
Nebraska Lottery and Raffle Information Guide, December 5, 2016, Page 1

Information Guide

Overview

The Nebraska Lottery and Raffle Act governs lotteries which exceed $1,000 in gross 
proceeds (ticket sales) and raffles which exceed $5,000 in gross proceeds. The  
Nebraska Small Lottery and Raffle Act governs lotteries and raffles which do not exceed  
the $1,000/$5,000 thresholds. 

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on the Nebraska Department 
of Revenue (Department) until amended. A guidance document does not include internal 
procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the Department and does 
not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential 
information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties 
on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

Terms
Gross Proceeds. The gross proceeds are determined by multiplying the number of tickets sold or given 
away by the selling price of a single ticket; you may not apply any discounts (such as 6 tickets for $5) 
when determining the gross proceeds for tax reporting purposes. 

Lottery. A ticket drawing or race of inanimate buoyant objects (such as a duck race) where the prizes are  
primarily cash. 

Raffle.  A ticket drawing or race of inanimate buoyant objects (such as a duck race) where the prizes are 
primarily merchandise. To qualify as a “raffle” at least 80 percent of the prizes (as determined by their fair 
market value) must be merchandise.

Utilization of Funds Member. A member of the licensed organization who will be in charge of the lottery or 
raffle. This person is also accountable for proper use of lottery/raffle monies.

Licensed Lotteries and Raffles
Eligibility. To be eligible for a lottery/raffle license, an organization must be:

❖	 Organized or incorporated in Nebraska as a nonprofit organization or corporation and have tax 
exempt status under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) § 501; or 

❖	 Be a volunteer fire company or volunteer first-aid, rescue, ambulance, or emergency squad. 
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This guidance document may change with updated information or added examples. 
The Department recommends you do not print this document. Instead, sign up for the 
subscription service at revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming to get updates on your topics  
of interest.

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/statute/rafflact.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/statute/rafflact.pdf
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/NEREV/subscriber/new
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In addition, the organization must have at least ten members, as defined in the organization’s articles of 
incorporation or bylaws. A lottery/raffle license entitles the organization to conduct as many lotteries and 
raffles exceeding the $1,000/$5,000 thresholds as the organization desires during the licensing period.
If the organization is located in, or plans to sell lottery or raffle tickets in the cities of Lincoln or Omaha, 
or Lancaster or Douglas County, it may be required to obtain an additional local permit to conduct lottery 
or raffle activity within these jurisdictions. There may also be a local lottery/raffle tax. The organization 
should contact the appropriate city or county clerk in these jurisdictions to see if local permit or tax 
obligations apply. 
Applying for a License. To apply for a lottery/raffle license, an eligible organization must file with the 
Department, a Nebraska Application for Bingo, Lottery, Raffle, or Lottery by Pickle Card, Form 50, and 
Supplemental Questionnaire. The biennial license fee is $30. The two-year license expires on September 
30th of either an odd or even-numbered year, based upon the eligible organization’s exemption under  
IRC § 501. License fees are due in full for the biennial licensing period; however, if a new application is 
received by the Department and the license will become effective on or after October 1 of the second year  
of the biennial licensing period, the license fee due will be one-half of the biennial fee.  
Utilization Of Funds Member. An organization applying for a lottery/raffle license must also designate at 
least one of its members to be licensed as the Utilization of Funds Member (UFM). The UFM is responsible 
for all lottery/raffle activity conducted by the organization. This includes supervising and coordinating the 
activity as well as ensuring that all laws, rules, and regulations are met by all individuals involved with the 
lottery/raffle. The UFM is also responsible for all the money raised through the activity, and must ensure that 
the profits from a licensed lottery/raffle are used for a lawful purpose. The individual applying for the license 
must be an active and bona fide member of the organization for at least one year in order to be eligible for 
the license. If the one-year membership requirement imposes an undue hardship on the organization, the 
Department may waive the requirement. Instructions for requesting a hardship waiver can be found on the 
application form for the Nebraska Application for Utilization of Funds Member, Form 50H. More than one 
UFM may be licensed if the organization desires. The biennial fee for a Utilization of Funds Member  
license is $40. 
Bank Account. The organization must establish a separate bank account at a financial institution, to 
be used exclusively for lottery/raffle activity. The name and address of the bank and the bank account 
number must be supplied on the application form at the time the organization applies for a license.
Prizes, Expenses, and Age Restrictions. At least 65% of the gross proceeds of each licensed lottery or 
raffle must be awarded to participants in the form of prizes. The organization cannot use more than  
10% of the gross proceeds to pay the allowable expenses of the lottery or raffle. All ticket purchasers  
and participants must be at least 18 years of age. There are exceptions to these three requirements if  
the organization has obtained a Special Permit.
Special Permit. A licensed organization may apply for a lottery/raffle Special Permit. Only one Special 
Permit may be obtained for each 12-month period beginning October 1 of each year. The permit is valid 
for a maximum of three consecutive months and exempts the organization from the following  
three requirements:

❖	 The 65% prize payout; 
❖	 The 10% expense limitation; and
❖	 The 18 years of age participation restriction. 

