SECTION P

Motor Vehicle Registration and Licensing Fees

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE

Motor vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, or cabin trailers operated on Nebraska highways must be registered
and have specified fees paid as directed by the Nebraska statutes. Every snowmobile operated in
Nebraska must also be registered.

The Highway Trust Fund is credited with:

1. All registration fees collected by county treasurers, except as provided in

sections 60-3,156, 39-2215(3), and 60-3,141;

2. Seventy percent of all registration fees collected for apportioned vehicles
(section 60-3,202);
Up to $3.50 per plate fee as set by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
(section 60-3,102);
The amount of unladen weight registration fees (section 60-3,198[10]);
All film vehicle fees collected by the DMV (section 60-383);
A portion of all personalized message plate fees (section 60-3,119); and
A portion of all organizational license plate fees (section 60-3,104.01).

w

No oA

The Highway Cash Fund is credited with the amount of registration fees collected from:
Trip permits issued by carrier enforcement (section 60-3,198 [11]);

Permanent trailer plate fees for apportioned vehicles (section 60-3,203);

Grain hauling permits (section 60-3,112);

Nonresident carnival operator permits (section 60-384); and

Local trucks operating beyond their specified limits for the purpose of equipping,
modifying, or servicing the truck (section 60-3,110).

S

The DMV Cash Fund is credited with $1.50 from each registration issued, a portion of the fees collected
from the sale of personalized message plates, a portion of the fees collected from the sale of spirit
plates, and a portion of the fees collected from the sale of organizational plates. Twenty-five percent of
the net registration fees obtained from snowmobile registrations is credited to the State General Fund.
The Nebraska Snowmobile Trail Cash Fund is credited with 75% of the net registration fees obtained
from snowmobile registrations.

The International Registration Plan Distributive Fund is credited with fees obtained from owners
operating fleets of apportionable commercial motor vehicles in Nebraska for interstate commerce who,
in lieu of general registration, register and license their fleet under the prorate provision contained in
the statutes.

Effective July 1, 1996, LB1218 transferred responsibility for the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA)
program to the DMV, Division of Motor Carrier Services. Effective January 1, 1997, the Interstate Motor
Carrier (IMC) jurisdictions joined IFTA, resulting in the termination of the IMC program.

Beginning January 1, 1998, under Chapter 60, Article 30 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes, motor
vehicle fees and taxes are collected by county officials and administered by the DMV.
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Actual or

Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost
and Description (NA = Not Available)

EXEMPTIONS

Section 60-339
The following are not included in the definition of motor vehicles and are therefore
exempted from registration fees:

°*  mopeds;

e farm tractors;

* self-propelled equipment designed and used exclusively to carry and apply
fertilizer, chemicals, or related products to agricultural soil and crops;

e other implements of husbandry designed for and used primarily for tilling the
soil, harvesting crops, or feeding livestock;

* vehicles which run only on rails or tracks;

» off-road designed vehicles including, but not limited to, golf carts, go-carts,
riding lawn mowers, garden tractors, all terrain vehicles, utility-type vehicles,
snowmobiles, and mini bikes;

* road, general purpose construction, and maintenance machinery not designed
or used primarily for the transportation of persons or property including, but not
limited to, ditch digging apparatus, asphalt spreaders, bucket loaders, leveling
graders, earth moving carryalls, power shovels, earth moving equipment, and
crawler tractors;

e self-propelled invalid chairs;

* electric personal assistive mobility devices; and

* |low-speed vehicles.

Sections 60-366 and 60-367

A nonresident owner operating a foreign vehicle in Nebraska is not required to
register this vehicle or pay any fees if the car has been properly registered in the
foreign state and the number plates are displayed while in operation. However, any
nonresident owner whose passenger car is operated in Nebraska for 30 or more
days shall register this car in the same manner as a Nebraska resident, unless the
state of his or her residence grants immunity from these requirements to residents of
Nebraska operating a passenger car in that state.

Section 60-373

Each licensed dealer in motor vehicles or dealer in trailers doing business in Nebraska,
instead of registering each motor vehicle or trailer which the dealer owns that is a
type otherwise required to be registered, or any employee of such dealer, may:

(a) operate or move the same upon the streets and highways of Nebraska solely for
purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or use in the ordinary course and
conduct of his or her business as a motor vehicle or trailer dealer, including the
personal or private use of the dealer, and including the personal or private use of
any bona fide employee, or for transporting industrial equipment held by the licensee
for purposes of demonstration, sale, rental, or delivery; or (b) sell the same without
registering each motor vehicle or trailer if dealer number plates are displayed

on the vehicle.

NA

NA
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Each licensed manufacturer who manufactures or assembles motor vehicles, NA
motorcycles, or trailers, in lieu of the registering of each motor vehicle or trailer

which the manufacturer owns which is a type otherwise required to be registered,

or any employee of the manufacturer, may operate or move the same upon the

streets and highways of Nebraska solely for purposes of transporting, testing,

demonstrating to prospective customers, or use in the ordinary course and conduct

of business as a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer manufacturer, upon the condition

that the dealer number plates be displayed on the vehicle.

