
O1

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE OF THE 
NEBRASKA MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS, 
AIRCRAFT FUELS, DIESEL FUEL, AND 

COMPRESSED FUEL TAX LAWS

Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax

The Nebraska Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax is an excise tax imposed upon the importing, producing,
refining, manufacturing, compounding, or blending of motor vehicle fuels in the State of Nebraska
for use, distribution, sale, or delivery in this state. Motor vehicle fuels include all products commonly
or commercially known as gasoline, gasohol, ethanol, casing head gasoline, and natural gasoline.
Products such as naphtha, methanol, benzine, and benzol, although not defined as motor vehicle fuels,
will be reported and tax remitted, if placed directly into a licensed motor vehicle or blended into
gasoline at a point in the distribution chain after the refinery.

Reporting and remittance of the motor vehicle fuels tax is accomplished by businesses licensed
as either a supplier, distributor, wholesaler, importer, or exporter.  Retailer’s, while licensed, no
longer are required to file returns.  Instead, they are subject to field record reviews.  Liquid fuel
carrier licenses and terminal operator licenses are required by businesses involved in the movement
of motor vehicle fuels in the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completion
of the Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application (Form 20MF) and remitting the applicable fee. The
fees are deposited in the Highway Cash Fund.

The tax rate is the total of the excise tax rate of 12.5 cents per gallon plus a variable excise tax
rate set to meet appropriations, based upon the statewide average cost of motor vehicle fuels and
diesel fuels purchased by the state.  Effective July 1, 1998, the rate is subject to change on a calendar
semiannual basis.  The total motor vehicle fuels tax rates per gallon for 1998 are: first quarter 24.6
cents, second quarter 22.8 cents, and the first semiannual period, 23.5 cents. 

The business importing or removing motor vehicle fuels from a Nebraska fuel pipeline terminal
has the option to remit the tax or to pass the liability to a customer who is a licensed supplier,
distributor, or wholesaler. If the tax liability is passed on to the customer, the customer must remit
the tax to the state, and cannot subsequently sell that fuel tax free unless a qualified exemption
applies. Qualified exemptions are sales in a state other than Nebraska, sales to the United States
government or its agencies, and federal corporations wholly owned by the United States government,
metropolitan transit authority, or sales on a Nebraska Indian reservation to a Native American
residing on a Nebraska Indian reservation.

Unblended ethanol is subject to motor vehicle fuels tax when blended with gasoline, placed
directly into a licensed motor vehicle, or sold to someone who is not licensed in Nebraska to engage
in tax-free fuel transactions.

Persons licensed with a permit to purchase Nebraska Nonhighway Use Motor Vehicle Fuels may
apply for a refundable income tax credit of the tax paid on those gallons used for nonhighway
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purposes. An application for a permit must be made on a Nebraska Permit Application to Purchase
Nonhighway Use Motor Vehicle Fuels, Form 83. The application fee is ten dollars. The credit is
claimed by completing a Nebraska Nonhighway Use Motor Vehicle Fuels Credit Computation, Form
4136N, with the Nebraska income tax return.   

Aircraft Fuels Tax

The Nebraska Aircraft Fuels Tax is an excise tax imposed when importing, producing, refining,
manufacturing, or compounding of aircraft fuels in the State of Nebraska for use, distribution, sale
or delivery in this state. Aircraft fuels includes aircraft gasoline, jet fuel, or any other fuel used and
consumed exclusively for the purpose of propelling aircraft. Aviation gasoline is taxed at five cents
per gallon and aviation jet fuel is taxed at three cents per gallon.

Reporting and remittance of the aircraft fuels tax is accomplished by businesses licensed as a
supplier, distributor, wholesaler, importer, exporter, or retailer. Liquid fuel carrier licenses and
terminal operator licenses are required by businesses involved in the movement of aircraft fuels in the
State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completion of the Nebraska Motor Fuels
License Application (Form 20MF) and remitting the applicable fee. The fees are deposited in the
Highway Cash Fund. 

Diesel Fuel Tax

The Nebraska Diesel Fuel Tax is an excise tax imposed on sales of undyed diesel, except those
exempted as indicated later, and on dyed diesel placed in licensed motor vehicles by governmental
agencies. Governmental agencies placing dyed diesel in a licensed motor vehicle must remit diesel fuel
consumer’s use tax by filing the Nebraska Motor Fuels Consumer’s Use Tax Return, Form 74.  Diesel
fuel includes all combustible liquids suitable for use in diesel-powered motor vehicles. It does not
include kerosene. Kerosene is subject to diesel tax if it is blended with undyed diesel for use in a
licensed motor vehicle.

Reporting and remittance of the diesel fuel tax is accomplished by businesses licensed as a
supplier, distributor, wholesaler, importer, exporter, or retailer. Liquid fuel carrier licenses and
terminal operator licenses are required by businesses involved in the movement of diesel fuel in the
State of Nebraska.  The proper license may be obtained by completion of the Nebraska Motor Fuels
License Application (Form 20MF) and remitting the applicable fee. The fees are deposited in the
Highway Cash Fund.

