
 
DIRECTIVE 12-7    

November 14, 2012 
Supersedes Directive 08-3 and 08-5 

 
REAL ESTATE TRANSFER STATEMENT AND SALE DATA FILING 

 
Purpose   
 
To provide advice to county assessors and registers of deeds about the duties and requirements 
related to the filing of the Real Estate Transfer Statement (Form 521), and the electronic submission 
of sale and property characteristic data for development of the state sales file.   
 
Statutory Authority 
 
When a deed to real estate, memorandum of contract, or land contract is presented for recording, a 
Form 521 must be filed.  The register of deeds must immediately forward the completed statement to 
the county assessor. The county assessor will then process the statement and submit the original Form 
521 to the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department) according to the instructions of the 
Property Tax Administrator and pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Tax Commissioner. See 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-214. 
 
The Property Tax Administrator is required to create and maintain the state sales file in order to 
develop comprehensive assessment-to-sales ratio studies.  The information is made available to taxing 
officials and property owners to ensure uniformity and proportionality of the assessments of real 
property. See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1327.  The frequent collection of current sales information 
provides county assessors with comparable sales for hard-to-assess property when few local 
comparable sales exist.  See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1377.   
 
Procedure and Implementation   
 
Process the Form 521 
 
Upon receipt of the Form 521, the county assessor will enter the sale information from the completed 
Form 521 into the county computer assisted mass appraisal (CAMA) system. This entry will ensure 
the property information in the county sales file is current.  The county assessor must then forward 
the completed original Form 521 to the Tax Commissioner on or before the fifteenth of the second 
month following the month the deed was recorded.  
 
 
 

http://www.revenue.ne.gov/PAD/forms/521_Real_Estate_Transfer_Statement.pdf
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=76-214
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-1327
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-1377
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The Form 521 must be electronically forwarded or mailed to: 
 

Nebraska Department of Revenue 
P.O. Box 94818 

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4818 
 
Electronic Transfer of Data 
 
After the sales information is entered into the county CAMA system, the county assessor will 
electronically transfer sales data into the sales file for all sales with stated consideration of more than 
$100 or upon which more than $2.25 in documentary stamp taxes are paid.  The electronic transfer 
must occur on or before 45 days after the date the deed was recorded.  For purposes of this Directive, 
electronic transfer means data files are extracted from the county CAMA system and, depending on 
the CAMA software, uploaded to the sales file or the Property Assessment Division FTP website.  
Electronic transfer also means sale data is entered directly into the state sales file by the county 
assessor.  
    
Enforcement 
 
Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1330, the Department may take corrective action if any county 
official violates any directive of the Department. 
 
 
APPROVED:       
         
/s 
 
Ruth A. Sorensen       
Property Tax Administrator      
November 14, 2012   
 
 
APPROVED:  
 
/s 
 
Douglas A. Ewald  
Tax Commissioner  
November 14, 2012 
 
 

http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-1330
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