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Section E
Alcoholic Beverages Tax and Fees

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE

	 Neb. Stat. §53-160 imposes a tax upon the privilege of doing business in Nebraska as a 
manufacturer or distributor of alcoholic liquors. The tax is imposed at the rate of 31 cents per 
gallon on all beer, 95 cents per gallon for wine, $3.75 per gallon on alcohol and spirits and six 
cents per gallon for wine produced in farm wineries. Revenue raised from the gallonage tax is 
placed in the State General Fund.

	 Neb. Stat. §§53-124 and 53-131.01 provide for the payment of registration and annual license 
fees to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. The law provides a schedule of license fees to 
be paid by manufacturers, distributors, and retailers of alcoholic beverages. In addition, section 
53-132 allows for an occupation tax to be imposed by cities and villages.

	 The fees paid by manufacturers and distributors vary depending upon whether beer, wine,  
and/or spirits are handled by the licensee. Retailer’s license fees vary depending upon what 
alcoholic beverages are sold; whether sold for consumption on or off premises; whether sold 
in a village or larger community; whether issued to a privately owned recreation area; whether 
issued to a nonprofit corporation for on-premise consumption; whether issued to a municipal 
corporation, fine arts museum, or nonprofit religious or fraternal organization; whether issued to 
a restaurant for on-premise consumption; whether issued to a railroad, passenger boat operator, 
nonbeverage user, airline or bottle club; or whether issued to a farm winery or brewpub. Nonprofit 
corporations can obtain a special designated permit for limited purposes.

	 The fees derived from local retail license fees by cities or villages are placed in the School Fund 
of the district lying wholly or partially within the corporate limits of the city or village. The fees 
raised from Special Designated Licenses are deposited into the State General Fund.

	 Annual license fees received by the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission are paid to the State 
Treasurer for deposit in the Temporary School Fund. Registration fees received by the Commission 
are placed in the State General Fund.
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		  Actual Tax
	 Statutory Reference	E xpenditure Cost
	 and Description	N A = Not Available

EXEMPTIONS
Section 53-168.06
The following activities are excluded from the definition of manufacturing and 
distribution and, therefore, are not subject to the Liquor Tax.

	 (1)	 The possession and transportation of alcoholic liquors for the personal	 NA
		  use of the possessor, his or her family, and guests.

	 (2)	 The making of wine, cider, or other alcoholic beverages by an individual	 NA
		  from fruits, vegetables or grains, or the product thereof by fermentation 
		  and without distillation if used solely for the use of the maker, his or her 
		  family, and guests.

	 (3)	 The possession and use by a licensed practicing physician or dentist	 Minimal
		  in the strict practice of his or her profession.

	 (4)	 The possession and use by a hospital or other institution caring for the	 NA
		  sick and diseased persons, for the treatment of patients of such hospital 
		  or institution.

	 (5)	 The possession and use by a drug store employing a licensed pharmacist	 NA
		  in the compounding of prescriptions from licensed physicians.

	 (6)	 The possession and dispensation of wine by an authorized	 NA
		  representative of any church for the purpose of conducting any 
		  bona fide rite or religious ceremony conducted by such church.

Section 53-164.01
Liquors shipped out-of-state for sale or consumption outside	 NA
Nebraska are exempt.

Section 53-160
Dry or fortified wines manufactured or imported solely and exclusively for	 NA
sacramental purposes are exempt.

The tax is not imposed upon any beer sold to a manufacturer consumer for use	 0
in the manufacture of patent and proprietary medicines and medicinal, 
antiseptic, and toilet preparation; flavoring extracts in syrups and food products; 
scientific, industrial and chemical products, excepting denatured alcohol; and 
for scientific, chemical, experimental or mechanical purposes.

The tax is not imposed upon the privilege of engaging in any business	 NA
in interstate commerce or otherwise where taxation is prohibited	 (State taxation
under the United States Constitution and Federal Law.	 prohibited)
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Section 53-160.01	
No direct or indirect excise tax is imposed upon the sale, use, delivery,	 NA
or storage of articles of merchandise to or by any instrumentality of 	 (State taxation
the United States armed forces engaged in resale activity.	 prohibited)

DEDUCTIONS
Section 53-164.01		
The manufacturer or distributor is allowed a discount of one percent of the 	 $254,732 
tax on alcoholic liquors for the timely payment of the tax due the 
Nebraska Liquor Control Commission.

CREDITS
Section 53-161		
A credit is allowed to a distributor or manufacturer for tax paid (1) for beer	 $31,542
shipped out-of-Nebraska for sale and consumption outside the state, or 
(2) for beer returned to the manufacturer for credit, substitution, or replacement.

Section 53-164.01	
A credit is allowed to a manufacturer or distributor for the amount	 $35,918
of tax paid on beer sold or delivered to any instrumentality of the 
United States armed forces engaged in resale activities.

PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES
Section 53-160
Different rates of tax per gallon are levied depending upon the class of alcoholic 
beverage and its alcoholic content. The following are the applicable rates 
per gallon effective October 1, 1987.

Beer - $0.31 cents per gallon....................................................... a one cent increase would generate
		  $453,743 in additional revenue.

Light Wines - $0.95 cents per gallon.......................................a five-cent increase would generate
 (14 percent or under of alcohol content)	 $122,957 in additional revenue.

Alcohol and Spirits - $3.75 per gallon...................................a five-cent increase would generate
		  $125,225 in additional revenue.

Wine from farm wineries - $.06 cents per gallon ...........a five-cent increase would generate
		  $2,639 in additional revenue.

Wine from direct shippers - $3.75 per gallon……………a five-cent increase would generate
		  $614 in additional revenue.	  
	  

RECOMMENDATIONS

	 The Nebraska Liquor Control Commission has no recommendations.
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