BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE OF THE
NEBRASKA AND COUNTY
LODGING TAX LAWS

The lodging tax is a sales tax imposed upon the total gross receipts charged for the occupancy
of any space furnished by any hotel, motel, tourist home, campground, court, inn, or lodging house
inNebraska. Thelodging tax isimposed in addition to the regular salesand usetax. The state lodging

tax isone percent. Receipts from the state lodging tax are paid to the State Visitors Promotion Cash
Fund.

Each county in the state may impose a lodging tax of two percent or less. Any county with a
population of morethan 300,000 inhabitants may charge an additional tax of up to two percent.* The
county lodging tax isin addition to the one percent state lodging tax and the regular salesand use tax.
Receipts from a county’ s lodging tax are paid to the County Visitors Promotion Fund after athree
percent administrative fee has been deducted by the state.

* Douglas County imposes an additional two percent county lodging tax for atotal lodging tax of four
percent. Receipts from the additional two percent county lodging tax is paid to the County Visitors
Improvement Fund after deducting a three percent administrative fee.
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LODGING TAX

Statutory Reference
and Description

EXEMPTIONS

Section 81-1260, Section 2704.02, Section 77-2704.12(1) and
Section 77-2704.15 through 77-2704.20

Occupants granted an exemption from the lodging tax are the

same entities which are exempt from the sales and use tax on

their purchases under the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967, as
amended. These include organizations created exclusively for
religious purposes, nonprofit organizations providing services
exclusively to the blind; educationa ingtitutions established under
the provisions of Chapter 79, Article 17, and Chapter 85, Article 11,
of the Nebraska statutes; any private college or university, hospitals,
specified health clinics, skilled nursing facilities, intermediate care
facilities, or nursing facility licensed by the State of Nebraska and
organized not for profit; any nonprofit organization providing
services primarily for home health care purposes; licensed child
caring agencies; licensed child placement agencies, the State Board
of Agriculture, the Nebraska Investment Finance Authority, the
Research and Development Authority, the Small Business

Development Authority, or licensees of the State Racing Commission.

The state, any county, township, city, village, rural, or suburban fire
protection district, or irrigation or reclamation district, the irrigation
division of any Nebraska public power and irrigation district or public
school established under Chapter 79 is exempt from the lodging tax.

The federal government is exempt from the lodging tax.

DEDUCTION
Section 81-1261
The state retains three percent of the county lodging tax receipts

as an administrative fee to defray the cost of collecting and
administering the tax.

! Thisis atax expenditure for the applicable counties only.
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Actual Tax
Expenditure Cost
NA = Not Available

State Counties
$211,680 $557,630
NA
(State taxation
prohibited)
$0 $170,3371



LODGING TAX, NEBRASKA AND COUNTY
RECOMMENDATIONS

The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.

N3



