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Section P — Oil and Gas Severance Tax and 
Oil and Gas Conservation Tax

Basic Provisions and Tax Base
The severance tax is levied at the rate of 3% of the value of non-stripper oil and natural gas severed from 
the soil of Nebraska and 2% of the value of stripper oil severed from the soil of Nebraska. The tax is paid 
by the first purchaser if  the oil or natural gas is sold in Nebraska, or by the person doing the severing if  
the oil or natural gas is sold outside Nebraska. The tax collected is identified either as coming from school 
lands or from all other lands. The entire amount is credited to the Severance Tax Fund.

The Severance Tax Administration Fund receives 1% of the gross severance tax receipts, excluding those 
receipts from tax derived from oil and natural gas severed from school lands. The balance of the Severance 
Tax Fund received from school lands is credited to the Permanent School Fund. The balance of the 
Severance Tax Fund received from other than school lands is allocated as follows:

(a)	 The Legislature may transfer an amount to be determined by the Legislature through the 
appropriations process up to $300,000 for each year to the State Energy Office Cash Fund;

(b)	 The Legislature may transfer an amount to be determined by the Legislature through the 
appropriations process up to $30,000 for each year to the Public Service Commission for 
administration of the Municipal Rate Negotiations Revolving Loan Fund; and

(c)	 The remainder is credited to the Permanent School Fund. 

In addition to the severance tax, the value of oil or gas is subject to the conservation tax. The conservation 
tax is levied and assessed in the same manner as the severance tax. The tax is imposed on the value at 
the well of all oil and gas produced, saved, and sold or transported from the premises in Nebraska. The 
producer of the oil or gas pays the tax unless the oil or gas is sold within Nebraska. If  the oil or gas is sold 
in Nebraska, then the first purchaser in Nebraska pays the tax. 

The conservation tax rate is set by the Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. Effective March 1, 2016, the 
tax rate is 1.2%. Revenue from the conservation tax is deposited in the Oil and Gas Conservation Fund.

		  Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference	 Expenditure Cost
and Description	 (NA = Not Available)

Exclusions
Section 57-702
Oil or gas used only in severing operations or for re-pressuring or recycling purposes		  NA
is excluded from the oil and gas severance tax.

Exemptions
The Nebraska Department of Revenue has received an Attorney General’s Opinion that	 $0
interests of governmental units and Native American Indian tribes are exempt from the  
severance tax.

Preferential Tax Rates
Sections 57-701(7) & (8)
Oil produced from stripper wells that have a base production level of ten or fewer barrels	 Minimal
per day is subject to a severance tax of 2% rather than 3%. 

http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=57-702
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=57-701