Finance companies licensed to do business in Nebraska may, in lieu of registering NA
each motor vehicle or trailer repossessed, make an application for a repossession
certificate and one repossession plate for a fee of $10.

Any transporter doing business in Nebraska may, in lieu of registering each motor NA
vehicle or trailer which the transporter is transporting, make an application to the
DMV for a transporter’s certificate and one transporter number plate for a fee of $10.

Section 60-368

Nonresidents, certified by the Nebraska Department of Labor as being engaged in NA
temporary agricultural employment within Nebraska, are exempt from licensing

passenger vehicles for 60 days, provided the vehicle is duly licensed in their state

of residence.

Section 60-3,160

No registration fee is collected on any motor vehicle owned by any city or village of $767,952
Nebraska used in connection with police, street, public transportation, park, library,

or fire prevention activity, fire trucks owned and used by any rural fire protection

district, and motor vehicles owned and operated by the Civil Air Patrol; nor any motor

vehicle owned and used by any public school district, county, state, or United States

government, municipal public body, or authority used in operating a public

passenger transportation system.

Section 60-3,185

In addition to the registration fees provided by Chapter 60, article 3, and the motor NA
vehicle fee imposed in section 60-3,190, a motor vehicle tax is imposed on motor
vehicles registered for operation upon the highways of Nebraska except:

(1) Motor vehicles exempt from the registration fee in section 60-3,160;

(2) One motor vehicle owned and used for his or her personal transportation by a
disabled or blind honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Forces
as defined in section 77-202.23 whose disability or blindness is recognized by the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs if an application for the exemption has
been approved under subsection (1) of section 60-3,189;

(3) Motor vehicles owned by Indians as defined in 25 U.S.C. 479;

(4) Motor vehicles owned by a member of the United States Armed Forces serving
in Nebraska in compliance with military or naval orders if this person is a resident of
a state other than Nebraska;

(5) Motor vehicles owned by the state and its governmental subdivisions and exempt
as provided in subdivision (1)(a) of section 77-202; and

(6) Motor vehicles owned and used exclusively by an organization or society
qualified for a tax exemption provided in subdivision (1)(b) or (1)(c) of section 77-202
if an application for the exemption provided in this subdivision has been approved
under subsection (2) of section 60-3,189.

2010 Nebraska Tax Expenditure Report Section P, Page 3


http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-368
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,160
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,185
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,190
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,160
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,189
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,189
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-202.23
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-202
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-202

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act (section 77-1242.01)

This federal act allows nonresident military personnel stationed at a military base in
Nebraska, or in one of the various recruiting services, to obtain tax-free license
plates. Only the motor vehicle tax is exempt; the license fee and sales tax

must be paid.

DEDUCTIONS

Section 60-3,142

The county treasurers, acting as agents for the DMV in collection of registration
fees from nonresident grain hauling permits, are allowed to retain five percent of
each fee collected.

Section 60-6,217
The county treasurers are allowed to deduct and retain 25 cents for each snow-
mobile registration fee they collect as agent for the DMV.

CREDITS

Section 60-398

A nonresident may, if he or she applies within 90 days from the original registration
date and surrenders the registration certificate and the license which were assigned,
receive a refund in the amount of 50% of the original license fee; except no

refund shall be made on any license surrendered after the ninth month of the
registration period for which the vehicle was registered.

Section 60-3,198(8)

A Nebraska-based fleet owner may file an application with the DMV to delete a
registered motor vehicle from a fleet of registered motor vehicles because the vehicle
is disabled and has been removed from service, and return the registration
certificate or certificates. The fleet owner receives a credit for that portion of the
registration fee deposited in the Highway Trust Fund based upon the number of
unexpired months remaining in the registration year.

Section 60-3,200

Whenever a motor vehicle has been registered by the owner under the provisions of
section 60-362, the motor vehicle taxes imposed in section 77-1240.01 have been
paid on that motor vehicle for the registration period, and the motor vehicle is
registered under the prorate provisions of section 60-3,198, the DMV, upon
application of the owner of the motor vehicle, is to certify that the motor vehicle
owner is entitled to receive the refund of the unused registration fees and personal
property taxes for the registration period.

Section 60-393

An owner who has two or more vehicles required to be registered under the statutes
may elect to register all of these vehicles on a calendar year or annual basis for the
same registration period beginning in a month chosen by the owner. The owner,
when electing to establish the same registration date for all of these vehicles, pays
the registration fees and motor vehicle tax on each vehicle for the number of months

NA

(Federal law
prohibits state
taxation)

NA

$188

NA

NA

NA

NA
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necessary to extend the current registration period to the registration period under
which all of these vehicles will be registered. Credit is to be given for registration paid
on each vehicle when the vehicle has a later expiration date than the one chosen

by the owner.

