
FORM

453
To be Filed with

Your County
Assessor or 
Treasurer

Applicant’s Name (Last)	 (First)	 (Middle Initial)	 Type of Property

Home Address (Number and Street or Rural Route)

City	 State	 Zip Code

Email Address				    County

Description of Motor Vehicle or Description and Location of Mobile Home

Mobile Home
(File with the County Assessor by April 1 of each year.)

Motor Vehicle
(File with County Treasurer 15 days before and not later 
than 30 days after registration date.)

sign
here Signature of Applicant or Authorized Representative	 Date

Print Name 

	 Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this exemption application and that it is, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, it is correct and complete. I also declare that I am entitled to the Nebraska property tax exemption in the county noted above 
and have not applied for exemption elsewhere in this state.

Signature of County Assessor or County Treasurer	 Title	 Date

Approved

Disapproved

Instructions
Who May File. An exemption application may be filed by any veteran of the United States Armed Forces who was 
discharged or otherwise separated with a characterization of honorable or general (under honorable conditions) and has a 
service-connected disability as follows:
	 a.	 A veteran who has lost the use of or has undergone amputation of, two or more extremities, or has undergone 

amputation of one or more extremities and has lost the use of one or more extremities; or
	 b.	 A veteran whose vision is so impaired as to seriously limit his or her ability to engage in the ordinary vocations and 

activities of life. 
Please Note. A certificate from the Department of Veterans Affairs stating that the applicant meets one of the above 
criteria and that the disability is service-connected must be attached to this application.
When and Where to File. For mobile homes, application for exemption must be filed with the county assessor of the 
county in which the mobile home is subject to tax on or before April 1 of every year.
For licensed motor vehicles, the initial application for exemption must be filed with the county treasurer in the county in 
which the motor vehicle is subject to tax not more than 15 days before and not later than 30 days after the registration date 
of the motor vehicle. A renewal application must be made annually not sooner than the first day of the last month of the 
registration period or later than the last day of the registration period. Failure to apply for the tax exempt status within the 
allotted time, is a waiver of the exemption for the year.
Please Note. Exemption from motor vehicle tax does not exempt the motor vehicle from sales and use taxes or wheel tax.
What Property is Exempt. Any veteran who qualifies may have the following exempted from property tax:
	 a.	 One mobile home owned and occupied by the qualified veteran; and
	 b.	 One motor vehicle owned and used for personal transportation by the qualified veteran.
The completed Exemption Application, Form 453, must be retained by the appropriate county official.
Appeal Procedures. If an application for exemption is disapproved, appeal may be made to the County Board of 
Equalization within 20 days after the date the disapproval notice was mailed.

Nebraska Department of Revenue	 Authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-202.24, 60-3,185, and 60-3,189 
96-246-2005 Rev. 1-2022 Supersedes 96-246-2005 Rev. 6-2019

Retain a copy for your records.

Exemption Application
for Honorably Discharged Disabled Veterans
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