Home   -  About Us  -  Contact Us  -  Jobs  -  Languages - Site Map
Nebraska Department of Revenue

Nebraska Department of Revenue

Property AssessmentMotor FuelsCharitable GamingNebraska Lottery



Click here for ways to contact us and mailing addresses.

March 1, 2013

Douglas A. Ewald, Tax Commissioner

Changes in Local Sales and Use Tax Rates

LINCOLN –Tax Commissioner Doug Ewald announced today, that as of April 1, 2013, the following villages and cities will change their local sales and use tax rates.

  • Cairo, Cordova, Franklin, and Murray will each start a new local sales and use tax at the rate of 1%.

  • Arlington will start a new local sales and use tax at the rate of 1.5%.

  • Bennington, Sargent, and Verdigre will each increase its local sales and use tax to 1.5%.

  • Alma and Waterloo will each increase its local sales tax to 2%.

Alma and Waterloo are the first cities to enact a 2% local sales and use tax rate.

The Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department) has updated its website to provide notification of these changes.
Local sales tax receipts are reported to the Department along with state sales tax receipts, and are distributed to the communities where they were collected. If sales tax is not collected on a taxable sale by the retailer at the time of purchase, the buyer is responsible for paying the appropriate use tax directly to the Department.

For detailed information about sales and use taxes, including instructions for online filing of the sales and use tax return, rates, forms, information guides, revenue rulings, and frequently asked questions, please visit www.revenue.nebraska.gov.



Douglas A. Ewald
Tax Commissioner

Official Nebraska State Government Home Page | Privacy Policy | About Outside Links
Forms Frequently Asked Questions Tax Incentives Information Guides Legal Information News Releases/FYI Research Sales Tax Rate Finder Tax Calendar Taxpayer Education Useful Links Video Center