Section_60-395

The registered owner of a motor vehicle or cabin trailer which is sold or lost due to NA
fire, theft, dismantlement, junking, or when a salvage certificate of title is issued, may,
or whenever a type or class of motor vehicle previously registered is subsequently
declared by legislative act or court decision to be illegal or ineligible to be operated
on the public roads and no longer subject to registration fees or taxes, or in case of

a change in the tax situs of a motor vehicle to a location outside of Nebraska, may, by
returning the registration certificate, the number plates and renewal tabs, and after
making an affidavit to the county treasurer of such transfer of loss, receive a refund
of that part of the unused fees on passenger vehicles, trucks, and cabin trailers
based on the number of unexpired months remaining in the registration period. The
registered owner must make claim for refund or credit within 60 days from the date of
the event. The date of the event shall be the date of the transfer or loss, the date of
registration in another state, the effective date of the legislative act, or the date the
court decision is rendered.

Section 60-396

Whenever the registered owner files an application with his or her county treasurer NA
showing that a motor vehicle is disabled and has been removed from service, the

registered owner may, by returning the registration certificate, number plates, and

when appropriate, the renewal tabs, or in the case of the unavailability of these

certificates, number plates or tabs, then by making an affidavit to the treasurer of

such disablement and removal from service, receive a credit for a portion of the

registration fee from the fee deposited with the State Treasurer at the time of

registration based upon the number of unexpired months remaining in the

registration year.

PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES

Section 60-3,198

Any owner engaged in operating a fleet of apportionable vehicles in Nebraska in NA
interstate commerce may, in lieu of registration of these vehicles under the general
provisions of sections 60-301 to 60-3,220, register and license this fleet for

operation in Nebraska by filing a sworn statement and the application required by
section 60-3,203 with the DMV. Upon receipt of this statement and application, the
DMV shall determine the total fee payment which shall be equal to the amount of

fees due pursuant to section 60-3,203 and the amount obtained by applying the
proportion of in-state fleet miles to total fleet miles, as reported in these states, to a
fee of $32 per ton based upon gross vehicle weight of the empty weights of any trailer,
semi-trailer, or combination thereof with which it is to be operated in combination

at any one time, plus the weight of the maximum load to be carried thereon at

any one time. The registered vehicles shall be exempt from all further registration

and license fees under sections 60-301 to 60-3,220 for movement or operation in the
State of Nebraska, except as provided in section 60-3,203.
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Section 60-3,145

Local vehicles operated solely within a ten-mile radius of an incorporated city or
village’s corporate limits must pay a registration fee of 30% of the regular
commercial registration, but never less than $18.

Section 60-3,146

For farm trucks, except for farm trucks or combinations of trucks or truck-tractors
and trailers or semi-trailers having a gross vehicle weight exceeding 16 tons, the
registration fee shall be $18 for up to and including five tons gross vehicle weight.
In excess of five tons, the fee shall be $22. For a truck or a combination of truck or
truck-tractor and trailer or semi-trailer, the registration fees are: for a gross weight
in excess of 16 tons up to and including 20 tons, $40 plus five dollars for each ton
of gross weight over 17 tons; and for gross weight exceeding 20 tons, $65 plus
$10 for each ton of gross weight over 20 tons. Fees are based on the combined
gross weight as provided in section 60-3,147, but at a reduced rate.

Section 60-3,147(4)(6)

Commercial trucks used exclusively for the transportation of livestock, unprocessed
milk, poultry, grain, sugar beets, potatoes, and hay, must pay fees at a rate of 10%
less than other commercial trucks.

Section 60-3,149

Trucks, truck-tractors, trailers, or semi-trailers which are not for hire, owned by

those engaged in soil and water conservation work, and used for the purpose of
transporting pipe and equipment used exclusively by these contractors, must pay
registration fees at one-half of the commercial truck fee rate, but in no case less than
the minimum fee of $18.

Section 60-3,111

Special 30-day farm permits at one-twelfth of the commercial truck fee, but never less
than $25, can be used by farmers or ranchers for trucks used exclusively to carry
their own supplies, farm equipment, and household goods to and from the owner’s
farm and ranch, and used to carry the owner’s agricultural products, livestock, and
produce to or from storage or market.

Section 60-3,151
Trailers in Nebraska are registered and pay differing fees depending upon
their classification:
Utility trailer - $1 per 1,000 pounds of gross weight up to 9,000 pounds;

Farm trailer - $1 regardless of weight;

Fertilizer trailer - $1 regardless of weight, or $3 per ton when the
registration weight is to a separate unit;

Commercial trailer or semi-trailer - $1 regardless of weight; and

Pole and cable reel trailer - $2 per 1,000 pounds of gross weight up to
16,000 pounds.

$240,202

$29,565,112

NA

$109,579

Minimal

NA
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Section 60-3,151
Recreational vehicles are registered and pay differing fees depending upon
their classification:

Self-propelled mobile home -
8,000 pounds or less =$18
8,001-11,999 pounds  =$30
12,000 pounds and over = $42

Cabin trailers without motive power -
1,000 pounds or less =$9
1,001-1,999 pounds =$12
2,000 pounds and over = $15

Section 60-3,155

Well-boring apparatus pay a registration fee of one-twelfth of the regular commercial

registration fee.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles has no recommendations.

NA

$356,139
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