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BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE OF THE
NEBRASKA WASTE REDUCTION AND

RECYCLING ACT

The Nebraska Waste Reduction and Recycling Act imposes a fee of $1.00 on each tire of every
new motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer sold at retail and registered in Nebraska. The fee is
collected by the county treasurer at the time of registration and is remitted to the Department of
Revenue for deposit in the Scrap Tire Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fund. This Fund is
administered by the Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality.

In addition, a fee of $1.00 is imposed on every new tire for a motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer,
or farm tractor sold at retail. The fee is collected by the retailer in the same manner as sales tax and
is remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Scrap Tire Reduction and Recycling
Incentive Fund.

Effective for tax periods starting July 1, 1999, an annual waste reduction and recycling fee is
imposed on all businesses with retail sales of tangible personal property, which is subject to the tax
imposed by the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967. The fee is $25.00 for each Nebraska location with
retail sales of tangible personal property of  $50,000.00 or more. This fee is collected in the same
manner as the litter fee. The fee is collected by the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Waste
Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fund.

The State Tax Commissioner deducts and withholds from the above fees a collection fee to
reimburse the Nebraska Department of Revenue for the actual cost of collecting and administering
the above fees and deposits the collection fees in the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fees
Collection Fund. The Legislature appropriates money from this collection fund for the Department
of Revenue to cover the actual costs of administering the program.
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WASTE REDUCTION AND RECYCLING FEES

Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost

and Description NA = Not Available

EXEMPTIONS

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
A qualified tire does not include: any new tire sold specifically for use on $709,800
off-road vehicles, such as bicycles, golf carts, riding lawnmowers, and
farm implements (plows, disks, wagons, etc.). Any recapped or regrooved
tire, regardless of the intended use. Any new tire on a new tractor.

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold for resale purposes. $452,600

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold and delivered to another state. $254,600

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold to the federal government and its agencies. $2,600

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold to Native American Indians if the Native American (Included
Indian resides on a Nebraska reservation, holds a Nebraska tax exemption in above)
identification card and delivery of the tire(s) takes place on the reservation.

DEDUCTION

The State Tax Commissioner shall deduct and withhold from the fees collected $86,350
pursuant to sections 81-15,162 and 81-15,163 (fees on tires and the annual
waste reduction and recycling fee) a fee sufficient to reimburse himself or
herself for the actual cost of collecting and administering such fees and
shall credit such collection fee to the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive
Fees Collection Fund. The Legislature shall appropriate money from the fund
to the Department of Revenue to cover the actual costs of the department
in administering sections 81-15,159 to 81-15,165.
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WASTE REDUCTION AND RECYCLING FEES
RECOMMENDATIONS

The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.


