Nebraska Non-Ag Use Motor Fuels Tax Refund Claim

FORM

If this claim results from farming or ranching, file Form 84AG.

	1
84	

Social Security Number or FEIN				Period Cove	ed by this Cla	aim					
							Ending				
Name and Address of Claimant Name				Beginning	,20	, 20 Phone Number					
Name				Contact Person Phon					one Number		
Street Address				Email Addre	SS						
City	State	Zip Cod	e	Mailing Addr	ess of Claima	nt (If Different)	City	!	State	Zip Code	
Indicate reason for the claim: The motor fuel was used in unlicensed equipment — include equipment list. The motor fuel was used in refrigeration units. The gasoline was used as aviation fuel. There was an accidental contamination of fuel. Was this fuel withdrawn from a bulk storage tank which was also used to fuel licensed vehicles? Yes											
Supporting documentation must be attached, as required (see instructions).											
Product	Total Gallons	Refund Rate	A	mount	Les Adjust nount (see instr		Amo	Net Amount Claimed		or Dept. of Revenue Use Only	
Gasoline, Gasohol, or Ethanol*	.0 X	=	\$.00	- \$.00 = 5	\$.00	\$	Approved	
*If the tax on fuel claimed is							r		Ψ		
Undyed Diesel, Undyed Biodiesel, or Undyed Biodiesel Blends*	0 X		\$	00	_ \$	00 - 9	±	.00	\$	Approved	
*If the tax on fuel claimed is							y	.00	Ψ		
	που παι φ=υ παι α σαι			.g.2.0 101 a							
Aviation Gasoline	X <u></u>	\$0.05 =	\$.00							
Jet Fuel	X	\$0.03 =	\$.00						Approved	
Total Aviation Fuels*	.0		\$.00	- \$.00 = 9	\$.00	\$		
*If the tax on fuel claimed is	less than \$25 within a cal	endar year, you a	re not el	igible for a	efund.						
Petroleum Release Ren	nedial Action Fee										
Motor Vehicle Fuels	X	\$0.009 =	\$.00							
Other Petroleum Products	.0 X	\$0.003 =	\$.00						Approved	
Total Fee*	.0		\$.00					\$	приоточ	
*If the fee on fuel claimed is	less than \$10 within a cal	endar year, you a	re not el	igible for a	efund.						
*If the fee on fuel claimed is less than \$10 within a calendar year, you are not eligible for a refund. Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this claim and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete. I further declare that unless used by an agency of the federal government or by buses for hire, none of this fuel claimed for refund was used in a licensed motor vehicle. I also declare that payment of this claim has not been previously made by the State and records supporting this claim are subject to audit for a period of three years from the date the claim was filed.											
here Authorized Signat	ure	Phone Numb	oer	Sigr	ature of Prepa	arer Other Than	Taxpayer	Ph	ione Nui	mber	
Title		Date			Address						
Email Address				Ema	il Address						
For Nebraska Department of Revenue Use Only											
Approved	Cor	nments:									
Approved as Adjusted											
Disapproved		Authorized	Signatur-						Deta		
		r Authorized	oignature						Date		

Instructions

Caution: Only federal governmental agencies and buses for hire are eligible for the refund of tax on fuel placed into a licensed motor vehicle. All other users of fuel in **licensed** motor vehicles, regardless of how those vehicles are used, **are not eligible** for a refund of motor fuels tax.

Note: All refund claims are subject to audit for three years after the claim is filed.

Who May File. Any person requesting a refund of Nebraska motor fuels tax paid or overpaid may file a Nebraska Non-Ag Use Motor Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Form 84. Prior to adjustments, the tax paid on the eligible fuel must be at least \$25. This minimum must be met within a calendar year for each fuel type. Refunds of the Petroleum Release Remedial Action Fee must meet a \$10 minimum.

When to File. Only one claim per month may be filed by any claimant. You must file your claim within three years after the date the tax was paid. Claims filed for refunds of tax paid on aviation jet fuel or aviation gasoline used in the operation of a FAA-approved air school must be filed within seven months of the date of purchase.

Where to File. This claim, along with supporting documentation, must be filed with the Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 98904, Lincoln, NE 68509-8904.

Basis for Claim. Appropriate documentation must be attached to the Form 84. Documentation submitted with the Form 84 will not be returned.

Exempt Use of Tax-Paid Undyed Diesel, Gasoline, Gasohol, and Ethanol. Any person who has purchased and used tax-paid motor fuel for a qualified exempt purpose may file a claim.

