BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE OF THE
NEBRASKA FERTILIZER FEE

Effective January 1, 1998, a fee of one dollar per ton is imposed on all sales of commercia
fertilizers (as defined in Nebraska Revised Statutes section 81-2,162.02) sold in Nebraskafor usein
agriculture and applied to land or crops. The fee is collected by the retailer and remitted to the
Nebraska Department of Revenue. Theretailer’ scollection feeistwo and one-half percent of thefirst

$3,000 remitted each month and one-half of one percent of al amountsin excess of $3,000 remitted
each month.

Thefeeappliesto those purchases of fertilizer exempt from salestax. The consumer isresponsible
for payment of the fee on purchases from out-of-state vendors not required to collect the fee. The
consumer remits the fee directly to the Department of Revenue on a Fertilizer Fee Return.

Thefertilizer fee remitted shall be credited to the to the Natural Resources Enhancement Fund.

The one dollar per ton fee will be collected through December 31, 2000. Unless changed by law, the
fertilizer fee will not be collected after December 31, 2000.
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FERTILIZER FEE

Estimated Tax

Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost
and Description NA = Not Available

EXEMPTIONS

Section 77-4401
Exempts al purchases that are subject to sales and use tax.

Section 77-4401
Household and garden fertilizers in pre-packaged quantities of ten pounds
or less.

Section 77-4401
Sales to out-of -state purchasers.

Section 77-4401
Salesto the U.S. government.

Section 77-4401
Gross tonnage of fertilizer will not include water or other filler added by
the retailer.

Section 77-4401
Sales for resale.

DEDUCTION

Section 77-4401

A collection fee istaken by retailers collecting the fertilizer fee to defer the
expense of collection. The collection fee is two and one-half percent of the
first $3,000 remitted each month and one-half percent of the excess.
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NA

NA

NA

NA

NA

NA

$72,340



FERTILIZER FEE
RECOMMENDATIONS

The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.
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