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Section G
Cigarette Tax

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE

	 The Nebraska cigarette tax is a special privilege tax paid by every person engaged in 
distributing or selling cigarettes at wholesale in this state. Each wholesale dealer who receives 
an annual Nebraska Wholesale Cigarette Dealer’s License must pay an application fee of $500, 
which is placed in the State General Fund. On packages containing twenty or fewer cigarettes, a 
tax of 64 cents per package is paid. On packages containing more than twenty cigarettes, a tax of 
64 cents for the first twenty cigarettes plus a tax of 1/20 of 64 cents on each cigarette in excess of 
twenty cigarettes is paid, in addition to all other taxes. A tax stamp is placed on each package of 
cigarettes as proof of cigarette tax paid.

	 The Nebraska cigarette tax distribution can be found on the Department of Revenue’s Web 
site at www.revenue.ne.gov under Research Reports. The Nebraska Tax Rate Chronologies are 
updated quarterly.

		E  stimated Tax
	 Statutory Reference	E xpenditure Cost
	 and Description	N A = Not Available	

EXEMPTIONS

Section 77-2607
The portion of the wholesale dealer’s stock of cigarettes which is not	 NA
intended to be sold or given away in this state is exempt from the tax, unless 
the stock is not out of the dealer’s possession within 30 days of receipt.

4 USC 107
Federal law prohibits state taxation of cigarettes sold to the U.S. government	 $0
or one of its agencies.

DEDUCTIONS

Section 77-2608
The Tax Commissioner shall sell the tax stamps only to licensed wholesale	 $1,304,800
dealers. The sale of stamps to wholesale dealers in this state or outside of this 
state is authorized at a discount of one and eighty-five hundredths percent of 
such face value of the tax as a commission for affixing and canceling such stamps.
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CREDITS
	
Section 77-2610
Any unused or spoiled stamps are redeemed by the Tax Commissioner  	 $285,700
and a refund is made in the amount of the stamps less the commission for 
affixing the stamps.

4 USC 109, et al
Federal statutes and treaties prohibit state taxation of cigarettes sold to Native	 $630,000
American Indians on federal Indian reservation land within Nebraska. A credit 
is allowed by the state to cigarette wholesalers for the amount of tax credited 
by them to their retailers who make exempt sales of cigarettes to Native	 (State taxation
American Indians.	 prohibited)
 

RECOMMENDATIONS

	 The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.
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