction for
income from another state.

Native American Indian reservation income. Native
American Indians residing on a Nebraska Native American
Indian reservation with income derived from sources within
the boundaries of the reservation may deduct such income
on line 52.

Claim of right repayment. A taxpayer who is required
on a federal return to take a credit for a claim of right
repayment may deduct the amount of the repayment on
line 52.

Nebraska net operating loss carryforward. A
Nebraska net operating loss from an earlier year which is
available for carryforward to 2003 is deducted on line 52.

Nebraska ag revenue and federally taxable NIFA
bonds. Income from bonds which are subject to federal
income tax but exempt from Nebraska tax by Nebraska law
is deducted on line 52. List the name of the bond(s).



Nebraska Schedule Il — Credit for Tax Paid to Another State

Complete this schedule if you were a Nebraska resident the
entire year and are claiming credit for income tax paid to
another state, political subdivision, or the District of
Columbia. Partial-year residents, even though having
established residency as of December 31, 2003, must use
Nebraska Schedule I11.

Prepare a separate Nebraska Schedule Il to compute the
allowable credit for each state in which you paid income tax.
The total credits cannot exceed the Nebraska tax liability,
however. If some income is subject to an income tax of both
another state and a city in that state, complete only one Nebraska
Schedule Il and combine the city and state taxes paid.

Attach a copy of the complete income tax return, including
schedules and attachments filed with the state or city for
which the credit is claimed. If the tax is not reported on an
income tax return, attach a copy of a letter or statement from
the other state or city showing the income and the tax paid.
If the returns, schedules or other documents are not
attached to Nebraska Schedule 11, the credit will not be
allowed. If you are claiming credit for income tax paid to a
state’s political subdivision not requiring the filing of an
annual income tax return, attach a Form W-2 which shows
the subdivision’s tax withheld.

LINE 55. Enter the amount shown on the return filed with
the other state as adjusted gross income, or gross income
derived from sources within that state. Do not include any
income from S corporations or LLC’s reported on line 52 or
income which is not included in federal adjusted gross
income after Nebraska adjustments from lines 12 and 13,
Form 1040N.

LINE 56. Calculate the factors to at least five decimal
places, and then round to four decimals. For example, if
your division result is .12346, round to .1235 (12.35%).

LINE 57. Enter the amount actually paid to the other state.
It is shown on the attached return of the other state after
subtracting the other state’s nonrefundable credits. The total
of the other state’s tax withheld on the wage and tax
statement is not to be claimed on this line, except for a
political subdivision of another state that does not require
the filing of an annual income tax return.

If a husband and wife file separate Nebraska returns but a
joint return in another state, attach a calculation of each
spouse’s share of the total tax paid to the other state. Use the
net income of each spouse that is taxed by the other state in
the calculation.

Nebraska Schedule 111 — Computation of Nebraska Tax

Taxpayers filing a nonresident or partial-year resident return
must complete Nebraska Schedule 111 to determine the tax on
their income derived from or connected with Nebraska sources.

Bonus Depreciation Add-back and Enhanced
Section 179 Expense Deduction. Eighty-five percent
of any bonus depreciation claimed on your federal tax return
must be included in line 59. Nonresident individual sole
proprietors and other taxpayers must also increase federal
adjusted gross income by the amount of any capital
investment that is expensed under Section 179 of the Internal
Revenue Code that is in excess of $25,000 and is allowed
under the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of
2003. If you had business activity in more than one state and
any such activity had income from Nebraska sources and
claimed federal bonus depreciation, then only a portion of
the 85 percent bonus depreciation amount and the 100 percent
enhanced Section 179 amount is included on line 59. The
portion included will be based on the same ratio that income
from Nebraska sources bears to total income for that business
activity. A separate calculation is required for each separate
business activity.

LINE 59. Enter the income derived from Nebraska sources,
or attach a schedule with the sources and amounts of income
and deductions, characterized as they were on the federal
return. Nebraska income for a partial-year resident includes
all items of Nebraska income for a nonresident plus all of the
income earned while a Nebraska resident that is not taxed by
another state. This includes dividends, interest, pension
income, the sale of intangibles, and wages earned outside
Nebraska. Also see Bonus Depreciation Add-back and
Enhanced Section 179 Expense Deduction information above.

Wages, salaries, tips, and commissions are the same
amounts included in your federal income tax return derived
from or connected with Nebraska sources. If the books and
records do not clearly reflect specific identification of each
income item, apportion the income to Nebraska based on
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either the days worked in Nebraska to the total days worked,
or the volume of business transacted. Attach an explanation.

Dividends, interest, and other passive income, such
as gains or losses from the sale of stock or securities, are
usually not considered income from Nebraska for a
nonresident unless earned in a business carried on in
Nebraska. Do not include income from U.S. obligations
listed on line 48.