Required documentation. In order to support the claim, the following information must be included:

- A description of your operations must be submitted with the initial claim, and thereafter on an annual basis;
- A list of the type of equipment in which the fuel was used must be submitted with the initial claim, and thereafter on an annual basis; include the make, horsepower, and other mechanical description of the machinery;
- Information regarding the fuel purchase usage and storage;
- Legible copies of fuel purchase invoices indicating the amount of tax paid, the date of purchase, fuel type, gallons purchased, and vendor's name. If the fuel was placed directly into unlicensed equipment, the equipment fueled must be indicated on the invoice; and
- Legible copies of withdrawal logs documenting the date, gallons, and equipment into which the fuel was placed if both licensed vehicles and unlicensed equipment are fueled from the same storage facility (refer to the Nebraska Motor Fuels Tax Refunds Information Guide for additional information).

Exports of Tax-Paid Fuel, Including the Petroleum Release Remedial Action Fee. Generally, a person is required to be licensed as an exporter prior to exporting fuel. Any person who is not required to be licensed, who owned and exported fuel upon which Nebraska motor fuels tax was previously paid, may file a claim.

Required documentation. In order to support the claim, the following information must be included:

- Legible copies of invoices or other supporting records that indicate the taxes and fees were paid to a motor fuel licensee;
- The state to which the fuel was exported; and
- Copies of the returns filed indicating that the fuel was reported to those states.

Destroyed or Contaminated Tax-Paid Fuel. Any person who owned fuel upon which Nebraska motor fuels tax was previously paid, and this fuel was then destroyed or accidentally contaminated with another type of fuel, may file a claim.

Note: Intentional blending of fuels does NOT qualify for a refund.

Required documentation. In order to support the claim, the following information must be included:

- The date fuel was destroyed or contaminated;
- Description of event, including an explanation of how the fuel was contaminated and disposition of any contaminated fuel;
- The number of gallons which were destroyed or contaminated;
- The owner of fuel;
- Legible copies of purchase invoices and bills of lading;
- · Inventory records; and
- Copies of any insurance claims.

Purchases of Fuel by Federal Governmental Agencies. A federal governmental agency who purchased tax paid fuel may file for a refund of the tax paid using the Form 84. Retailers selling fuel to federal governmental agencies should report any tax-free sales to federal agencies by filing a Nebraska Retailer's Claim for Exempt Sales of Motor Fuels, Form RC73, with their vendor.

Required documentation. In order to support the claim, the following information must be included:

• Legible copies of invoices and other supporting records as required.

Specific Instructions for Calculating the Refund

Multiply the number of gallons claimed by the refund rate in effect when the fuel was purchased and enter the amount calculated. Round all gallon and dollar amounts from .50 to .99 to the next higher whole number. Round all gallon and dollar amounts less than .50 to the next lower whole number. If gallons are claimed for periods with multiple refund rates, attach a summary of these calculations.

Refund Rates. The refund of the tax paid on fuel consumed in a qualified exempt manner is determined at a reduced rate. See the <u>refund rate table</u> for the correct rate.

Adjustments. Determine the refund claimed net of any appropriate adjustments for commission or use tax. If you are a motor fuels tax licensee, you may need to deduct the appropriate commission.

Persons who purchase undyed diesel fuel for reefer units, home heating, or any other use which subjects it to the use tax, must report the state and local use tax on a <u>Nebraska and Local Business Use Tax Return</u>, <u>Form 2</u>, or on the appropriate line on <u>Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return</u>, <u>Form 10</u>. If the use tax is not paid, the refund will be reduced by the amount of use tax determined to be due. Diesel fuel used in processing, manufacturing, refining, generating electricity, irrigation or farming, or by any hospital may qualify for an energy source exemption. Please refer to Regulation 1-089, Energy Source Utility Exemption.

If you are claiming a refund for tax paid on gasoline, gasohol, or ethanol which was subsequently used to fuel an airplane, the claim must be reduced by the aviation gasoline tax rate of \$0.05 per gallon.

Appeal Procedure. The denial of a claim in its entirety, or in part, is considered a final determination of the Nebraska Department of Revenue (DOR) and may be appealed. The claimant must file an appeal with the District Court of Lancaster County within 30 after the mailing of DOR's final determination in order to contest the determination.

Signatures. This claim must be signed by the claimant, partner, member, or corporate officer. If the claimant authorizes another person to sign this claim, a <u>Power of Attorney</u>, <u>Form 33</u>, must be attached. Any person who is paid for preparing a claim must also sign the claim as preparer.