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Section E
Alcoholic Beverages Tax and Fees

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 53-160 imposes a tax upon the privilege of doing business in Nebraska as a manufacturer 
or distributor of alcoholic liquors. The tax is imposed at the rate of 31 cents per gallon on all beer,  
95 cents per gallon for wine, $3.75 per gallon on alcohol and spirits, and six cents per gallon for wine 
produced in farm wineries. Revenue raised from the gallonage tax is placed in the State General Fund.

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 53-124 and 53-131.01 provide for the payment of registration and annual license 
fees to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. The law provides a schedule of license fees to be 
paid by manufacturers, distributors, and retailers of alcoholic beverages. In addition, Neb. Rev. Stat.  
§ 53-132 allows for an occupation tax to be imposed by cities and villages.

The fees paid by manufacturers and distributors vary depending upon whether beer, wine,  and/or spirits 
are handled by the licensee. Retailer’s license fees vary depending upon: what alcoholic beverages are 
sold; whether sold for consumption on- or off-premises; whether sold in a village or larger community; 
whether issued to a privately owned recreation area; whether issued to a nonprofit corporation for 
on-premise consumption; whether issued to a municipal corporation, fine arts museum, or nonprofit 
religious or fraternal organization; whether issued to a restaurant for on-premise consumption; whether 
issued to a railroad, passenger boat operator, nonbeverage user, airline, or bottle club; or whether 
issued to a farm winery or brewpub. Nonprofit corporations can obtain a special designated permit for 
limited purposes.

The fees derived from local retail license fees by cities or villages are placed in the School Fund of 
the district lying wholly or partially within the corporate limits of the city or village. The fees raised from 
Special Designated Licenses are deposited into the State General Fund.

Annual license fees received by the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission are paid to the State 
Treasurer for deposit in the Temporary School Fund. Registration fees received by the Commission are 
placed in the State General Fund.

		  Actual Tax
Statutory Reference	E xpenditure Cost
and Description	 (NA = Not Available)

EXEMPTIONS
Section 53-168.06
The following activities are excluded from the definition of manufacturing and 
distribution and, therefore, are not subject to the Liquor Tax:

	 (1)	 The possession and transportation of alcoholic liquors for the personal use	 NA
		  of the possessor, his or her family, and guests;

	 (2)	 The making of wine, cider, or other alcoholic beverages by an individual	 NA
		  from fruits, vegetables, or grains (or the product thereof) by fermentation and 
		  without distillation if used solely for the use of the maker, his or her family,  

and guests;
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	 (3)	 The possession and use by a licensed practicing physician or dentist in the	 Minimal
		  strict practice of his or her profession;

	 (4)	 The possession and use by a hospital or other institution caring for the 	 NA
		  sick and diseased persons, for the treatment of patients of the hospital 
		  or institution;

	 (5)	 The possession and use by a drug store employing a licensed pharmacist	 NA
		  in the compounding of prescriptions from licensed physicians; and

	 (6)	 The possession and dispensation of wine by an authorized representative	 NA
		  of any church for the purpose of conducting any bona fide rite or religious  

ceremony conducted by the church.

Section 53-164.01
Liquors shipped out-of-state for sale or consumption outside Nebraska are exempt.	 NA

Section 53-160
Dry or fortified wines manufactured or imported solely and exclusively for	 NA
sacramental purposes are exempt.

The tax is not imposed upon any beer sold to a manufacturer consumer for use	 $0
in the manufacture of: patent and proprietary medicines and medicinal, antiseptic,  
and toilet preparation; flavoring extracts in syrups and food products; scientific,  
industrial and chemical products, excepting denatured alcohol; and for scientific,  
chemical, experimental or mechanical purposes.

The tax is not imposed upon the privilege of engaging in any business in interstate	 NA
commerce or otherwise where taxation is prohibited under the United States	 (State taxation
Constitution and Federal Law.	 prohibited)

Section 53-160.01	
No direct or indirect excise tax is imposed upon the sale, use, delivery, or storage	 NA
of articles of merchandise to or by any instrumentality of the United States armed	 (State taxation
forces engaged in resale activity.	 prohibited)

DEDUCTIONS
Section 53-164.01		
The manufacturer or distributor is allowed a discount of one percent of the tax on	 $283,831 
alcoholic liquors for the timely payment of the tax due the Nebraska Liquor  
Control Commission.

CREDITS
Section 53-161		
A credit is allowed to a distributor or manufacturer for tax paid on: (1) beer shipped	 $78,638
out-of-Nebraska for sale and consumption outside the state; or (2) beer returned  
to the manufacturer for credit, substitution, or replacement.
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Section 53-164.01	
A credit is allowed to a manufacturer or distributor for the amount of tax paid on beer	 $31,804
sold or delivered to any instrumentality of the United States armed forces engaged  
in resale activities.

PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES
Section 53-160
Different rates of tax per gallon are levied depending upon the class of alcoholic 
beverage and its alcoholic content. The following are the applicable rates per gallon  
effective July 1, 2003.

Beer - $0.31 per gallon	 A one cent increase would generate
		  $459,246 in additional revenue.

Wine - $0.95 per gallon	 A five-cent increase would generate
 (14% or under of alcohol content)	 $129,100 in additional revenue.

Alcohol and Spirits - $3.75 per gallon	 A five-cent increase would generate
		  $635,040 in additional revenue.

Wine from Farm Wineries - $.06 per gallon 	 A five-cent increase would generate
		  $3,422 in additional revenue.

Wine from Direct Shippers - $0.95 per gallon	 A five-cent increase would generate
		  $1,267 in additional revenue.

Micro Distilleries - $3.75 per gallon	 A five-cent increase would generate 
(New license type in 2009--only had two months of reporting.)	 $17 in additional revenue.	

	  

RECOMMENDATIONS
The Nebraska Liquor Control Commission has no recommendations.
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