Business income is the amount of net income or loss
from a business, trade, or profession in Nebraska. Activity
both within and without Nebraska, where the income is
taxable in another state, must be apportioned in the same
manner as a corporation. Business income is multiplied by
an apportionment factor to determine the amount taxable by
Nebraska.

Farming income is the amount of net income or loss from
farming operations carried on within Nebraska.

Partnership, S corporation, limited liability
company, estate or trust income is the individual’s
share of the entity’s income and deductions derived from
Nebraska.

Gain or loss is the net amount of all capital gains and
losses derived in Nebraska from the sale, exchange, or
involuntary conversion of real or personal tangible or
intangible property.

Rent and royalty income is the net amount of rent and
royalty income derived from or connected with Nebraska
sources.

Lottery prizes are derived from Nebraska sources when
awarded in a lottery game conducted pursuant to the
Nebraska Lottery Act.

A net operating loss carryforward may be deducted
only if it resulted from Nebraska sources. (Attach Form NOL)
LINE 60. Include the adjustments reported on lines 16
through 19 of Federal Form 1040A, or lines 23 through 32a



of Federal Form 1040, that apply to income from Nebraska
sources. Educator expenses and penalty on early savings
withdrawal are deductible only if directly related to Nebraska
income reported on line 59. Payments to an IRA, a self-
employed health insurance plan, or a SIMPLE or SEP plan
attributed to Nebraska income included on line 59 are
deductible only to the extent of the ratio of the payments
based on the Nebraska wages or self-employment income to
the total wages or income for which the payments were
made. Identify the adjustment(s). A Roth IRA is not
deductible on line 60. Alimony or a student loan interest
deduction may be deducted based on the ratio of line 59
income reported to total income of the taxpayer. Moving
expenses as reported on Federal Form 3903 may only be
deducted by partial-year residents who moved into Nebraska.
LINE 62. Calculate the factor to at least five decimal places
and then round to four decimals. For example, if the line 62
result is .12346, round to .1235 (12.35%) before computing
line 67. Even if lines 5 and 59 are negative numbers, the
ratio computed in line 62 cannot exceed 100 percent.

LINE 64. Enter, from the Nebraska Tax Table, the Nebraska
tax on line 63 income. Also enter any tax from the Additional

Tax Rate Schedule if your federal adjusted gross income is
more than $139,500 (see instructions).

Partial-year residents enter any Nebraska credit for the
elderly or disabled, credit for child and dependent care
expenses, or credit for prior year minimum tax. See lines 16,
21, 25, or 31 instructions in this booklet. Partial-year residents
with Federal AGI of $29,000 or less do not claim their child
care credit here. Instead, complete the line 31 worksheet on
page 9 to figure your refundable credit for these expenses.
Enter this result on line 31.

Nonresidents are not allowed a Nebraska credit for the
elderly or disabled or a credit for child and dependent care
expenses. Nonresidents enter credit for prior year minimum
tax. See line 16 instructions on page 8 of this booklet.

Do not enter credits on lines 16, 21, or 25. Line 64 cannot be
less than zero.

LINE 65. Enter your credit from the personal exemption
chart on page 11 of the instructions. Multiply the credit
listed in the chart by the number of exemptions reported on
line 4. Do not enter on line 19.

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

f Automated Woice Response System

1-402-471-2971

Income Tax
Forms Order Line

1-800-626-7899"

to order your

Tax Assistance

1-800-742-7474™

to check status of

(outside Nebraska or lowa, call 1-402-471-5729)

income tax forms.

You will be asked to state your name and a

Please state and spell your name or

= ————
Press 1 for Motor Fuels | poqc 1
q J Assistance \ /
for Taxpayer’s
Press [A%¢ 2 ASSiStaFI?IC)(; daytime telephone number, then
to order income
Press (PFF 3 Press m
tax forms
~
Press GHI 4 for Nebraska company name, then
) Lottery

If you wish to speak with someone other
than Taxpayer’s Assistance or if you are
calling from a rotary dial phone, please
hold the line and someone will be with

you.

Press

TUvV 8

Please state and spell your mailing
address, including your zip code, then

TUvV 8

s
Please state the title, form number, and the
quantity of each income tax form you are
requesting, then

TUvV 8

*This number cannot be used with a rotary phone.

|

Press

Press

2003 individual
income tax refund.

Press
press

DEF 3

s

for income tax forms
order line.

for assistance with
individual income
tax return and PIN
information.

Press [CH1 4 || for business tax.

Press

p=—————x

JKL 5

s

Press

WXY 9

for annual sales tax

Press
return.

for problems with
refund status.

Press to replay message.

**|f you are calling from a rotary dial phone, please
hold the line and someone will be with you.
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