Section G — Cigarette Tax

Basic Provisions and Tax Base

The Nebraska cigarette tax is a special privilege tax paid by every person engaged in distributing or selling
cigarettes at wholesale in Nebraska. Each wholesale dealer who obtains an annual Nebraska Cigarette
Wholesale Dealer’s Stamping License must pay an application fee of $500, which is placed in the State
General Fund. On packages containing 20 or fewer cigarettes, a tax of 64 cents per package is paid. On
packages containing more than 20 cigarettes, a tax of 64 cents for the first 20 cigarettes plus a tax of 1/20
of 64 cents on each cigarette in excess of 20 cigarettes is paid, in addition to all other taxes. A cigarette tax
stamp is placed on each package of cigarettes as proof of cigarette tax paid.

The distribution of Nebraska cigarette tax revenues can be found on the Department of Revenue’s website,
revenue.nebraska.gov under Research Reports. The Nebraska Tax Rate Chronologies are updated quarterly.

Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost
and Description (NA = Not Available)

Exemptions

Section 77-2607

The portion of the wholesale dealer’s stock of cigarettes which is not intended to be sold or NA
given away in Nebraska is exempt from the tax, unless the stock is not out of the dealer’s

possession within 30 days of receipt.

4 US.C. 107
Federal law prohibits state taxation of cigarettes sold to the U.S. government or any of $0
its agencies.

Deductions

Section 77-2608

The Tax Commissioner sells the cigarette tax stamps only to licensed wholesale dealers. $1,038,552
The sale of cigarette tax stamps to licensed wholesale dealers in Nebraska or outside of

Nebraska is authorized at a discount of 1.85% of the face value of the cigarette tax as a

commission for affixing and canceling the cigarette tax stamps.

Credits

Section 77-2610
Any unused or spoiled stamps are redeemed by the Tax Commissioner and a refund is $569
made in the amount of the stamps less the commission for affixing the stamps.

4 U.S.C. 109, et al.

Federal law prohibits state taxation of cigarettes sold to Native American Indians in Indian $323,227
country as defined by federal law within Nebraska. A credit is allowed by the state to licensed

cigarette wholesale dealers for the amount of tax credited by them to retailers who make (State taxation
exempt sales of cigarettes to Native American Indians. prohibited)

Source: U.S. Census

2016 Nebraska Tax Expenditure Report Section G, Page 1


http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2607
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