

Nebraska Tax Application and Return for Mechanical Amusement Device (MAD) Decals for Devices that DO NOT Award Cash Prizes

FORM

1 Do you hold, or have you previously held, a N	lebraska ID Number?		Please Do Not Write In This Space		
Yes No If Yes, provide the num	ber				
2 Federal Employer ID or Social Security Numb	 per				
Business Name a	and Address		Name and Mailing A	Address	
Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA)					
Street Address (Do Not Use PO Box)		Street or (Other Mailing Address		
Silect Address (De Not Ose 1 O Box)		Oli cot of c	The Maining Address		
City	State Zip Code	City		State	Zip Code
3 County of Business Location in Nebraska	4 Reason for Filing Application (1) Original Application	(2)	Renewal (3) Acquired Additiona	ıl Devices	(4) Other
5 Application is made for: (1) Distribu	utor's License – No Fee (2) Oper	rator's Licen	se – No Fee (3) Distributor/Operator	's License – No	Fee
6 Are you a resident of the State of Nebraska?	If no, and you are a noncorporate appli	icant, you m	ust designate a Nebraska resident agent f	or service of pro	cess purposes.
Yes No Name of Reside	nt Agent	Address			
			Covernmental (40)) Cooperative	
7 Type of Ownership (1) Sole Proprietors (2) Partnership (3) Nonprofit Corpo	(5) Foreign Corporation	(7) (8) ation (9)	Governmental (10) Fiduciary (Estate or Trust) (11) Nonprofit Organization	′ ;	e bility Company
8 Provide a general description of your busines		1011 (9)	Nonpront Organization		
-	·				
9 Identify Owners, Members, Partners, or Corp	poration Officers (One of the listed indivi-	duals must :	sign as applicant.)		
Social Security Number Name, Addre	ess, City, State, Zip Code			Title	
	Maghaniaal An		Paviasa		
	Mechanical Am				
See definitions of a Mechanical	•				
If any device awards or is cap other items redeemable for a			s redeemable for a cash prize, I.	or tickets, to	okens, or
	Occup	ation Tax	,		
Enter the total number of decals	Оссир	ation lax	·	10	
	number of decals for one year land	uary 1 thro	ugh December 31:		
11 Occupation tax (\$35 multiplied by the number of decals, for one year, January 1 through December 31; or \$20 multiplied by the number of decals, for one-half year, July 1 through December 31)				11	
2 Total occupation tax and penalty amoun					
Under penalties of law, I de	clare that I have examined this applicati	ion and retur	n, and to the best of my knowledge and be	elief, it is correct	and complete.
sign					
here Signature of Owner, Member, Par	rtner, Corporate Officer, Titl	·lo	Date	Doutin	e Phone Number
or Person Authorized by Attached	Power of Attorney	ie	Date	Daytiille	s Friorie Number
Email Address					
	For Department of R				
Serial Numbers of Decals Issued		Issued by		Date	
2 Number of machanical amount and		nalties		10	
13 Number of mechanical amusement devices not properly registered 14 Penalty (line 13 multiplied by \$75) (include on line 12)				13	
	uue on line 12)			14	i_
sign	nua Denvecentativa	Title		Date	
TIME I SIGNATURE OF DEPARTMENT OF ROVA	que pepresenianve	LITTE		Date	

Instructions

Who Must File. All operators and distributors of mechanical amusement devices covered by the Mechanical Amusement Device Tax Act must file an application.

When and Where to File. This application, properly signed and accompanied by check or money order payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, must be filed prior to the date of the first transaction involving the use or sale of a mechanical amusement device. Licenses and occupation tax decals expire on December 31 each year, regardless of the date of issuance, and must be renewed on or before January 1.

Business Name and Address. If you have mechanical amusement devices at multiple locations, you must indicate your primary business address in this block.

Definitions

Mechanical Amusement Device (Device). A device is any machine which, upon insertion of a coin, currency, credit card, or substitute into the machine, operates or may be operated or used for a game, contest, or amusement of any description. This includes but is not limited to:

- Arcade Video Games flight simulators, video racing games, video trivia and IQ games, and other video and electronic games;
- Crane Games:
- Musical Devices:
- · Pinball Machines:
- Pool/Billiards Tables;
- Table Games foosball, air hockey, shuffleboard, light tennis and ping pong, bowling games, and other table games. This does **not** include pool/billiards tables; and
- Other Mechanical Amusement Devices whac-a-mole, skee-ball, darts, rifles, and other non-table sports-related games.

A device does not include vending machines which dispense tangible personal property, devices located in private homes for private use, pickle card dispensing devices which are required to be registered with the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR) pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 9-345.03, or devices which are mechanically constructed in a manner that would render their operation illegal under Chapter 28, article 11 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. The presence of a MAD decal on any device only indicates that the device is in compliance with the applicable provisions of the Mechanical Amusement Device Tax Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-3001 to 77-3011. A MAD decal is not evidence that the device is legal under Chapter 28, article 11 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.

Distributor. A distributor is any person who sells, leases, or delivers possession or custody of a machine or mechanical amusement device to operators thereof for a consideration either directly or indirectly received.

Operator. An operator is any person who operates a place of business in which a machine or device owned by him or her is physically located, or any person who places and who either directly or indirectly controls or manages any machine or device.

Distributor-operator. A distributor who leases or rents a device to business owners, but retains control of the device, is also considered an operator and subject to the same licensing requirements and payment of the occupation tax on each device.

Payment of Additional Occupation Taxes. This application must be used for paying occupation taxes on any device put into operation after the original application has been filed.

Display Decal. Every operator must conspicuously and permanently affix to each device the occupation tax decal. **The decal must not be affixed by tape or any other means.** The backing on each decal must be removed in order to permanently affix the decal to the device. Any person who has placed a device in operation in the State of Nebraska without the necessary decal conspicuously and permanently affixed to it is subject to an administrative penalty of \$75 for each violation and the device is subject to being sealed by DOR. If the seal is broken prior to payment of the occupation tax for the device, the device is subject to forfeiture and sale by DOR.

Specific Instructions

Line 6. If you are a foreign (non-Nebraska) corporation and do not have a certificate of authority to transact business in Nebraska, please contact the Nebraska Secretary of State's Office at 402-471-4079 to obtain an application.

Line 12. An occupation tax of \$35 is assessed for **each** device placed in operation on or after January 1, but before July 1, of each year. If the device is placed in operation on or after July 1, but before January 1 of the following year, an occupation tax of \$20 is assessed on **each** device placed into operation. Checks written to the Nebraska Department of Revenue may be presented electronically.

The occupation tax can only be paid by the operator who has actual ownership of the device being taxed. The tax must be paid at the time the device is purchased and prior to the device being placed into operation. An occupation tax decal is issued denoting the payment of the tax for each device.

Penalty Abatement. An operator who has been assessed a penalty may request an abatement of the penalty. A <u>Request for Abatement of Penalty, Form 21</u>, must be completed and filed with DOR. The request for abatement of penalty will not be considered until the penalty has been paid.

Authorized Signature. This application must be signed by the owner, member, partner, or corporate officer listed on line 9. Individuals who are not listed on line 9 but are signing the application, must attach a completed <u>power of attorney</u>.

If you need additional assistance, contact the Charitable Gaming Division, Nebraska Department of Revenue at 402-471-5949 or toll free at 877-564-1315.