The tax rate is the total of the excise tax rate of 12.5 cents per gallon plus a variable excise tax
rate set to meet appropriations, based upon the statewide average cost of motor vehicle fuels and
diesel fuel purchased by the state.  Effective July 1, 1998, the rate is subject to change on a calendar
semiannual basis.  The total diesel fuel tax rates per gallon for 1998 are: first quarter 24.6 cents,
second quarter 22.8 cents, and the first semiannual period, 23.5 cents. 

The business importing into Nebraska or removing undyed diesel fuel from a Nebraska fuel
pipeline terminal has the option to remit the tax or to pass the liability to a customer who is a licensed
supplier, distributor, or wholesaler. If the tax is passed on to the customer, the customer must remit
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the tax to the state, and cannot subsequently sell that fuel tax free unless a qualified exemption
applies. Qualified exemptions are exports with sales or use in a state other than Nebraska, sales to
the United States government, its agencies, and federal corporations wholly owned by the United
States government, metropolitan transit authority, sales on a Nebraska Indian reservation to a Native
American residing on a Nebraska Indian reservation, and sales of fifty gallons or less for use in a
temperature control unit (reefers) or power-take-off unit.

Diesel fuel tax paid on the purchase of undyed diesel is subject to refund if there is a nonhighway
use or use in a motor vehicle not subject to licensing. Refunds are applied for by completing the
Nebraska Motor Fuels Tax Refund Claim (Form 84), or the Nebraska Diesel Fuel Tax Refund Claim
for Agricultural Production Use Only (Form 84AG).

Compressed Fuel Tax

The Nebraska Compressed Fuel Tax is an excise tax imposed on retail sales of compressed fuel
being placed in a licensed motor vehicle or to an end user who  intends to use the fuel by placing it
in a licensed motor vehicle.  Compressed fuel includes compressed natural gas, liquefied petroleum
gas, liquefied natural gas, and any other compressed fuel used to power a motor vehicle. Persons
required to be licensed as a compressed fuel retailer are those who are engaged in the business of
selling or otherwise providing compressed fuel to consumers of the fuel for use in a motor vehicle.
A retailer who has equipment capable of dispensing compressed fuel into a motor vehicle must also
be licensed as a compressed  fuel retailer.  Application for the required license is completed by
submitting a Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application (Form 20MF).

The Nebraska Compressed Fuel Tax Rate is the same as the fuel tax rate on motor vehicle fuels
or diesel fuel. Purchases of compressed fuel to be placed in licensed motor vehicles by the Federal
government or on a Nebraska Indian reservation by a native American that resides on the reservation,
are exempt from the compressed fuel tax.

Interstate Motor Carrier’s Fuel Tax (IMC)

Effective July 1, 1996, LB 1218 transferred responsibility for the IFTA program to the
Department of Motor Vehicles, Division of Motor Carrier Services.

Effective January 1, 1997, the IMC jurisdictions joined the International Fuel Tax Agreement
(IFTA), resulting in the termination of the IMC program.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS, AIRCRAFT FUELS, 
DIESEL FUEL, AND COMPRESSED FUEL TAX

Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost

and Description NA = Not Available

EXEMPTIONS

Section 14-1810
Motor vehicle, compressed, and diesel fuels sold to and used in the $290,500 
operations of a metropolitan transit authority are exempt from tax.

Sections 66-4,103 and 66-4,116
Exempts foreign or interstate commerce from motor vehicle NA
fuels tax. (State taxation

prohibited)
Section 66-668
Sold one time only to another licensed diesel fuel distributor NA1

or wholesaler for resale purposes.

Section 66-668 NA
Diesel fuel that has been dyed at the terminal rack and sold for 
nonhighway use is not taxed.

Section 66-672
Federal law prohibits the state from taxing the U.S. government $302,744
or its agencies on their diesel fuel purchases. (State taxation

prohibited)
66-673
Undyed diesel fuel used in the operation of temperature control units NA
or power take-off units may be purchased tax free, if the fuel is purchased in 
quantities of 50 gallons or less and placed directly into the supply tank of an 
engine not connected to the main supply tank of a licensed motor vehicle. 
The consumer of the fuel must submit an approved exemption certificate to 
the retailer and must also pay applicable sales tax.

DEDUCTIONS

Section 66-486
A motor vehicle fuel distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a  $5,291,066 
commission of five percent of the first $5,000 and two and one-half 
percent upon all amounts above $5,000, which is remitted each month.
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Sections 66-486 and 3-148
An aircraft fuel distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a $54,625
commission of five percent of the first $5,000 and two and one-half 
percent upon all amounts above $5,000, which is remitted each month.