The license application requires the organization to identify a beginning and ending date for the Special 
Permit. The organization cannot begin selling lottery or raffle tickets before the beginning date of the 
Special Permit, and the winners must be determined on or before the ending date of the Special Permit. 
The fee for a Special Permit is $10.
Ticket Requirements. Tickets for a licensed lottery or raffle must be constructed as a two-part ticket, with 
a detachable stub. The tickets and the detachable stubs must each contain a unique sequential number. 

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/forms/fillable/f_50.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/forms/fillable/supplementalQues.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/forms/fillable/f_50h.pdf
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Additionally, the tickets must contain, at a minimum, the following information:

❖ 	 Name and state ID number of the licensed organization;

❖ 	 Cost per ticket;

❖ 	 Date on which winners will be determined; and

❖ 	 A statement indicating whether or not the winner must be present when winners are determined.

See sample tickets on page 4 of this guide.

Winner Determination. The winners for a licensed lottery or raffle can be determined only by a random 
drawing of the tickets, or by a race using inanimate, buoyant objects floated along, for example, a river or 
canal. No other methods of winner selection are allowed. 

Use of Profits. The profits from a licensed lottery or raffle must be used for a lawful purpose as defined in 
the Nebraska Lottery and Raffle Act and regulations. For more information regarding lawful purpose use 
of proceeds, please see Reg-35-401, Lawful Purpose.

Reporting and Tax. Lotteries exceeding $1,000 and raffles exceeding $5,000 are subject to a two percent 
state tax on gross proceeds. The tax is due on a quarterly basis. Tax returns are automatically sent to the 
licensed organization. The licensed organization is also required to file a Lottery/Raffle Annual Report, 
Form 35B, which is due by August 15 of each year. 

Small Lotteries and Raffles
The Nebraska Small Lottery and Raffle Act permits qualifying nonprofit organizations to conduct, without 
a license, one small lottery per calendar month which does not exceed $1,000 in gross proceeds, and 
an unlimited number of small raffles per month provided the total gross proceeds from all the raffles 
combined do not exceed $5,000 per calendar month. It is important to understand that if you begin 
conducting a lottery or raffle under the Nebraska Small Lottery and Raffle Act, you must stop selling 
tickets when you reach the $1,000/$5,000 gross proceeds limits; you cannot upgrade a small lottery or 
raffle to a licensed lottery or raffle once ticket sales have begun. 

Eligibility. To be eligible to conduct small lotteries and raffles, an organization must: (1) be organized or 
incorporated in Nebraska as a nonprofit organization or corporation and have tax exempt status under  
IRC § 501; or (2) be an organization whose major activities, exclusive of conducting any lottery or 
raffle, are conducted for charitable or community betterment purposes. Additionally, to be eligible an 
organization must also have its principal office located in Nebraska.

Prizes, Expenses, and Age Restrictions. There is not a minimum prize payout requirement or maximum 
expense limitation for small lotteries and raffles as there is for licensed lotteries and raffles, nor is there 
an age restriction relative to selling tickets or participating in a small lottery or raffle. 

Ticket Requirements and Winner Determination. Tickets for a small lottery or raffle need to be 
sequentially numbered and be the same size, shape, and weight. Winners in a small lottery or raffle can 
be determined by a random drawing of the tickets, or by a race using inanimate, buoyant objects floated 
along a river, canal, or other waterway. No other methods of winner selection are allowed.

Use of Profits. The profits from a small lottery or raffle must be used for a charitable or community 
betterment purpose as defined in the Nebraska Small Lottery and Raffle Act and regulations.

Calendar Lotteries and Duck Races
If your organization is interested in conducting a calendar lottery (which involves the awarding of daily, 
weekly, or monthly prizes), duck race, or any other unique type of lottery or raffle involving the purchase 
of an object, product, or admission to an event, please contact the Charitable Gaming Division for advice 
and assistance in conducting the activity properly.

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/regs/raffle_reg.html#401
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/forms/f_35b.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/forms/f_35b.pdf
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 revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming
877-564-1315 or 402-471-5937

Nebraska Department of Revenue, Charitable Gaming Division, PO Box 94855, Lincoln, NE 68509-4855

Option 2: Participants must be present at the drawing to win.

Option 1: Participants are not required to be present at the drawing to win.

These samples illustrate the information which is required to be listed on all licensed lottery or raffle tickets. 
Tickets must be constructed with a detachable stub. In addition, please note that the use of the word 
“donation” on a lottery or raffle ticket is not acceptable. The amount paid to purchase a lottery or raffle ticket 
is not considered a tax deductible contribution. 

Organization Name
State ID Number

$1.00

Date of Drawing

Name

Address

City

State

Phone

Price

124124
Stub

Retained by Seller Given to Purchaser

Matching Sequential Numbers

Organization Name
State ID Number

$1.00

Price

002

Date of Drawing

Must be Present to Win00
2

Stub
Matching Sequential Numbers

Retained by Seller Given to Purchaser

Sample Licensed Lottery or Raffle Tickets




