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Section G
Cigarette Tax

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE
The Nebraska cigarette tax is a special privilege tax paid by every person engaged in distributing or 
selling cigarettes at wholesale in Nebraska. Each wholesale dealer who obtains an annual Nebraska 
Wholesale Cigarette Dealer’s License must pay an application fee of $500, which is placed in the State 
General Fund. On packages containing 20 or fewer cigarettes, a tax of 64 cents per package is paid. 
On packages containing more than 20 cigarettes, a tax of 64 cents for the first 20 cigarettes plus a tax 
of 1/20 of 64 cents on each cigarette in excess of 20 cigarettes is paid, in addition to all other taxes. A 
cigarette tax stamp is placed on each package of cigarettes as proof of cigarette tax paid.

The distribution of Nebraska cigarette tax revenues can be found on the Department of Revenue’s  
website www.revenue.ne.gov under Research Reports. The Nebraska Tax Rate Chronologies are  
updated quarterly.

		E  stimated Tax
Statutory Reference	E xpenditure Cost
and Description	 (NA = Not Available)	

EXEMPTIONS
Section 77-2607
The portion of the wholesale dealer’s stock of cigarettes which is not intended to be	 NA
sold or given away in Nebraska is exempt from the tax, unless the stock is not out of  
the dealer’s possession within 30 days of receipt.

4 U.S.C. 107
Federal law prohibits state taxation of cigarettes sold to the U.S. government or any	 $0
of its agencies.

DEDUCTIONS
Section 77-2608
The Tax Commissioner sells the cigarette tax stamps only to licensed whole-	 $1,223,500
sale dealers. The sale of cigarette tax stamps to licensed wholesale dealers in  
Nebraska or outside of Nebraska is authorized at a discount of one and eighty-five 
hundredths percent of the face value of the cigarette tax as a commission for  
affixing and canceling the cigarette tax stamps.

http://www.revenue.ne.gov/research/chronology.html
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2607
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2608
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CREDITS
	
Section 77-2610
Any unused or spoiled stamps are redeemed by the Tax Commissioner and a refund	 $179,200
is made in the amount of the stamps less the commission for affixing the stamps.

4 U.S.C. 109, et al.
Federal statutes and treaties prohibit state taxation of cigarettes sold to Native	 $281,400
American Indians on Indian reservation land within Nebraska. A credit is
allowed by the state to licensed cigarette wholesale dealers for the amount of tax  
credited by them to their retailers who make exempt sales of cigarettes to	 (State taxation  
Native American Indians. 	 prohibited)	
Source: U.S. Census; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National  
Survey of Drug Use and Health 

RECOMMENDATIONS
The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.
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