Section 66-678
A diesel fuel distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a commission $387,864
of two percent of the first $5,000 and one-half of one percent upon all 
amounts above $5,000, which is remitted monthly.

Section 66-6,113
A compressed fuel retailer can deduct a commission of two percent of the first $7,646
$5,000 and one-half of one percent upon all amounts above $5,000 remitted 
each tax period.

CREDITS AND REFUNDS
Section 66-672
(a) Undyed diesel fuel used for agriculture, quarrying, industrial, $64,900,000
or other nonhighway use is refundable. 
(b) Buses equipped to carry more than seven persons for hire and 
engaged entirely in the transportation of passengers for hire within 
municipalities or within a radius of six miles thereof.

Section 66-726
Diesel, compressed and motor vehicle fuels sold on a Nebraska Minimal
Native American Indian reservation to a Native American Indian 
residing on a Nebraska Native American Indian reservation.

Section 66-726
Refund of motor vehicle fuels tax is paid on fuel:

Destroyed . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Minimal
Consumed by the United States Government

      or its agencies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $533,998
Sold in a state outside Nebraska . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $27,260,000
On which there was an overpayment of taxes . . . . . . . . . . Minimal

Sections 66-726
Refund of aircraft fuel tax is paid on fuel:

Destroyed . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . None
Consumed by the United States Government
     or its agencies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $875
Sold in a state outside Nebraska . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $617,000
On which there was an overpayment of taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . None
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Section 66-726
Refund of diesel fuel tax is paid on fuel:

Destroyed . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Minimal
On which there was an overpayment of tax . . . . . . . . . . . . Minimal

Section 66-726
Sold in a state outside Nebraska. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .      $10,771,516

Section 3-150
Any person who buys and uses aviation fuels for use in an FAA $1,850
approved air school is entitled to a credit for the amount of tax paid.

Section 66-1344
Each producer of ethanol shall receive a non-refundable credit      $20,000,000
pursuant to this section of 20 cents per gallon of ethanol produced
in Nebraska, which credit shall be in the form of a transferable
motor vehicle fuels tax credit certificate. The credit shall be given only
for ethanol produced at a plant in Nebraska at which all fermentation,
distillation, and dehydration take places. Not less than 2,000,000
gallons and not more than 25,000,000 gallons of ethanol produced
annually at an ethanol facility shall be eligible for the credit,
and the credit may only be claimed by a producer for the period
specified in subsection (2), (3), or (4) of this section.

After July 1, 1994, no such credit shall be given for ethanol
produced at an ethanol facility which was in production on or 
before January 1, 1992, unless on or before July 1, 1994, the
name plate design capacity for the production of ethanol, before
denaturing, at the facility has been expanded to equal at least two
times the name plate design capacity for production of ethanol,
before denaturing, existing at the facility as of January 1, 1992.

Section 66-1346
Through December 31, 2000, each producer of Nebraska- NA
produced ethyl tertiary butyl ether shall receive a non-refundable (See income
credit of 50 cents per gallon for each gallon of Nebraska-produced tax section)
ethyl tertiary butyl ether sold for delivery outside the State of
Nebraska, which credit shall be in the form of a transferable
income tax credit certificate which may be applied only to the
income tax liability of the producer, its parent, or a subsidiary
thereof. A credit certificate may not be applied to income tax
liability incurred prior to the year the credit certificate was
earned. Not more than 2,500,000 gallons of ethyl tertiary butyl
ether produced annually at a plant shall be eligible for such
credit. The credit shall be given only for ethyl tertiary butyl
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ether produced at a plant in Nebraska at which all fermentation,
distillation, and dehydration takes place. The credit shall be
reduced by the amount of any producer’s credit earned pursuant
to section 66-1344 by the producer of the E.T.B.E. on ethanol
used to produce E.T.B.E. and shall be claimed no later than the due
date, including extensions of the tax return filed for the taxable
year of the claimant ending not more than 36 months after the
taxable year of the claimant in which the certificate is issued.
Section 66-1344 became operative for tax years beginning or
deemed to begin on or after January 1, 1992.

Section 77-2734.03(2) and Sections 66-4,118, through  66-4,134
A corporate, individual, or fiduciary holder of a permit to buy nonhighway NA
use gasoline who purchases such fuel for agricultural, quarrying, industrial, (See income
or other nonhighway use is entitled to a refundable credit against the tax section)
purchaser’s Nebraska income tax liability for the amount of tax paid during 
the year, less two and one-fourth cents per gallon, from which one and 
one-fourth cents per gallon is transferred to the Agricultural
Alcohol Fuel Tax Fund.

PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES

Section 3-148
Aviation gasoline is subject to a tax of five cents per gallon; $1,013,336
aviation jet fuel is subject to a tax of three cents per gallon.

1This would not necessarily be a true tax expenditure, since the tax is eventually paid.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS, AIRCRAFT FUELS, 
DIESEL FUEL, AND COMPRESSED FUEL TAX

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.


